Charlie Redmond's Jim McGuinness comments

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Murphy is one of the top footballers the country has ever seen. Easy enough to say that all the same when he knows it isn't really an option! The poster I am talking to has had no experience at any level but can say for sure he wouldn't do what Jim did. Like how would anyone know that?"
again how would you know if i had experience at any level?
you dont know who i am

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 08:26:48    2019728

Replying To SaffronDon:  "the morals bit was sarcasm in case you missed that one, im motivated by plenty of things in life. But while we're on the topic of morals you seem to look down your nose at a man who has a passion for sport and wants to excel past his local area. Just because you dont like soccer you ridicule those that do? How do you know the man isn't happier in Glasgow or wherever he choses to work?

you're talking nonsense, just because JMcG has it easier now doesnt mean he didn't when he was managing Donegal. are those years just erased from existence now to suit your rants?"
no i dont look down at anybody
the question was asked would i choose inter county over a big pay day with a soccer club and i gave my honest answer
as for me its what i would prefer and make me happy.
im not suggesting mcguinness doesnt feel happier what i suggested is he shouldnt be made out to be a saint for doing it that was his choice.
you cannot harp on about disadvantages of donegal and then go to a league where theres only one team and the rest micky mousers and still make him out to be a saint and even more so now that he left that league for a league that has only one thing to attract people money in the guise of the chinese league.
my original point about mcguinness anyway was that as a pundit i think hes poor and i gave my reasons
but as a manager i thaught he was brilliant, he changed the whole mentality in a county, was fed up loosing a certain way and changed that to bring success and devloped from ultra defensive one year to an exciting counter attacking team the following year. he deserves massive credit for that. i already say i dont listen to redmond as a pundit as i think hes poor and dont agree with him.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 08:35:18    2019731

Replying To alano12:  "seems someone really isnt a fan of jim mccguiness yet is happy out with us dominating leinster quite similar to how celtic dominate scotland"
no i think as a manager he was excellent with donegal both at under 21 and senior
i just dont think hes a good pundit
you cannot go on about disadvatages he had at donegal
and not point out the clear opposite he had at celtic and make him out to be a saint for choosing to go to a poor league like scotland where the rest are operating a clear level below his club and now hes gone to china where theres only one thing going in that league as an attraction money.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 08:41:14    2019734

Replying To alano12:  "it really is funny to see this thread turn into an anti mcguinness/anti soccer rant, look what charlie said was stupid and hypocritical seeing the style of play we played under gilroy..the amount of hatred towards mcguinness by certain people i dont quite get or understand"
Yes I often found it to be a bit over the top as well. They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery. It wasn't Jim's fault a host of other counties tried to ape what he first put into practice. We've seen in the intervening years that other teams, such as Dublin especially, learned to evolve and counter the blanket successfully. Why didn't teams put more emphasis into thinking of a way around it? No, it was much easier to just try to copy it even though many, if not all teams neither had the resources nor the wherewithal to adopt it properly.

Perhaps more worryingly, was the extreme criticism mainly because someone from a less well established county had the gumption to rock the boat in terms of the way we think of the game? Donegal always produced good players and decent teams but never really had the drive or total commitment needed to seriously challenge for the major honours. We'd usually have a big performance in us now and then, before usually imploding in a series of hand-passes and indiscipline when the team reached the business end of things.

Jim brought us to a higher plain where we started to bloody the noses of the "bigger teams". Maybe certain people from certain parts of the country would rather we just slip back to the bad old days and leave the contesting of the All Ireland to Dublin & Kerry as it rightfully should be?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2017 09:05:18    2019745

Replying To alano12:  "its called a fan, a few of them do exist"
Sometimes tough love is needed though. How is an offending player ever supposed to learn? I wouldn't be into blinkered loyalty myself.
Gavin has helped create the monster by indulging in the past

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 20/07/2017 09:09:21    2019749

Replying To alano12:  "you said we werent a defence first side, under gilroy we were, and theres no need to try and silence those with a different opinion to you, you belong on a facebook comments section with that kind of attitude"
Ehhhm

I was talking about the current team which was in context of the point being made

Not back in 2010/2011

Not to worry.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 09:11:19    2019751

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Now I do know that Murphy is a genuine homebird so maybe he wouldn't have gone but it was never an option so it really is easy to say that."
To be fair Flaker he was scouted big time for Australia when he first came on the scene as well. Can't blame lads for wanting to live that life and get paid for playing top level sport but some people like Murphy just have that in them and that's admirable.

