Kerry v Mayo

Mayo to win if they play the following way, Tom Parsons to mark Donaghy & play in front of him, two sweepers, Harrison playing behind Parsons & Boyle sweeping the half back line. Kirkby brought into the middle as he is far more mobile than Maher or Moran. Aidan O Shea to drift between centre forward & full forward running directly at them, with Durcan, Boyle & Keegan all over lapping. Rochford needs to view the videos of the drawn Munster final in Killarney two years ago & this years Clare, Cork & Galway games. This Kerry defence are very weak when run directly at or when pressure is put on them in a full press on the kick out. They are also prone to fouling a lot at the back when under pressure. The problem is most teams are beaten before taking the field & making plans how to thwart Kerry & ultimately sit back, concede kick outs & let them play & ultimately pay the price. Instead Mayo need to play to their strengths & show no respect & upset the apple cart by employing a different set up & going at their weak spot. A Galway team who were very very poor on the day could have had 3 goals, similarly Cork & Clare. It's there to win but if Mayo set up like the rest have done all year they will have another hard luck story. Rochford tactically needs to think outside the box & shake it up as he did some what today.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/08/2017 16:28:25    2030411

Replying To Find_the_space:  "Listened to the game on the radio, I think Mayo may have just done what the Rossie's and Armagh just did. They have now built themselves up for what could be another demolishing against a Kerry team waiting to get a decent game of football this year. If today's game was tighter I would have expected Kerry to go in over confident but now they know what they're up for a battle after Mayo put in an outstanding performance. Roscommon and Kerry are two different cattle of fish Mayo have had their struggles all year. However, looking back so did Tyrone when they won the AI against Kerry in 08 and may stand to them this year. No Keegan today either and he'll be another addition to the team to maybe mark one of Kerry's better players.

7th All-Ireland semi in a Row! Fair play to the lads to maintain this. Do Mayo forget their hurt too easily and are setting themselves up for another nasty fall? A Congrats to the Rossie's for their win on Connaught and taking Mayo to a Replay unfortunately, I thought the game would have been a lot tighter today but they were in bonus territory today. With a young team hopefully they'll be knock about this time next year."
I think Mayo above all other counties know exactly what it is to face Kerry so cannot see them getting carried away. I expect to see a fantastic contest. If I was forced to choose a winner I'd probably go with Kerry but as always Mayo are timing their run nicely and there is terrific fight in their team. They will roll over for no one.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 07/08/2017 16:31:20    2030416

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mayo have to be massive favourites after demolishing a division 1 team by 22 points.

We've beaten 3 div 2 teams by 6 , 11, and 8 points.

Mayo are battle hardened and have ironed out any kinks , and we haven't a clue where we stand at the minute, Mayo by 5 I'd say but I hope I'm wrong."
Kerry 21/10 Mayo 13/2 paddy power for all ireland

There is your answer.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/08/2017 16:32:54    2030420

Nobody can really predict what going to happen the next day it really depends what Mayo shows up. We know to some extent what Kerry will bring but if Mayo bring the ball forward with pace along with their direct running power then they will be hard to beat as opposed to some of their below par performances over the last few weeks.

Similiar to Kerry in 09 we struggled against poorer teams but it didnt do us any harm once the big games arrived. Its hard to see Mayo not being fired up against us especially given the history over the last few years. A big question is whether Cafferkey will be brought back in to manage Donaghy but maybe the Mayo folk have alternative options.

We need Geaney and O Donoghue back to their best form and our defense needs to be a lot better as if we perform like against Galway then Mayo could cause the same goal threat and Mayo will be more clinical then their neighbours. Mayo have the momentum and should be favourites but too close to call.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/08/2017 16:38:14    2030423

The yerra merchants are out in force already but there might just be a bit of truth behind it even if they might not fully believe the accuracy of their own words.

One thing is for certain. Mayo will give Kerry a serious examination and we'll have to wait and see if Kerry pass or fail.

