Charlie Redmond's Jim McGuinness comments

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Think Charlie made it pretty clear that McGuinness was under his skin before any of his articles appeared in the IT."
He's under many GAA peoples skin

Again though it's just Charlie throwing back more muck... two muck articles but one came before the other.

I'd honestly prefer if Charlie hadn't of let himself down though.. should have left that honour to Jim Mc.

Gavin was 100% entitled not to speak to the Sunday game after their handing of the Connolly incident

Even Spillane's own colleagues live on TV were highly critical of Pat's approach. He was on the TV, Radio, newspaper, online peddling his agenda.

The only form of media he didn't choose to peddle his wears was a live stage show featuring interruptive dance.

Compare it to the recent Cody incident. No self serving agenda there, nothing comes of it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 12:58:58    2019919

Replying To jimbodub:  "He's under many GAA peoples skin

Again though it's just Charlie throwing back more muck... two muck articles but one came before the other.

I'd honestly prefer if Charlie hadn't of let himself down though.. should have left that honour to Jim Mc.

Gavin was 100% entitled not to speak to the Sunday game after their handing of the Connolly incident

Even Spillane's own colleagues live on TV were highly critical of Pat's approach. He was on the TV, Radio, newspaper, online peddling his agenda.

The only form of media he didn't choose to peddle his wears was a live stage show featuring interruptive dance.

Compare it to the recent Cody incident. No self serving agenda there, nothing comes of it."
Well I'd agree with you there on almost all or that. The whole Connolly thing was a transparent fiasco from start to finish. When the referee & linesman didn't deal with it there and then that should have been it. Connolly has suffered for it and so have we. The whole saga has been an irritating sideshow for most of the summer.

What I don't get is how McGuinness irritates people so much. It would be different if he was on TV and in the papers giving his opinion without having first proven himself as a manager. Yes his tactics were novel and some found them abhorrent. But at least he put himself out there. He backed his convictions and landed the silverware. What more do people want exactly? That's the problem a lot of the time in this country. Anyone that shows any initiative to get ahead in life is seen to be getting too big for their boots and should be shit down immediately. It's a severe inferiority complex and one we'd be better advised to shake off sooner rather than later.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2017 13:18:17    2019939

Replying To jimbodub:  "He's under many GAA peoples skin

Compare it to the recent Cody incident. No self serving agenda there, nothing comes of it."
Would ye ever stop whinging about DC, he's a handy footballer but he can't handle the heat of battle. He's like a cow that yields loads of milk but kicks the bucket when it's full! Ye have loads of excellent footballers, skilled, strong, controlled team players. DC's lack of discipline negates his abundance of skill. Get over it!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 20/07/2017 13:39:19    2019950

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well I'd agree with you there on almost all or that. The whole Connolly thing was a transparent fiasco from start to finish. When the referee & linesman didn't deal with it there and then that should have been it. Connolly has suffered for it and so have we. The whole saga has been an irritating sideshow for most of the summer.

What I don't get is how McGuinness irritates people so much. It would be different if he was on TV and in the papers giving his opinion without having first proven himself as a manager. Yes his tactics were novel and some found them abhorrent. But at least he put himself out there. He backed his convictions and landed the silverware. What more do people want exactly? That's the problem a lot of the time in this country. Anyone that shows any initiative to get ahead in life is seen to be getting too big for their boots and should be shit down immediately. It's a severe inferiority complex and one we'd be better advised to shake off sooner rather than later."
Jim Mc never pee'd me off much at all before I read that recent article

Found it to be absolute trash and for Jim Mc to take that sort of stance when it was such a blatant stitch up by the Sunday game left me scratching my head about him a wee bit.

Gone off him now I have to admit, thought he was a lot more savvy than that and the language he used to describe Jim Gavin's stance was pure hysterical nonsense

Going back to Jim Mc as a manager

He was entitled to setup his team in whatever way he saw fit to maximise their chances of winning.

I never had a problem with it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 13:47:33    2019959

Replying To jimbodub:  "Why shouldn't he?

He didn't do an interview because of a blatant self serving agenda on the Sunday game where even pat's own colleagues complained about Spillane's handingling of the Connolly incident.