Anyway, the thread has obviously descended into a farce seeing as some folk love to stick the boot into Jim any chance they get. It was nonsense from Jim to insinuate Gavin has brought the game into disrepute, and it was nonsense from Redmond in his response. Should have been left at that, but I suppose it's always good to remind ourselves that some will look down at you for trying to make a better life for yourself.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 20/07/2017 10:00:31    2019772

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes I often found it to be a bit over the top as well. They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery. It wasn't Jim's fault a host of other counties tried to ape what he first put into practice. We've seen in the intervening years that other teams, such as Dublin especially, learned to evolve and counter the blanket successfully. Why didn't teams put more emphasis into thinking of a way around it? No, it was much easier to just try to copy it even though many, if not all teams neither had the resources nor the wherewithal to adopt it properly.

Perhaps more worryingly, was the extreme criticism mainly because someone from a less well established county had the gumption to rock the boat in terms of the way we think of the game? Donegal always produced good players and decent teams but never really had the drive or total commitment needed to seriously challenge for the major honours. We'd usually have a big performance in us now and then, before usually imploding in a series of hand-passes and indiscipline when the team reached the business end of things.

Jim brought us to a higher plain where we started to bloody the noses of the "bigger teams". Maybe certain people from certain parts of the country would rather we just slip back to the bad old days and leave the contesting of the All Ireland to Dublin & Kerry as it rightfully should be?"
All you have to do is look at the gleeful reaction to our hammering at the hands of Mayo in 2013 to see how a lot of people really felt about Jim McGuinness and Donegal. Back in your box lads.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 20/07/2017 10:12:47    2019781

Replying To hill16no1man:  "no i think as a manager he was excellent with donegal both at under 21 and senior
i just dont think hes a good pundit
you cannot go on about disadvatages he had at donegal
and not point out the clear opposite he had at celtic and make him out to be a saint for choosing to go to a poor league like scotland where the rest are operating a clear level below his club and now hes gone to china where theres only one thing going in that league as an attraction money."
I don't agree with you either when you say he's a bad pundit. I'd agree the whole Gavin bringing the game into disrepute thing was over the top. But in general anytime I've read his articles or listened to him speak he has gone out of his way to explain the tactical elements of different teams and games. Certainly a whole lot better than Brolly and Spillane's sweeping statements. Those two boys spend most of their time trying to outdo each other with whimsical stories and unfunny analogies.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2017 10:18:48    2019791

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I don't agree with you either when you say he's a bad pundit. I'd agree the whole Gavin bringing the game into disrepute thing was over the top. But in general anytime I've read his articles or listened to him speak he has gone out of his way to explain the tactical elements of different teams and games. Certainly a whole lot better than Brolly and Spillane's sweeping statements. Those two boys spend most of their time trying to outdo each other with whimsical stories and unfunny analogies."
your clearly entitled to that opinion and i aint gonna jump on you for having it
but im entitled to mine aswell
and i feel he contradicts himself with a lot of his arguements and points he makes.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2017 10:42:03    2019817

Replying To hill16no1man:  "your clearly entitled to that opinion and i aint gonna jump on you for having it
but im entitled to mine aswell
and i feel he contradicts himself with a lot of his arguements and points he makes."
Fair enough.
But do you mean he contradicts himself when discussing GAA? Or by the fact that he took over an "easy" job (in your opinion) at Celtic?