For me it's a 50/50 game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/08/2017 16:41:25    2030427

Replying To avonali:  "The yerra has started in earnest!"
Yes, and even by Kerry standards, this one was over the top. Dingle2 has brought the yerra to a whole new level.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 07/08/2017 16:42:43    2030429

Mayo's performance today will definitely have gotten the Kerry teams attention. The Roscommon kick outs were as bad as I've seen for a while, and were the basis of Mayo's dominance. Kerry can't afford to gift possession like the Rossies did today. Should be interesting in 13 days time. If our forwards perform on the day I'd say we edge it, but I wouldn't be putting big money on it

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 07/08/2017 17:08:26    2030443

Having attended last week's double header I wasn't sure what to expect today, I felt Mayo by 2 or 3 and was very interested what would happen today- Mayo finished or still in the hunt for Sam

Well, in no uncertain terms I got my answer as Mayo were absolutely phenomenal and have sent the fear of God into me and the Kerry fans I have to talked since the game was over. From start to finish that was Total Football (albeit should have scored about 9 goals!!!!!!) and extremely worrying was the ease they cut through the middle of the defence and as everyone knows the Kingdom are very prone to giving up Goal Chances there.

I thought after last week we were favourites to get to the Final , today totally dispelled that notion and reinforced why they are the one team Jim Gavin and the Dublin fans fear, we are very much up against it......

AgainstTheOdds (Kerry) - Posts: 47 - 07/08/2017 17:15:08    2030448

Ye might call it yerra but look at two teams run to the semifinal, which team will no more about them selves Kerry or Mayo?

Which team are battle hardened and have had to dig deep to the semifinal?

People will say Mayo are tired from all their games , I don't think so , Mayo have been plodding along and are now tuned in and are where they would have expected to be.

Also Mayo came down to Tralee in the league and gave us a good thumping in our own back yard where Andy Moran destroyed mark griffin.

All in all Mayo hold all the aces here and you can never underestimate momentum.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/08/2017 17:23:49    2030452

Replying To moc.dna:  "Mayo to win if they play the following way, Tom Parsons to mark Donaghy & play in front of him, two sweepers, Harrison playing behind Parsons & Boyle sweeping the half back line. Kirkby brought into the middle as he is far more mobile than Maher or Moran. Aidan O Shea to drift between centre forward & full forward running directly at them, with Durcan, Boyle & Keegan all over lapping. Rochford needs to view the videos of the drawn Munster final in Killarney two years ago & this years Clare, Cork & Galway games. This Kerry defence are very weak when run directly at or when pressure is put on them in a full press on the kick out. They are also prone to fouling a lot at the back when under pressure. The problem is most teams are beaten before taking the field & making plans how to thwart Kerry & ultimately sit back, concede kick outs & let them play & ultimately pay the price. Instead Mayo need to play to their strengths & show no respect & upset the apple cart by employing a different set up & going at their weak spot. A Galway team who were very very poor on the day could have had 3 goals, similarly Cork & Clare. It's there to win but if Mayo set up like the rest have done all year they will have another hard luck story. Rochford tactically needs to think outside the box & shake it up as he did some what today."
would Play Barry Moran on Donaghy if he's reasonably fit. He did a good job against Donagal there 2 years ago.

That way you wont have to disrupt your out the field players too much

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 07/08/2017 17:25:16    2030453

Replying To dingle2:  "Mayo awesome today and back to their best. Can't see Kerry matching their physicality and powerful direct running. They must be favourites to finally lift Sam after today's display. I don't think any of the other three teams left could live with them if they continue in this vein. What will they be like with Lee Keegan back on board?? The mind boggles. Could be cancelling my September reservation with booking.com."
You typify the Kerry chite talk that all the rest of us have become accustomed to.
Don't fool anyone with your nonsense.

Unbelievable that Kerry fans still go on with this crap. Totally disingenuous and sums up a lot of you. .

God help us all if you lot start winning Sam regularly again. Unbearable will be the biggest of understatements...!

Come on Mayo...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 07/08/2017 17:33:13    2030460

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mayo have to be massive favourites after demolishing a division 1 team by 22 points.

We've beaten 3 div 2 teams by 6 , 11, and 8 points.

Mayo are battle hardened and have ironed out any kinks , and we haven't a clue where we stand at the minute, Mayo by 5 I'd say but I hope I'm wrong."
Ah ffs yet more nonsense coming from some Kerry posters.

