Inequality in County Funding

Replying To TheUsername:  "One thing you never see in these threads is other money given out to other counties for other projects or accumulation of those funds.

The Cork county board were handed a significant sum to the county board to revamp their new ground.

Kerry were handed 1 million from the GAA and another 1 million from the Munster Council for their center of excellence, on top of what is a very unfair advantage in development funding ahead of other counties with comparative population like Mayo or Donegal or bigger in say Down.

Mayo were bailed out by the GAA for millions when they couldn't pay a bank loan.

Antrim also look set to get a shot in the arm with the development of Casement Park.

I have yet to see cumulative figures of all funding provided by the Gaa on a county by county basis, while people seem very familiar with Dublin finance.

Its a good debate to have but the figures posted on here are often very narrow or hyperbole.

Why handicap a successful well run largely self run operation. When other counties seem to rely on handouts. Makes no sense.

Alot of the governance throughout the country is based on that charity mentality and it stifles innovation at administration and county level."
Dublin had the Abbotstown facility built for free on top of having access to DCU and loads of other world class facilities on their doorstep, the Kerry footballers and hurlers have had to train in places like UL & Mallow when there has been particularly bad winters

Also we have to account for 2 IC Standard Venues at a high standard another significant expenditure

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 19/07/2017 17:49:14    2019461

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To Galantis:  "Do Dublin players have to travel long huge distances to training, thus incurring huge expenditure costs - NO

Do the DCB have to make long, expensive treks to Croke Park 3, 4, 5 times a year like Mayo,Kerry, Donegal etc - NO

Ye are always saying 'Oh but we have more sports' Yes thats true but then you can't justify the funding on a population scale but on an actual GAA playing scale and as that graph indicates the shameful distortion of the funding by the GAA"
We have panels of players in both codes at all age groups men/women/boys/girls travelling the length and breadth of the entire country playing both codes

You are talking about ONE panel of players (while ignoring many more Dublin panels) which have already played away from home in NFL Div 1 on numerous occasions this year and away from home once in the championship this year.

How many games have Kerry played away from home so far in the championship?"
One which is one more than Dublin have since Longford over a decade ago.

How many times have Dublin played Kerry outside Dublin? By my count THREE 1934 and the 2 games in 2001

We believe in fair play and have Home and Away arrangements with all the other Munster counties and will play Cork in the new PUC the next 3 times which is a blow for the local economy but is fair from a sporting perspective

Your point regarding the travel expenses is laughable - for any county on the Western Seaboard it is the biggest expense every year by a huge distance as players are generally dispersed far more than the East Coast which racks up huge expenditure very quickly given the frequency of training in IC Football these days

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 19/07/2017 18:00:26    2019469

Dublin had the Abbotstown facility built for free on top of having access to DCU and loads of other world class facilities on their doorstep, the Kerry footballers and hurlers have had to train in places like UL & Mallow when there has been particularly bad winters

Also we have to account for 2 IC Standard Venues at a high standard another significant expenditure

Galantis (USA) - Posts:19 - 19/07/2017

Do you think the GAA should have turned down the chance to build in Abbotstown? It's as much a political thing as it is financial, all the major sports with the exception of the IRFU and Rowing Ireland will have a base out in Abbotstown once the development is complete - most sports already have a presence out there already.

Or do you think a national sports campus should have been elsewhere in the country? If so where? Can't think of anywhere that would be as easily accessible to as many people as Abbotstown is, or somewhere as close to our main airport, sea port and beside bus and train lines (admittedly public transport is one of the things letting the site down I feel).

Dublin use third level college facilities, what's to stop Kerry using or investing in Tralee IT to use the facilities there?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 19/07/2017 19:35:49    2019508

Replying To Galantis:  "Dublin had the Abbotstown facility built for free on top of having access to DCU and loads of other world class facilities on their doorstep, the Kerry footballers and hurlers have had to train in places like UL & Mallow when there has been particularly bad winters

Also we have to account for 2 IC Standard Venues at a high standard another significant expenditure"
Dublin to the best of my knowledge have never used the playing facilities in Abbotstown the gym that was paid for by the Dublin county board but they allow any county using the facility to use it. If you actually see where the Dublin footballers train at St Claies and Innistfallin you would laugh then be depressed as to why your own football team couldn't win an all Ireland.

It's actually the hurlers that DCU as their base and the county board have invested heavily in facilities there too. In truth Dublin GAA are miles behind the rest of the country in term of facilities. There is no one home or facility for underage to senior in either code or the women's game. We invest everything in developing the game. It's remarkable we have done so well.

Either way I don't see a difference between the hurlers using DCU and Kerry doing the same at IT Tralee.

Dublin are light years behind most counties and facilities to be honest, the presumption is hilarious,.

