Kerry VS Donegal

Aye it's a fair old trek alright. I think I read somewhere recently that a new flight is to start operating between Donegal and Kerry soon. That would be great! I'm not sure how feasible it is long term business wise. But for future matches against yourselves in the coming years it will be good!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 23/01/2018 13:16:04    2070081

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aye it's a fair old trek alright. I think I read somewhere recently that a new flight is to start operating between Donegal and Kerry soon. That would be great! I'm not sure how feasible it is long term business wise. But for future matches against yourselves in the coming years it will be good!"
Ya that would be excellent it would turn an 8 hour journey into a half an hour journey and the Kerry supporters club would fill two planes on their own :-)

Ye had a lovely bar-b-Q on for the supporters last year as well fair play to ye although with all the smoke drifting across the stand it looked very like the San siro :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2018 14:31:00    2070107

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya that would be excellent it would turn an 8 hour journey into a half an hour journey and the Kerry supporters club would fill two planes on their own :-)

Ye had a lovely bar-b-Q on for the supporters last year as well fair play to ye although with all the smoke drifting across the stand it looked very like the San siro :-)"
Yeah it was a great day last year. I remember it was baltic that morning with a lot of fog but it turned into a peach of a day afterwards in time for the throw-in. That was about as good as it got for us. Your inside forward line cleaned us out of it. Hopefully it'll be a bit tighter this weekend.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 23/01/2018 15:18:31    2070125

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah it was a great day last year. I remember it was baltic that morning with a lot of fog but it turned into a peach of a day afterwards in time for the throw-in. That was about as good as it got for us. Your inside forward line cleaned us out of it. Hopefully it'll be a bit tighter this weekend."
Ya we had the best of the first half but ye came back at us strongly in the second half and it looked dodgy for a while.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2018 16:12:16    2070144

I think we will show well down in Kerry this weekend.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/01/2018 17:32:43    2070170

Kerry to win by 8-10 points

fatkeeper (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 23/01/2018 19:03:41    2070190

Kerry team

1.Brian Kelly
2.Jason Foley
3.Shane Enright
4.Ronan Shanahan
5.Cormac Coffey
6.Paul Murphy
7.Matthew Flaherty
8.Brendan O'Sullivan
9.Jack Barry
10.Seanie O'Shea
11.James Donoghue
12.Stephen O'Brien
13.Jack Savage
14.Paul Geaney
15.David clifford

16.Shane Murphy
17.Gavin Crowley
18.Andrew Barry
19.Greg Horan
20.Barry James Keane
21.Micheal Burns
22.Daithi Casey
23.Killan Spillane.
24.Gavin Beasley

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 26/01/2018 20:46:13    2070898

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "Kerry team

1.Brian Kelly
2.Jason Foley
3.Shane Enright
4.Ronan Shanahan
5.Cormac Coffey
6.Paul Murphy
7.Matthew Flaherty
8.Brendan O'Sullivan
9.Jack Barry
10.Seanie O'Shea
11.James Donoghue
12.Stephen O'Brien
13.Jack Savage
14.Paul Geaney
15.David clifford

16.Shane Murphy
17.Gavin Crowley
18.Andrew Barry
19.Greg Horan
20.Barry James Keane
21.Micheal Burns
22.Daithi Casey
23.Killan Spillane.
24.Gavin Beasley"
Where did you read that team? Or is it the team you think will start? I read a completely different team to that

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/01/2018 21:50:40    2070914

Replying To BartMcQueen:  "Kerry team

1.Brian Kelly
2.Jason Foley
3.Shane Enright
4.Ronan Shanahan
5.Cormac Coffey
6.Paul Murphy
7.Matthew Flaherty
8.Brendan O'Sullivan
9.Jack Barry
10.Seanie O'Shea
11.James Donoghue
12.Stephen O'Brien
13.Jack Savage
14.Paul Geaney
15.David clifford