It is in your DNA so why change the habit of a lifetime with your bs talk.

Total crap. Ye should try being honest for heavens sake.

No wonder the rest of us will be shout for Mayo in the semi.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 07/08/2017 17:41:19    2030463

Replying To centerfield:  "would Play Barry Moran on Donaghy if he's reasonably fit. He did a good job against Donagal there 2 years ago.

That way you wont have to disrupt your out the field players too much"
Barry Moran is also a basketballer as far as I know so that might work.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/08/2017 17:44:58    2030466

Replying To Fionn:  "Ah ffs yet more nonsense coming from some Kerry posters.

It is in your DNA so why change the habit of a lifetime with your bs talk.

Total crap. Ye should try being honest for heavens sake.

No wonder the rest of us will be shout for Mayo in the semi."
Do you think we care what you think of us? ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/08/2017 17:55:34    2030475

Same old story I'd say.
Mayo's lack of forwards will catch them out in the end.
Roscommon back line and goalkeeper were all over the shop today and didn't get anywhere close enough to Mayo forwards and they had all day to shoot and pick their spot.Kerry will close them down and score far easier and win in the end by 5/6 points for me.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/08/2017 18:06:29    2030483

Have to say I fancy Mayo to be honest. Kerry haven't beaten a Div 1 team in the championship in I think about three years.

There current reputation is built on beating Dublin by a point in the league final, deservedly so, but Dublin still has sand between their toes and a different beast to the one that will be lining out in three weeks.

If Mayo do the job they did last September on Dublin, I think Mayo will win.

Some facilitating match ups, if Mayo go for the vice defence like against Dublin the Kerry forward line will struggle.

The Kerry half forward line is poor offensively but excellent defensively, but the Mayo half back line is one of the best in the country.

The Kerry back line is poor and prone to fouling, it will be up to them to keep their discipline and not let O' Connor pick them off.

It all comes down to if Mayo can score enough me, they will need goals Vs Kerry. Tough team to prepare for Mayo they can set up a number of different ways.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2017 18:14:13    2030486

Mayo haven't beaten Kerry in championship football since 1996. Before that they hadn't beaten them since 1951. The record as it stands is 18-4 in Kerrys favour. History suggests the odds are stacked against Mayo.

That was a woeful performance from Roscommon today. They were tossed around like a rag doll. Kerry will have enough to get past Mayo.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 07/08/2017 18:33:58    2030497

Can you imagine if Roscommon had managed to beat Mayo last day. Kerry would have steamroller them like they got steamrolled today.
First real test for Kerry next day.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/08/2017 18:53:23    2030507

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye might call it yerra but look at two teams run to the semifinal, which team will no more about them selves Kerry or Mayo?

Which team are battle hardened and have had to dig deep to the semifinal?

People will say Mayo are tired from all their games , I don't think so , Mayo have been plodding along and are now tuned in and are where they would have expected to be.

Also Mayo came down to Tralee in the league and gave us a good thumping in our own back yard where Andy Moran destroyed mark griffin.

All in all Mayo hold all the aces here and you can never underestimate momentum."
Mayo are training to peak in August and September like the 3 other teams in the competition. It doesnt mater that much what has happened up until now, the real issue is which team is ready on the day. There are no injury issues nor suspension issues. both teams look to be in rude health.

You could argue that Mayo have had a good run that will stand to them in terms of being battle hardened. You could also argue that Mayo are involved in close games against Ross, Derry and Cork because they are around the same standard as them most of the time.

The reality is that this is Mayo's first test in terms of quality opposition. Same goes for Kerry. There would be no advantage nor disadvantage facing either side ahead of this game, except for Mayo in terms of belief, which they are going to need anyway.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/08/2017 18:54:58    2030510

Some miles on those Mayo legs now! They'll be thankful for the almost two week break before the Kerry game. In fact, one could argue that they couldn't be better primed for this game. Should be an absolute stormer and if Kerry don't improve considerably after their performance against Galway, they could find themselves in trouble.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/08/2017 19:02:19    2030517