Hurling All Stars 2017

Replying To tiobraid:  "In my (probably biased opinion). My front runners for hurler of the year would be 1. Jamie Barron and I couldn't split McInerney, Moran and Maher out side of that. I've been to a hell of a lot of games this year and there is no one else I can think of who were consistently as good in every championship game as these lads. Probably a bit harsh maybe on Whelan and Connors though....
But that's 5 players who I'll be shocked if they aren't on the All Star team."
Barron is my HOTY, I think McInerney and David Burke have to be nailed on as All-Stars too, they would be my shortlist for HOTY but a lot of people would want Whelan in the shortlist. Padraic Maher was really good in every game he played this year. Whelan and Conor Cooney will surely get All-Stars too, Cooney may not have been as free scoring in the final as other games but the scores he got were at important times during the final. Moran was very good from the Kilkenny game onwards and should definitely pick up an All-Star too.

The team will be heavily weighted towards Galway because they were so impressive in every game this year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/09/2017 18:14:09    2044256

Joe Canning would be my pick for hurler of the year.He's been very good since the league quarter final V Waterford.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 13/09/2017 15:38:59    2045677

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Couple of changes to my original.

Gearoid mc for Ellis.
Burke for Chin
Moran for Gleeson"
I had 11 right. Okeeffe mannion Maher and brick the 4 i omitted.

Anyone get all 15 right?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 02/11/2017 08:10:04    2059677

Mannion instead of Touhy, Coleman instead of De Burca and Cannning instead of Chin.
Tuohy or Hanbury are both hard done by. Certainly don't begrudge Mannion.

While I didn't have John McGrath in my team I hoped he might get one. I stand to be corrected but I believe he was the top scorer from play in both the championship and the League.
Scored an incredible 10-38 this year. Has it ever happened before where the top scorer hasn't even got a look in? Having said that it seems most peoples choices for number 8-15 were the same.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2017 11:04:08    2059715

Replying To jobber:  "It's incredible how so few consider Aonghus Clarke midfield, Tommy Doyle full back both Westmeath,Patrick Purcell Midfield and Matthew Whelan half back both Laois."
Not that incredible to be fair

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 02/11/2017 11:09:55    2059720

Doyle and Clarke are good no doubt but there miles off the pace for an all-star or nomination. Put it this way if either had started the all-Ireland for Galway or Waterford they would be subbed after 10 mins. Different pace. Doyles performance on Callanan had more to do with Callanan not being bothered than Doyle really.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 02/11/2017 12:13:03    2059735

I hate when they pick people in positions they didn't play just to fit people in. Mannion should be right half back that's where he played all year and he was brilliant there. Putting him in the corner to facilitate getting Maher onto the team is stupid. And Maher never played right half back.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 02/11/2017 13:04:24    2059753

Replying To wd45:  "Doyle and Clarke are good no doubt but there miles off the pace for an all-star or nomination. Put it this way if either had started the all-Ireland for Galway or Waterford they would be subbed after 10 mins. Different pace. Doyles performance on Callanan had more to do with Callanan not being bothered than Doyle really."
Yes it's apples and oranges really.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2180 - 02/11/2017 13:14:32    2059758

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "I hate when they pick people in positions they didn't play just to fit people in. Mannion should be right half back that's where he played all year and he was brilliant there. Putting him in the corner to facilitate getting Maher onto the team is stupid. And Maher never played right half back."
I think to be fair it was to facilitate Coleman. It happens every year. Also, Moran had to be facilitated at wing forward. He couldn't be left off
What happens if down the line everyone plays a sweeper. Will they select a Darragh Fives at 15?!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2017 13:36:01    2059764

Replying To Brianmac78:  "I had 11 right. Okeeffe mannion Maher and brick the 4 i omitted.

Anyone get all 15 right?"
I got 13 Brian. I agreed with the Sunday Game team of the year:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0903/902038-galway-dominate-the-sunday-game-hurling-team-of-the-yea/

Looking back now with the benefit of hindsight I would probably still pick Nash over O'Keefe and Tuohy over Coleman. Coleman had an unbelievable season but the reason I didn't go with him was I thought he was too green for Brick in the semi-final. Before that game, I would have had him as a shoe-in for an All-Star.

There was very little between O'Keefe and Nash. The reason I picked Nash was for some of the amazing saves he pulled off like the one from Mahony in the semi-final. They are hard to compare because their puckout/delivery styles are different.

That said O'Keefe and Coleman had great seasons.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/11/2017 13:50:04    2059769

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think to be fair it was to facilitate Coleman. It happens every year. Also, Moran had to be facilitated at wing forward. He couldn't be left off
What happens if down the line everyone plays a sweeper. Will they select a Darragh Fives at 15?!!"
If it was to facilitate Coleman, they would have put Coleman at number 5. They didn't. They put Maher there. Coleman was fantastic, man of the match or near it in 3 top quality Munster games. Well deserved all star.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 02/11/2017 14:24:27    2059782

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "If it was to facilitate Coleman, they would have put Coleman at number 5. They didn't. They put Maher there. Coleman was fantastic, man of the match or near it in 3 top quality Munster games. Well deserved all star."
So you think Maher didn't deserve one? Interesting!!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2017 16:17:25    2059807

Cork beat a Tipp team in disarray and were hammered out the gate by Waterford. They should have no player anywhere near an all-star. Maher was part of a team beaten twice in this years championship and demolished in the league final. His inclusion is a political joke. Galway would be looking at 30 years without an all ireland if it wasn't for Hanbury and especially Joseph Cooney. The former was close to MOTM in the All-ireland final, the latter was close to MOTM in the Leinster final and brilliant in the first half of the All-Ireland final. Hanbury for Maher, Joseph Cooney for Horgan and Tuohy or DeBurca for Coleman would be a better selection.
Having said all that; will the selection keep me awake tonight? Not for one second because at the end of the day it's all about Liam McCarthy.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 02/11/2017 16:19:06    2059809

