Kilkenny v Limerick

The game I was hoping kk wouldn't get...a close one. Cody will take a lot from that game and their backs now look fairly settled...even if only after one game. Buckley looks the ideal number 6 and was head and shoulders above any kk player again yesterday.
Richie McCarthy and hannon were excellent yesterday as were the two corner backs but overall limerick will be very disappointed as they didn't really turn up in a lot of areas.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/07/2017 09:54:08    2008779

Another year of unlimited heartbreak for limerick...will this ever end!!!! Im fed up...thought they could have got a result yesterday...

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 02/07/2017 10:30:10    2008802

I thought Gavin consistently failed to blow up when a Kilkenny man over carried. I thought maybe 5 times Kilkenny lads were swallowed up and didn't even try to pass. No free just allowed them to keep wriggling until they got the pass away.

But that said we never looked like scoring a goal. Well done Kilkenny who might just have got the perfect game they needed. Their last two games have seen Hogan, Reid & Walsh fail to click simultaneously and if they do they will be very hard to stop.

My bet is on Galway to win the All Ireland but if they win Leinster today and the cats win another qualifier, quarter and then face Galway in a semi, it would be a massive test of an excellent Galway team.

The championship is wide open, sadly all over for another year for us but like Kingston in Cork we have to give John Kiely another year. I expect a big improvement in his second year with some of our longer serving lads being eased out and going with youth.

If Declan Hannon can keep hurling like he did yesterday and we blood enough youth next year we have the making of a fine side. We know the lads put in a massive effort but they and us need end product.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/07/2017 10:50:59    2008811

Replying To slayer:  "I thought Gavin consistently failed to blow up when a Kilkenny man over carried. I thought maybe 5 times Kilkenny lads were swallowed up and didn't even try to pass. No free just allowed them to keep wriggling until they got the pass away.

But that said we never looked like scoring a goal. Well done Kilkenny who might just have got the perfect game they needed. Their last two games have seen Hogan, Reid & Walsh fail to click simultaneously and if they do they will be very hard to stop.

My bet is on Galway to win the All Ireland but if they win Leinster today and the cats win another qualifier, quarter and then face Galway in a semi, it would be a massive test of an excellent Galway team.

The championship is wide open, sadly all over for another year for us but like Kingston in Cork we have to give John Kiely another year. I expect a big improvement in his second year with some of our longer serving lads being eased out and going with youth.

If Declan Hannon can keep hurling like he did yesterday and we blood enough youth next year we have the making of a fine side. We know the lads put in a massive effort but they and us need end product."
You'd expect that from Gavin in fairness but don't think ye done enough on the day. Hannon was top class yesterday and ye need to now get the most out of the young players.
Good point on kk. They will fancy their chances against any of the 3 teams and with two games under their belt they'll win a quarter final. As I said last week I expect them to be hurling in September.
Wouldn't be surprised to see hogan dropped the next day though.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/07/2017 11:10:48    2008827

We will definitely beat them [Kilkenny} this year if we meet.
Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts:646 - 02/07/2017 07:26:30 2008748

Definitely? You keep telling yourself that.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2467 - 02/07/2017 12:22:28    2008857

Limerick gave it a good shot but I never sensed that they'd win, there were too many deficiencies in their play. They hit an incredible number of terrible wides, especially in the first half, and seemed preoccupied with hitting cute diagonal cross field "passes into space" which oftentimes rolled harmlessly wide, over the sideline or placed the receiving Limerick player backed into a corner surrounded by Kilkenny defenders.

From a Kilkenny point of view, the backs were impressive. Buckley continued his excellent form but it was a much improved performance from Paul Murphy, and Padraig Walsh looked far more at home in the backs. I'd worry about the lack of pace down the left side with Holden and Lyng but they coped ok yesterday. Dowling had a half-chance for a goal very early on but outside of that I can't recall Limerick threatening for goal.

The forwards are still not functioning anywhere near capacity. Whatever about Richie Hogan's back, his confidence looks rock bottom. Chris Bolger butchered a couple of goal chances. Colin Fennelly didn't get any quality ball. Tj led the line brilliantly as usual and Walter was decent in fits and starts. Kevin Kelly looked sharp when he came on.

An improvement on the Wexford performance, it couldn't have been much worse, but still miles off All-Ireland standard.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 02/07/2017 12:30:11    2008861

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Ha ha indeed! We actually beat Kilkenny once in a while. We have beaten them 3 times and drawn with them twice in the championship in the Brian Cody era, which is a better record than any other county. We will definitely beat them this year if we meet. Meanwhile ye have not beaten them since 1973 and I doubt you will beat them in the next 44 years either."
Considering we've only met them 3times in the championship since 1973 fair enough.. As for the rest of your post, good luck.
I don't know what's worse, your arrogance or your delusion.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 02/07/2017 13:25:21    2008886

Replying To tiobraid:  "You'd expect that from Gavin in fairness but don't think ye done enough on the day. Hannon was top class yesterday and ye need to now get the most out of the young players.
Good point on kk. They will fancy their chances against any of the 3 teams and with two games under their belt they'll win a quarter final. As I said last week I expect them to be hurling in September.
Wouldn't be surprised to see hogan dropped the next day though."
In the local championship presumably!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 02/07/2017 17:11:32    2009056

