Dublin v Kildare Jan 27th

Replying To kildare73:  "Is your mammy from Westmeath or something??"
No...he lives in Westmeath...

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 19:47:24    2071148

Dublin in cruise control, even a ramshackle make up Dublin team are destroying Kildare 2-8 to 0-1 in second half.
And our going president says everything is rosy. I have good slagging at some Kildare lads , but been in Leinster that dubs advantage worries me for the future, forget this year, barring a miracle neither Meath or Kildare will lay a glove on them should they meet (of course I it happens I'll convince myself and anyone who listens that Meath will win) but they not even pushing. It's like a training exercise.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2018 20:29:54    2071160

C'mon RD, he said splitting Dublin would be a bad idea and he's right. Time for ye lads to man up, Kildare are trying in fairness!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/01/2018 20:55:44    2071167

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dublin in cruise control, even a ramshackle make up Dublin team are destroying Kildare 2-8 to 0-1 in second half.
And our going president says everything is rosy. I have good slagging at some Kildare lads , but been in Leinster that dubs advantage worries me for the future, forget this year, barring a miracle neither Meath or Kildare will lay a glove on them should they meet (of course I it happens I'll convince myself and anyone who listens that Meath will win) but they not even pushing. It's like a training exercise."
You know absolutely nothing about football if you call that a ramshackle Dublin team! Will you put your bias to rest and grow up!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 20:55:53    2071168

We still haven't learned to go with the runners, the full back line hasn't really changed from last year when it was a glowing weakness then too. Poor shot selection when in decent positions and midfield cleaned out in the second half. On the positive side we created some good goal chances and kept going up to the last whistle to drive down the deficit. That could be valuable in terms of scoring difference at the end. Tonight was never going to decide how our league goes, that'll be decided by the four home games and possibly Donegal away. Also on the positive side, that's the best team in the country out of the way in league terms.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/01/2018 21:02:54    2071170

Replying To St.Conleth:  "You know absolutely nothing about football if you call that a ramshackle Dublin team! Will you put your bias to rest and grow up!"
They have been on holiday for a month ffs. Big up Kildare all you want that was a BERY underprepared dubs tonight and still the waltzed to victory in second gear.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2018 21:06:09    2071174

Replying To kildare73:  "We still haven't learned to go with the runners, the full back line hasn't really changed from last year when it was a glowing weakness then too. Poor shot selection when in decent positions and midfield cleaned out in the second half. On the positive side we created some good goal chances and kept going up to the last whistle to drive down the deficit. That could be valuable in terms of scoring difference at the end. Tonight was never going to decide how our league goes, that'll be decided by the four home games and possibly Donegal away. Also on the positive side, that's the best team in the country out of the way in league terms."
Agree. Thought Healy was doing well before black card. Was putting a lot of pressure on Dublin backs and got a lot of tackles in. Need to get Dan Flynn on the ball more. Early yellow dampened Eoin Doyle too.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 21:08:37    2071175

Replying To realdub:  "C'mon RD, he said splitting Dublin would be a bad idea and he's right. Time for ye lads to man up, Kildare are trying in fairness!"
I don't agree with splitting Dublin and you know that , it's a nonsensical idea. But for every registered player in Dublin the funding is something like 230, in other counties it's 30. The funds need to be devided more equally.
Kildare are not getting closer tonight proves that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2018 21:10:07    2071176

Dublin haven't even started training yet and Kildare are now relying on Eamonn Callaghan to kick frees.

Kildare were put out of the championship by being outclassed by the worst Armagh team since the 1960s. We are going nowhere. The thing is there are 28-29 other counties you could put in a similar bracket. Absolutely no point in wasting time watching Gaelic football this year.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 27/01/2018 21:16:09    2071177

So all the talk of the second best team in leinster and facing the best team in leinster in first game of national league doesint matter now? Mgeeney era ring a bell?