Jim Mc comes out with

"Bringing the game into disrepute"

Sensationalist drama queen nonsense."
Jim Gavin noted the Coldplay concert when discussing the Dean Rock black card. How much more nonsense do you want. A lot of people in general have a problem with Jim McGuinness, they just don't like him but can never actually put up a valid argument as to why that is. Some play down his success in Donegal and say he should manage someone else if he is that good. Well let Cody, Harte or Jim Gavin go manage some team in dire straits and turn them into champions as well, why is it one rule for McGuinness but not for everybody else. In the world of Joe Duffy and Liveline, we love to bitch and moan about successful people, of course some will deny it, but of course they would.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 13:53:56    2019964

Replying To baire:  "Would ye ever stop whinging about DC, he's a handy footballer but he can't handle the heat of battle. He's like a cow that yields loads of milk but kicks the bucket when it's full! Ye have loads of excellent footballers, skilled, strong, controlled team players. DC's lack of discipline negates his abundance of skill. Get over it!"
He was stilled entitles to a fair review

The actions of the Sunday game absolutely hindered the entire process

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 14:05:00    2019974

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jim Gavin noted the Coldplay concert when discussing the Dean Rock black card. How much more nonsense do you want. A lot of people in general have a problem with Jim McGuinness, they just don't like him but can never actually put up a valid argument as to why that is. Some play down his success in Donegal and say he should manage someone else if he is that good. Well let Cody, Harte or Jim Gavin go manage some team in dire straits and turn them into champions as well, why is it one rule for McGuinness but not for everybody else. In the world of Joe Duffy and Liveline, we love to bitch and moan about successful people, of course some will deny it, but of course they would."
He was talking about the state of the pitch after a large segment had to be replaced

I was at the game standing at that end

Honestly lads couldn't hold their whatsoever

Anyway that has nothing to do with his stance against the Sunday game

Why are you attaching it to the reply that I sent you in reference to Jim Mc comments ????

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 14:07:42    2019977

Ah come on. Not much point debating anything if you can't admit Gavin talks muck like the rest from time to time. Him defending Connolly is grand, but claiming he has a good name was also absolute nonsense but he had to say it anyway. Does Connolly have a good name? The only truthful answer is no, and much of that is his own fault. So Gavin claiming he does have a good name is him knowingly talking nonsense. Simple really.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 14:15:56    2019983

Replying To jimbodub:  "He was stilled entitles to a fair review

The actions of the Sunday game absolutely hindered the entire process"
Keep repeating that ad nauseam and it will change everything!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 20/07/2017 14:23:35    2019990

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah come on. Not much point debating anything if you can't admit Gavin talks muck like the rest from time to time. Him defending Connolly is grand, but claiming he has a good name was also absolute nonsense but he had to say it anyway. Does Connolly have a good name? The only truthful answer is no, and much of that is his own fault. So Gavin claiming he does have a good name is him knowingly talking nonsense. Simple really."
Sorry theflaker

You aren't addressing the point I made in reference to you saying

So not going to bother with the above.. you're sort of going off on one.

Just my opinion.. each to their own and all that

You're a decent skin so would prefer to leave it at that

You're liking Gavin's comments about the pitch to Jim Mc's saying that Gavin was "bringing the game into disrepute"

Sort of a ridiculous comparison

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 14:28:58    2019994

Replying To baire:  "Keep repeating that ad nauseam and it will change everything!"
Pretty sure that's the first time I've said the above.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 14:29:57    2019995

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sorry theflaker

You aren't addressing the point I made in reference to you saying

So not going to bother with the above.. you're sort of going off on one.