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "If it was to facilitate Coleman, they would have put Coleman at number 5. They didn't. They put Maher there. Coleman was fantastic, man of the match or near it in 3 top quality Munster games. Well deserved all star."
Mannion, McInerney, and Maher were the 3 best half backs this year. I wouldn't have given it to Coleman based on his All Ireland semi final performance.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 02/11/2017 17:35:24    2059826

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I got 13 Brian. I agreed with the Sunday Game team of the year:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0903/902038-galway-dominate-the-sunday-game-hurling-team-of-the-yea/

Looking back now with the benefit of hindsight I would probably still pick Nash over O'Keefe and Tuohy over Coleman. Coleman had an unbelievable season but the reason I didn't go with him was I thought he was too green for Brick in the semi-final. Before that game, I would have had him as a shoe-in for an All-Star.

There was very little between O'Keefe and Nash. The reason I picked Nash was for some of the amazing saves he pulled off like the one from Mahony in the semi-final. They are hard to compare because their puckout/delivery styles are different.

That said O'Keefe and Coleman had great seasons."
O'Keeffe has been the best keeper for the last few years. The best shot stopper. Nash is good but his puck out strategy worked in one game against Clare but was terrible against Waterford (semi final). Also one of the goals was softish. If you review puck outs from all the games O'Keeffe percentage of success was much higher as he varied between short and long. It could have gone either way but this was the right choice and one was wondering how long more O'Keeffe would be overlooked. Phillip Mahony was up there also with any of the half backs without a mention but only so many can be picked.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 02/11/2017 20:51:11    2059869

Replying To Canuck:  "O'Keeffe has been the best keeper for the last few years. The best shot stopper. Nash is good but his puck out strategy worked in one game against Clare but was terrible against Waterford (semi final). Also one of the goals was softish. If you review puck outs from all the games O'Keeffe percentage of success was much higher as he varied between short and long. It could have gone either way but this was the right choice and one was wondering how long more O'Keeffe would be overlooked. Phillip Mahony was up there also with any of the half backs without a mention but only so many can be picked."
The best keeper this year by far was Eoin Murphy but the clowns who select all stars and all star nominations don't often look outside the semi finalists

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 02/11/2017 21:58:40    2059895

Congrats to all the players chosen and hard luck to a number of players who just missed out. Its interesting to see that the Galway players selected come from six different clubs

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/11/2017 23:13:32    2059924

Replying To neverright:  "Congrats to all the players chosen and hard luck to a number of players who just missed out. Its interesting to see that the Galway players selected come from six different clubs"
11 (and sometimes 12) clubs were represented on the usual starting 15 so in that context it's not all that remarkable.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 03/11/2017 02:07:05    2059939

Replying To Canuck:  "O'Keeffe has been the best keeper for the last few years. The best shot stopper. Nash is good but his puck out strategy worked in one game against Clare but was terrible against Waterford (semi final). Also one of the goals was softish. If you review puck outs from all the games O'Keeffe percentage of success was much higher as he varied between short and long. It could have gone either way but this was the right choice and one was wondering how long more O'Keeffe would be overlooked. Phillip Mahony was up there also with any of the half backs without a mention but only so many can be picked."
To be fair Cannuck Nash's puckouts were excellent all through the Munster campaign particularly v Tipp......didn't work against Waterford but then always hard to repeat the performance against the same team during the same year as the losing team always learns more.....fair play to O Keeffe but no need for the disparaging comments about Nash who also had a great year.......worth reminding yourself that Waterford ended the year with nothing before you get ahead if yourself

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 03/11/2017 07:54:04    2059948

Replying To Mailman98:  "Cork beat a Tipp team in disarray and were hammered out the gate by Waterford. They should have no player anywhere near an all-star. Maher was part of a team beaten twice in this years championship and demolished in the league final. His inclusion is a political joke. Galway would be looking at 30 years without an all ireland if it wasn't for Hanbury and especially Joseph Cooney. The former was close to MOTM in the All-ireland final, the latter was close to MOTM in the Leinster final and brilliant in the first half of the All-Ireland final. Hanbury for Maher, Joseph Cooney for Horgan and Tuohy or DeBurca for Coleman would be a better selection.
Having said all that; will the selection keep me awake tonight? Not for one second because at the end of the day it's all about Liam McCarthy."
I love your logic of judging Maher's year on Tipp's performances!!
Peoples judgements are often clouded by results. Tipp were "unbeatable" last year after the final and yet only beat Galway by a point in the semi final. This years semi was equally close. Some peoples judgments are clouded by the overall results. Prime example is John McGrath who ran up higher scores than any Galway forward despite playing in 1A and not 1B this year.
I remember Martin Storey getting an all Star one year despite playing one and losing one cship game and rightly so. While I'd fully agree with the Wexford poster above on Murphy, it's hard to argue too much on O'Keeffe either. Personally I'd love to see some kind of a rating system or breakdown of how they are selected. i.e. why not give them all stars on their match ratings throughout the year with some kind of a weighted system where an 8/10 in the All Ireland is more valuable than an 8/10 in the first round.
I've watched back a few games this year and it's interesting how some players weren't perhaps as good as they were made out to be.
Having said that, overall this year it's not the worst pick despite Mannion and Maher out of position.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/11/2017 08:23:28    2059956