But it does beg the question, with Dublin being the most contrmpory force in football, is the decision to invest in games development or trading centres like in other counties the best pathway to success.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/07/2017 20:14:20    2019522

I am in abbotstown three times a week , you book it by email there is no phone number it is constantly used by both county men , women and juvenile county teams from all over the country , it hosts on a regular basis games were a team from the south is playing a team from the north were its similar distance for both to travel,it hosted this years Celtic challange on a regular basis for many counties , Dublin senior Teams do not use Abbotstown they still train in DCU
Dublin minor teams this year have trained in
Abbotstown
DCU
Alfie Byrne road
Craobh ciaran GAA club
UCD
Cula GAA club
You'd be surprised how ignorant many are about abbotstown

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2017 20:38:13    2019541

Can anyone name a sport where the playing pitch is level for everyone?

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 19/07/2017 20:43:04    2019546

Replying To arock:  "In typical fashion you are only talking about one code, Gaelic football, because in your world that is all the GAA is about. You are also only talking about the Inter-county game (Football of course) the rest doesn't matter, the rest doesn't count and therefore doesn't cost money to promote, develop or support. What we now see is with this thread all the monies are lumped together - previously it was Irish Sports council grants and no understanding on the part of anyone how this money is distributed, or its about "development" with zero understanding of what that is even about (neither apply to the Inter-county game at all). And it goes on and on, giving Cavan 10 million will never deliver an All ireland for instance but that is NOT what this money is about. There are 9 Adult Hurling Leagues and 12 Football alone with between 9/12 teams in each. The Juvenile leagues are huge, not to mention the underage, schools etc etc There are big participation numbers but GAA is competing for this at every level with other sports and social distraction. That level of participation is largely funded by its own means. Maybe if you took the blinkers off and looked behind the reality of funding you wouldn't be so wide off the mark. The fact is 30% of the population lives in Dublin if their is a big GAA Funding cake at least 30% of it has to go to the Dubs - or else you cap it and treat Dublin GAA players unfairly, that is why Sports council and Govt schemes have to be fairly distributed. You can do a lot in the GAA but you cannot get around the fact that 30% of Irish people live there."
It all comes back to the point that it doesn't make sense having 30 percent of the population being based in one county. And with the lack of regional development this situation is only going to get worse. If dublin continues as one county the will the all the football championships completely uncompetitive with all there advantages the have.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 19/07/2017 20:50:53    2019551

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yet you beat Dublin in a national final

It's not money that kicks a ball over a bar and we've always has sponsorship advantages even when getting hammered

The funding going into Dublin doesn't go near the Inter county teams

We have a huge commitment to both codes at all levels and that's where the sponsorship money is spent

The figures were published for 2016 and Dublin were not the greatest spenders on that list

Dublin came 2nd and that's with our commitment to both codes with our hurling teams performing very well

If there are other counties spending huge figures on their setups then we will do the same

Any sponsorship generated by Dublin is our own business and it's being pumped into very team at every level in both codes

Not just our senior football team. Unlike some counties...."
Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 19/07/2017 20:56:23    2019558

Replying To jimbodub:  "Absolutely

A common problem

Many believe that the development grants have been spent on our IC teams

It hasn't. It never has. It never will.

Every cent of it goes to games development under a very structured program developed by Dublin GAA and is accounted for at the end of the year with the GAA.

Sponsorship goes to fund our multitude of panels at all levels in both codes"
You seem to be under the impression that only the dubs have development/underage panels in both football/hurling when virtually every county has on both codes. Off course been stronger at both codes means extra gate revenues, extra sponsorship and more gate money from the club championships.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 19/07/2017 21:09:08    2019568

So what if it's spent entirely on schools? That saves up a heap of money for the senior teams that would otherwise had to have been spent on the schools?

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 19/07/2017 21:16:23    2019573

Replying To ROS1:  "Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland."
Surely thats an example of the fact that money cant buy talent? Cillian O' Connor hasn't won an all Ireland but he fronts a national ad campaign too. I don't understand your point here?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/07/2017 21:16:43    2019574

Replying To Damothedub:  "I am in abbotstown three times a week , you book it by email there is no phone number it is constantly used by both county men , women and juvenile county teams from all over the country , it hosts on a regular basis games were a team from the south is playing a team from the north were its similar distance for both to travel,it hosted this years Celtic challange on a regular basis for many counties , Dublin senior Teams do not use Abbotstown they still train in DCU
Dublin minor teams this year have trained in
Abbotstown
DCU
Alfie Byrne road
Craobh ciaran GAA club
UCD
Cula GAA club
You'd be surprised how ignorant many are about abbotstown"
I live beside St Claires where the Dublin Senior Team actually train. If only people could see how basic it is. Literally a pitch. Sure what else would they need anyway.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/07/2017 21:19:29    2019578

Replying To ROS1:  "Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland."
It's achieved a great deal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/07/2017 21:27:22    2019583

Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland.

