Anyone but Dublin or Kerry

I dunno, I'd actually like to see Kerry win it this year (mainly because I have a few bob on them) but also that it would keep this current rivalry between Kerry and Dublin going. It's gotten to the point now where a lot of us are looking for Kerry to get that win over Dublin, I don't have a gripe against this Dublin team but to give us another twist in the saga. Kerry haven't beaten Dublin since 09 in the Championship, which is so hard to believe. They also haven't lost to anyone else other than Dublin under Fitzmaurice which gives them all the more reason to really go for it this year with Geaney and JOD in red hot form.
Outside of those two, I would love to see Mayo get over the line finally. Their best chance was 3 years ago but the way they're pulling out performances this season, you would love to see them get that little bit of luck to get over the line.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 24/07/2017 10:40:22    2022333

Replying To baire:  "I stand by my assertion, most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it. There would be no GAA in Dublin without its country roots. That's not rubbish, it's a fact. Accept it and get rid of your prejudice. The big GAA clubs in Dublin were started by country people, Vincents, Kilmacud etc. Look at their surnames, in the football for example, Connolly, Costello, Sullivan, McMahon, McCarthy, Fenton, Flynn, Mannion and others. If we could get a few of those Galway names on our team we'd be delighted to acknowledge the Dublin connection! Cop on!"
Re "most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it."

Curious statement, what do you base this on - players/folk being embarrassed? I know of no Irishman (Dub or otherwise) who has ever been embarrassed from where their parent or grandparents came from. We are a small island so obviously lots of us have family connections in lots of counties. In fact a new generation will have family connections in other countries not counties. All I know for the county I support. If we don't win the AI, it will mean nothing if the winning team have players with Dub parents/grandparents.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2017 10:50:50    2022345

Replying To poguemahone:  "Re "most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it."

Curious statement, what do you base this on - players/folk being embarrassed? I know of no Irishman (Dub or otherwise) who has ever been embarrassed from where their parent or grandparents came from. We are a small island so obviously lots of us have family connections in lots of counties. In fact a new generation will have family connections in other countries not counties. All I know for the county I support. If we don't win the AI, it will mean nothing if the winning team have players with Dub parents/grandparents."
I didn't mean that the players themselves were embarrassed by it. I live in Dublin and am attached to a club here. I have encountered this denial of country roots quite often and it seems to be on the increase. There is also the opposite, thankfully, where there is a great connection and mutual respect for both city and country, but my experience in recent years is that more and more of the Dubs are either disowning their country origins, are in denial and in some cases are hostile to even the idea of country origins. I have encountered this with people whose parents came from my own county as well as others. In my view Dublin and the country compliment each other well. Dublin ppl who have come to live in the west, for example, have made a good contribution to life there, no more than the country ppl who brought gaelic games to Dublin.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 24/07/2017 11:17:48    2022386

Replying To baire:  "I stand by my assertion, most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it. There would be no GAA in Dublin without its country roots. That's not rubbish, it's a fact. Accept it and get rid of your prejudice. The big GAA clubs in Dublin were started by country people, Vincents, Kilmacud etc. Look at their surnames, in the football for example, Connolly, Costello, Sullivan, McMahon, McCarthy, Fenton, Flynn, Mannion and others. If we could get a few of those Galway names on our team we'd be delighted to acknowledge the Dublin connection! Cop on!"
Some are embarrassed about it? Can you please name these players because I've never seen/heard any Dublin player mention being embarrassed of their country roots. The Brogans are very proud of theirs, as is Cian O'Sullivan.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 24/07/2017 12:57:03    2022515

Replying To baire:  "I didn't mean that the players themselves were embarrassed by it. I live in Dublin and am attached to a club here. I have encountered this denial of country roots quite often and it seems to be on the increase. There is also the opposite, thankfully, where there is a great connection and mutual respect for both city and country, but my experience in recent years is that more and more of the Dubs are either disowning their country origins, are in denial and in some cases are hostile to even the idea of country origins. I have encountered this with people whose parents came from my own county as well as others. In my view Dublin and the country compliment each other well. Dublin ppl who have come to live in the west, for example, have made a good contribution to life there, no more than the country ppl who brought gaelic games to Dublin."
"I didn't mean that the players themselves were embarrassed by it".

Really? Because that's exactly what you said:

most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 24/07/2017 12:59:20    2022520

Replying To baire:  "I didn't mean that the players themselves were embarrassed by it. I live in Dublin and am attached to a club here. I have encountered this denial of country roots quite often and it seems to be on the increase. There is also the opposite, thankfully, where there is a great connection and mutual respect for both city and country, but my experience in recent years is that more and more of the Dubs are either disowning their country origins, are in denial and in some cases are hostile to even the idea of country origins. I have encountered this with people whose parents came from my own county as well as others. In my view Dublin and the country compliment each other well. Dublin ppl who have come to live in the west, for example, have made a good contribution to life there, no more than the country ppl who brought gaelic games to Dublin."
I have to say I've never seen any denial of country roots amongst Dublin GAA folk or Dublin folk in general.

Go to any GAA club in Dublin and you'll see underage teams training and some kids will be wearing country county jerseys etc. As well as that plenty of Dubs with country roots will retain a fondness for their parents or even grandparents roots and support them like a 2nd team.

A friend of mine goes to most Down matches with his Da when they don't clash with Dubs games. Neither my friend nor his Da are from Down but rather my friend's Grandad was a Down man. That's replicated all across the city and I'd suggest is far more common than the country roots denying that you speak of.