16.Shane Murphy
17.Gavin Crowley
18.Andrew Barry
19.Greg Horan
20.Barry James Keane
21.Micheal Burns
22.Daithi Casey
23.Killan Spillane.
24.Gavin Beasley"
Kerry (FL 1 v Donegal): Shane Murphy; Cormac Coffey, Jason Foley, Shane Enright; Paul Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Ronan Shanahan; Jack Barry, Brendan O'Sullivan; Micheál Burns, Sean O Se, Stephen O'Brien; David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Barry John Keane

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/01/2018 21:52:40    2070916

Replying To Donegalman:  "I think we will show well down in Kerry this weekend."
I think Donegal will win.
Donegal have new manager and some competitive games already this season.
McBrearty is playing well.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 27/01/2018 01:51:53    2070974

Looking forward to seeing what this young and exciting Kerry side can do on Sunday, if they can survive and thrive at this level they will go a long way to rectifying some of the big issues which have come to light in the Championship over the past couple of seasons, namely goalkeeper, fullback and half-forward line.

An Riocht Abu!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/01/2018 10:50:30    2071012

Replying To Rockies:  "I think Donegal will win.
Donegal have new manager and some competitive games already this season.
McBrearty is playing well."
Big year last year for him despite being on a losing Donegal team. Similar 2 years ago. He is a mighty player, but is prone to injury in the winter/spring. I hope that he can stay out of trouble this year. We should keep him and Murphy in around the box. I think that we have options now all of a sudden out the pitch especially with young Neville Mullins coming into the frame. Possibly exciting times.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/01/2018 11:36:27    2071015

Difficult game to call with both teams not at full strength. Donegal have played well in the McKenna cup and have been trying to play a bit more direct so hopefully that will reap some rewards down the line. Nathan Mullins has been a great addition and Paddy McBrearty is flying. We probably have more work done than Kerry at this stage due to the McKenna cup so hoping we migt have the edge.

Kerry have had some incredible minors in the past few years so it will be interesting to see how they do in the league. I think it will be a close game but would have to back Kerry to win on their home turf. As others have pointed out our full backline is weak minus Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath and Ciaran Gillespie.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 27/01/2018 15:54:39    2071078

Looking forward to this match..and seeing what this young clifford lad is made off..kerry to win by +4 points

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 28/01/2018 11:15:21    2071284

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Hoping for a good game & while I would favour a Kerry win, both teams will be without key players so I wouldn't write Donegal off.
This is very much a new Donegal team & new manager Declan Bonner seems to be adopting a more open attacking style with, shock horror, foot passing to the fore. They are putting up big scores but also conceding more than I would be comfortable with,
Kerry by 4-6"
Ha .love that line shock horror,foot passing to the fore.yea they might be conceding a bit more but there scoring more and winning and thats what makes it more entertaining for us all..hope 2018 is the year when defensive teams mix it up and have a proper go..would love to see donegal throw off the shackles and kick pass and attack like men possesed would be great for the game..league is the ideal time to try it out..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 28/01/2018 11:30:51    2071288

I can't see us winning but once we don't get hammered and the young lads play well il be happy enough with that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/01/2018 11:41:21    2071293

Cmon kerry..hope donegal get a right trimming

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 28/01/2018 13:49:42    2071321

Replying To preddan:  "Cmon kerry..hope donegal get a right trimming"
Why ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/01/2018 14:21:19    2071327

Replying To preddan:  "Cmon kerry..hope donegal get a right trimming"
A bit like Kildare got yesterday......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/01/2018 14:42:36    2071329

I know we lost the game but gotta say that I am pleased. We played most of the game with 14 players. Putting up good scores. Competing to the end. Yeah we were a bit unlucky in the end but that's life. Most of the team are young and the new Donegal. I feel that we can build on this and I would be happy to concede 2 18 if it means we are going to have a proper go. We will see.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/01/2018 15:38:53    2071338