Anyone but Dublin or Kerry

Your identity is yours and yous alone imo.

Where you were born or where your parents were born contributes to it.

My ancestors were invaders I'd say. Sailed up the Liffey in a Longboat and never left!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/07/2017 17:28:20    2022726

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "I see what you mean Danny and that's absolutely your choice, my point being it's for people to define themselves, not pigeon-hole and stereotype."
Sorry man I agree. Just that's my experience. My sister moved to Meath and is an active member of her club down there and although she considers herself a Dub, she loves Meath too. Where you kibw

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 24/07/2017 17:57:58    2022744

Replying To TheUsername:  "Technically Celts and Vikings, no one ever gives the credit Scandinavia deserves for their contribution to the GAA."
Very true Username, I believe there are GAA clubs in Sweden and Finland, not too sure about Norway and Denmark. We'd have to look at the logistics though, surely Stockholm GAA should be split into at least two, due to their population?!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 24/07/2017 18:14:59    2022758

Replying To jimbodub:  "Don't forget about the Normans.. and the good old Anglo Saxons"
Nah they never had time, too busy building castles for themselves and their traitorous acolytes :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 24/07/2017 18:20:10    2022759

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Nah they never had time, too busy building castles for themselves and their traitorous acolytes :)"
Ahh the Normans weren't bad!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2017 18:46:08    2022766

Replying To MesAmis:  "Your identity is yours and yous alone imo.

Where you were born or where your parents were born contributes to it.

My ancestors were invaders I'd say. Sailed up the Liffey in a Longboat and never left!"
No doubt the Irish blood line is quite a diverse one.. a lot of outside influences have shaped our current form

That will soon again change with the influx of African and Eastern European people making a good life for themselves here.

Some pretty interesting surnames on the way for future commentators

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2017 18:52:10    2022767

Replying To realdub:  "Haha you're unbelievably full of it, haven't encountered anything of the sort in 50 years here.
I'm 3 generation Dub and that's good enough for me, otherwise my tree splits between Leitrim and Tipperary and I've no problem with that!"
And you call your self a realdub, my Kerry roots goes back about 4/5 thousand years ago you can even see my ancestors in cave paintings in the Cork Kerry mountains ,

I'm 100% a Kerry wildling .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/07/2017 19:11:42    2022778

Gggggggg Galway

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 24/07/2017 19:14:18    2022780

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And you call your self a realdub, my Kerry roots goes back about 4/5 thousand years ago you can even see my ancestors in cave paintings in the Cork Kerry mountains ,

I'm 100% a Kerry wildling ."
You're sure your ancestors weren't wearing red jerseys in those cave paintings? :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 24/07/2017 19:52:31    2022794

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And you call your self a realdub, my Kerry roots goes back about 4/5 thousand years ago you can even see my ancestors in cave paintings in the Cork Kerry mountains ,

I'm 100% a Kerry wildling ."
Ah yes there is no doubt you're 100% hillbilly :D, look when you come from the pale, you're either gonna be of culchie roots, or British, nice choice. There are no Dubs that can trace themselves back like that, because its a city, and people arrive, build and then flock to said metropolis.
As a result, its much harder for us to feel that prehistoric belonging so its a credit to our lads that they play with such a passion for their county, much easier for the culchies in that regard.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/07/2017 23:38:11    2022904

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "You're sure your ancestors weren't wearing red jerseys in those cave paintings? :)"
Ah sure the counties only came I with the normans as far as I know, before that we were all just southwest Munster I'd say .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2017 01:53:49    2022933

Replying To realdub:  "Ah yes there is no doubt you're 100% hillbilly :D, look when you come from the pale, you're either gonna be of culchie roots, or British, nice choice. There are no Dubs that can trace themselves back like that, because its a city, and people arrive, build and then flock to said metropolis.
As a result, its much harder for us to feel that prehistoric belonging so its a credit to our lads that they play with such a passion for their county, much easier for the culchies in that regard."
Actually I have an interesting fact for you realdub, did you know that the hillbillies were descended from Ulster Scots that moved to the deepe south in the US .

I read that in a book :-/

And ya it must be hard for ye dubs to have the pride of place that us country folk enjoy but ye have many other great things like money and home advantage for big games :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2017 02:02:36    2022934

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Actually I have an interesting fact for you realdub, did you know that the hillbillies were descended from Ulster Scots that moved to the deepe south in the US .

I read that in a book :-/

And ya it must be hard for ye dubs to have the pride of place that us country folk enjoy but ye have many other great things like money and home advantage for big games :-)"
Hey boyo, we got some great players with a winners attitude, that's what we got

Doesn't surprise me about the hillbillies :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 25/07/2017 02:36:35    2022936