ROS1 (Roscommon) - Posts:951 - 19/07/2017 20:56:23   2019558 

She's one of the best footballers in the country.

I wasn't aware that only All-Ireland winners could be used in ads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13712 - 19/07/2017 21:28:53    2019584

Replying To Galantis:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=Galantis:  "Do Dublin players have to travel long huge distances to training, thus incurring huge expenditure costs - NO

Do the DCB have to make long, expensive treks to Croke Park 3, 4, 5 times a year like Mayo,Kerry, Donegal etc - NO

Ye are always saying 'Oh but we have more sports' Yes thats true but then you can't justify the funding on a population scale but on an actual GAA playing scale and as that graph indicates the shameful distortion of the funding by the GAA"
We have panels of players in both codes at all age groups men/women/boys/girls travelling the length and breadth of the entire country playing both codes

You are talking about ONE panel of players (while ignoring many more Dublin panels) which have already played away from home in NFL Div 1 on numerous occasions this year and away from home once in the championship this year.

How many games have Kerry played away from home so far in the championship?"
One which is one more than Dublin have since Longford over a decade ago.

How many times have Dublin played Kerry outside Dublin? By my count THREE 1934 and the 2 games in 2001

We believe in fair play and have Home and Away arrangements with all the other Munster counties and will play Cork in the new PUC the next 3 times which is a blow for the local economy but is fair from a sporting perspective

Your point regarding the travel expenses is laughable - for any county on the Western Seaboard it is the biggest expense every year by a huge distance as players are generally dispersed far more than the East Coast which racks up huge expenditure very quickly given the frequency of training in IC Football these days"]Where did Dublin play Carlow in 2017?

Where did Dublin play Laois in 2016?

Dublin footballers don't train in Abbotstown

Anything else I can hep you out with?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/07/2017 21:32:21    2019589

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Surely thats an example of the fact that money cant buy talent? Cillian O' Connor hasn't won an all Ireland but he fronts a national ad campaign too. I don't understand your point here?"
My point was that even if this dublin team weren't as brilliant as the are the would still have huge commercial advantages over other counties. No matter how well or badly others counties do the won't match that.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/07/2017 00:40:23    2019691

Replying To MesAmis:  "Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland.

I wasn't aware that only All-Ireland winners could be used in ads."
You have girls with 16 all ireland medals in Cork, and there are plenty of good footballers around the country but if she was not from Dublin she would not have got the gig. Just a example good luck to her getting it.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/07/2017 00:46:29    2019692

Replying To ROS1:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Look at the huge money been put in to Dublin hurling by the national gaa over many years what has it achieved very little. Dublin are still not a top 8 team. Even if you look at the add a supermarket chain are running for ladies football championship did the get a member of probably the most successful team in irish sport as there spokeperson no the got a dub who has never won an all ireland.

I wasn't aware that only All-Ireland winners could be used in ads."
You have girls with 16 all ireland medals in Cork, and there are plenty of good footballers around the country but if she was not from Dublin she would not have got the gig. Just a example good luck to her getting it."
Your original post references the hurlers not being a top 8 team despite the money they received. Surely an example that money diesnt buy talent right? You then talked about a Dublin lady in an ad for a supermarket despite not winning an AI and went on to say it was because she plays foe Dublin she got this gig. I pointed out that O'Connor got a similar gig and he doesn't play for dublin or have an AI medal. You then tried to clarify your point by bringing the Dublin footballers into it. Clear as mud!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/07/2017 09:52:20    2019766

The simple fact is professional sports in the USA are fairer to the smaller market teams by using a draft system and salary cap.
In our great "Amateur" organisation the GAA pumps the most money into the cities and counties that have the biggest resources. This should be the opposite in our organisation. We should be supporting the weak to try to make a fair competition.

Our championships should be designed to keep all counties playing in the summer.
Smaller counties should have the big stadia and host the big matches.
Funding should be greater in those counties that are weaker.
All sponshorship should be pooled and spread out evenly.

In what other sport in the world does the biggest population centre have only one team? Get to play all their matches at home in a stadium funded by the other counties? Get the biggest amount of funds and grants from the organising body? Free centre of excellence?

Everything is tilted in dublins favour at present. The fact is they should be winning everything every year because the whole thing is designed for Dublin to succeed.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/07/2017 10:04:11    2020796

You have girls with 16 all ireland medals in Cork, and there are plenty of good footballers around the country but if she was not from Dublin she would not have got the gig. Just a example good luck to her getting it.

ROS1 (Roscommon) - Posts:960 - 20/07/2017 00:46:29   2019692 

How did the Mayo lads get into their ads then so when they've no All-Ireland medals and aren't from Dublin?

You're point about Sinéad Goldrick is BS and you know it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13712 - 22/07/2017 11:01:10    2020824