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 27/01/2018 21:16:28    2071178

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't agree with splitting Dublin and you know that , it's a nonsensical idea. But for every registered player in Dublin the funding is something like 230, in other counties it's 30. The funds need to be devided more equally.
Kildare are not getting closer tonight proves that."
Last three meetings 10 points, 9 points 7 points . Not getting closer ? At least we have a go at them.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 21:20:34    2071181

No point in playing the leinster championship lets be honest

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 27/01/2018 21:21:43    2071182

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't agree with splitting Dublin and you know that , it's a nonsensical idea. But for every registered player in Dublin the funding is something like 230, in other counties it's 30. The funds need to be devided more equally.
Kildare are not getting closer tonight proves that."
That's factually incorrect. Leinster Final 9 pts.......tonight 7 pts. When I went to school 7 was always less than 9!:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/01/2018 21:22:10    2071183

Replying To royal7:  "So all the talk of the second best team in leinster and facing the best team in leinster in first game of national league doesint matter now? Mgeeney era ring a bell?"
Do you really think anyone expected Kildare to beat Dublin ? In Croke Park ? And all ireland champions ? Where were you before the match

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 21:24:31    2071184

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin haven't even started training yet and Kildare are now relying on Eamonn Callaghan to kick frees.

Kildare were put out of the championship by being outclassed by the worst Armagh team since the 1960s. We are going nowhere. The thing is there are 28-29 other counties you could put in a similar bracket. Absolutely no point in wasting time watching Gaelic football this year."
Good man Daith, we can always expect you on after a defeat. Hopefully you wont have to post after next few matches.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 21:27:01    2071186

Not too despondent with that, best team by far in first half and should have been much further ahead at half time, a blind man could we were going to pay big time for not taking our goal chances but how could anyone be too harsh on Dan for not picking out Doyle i think it was? Not too sure, twas hard to see.. the man is a machine, was worth the trip alone to see the goal he did finally convert. Seriously unlucky to lose another freetaker and corner forward after only 2mins..
Biggest worry is heads goin down after first goal which led to downing tools for the 2nd, and not for the 1st time either.. Still the lads eventually raised them again and although contest was over they plugged away till end (wouldn't happened earlier in this teams development). They will have learnt more from the last 2 games v the Dubs than all the div 2 games together last year.. And i bet cant wait to pit themselves against them in the summer all going well.. Like playing the All-Blacks you can't play these lads often enough and each time we meet them we are learning more and more, staying competitive longer in the fixture and reducing the gap.. A 7 pt loss in their home patch is still disappointing but will many other div 1 teams get closer? Till be interesting to see. An enjoyable game for the most part and sooo good to be back playing the best teams in the country again..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 27/01/2018 22:12:58    2071198

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin haven't even started training yet and Kildare are now relying on Eamonn Callaghan to kick frees.

Kildare were put out of the championship by being outclassed by the worst Armagh team since the 1960s. We are going nowhere. The thing is there are 28-29 other counties you could put in a similar bracket. Absolutely no point in wasting time watching Gaelic football this year."
Well don't then,
please?
Good lad.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 27/01/2018 22:16:55    2071199

First half was competitive but the game was over after 50 minutes.
Have to say , I thought Conor Lane was in the way of the game more than anything else. Poor performance.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/01/2018 22:20:54    2071201

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Not too despondent with that, best team by far in first half and should have been much further ahead at half time, a blind man could we were going to pay big time for not taking our goal chances but how could anyone be too harsh on Dan for not picking out Doyle i think it was? Not too sure, twas hard to see.. the man is a machine, was worth the trip alone to see the goal he did finally convert. Seriously unlucky to lose another freetaker and corner forward after only 2mins..
Biggest worry is heads goin down after first goal which led to downing tools for the 2nd, and not for the 1st time either.. Still the lads eventually raised them again and although contest was over they plugged away till end (wouldn't happened earlier in this teams development). They will have learnt more from the last 2 games v the Dubs than all the div 2 games together last year.. And i bet cant wait to pit themselves against them in the summer all going well.. Like playing the All-Blacks you can't play these lads often enough and each time we meet them we are learning more and more, staying competitive longer in the fixture and reducing the gap.. A 7 pt loss in their home patch is still disappointing but will many other div 1 teams get closer? Till be interesting to see. An enjoyable game for the most part and sooo good to be back playing the best teams in the country again.."
Good analysis which will throw a few here. Being compared to possibly the best team ever and run down by our efforts by a couple of idiots is hard to take. Interesting to see how the rest will do.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/01/2018 22:27:23    2071203

Game was won in the first 15 minutes of the 2nd half. Brian Fenton was brilliant for Dublin as well as Brogan too.

I really enjoy watching Daniel Flynn play football. Kildare really need to get him on the ball as much as possible. Maybe he should have laid the ball off at one stage but it's hard to criticise a player of his ability backing himself.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 27/01/2018 23:02:00    2071209