Just my opinion.. each to their own and all that

You're a decent skin so would prefer to leave it at that

You're liking Gavin's comments about the pitch to Jim Mc's saying that Gavin was "bringing the game into disrepute"

Sort of a ridiculous comparison"
JimBob you stated what McGuinness said was drama queen nonsense. I responded by saying Gavin can talk nonsense at times, and I pointed out a couple of things he has said. I am very much on topic. That's it really. Gavin talks as much nonsense as anyone but you don't seem to acknowledge it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 14:45:15    2020003

Replying To jimbodub:  "Pretty sure that's the first time I've said the above."
Well it's not the first time it has been said, that was my point. At this stage it's quite boring for those of us interested in skilful and sporting behaviour.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 20/07/2017 14:49:04    2020006

Replying To TheFlaker:  "JimBob you stated what McGuinness said was drama queen nonsense. I responded by saying Gavin can talk nonsense at times, and I pointed out a couple of things he has said. I am very much on topic. That's it really. Gavin talks as much nonsense as anyone but you don't seem to acknowledge it."
You're comparing chalk and cheese in terms of Jim Mc's almost character like assassination on Jim Gavin

It's the same thing that Charlie did in my book

"Bringing the game into disrepute" is quite a barbed statement and a very serious allegation to make

Barking at Gavin to apologise for rightly standing up against a carefully orchestrated yet blatantly obvious self serving agenda.

As I said man... I'd genuinely prefer to leave it there

I had nothing against Jim Mc's until he went off on one in the manner he did

Gavin was 100% right to take the stance he did after the Sunday game fiasco

Whatever comment he made about the newly laid pitch not being up to scratch has nothing to do with Jim Mc's article

That's what the core of this thread is about.. Charlie responding to that article.

Your comparison is daft

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 15:04:52    2020019

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're comparing chalk and cheese in terms of Jim Mc's almost character like assassination on Jim Gavin

It's the same thing that Charlie did in my book

"Bringing the game into disrepute" is quite a barbed statement and a very serious allegation to make

Barking at Gavin to apologise for rightly standing up against a carefully orchestrated yet blatantly obvious self serving agenda.

As I said man... I'd genuinely prefer to leave it there

I had nothing against Jim Mc's until he went off on one in the manner he did

Gavin was 100% right to take the stance he did after the Sunday game fiasco

Whatever comment he made about the newly laid pitch not being up to scratch has nothing to do with Jim Mc's article

That's what the core of this thread is about.. Charlie responding to that article.

Your comparison is daft"
Ah here, in Gavin you trust, we better leave it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 15:23:36    2020034

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah here, in Gavin you trust, we better leave it."
I can see the logic in what he did. Yes.

I don't see your logic comparing his comments to the sort Jim McG made.

I've no problem with anything Jim McG has done in the past but his recent enough article was sensationalist nonsense and bordered on a character assassination attempt to damage Gavin.

Almost as if he was just waiting for an opportunity.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 15:31:59    2020043

Replying To TheFlaker:  "McGuinness is a superb pundit who doesn't contradict himself, the poster just doesn't like him. He won't be able to come up with one example of a contradiction I would guess."
I already gave reasons to why I feel he contradicts himself on this thread actually in two seperate posts.
you say you don't read everything you just jump to conclusions the whole time.
and you have me mistake with another Dublin poster who likes rory o Carroll.
your making some amount of bloopers on here that you won't be able to get out of that hole your digging for yourself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 15:36:25    2020047

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It doesn't take a genius to figure out a poster, no offence but you started this with a nonsense statement about McGuinness."
Well you are making that many mistakes here that your giving me the feeling your far from a genius.
for one in not the person who goes on about o Carroll and have never called him roc and secondly your assuming everything without any idea who I am, I have already told you I played inter county at underage all the way up so again just because I am a poster on here means I could not possibly be a good player haha that's absolutely ridiculous.
plus you must think ciaran kilkenny is a real fool by your logic he shows no life goals what do ever as he turned his back on a professional sport to play for Dublin, he hasn't done too bad in my book.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 15:42:33    2020053

Anyone else getting an alt-right vibe from these posts defending Gavin?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 20/07/2017 15:55:41    2020063

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Well you are making that many mistakes here that your giving me the feeling your far from a genius.
for one in not the person who goes on about o Carroll and have never called him roc and secondly your assuming everything without any idea who I am, I have already told you I played inter county at underage all the way up so again just because I am a poster on here means I could not possibly be a good player haha that's absolutely ridiculous.
plus you must think ciaran kilkenny is a real fool by your logic he shows no life goals what do ever as he turned his back on a professional sport to play for Dublin, he hasn't done too bad in my book."
Lol where to start. i never called anyone a fool, who is making assumptions now, good luck.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 15:57:12    2020067