A huge proportion of people in Dublin have their roots elsewhere. It doesn't make them any less Dubs though as it's completely common. A lot of country posters seem to think it makes people less Dubs because they have country roots but it couldn't be further from the truth. It seems to be used as a slagging 'sure aren't the Dublin team all from country parents/grandparents anyway!'.

Posters say that like it makes them less Dubs for some reason! It's bizzare! All that matters in terms of being a Dub is where you're from! It doesn't matter if your roots are in Lagos, Letterkenny or Lodz.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/07/2017 13:10:12    2022531

Must be to do with the specific group of people you know. I see the opposite. In fact , like last year's final, it is common to see kids wear the half Dublin half Mayo jersey eg . I know a couple of lads with Mayo parents. Their take is usually that if Dublin don't win, then they will cheer for Mayo which is fair enough. As said earlier, have not met anyone on this island who had an issue with where the parents came from.

Either way, surely it is how the players progress at their club rather than their genes that will determine if they'll make it to County level?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2017 13:32:46    2022561

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Some are embarrassed about it? Can you please name these players because I've never seen/heard any Dublin player mention being embarrassed of their country roots. The Brogans are very proud of theirs, as is Cian O'Sullivan."
Not what I meant, see above.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 24/07/2017 13:37:33    2022566

Haha you're unbelievably full of it, haven't encountered anything of the sort in 50 years here.
I'm 3 generation Dub and that's good enough for me, otherwise my tree splits between Leitrim and Tipperary and I've no problem with that!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/07/2017 13:46:12    2022571

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Some are embarrassed about it? Can you please name these players because I've never seen/heard any Dublin player mention being embarrassed of their country roots. The Brogans are very proud of theirs, as is Cian O'Sullivan."
Baire

We live on a small island with a small population

If you want to talk about genealogy it might get a little awkward...

I'm sure there are plenty of country players with Dublin blood

We just don't care about it very much and don't feel the need to point these things out

Country people love to though

I mean if Galway people just bred with Galway people you'd all be related by now...

Such a senseless thing to talk about.. once you're born in Dublin you're a Dub. It doesn't matter if your parents were born a couple of hours drive away. Born in Dublin. Live in Dublin. Educated in Dublin. Play for a Dublin club. Play for Dublin.

There's no such thing as pure blood and given the size of our population thank feck for it!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2017 13:51:46    2022575

I get the impression that both Tyrone and Mayo are like a jockey on a good horse in a qualifying race. Just doing enough to get to the big race and holding back their full hand until the big one. Naturally the big performance is need against either Kerry or Dublin, and hope that the managed performance is enough to just nose past everyone else, its a dangerous game. But Mayo will have to beat Kerry in the semi final (sorry Roscommon & Galway) and then most likely Dublin in the final that is one tall order.
Tyrone actually have a better chance cause they could beat Dublin in the semi final and they would not fear playing either Kerry or Mayo in the final.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 24/07/2017 14:56:39    2022627

PS

Lots of country parents come to have their children born in Dublin maternity hospitals

Especially if they are from Leinster.

So there's very many country people actually born in Dublin.. just raised somewhere else.

Does that make them Dubs?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2017 15:35:03    2022651

Tyrone will win it this year!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 24/07/2017 16:09:56    2022680

Replying To jimbodub:  "PS

Lots of country parents come to have their children born in Dublin maternity hospitals

Especially if they are from Leinster.

So there's very many country people actually born in Dublin.. just raised somewhere else.

Does that make them Dubs?"
You're doing well!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1804 - 24/07/2017 16:15:57    2022682

How about we allow the person in question to decide for themselves who or what they are, like we do in terms of race, nationality, gender and orientation? For example I'm second generation Irish, I was born in England and I've spent most of my life there and have a typical London orbital accent but I don't consider myself English. Just throwing it out there....

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 24/07/2017 16:31:03    2022691

Replying To anto_meath:  "I get the impression that both Tyrone and Mayo are like a jockey on a good horse in a qualifying race. Just doing enough to get to the big race and holding back their full hand until the big one. Naturally the big performance is need against either Kerry or Dublin, and hope that the managed performance is enough to just nose past everyone else, its a dangerous game. But Mayo will have to beat Kerry in the semi final (sorry Roscommon & Galway) and then most likely Dublin in the final that is one tall order.
Tyrone actually have a better chance cause they could beat Dublin in the semi final and they would not fear playing either Kerry or Mayo in the final."
Tyrone have wiped everyone they've played though.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 24/07/2017 16:37:38    2022699

I'm a mongrel myself. Mam is French Dad is Dub. His great grandad is from KK or so he tells me every time they lift the Liam. He's suspiciously quiet lately funnily enough. For me it's where you're born and raised that's in your blood. Not for a minute do I consider myself French being born and raised by the Liffey.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 24/07/2017 16:50:11    2022705

Replying To DannyMcA:  "I'm a mongrel myself. Mam is French Dad is Dub. His great grandad is from KK or so he tells me every time they lift the Liam. He's suspiciously quiet lately funnily enough. For me it's where you're born and raised that's in your blood. Not for a minute do I consider myself French being born and raised by the Liffey."
I see what you mean Danny and that's absolutely your choice, my point being it's for people to define themselves, not pigeon-hole and stereotype.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 24/07/2017 17:17:55    2022722

Technically Celts and Vikings, no one ever gives the credit Scandinavia deserves for their contribution to the GAA.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/07/2017 17:18:51    2022723

Replying To TheUsername:  "Technically Celts and Vikings, no one ever gives the credit Scandinavia deserves for their contribution to the GAA."
Don't forget about the Normans.. and the good old Anglo Saxons

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/07/2017 17:23:14    2022725