I don't think he contradicts himself when discussing GAA at all. His overriding message always seems pretty clear to me. Hard work, dedication to being the best you can be and reaping the benefits of that has always been his ethos.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2017 11:21:01    2019840

I think Jim MCG is one of only a handful of pundits who doesn't let his bias get in the way. His analysis of the game is fantastic. I think Redmond comes across as petty here. The only thing I think Jim was wrong about was saying Gavin was bringing the game into disrepute. A touch of the dramatics I feel!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/07/2017 11:25:34    2019843

Replying To hill16no1man:  "again how would you know if i had experience at any level?
you dont know who i am"
It doesn't take a genius to figure out a poster, no offence but you started this with a nonsense statement about McGuinness.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 11:37:09    2019849

Replying To JoeSoap:  "To be fair Flaker he was scouted big time for Australia when he first came on the scene as well. Can't blame lads for wanting to live that life and get paid for playing top level sport but some people like Murphy just have that in them and that's admirable.

Anyway, the thread has obviously descended into a farce seeing as some folk love to stick the boot into Jim any chance they get. It was nonsense from Jim to insinuate Gavin has brought the game into disrepute, and it was nonsense from Redmond in his response. Should have been left at that, but I suppose it's always good to remind ourselves that some will look down at you for trying to make a better life for yourself."
Yes I understand that but I am arguing with a poster who made a stupid statement re Jim McGuinness, Murphy as I said is a homebird as I know and probably thought there was a 50/50 chance he wouldn't make it in OZ. He is very well looked after in Donegal as you know and fair play to him, the man is a great example on and off the field .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 11:40:59    2019854

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Fair enough.
But do you mean he contradicts himself when discussing GAA? Or by the fact that he took over an "easy" job (in your opinion) at Celtic?

I don't think he contradicts himself when discussing GAA at all. His overriding message always seems pretty clear to me. Hard work, dedication to being the best you can be and reaping the benefits of that has always been his ethos."
McGuinness is a superb pundit who doesn't contradict himself, the poster just doesn't like him. He won't be able to come up with one example of a contradiction I would guess.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 11:42:40    2019858

Replying To hill16no1man:  "no i dont look down at anybody
the question was asked would i choose inter county over a big pay day with a soccer club and i gave my honest answer
as for me its what i would prefer and make me happy.
im not suggesting mcguinness doesnt feel happier what i suggested is he shouldnt be made out to be a saint for doing it that was his choice.
you cannot harp on about disadvantages of donegal and then go to a league where theres only one team and the rest micky mousers and still make him out to be a saint and even more so now that he left that league for a league that has only one thing to attract people money in the guise of the chinese league.
my original point about mcguinness anyway was that as a pundit i think hes poor and i gave my reasons
but as a manager i thaught he was brilliant, he changed the whole mentality in a county, was fed up loosing a certain way and changed that to bring success and devloped from ultra defensive one year to an exciting counter attacking team the following year. he deserves massive credit for that. i already say i dont listen to redmond as a pundit as i think hes poor and dont agree with him."
who's calling him a saint? there is a world of difference between the GAA and a global super power like soccer. Unless you think the GAA should use soccer as their 'business model'.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 20/07/2017 11:50:03    2019861

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It doesn't take a genius to figure out a poster, no offence but you started this with a nonsense statement about McGuinness."
... and yet it was Jim's Mc's nonsense article that started it all!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 12:05:37    2019871

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and yet it was Jim's Mc's nonsense article that started it all!"
Lol in that case it was Jim Gavin who started it all? We won't even get started on the concert/ Dean Rock black card comments from this week. Jim Gavin is getting a free ride more or less!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2017 12:16:33    2019878

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and yet it was Jim's Mc's nonsense article that started it all!"
Think Charlie made it pretty clear that McGuinness was under his skin before any of his articles appeared in the IT.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/07/2017 12:33:50    2019896

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol in that case it was Jim Gavin who started it all? We won't even get started on the concert/ Dean Rock black card comments from this week. Jim Gavin is getting a free ride more or less!"
Why shouldn't he?

He didn't do an interview because of a blatant self serving agenda on the Sunday game where even pat's own colleagues complained about Spillane's handingling of the Connolly incident.

Jim Mc comes out with

"Bringing the game into disrepute"

Sensationalist drama queen nonsense.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2017 12:52:55    2019913