Replying To tiobraid:  "You'd expect that from Gavin in fairness but don't think ye done enough on the day. Hannon was top class yesterday and ye need to now get the most out of the young players.
Wouldn't be surprised to see hogan dropped the next day though."
If that kk team make it to September we'll I don't know anything about hurling that's no disrepect to kk but had we been any little bit better we'd have beaten them and that in their back yard. Some positives for us no doubt a ray of light on the horizon but looking at galway today huge ground to make up as loughnane and duignan said the age profile of galway is where you need to be for us that's 3-4 yrs off I'm afraid

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 02/07/2017 19:03:21    2009142

Replying To someday:  "If that kk team make it to September we'll I don't know anything about hurling that's no disrepect to kk but had we been any little bit better we'd have beaten them and that in their back yard. Some positives for us no doubt a ray of light on the horizon but looking at galway today huge ground to make up as loughnane and duignan said the age profile of galway is where you need to be for us that's 3-4 yrs off I'm afraid"
I'd agree they shouldn't but apart from Galway, kk will be capable of beating anyone if they get through next weekend

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/07/2017 21:18:02    2009229

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd agree they shouldn't but apart from Galway, kk will be capable of beating anyone if they get through next weekend"
Kind of hope they do cos twud mran we're not as far off as I think but I don't think they'll win next week unless they draw Dublin no disrepect to Dublin

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 02/07/2017 23:54:25    2009291

Replying To preddan:  "Another year of unlimited heartbreak for limerick...will this ever end!!!! Im fed up...thought they could have got a result yesterday..."
Can I ask why you thought that Limerick would have got a result?

I would love to have seen Limerick beat KK (anyone but KK can win as far as I am concerned), but nothing in Limericks form guide suggests they would win that game. Limericks last meaningful win was the 24 May 2015 against Clare.

Some Limerick fans have an element of disillusion about them IMO.....its like they are unwilling to accept whats in front of them. I am not trying to stir the pot but if I were from Limerick I would be raging with how this season has gone. Forget the youth policy, Limerick have been headless at times and that is due to management. On top of that, the conditioning of some Limerick players is very poor. Once again a management issue.

As I stated on the Limerick forum earlier in the year, Limerick needed to take a leaf out of Clares book this year and adopt Clare's policy in 2012 when Davy joined. That was they targeted the league like their life depended on it. 12 months later we won the All Ireland.

Thats what Keily should have done this year but he didnt and Limerick are left with nothing at the end of it. 1B is killing Limerick hurling and this disease needs to be irradiated first before Limerick will see any tangible championship improvement.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 03/07/2017 05:48:23    2009322

LohansRedHelmet I think you have hit the nail on the head.
I really like Limerick as a team and a county and honestly wish them well, but I have said it since April, getting out of 1B was absolutely vital for Wexford and anything else the year brought was a success. All we heard from Limerick after the league was "oh we're targeting the championship, we don't care about the league, etc, etc".
In my view, there is nothing like 5 top games in Feb/March/April to prepare a team for championship.
But also, I thought Limerick looked to have so little of a game plan, it was just long range shots, or just hit and hope and get the big roar from the crowd stuff. We did it ourselves in the second half yesterday and the Galway half back line cleaned up.
But for me, being in 1B is killing Limerick and they need to get out of it, which won't be easy with a new manager in Dublin next year, and of course Galway there too. I am glad we took our chance to get out of it when we had it.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 03/07/2017 12:33:58    2009555

Limerick are shocking right now. Kilkenny aren't much better & were there for the taking.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 03/07/2017 13:16:45    2009593

1B not doing Galway any harm so far.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/07/2017 13:19:25    2009596

Replying To ballydalane:  "1B not doing Galway any harm so far."
1b for a year or two is no problem at all. For 7/8 years. - it's a serious problem. Many of Limericks older heads have never played in the top division. That's scandalous for a county with such deep hurling tradition as Limerick

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 03/07/2017 13:43:19    2009609

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "1b for a year or two is no problem at all. For 7/8 years. - it's a serious problem. Many of Limericks older heads have never played in the top division. That's scandalous for a county with such deep hurling tradition as Limerick"
Exactly Lohan. 1b is seeping the confidence out of Limerick.

That said if Limerick could score a point they'd be dangerous. Hannon hit in at least aimless balls too. These are easy to rectify though as the team matures. Kyle Hayes looks the business too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 03/07/2017 14:00:24    2009631

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "1b for a year or two is no problem at all. For 7/8 years. - it's a serious problem. Many of Limericks older heads have never played in the top division. That's scandalous for a county with such deep hurling tradition as Limerick"
Nail on head. 1-2 years grand, long term it does not do a team any good.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 03/07/2017 14:06:26    2009636

with all due respects to Limerick we wont beat Waterford with a performance like Sat night,I hope Limerick get out of 1b and play the top teams,they have the talent coming thru,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 03/07/2017 14:28:10    2009654

fantastic limerick support there sat night - dissappointed to have lost but still glad i went

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 03/07/2017 16:04:21    2009750