Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Not sure I agree with Gavin on his actions but he has every right to be angry.

What Connolly did was tiny, yeah rules are rules but you'd swear he assaulted someone. Then to hear of his player being savaged as he has been .....

I understand his stance, he is trying to protect his player, get some retribution and galvanise his squad, all very understandable. With Dublin being that ruthless yesterday it doesn't bode well for anyone they face this year. It does make for some great games from the quarter final on.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/06/2017 08:59:46    2005358

Managers will always stick up for and try and protect their players so I can understand the Dublin point of view somewhat

I'm a big fan of Jim Gavin and the way he conducts himself but I'm disappointed in him doing this I must say. Spillane and O'Rourke were merely expressing their views are what they are paid to do as pundits. You must remember Diarmuid Connolly is one of the country's top players and Dublin are big news so anything he does is analysed and scrutinised to death, hence why it got more attention than say what the player of a lesser so-to-speak county would. Also there was the recent precedent with Evan Comerford so it was always going to draw that comparison.

An excellent point made about Paul Galvin's carry on in recent times and how Kerry just on with it and I think Dublin should have done the same.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 26/06/2017 09:05:31    2005368

Not doing interviews, That's grand, suits me anyway, good work.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 26/06/2017 09:07:36    2005371

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Dubs it's time to hit these hoores where it hurts.... No more holidays in Kerry. Off to Wexford from now on. Why line the pockets of these feckers"
The rich Dubs will always come to Kerry ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 26/06/2017 09:38:59    2005417

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Dubs it's time to hit these hoores where it hurts.... No more holidays in Kerry. Off to Wexford from now on. Why line the pockets of these feckers"
The Boy Liam! Let's not get carried away...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/06/2017 09:49:35    2005434

This is an absolute masterstroke by J Gavin. He never ceases to amaze me, he is undoubtedly the most clever manager in gaa. Jim has just turned a negative situation into a huge positive motivation factor. He is clever enough to know there was little choice but to ban Connolly and of course the media's job is to analyse and comment. I am constantly amazed how he constantly motives his team and avoids complacency when they are streets ahead of the competition in Leinster but he can sure do it. This year was always going to be more difficult as Dublin get beyond QF stage to keep the huge work rate to match Dublins fantastic skill level. Of course there was signs that there was a slight fall back in motivation and Connolly has handed Gavin the perfect fodder to spark the Dubs to another level and it's working, look at the difference in Carlow and W.Meath game. But the real cuteness is the media ban, he means nothing all we miss is a few soundbites but what is trying to create is more controversy and dislike of Dublin to really crank up the "all the country is against us mentality". The Dublin players will be like caged animal let loose. This has nothing to do with highlighting D Connolly's indiscipline it's about motivation.  What can you do only compliment Jim Gavin once again.

MrPrimeMinister (UK) - Posts: 1 - 26/06/2017 09:51:17    2005437

Replying To Laois76:  "I don't get how people are putting so much blame on O'Rourke and especially Spillane for highlighting the Connolly incident. Once the match was over little video clips were on independent.ie, the 42, joe.ie etc. Even aertel's account of the match mentioned Diarmuid Connolly could be in bother with the CCCC.

The pundits usually bring up the main talking points of a game. The Connolly linesman touching/hand on incident was all the talk on the Saturday night and all that Sunday. If they didn't bring it up on the SG there would have been talk of a cover up.

I think modern media and online sites cause these 'incidents' to be discussed and analysed much more than 10 years ago. Then with Diarmuid Connolly everything is news. A lot of it due to his disciplinary record and an element of giving a dog a bad name also.

In the long run will the Dubs create a seige mentality that will give them an edge or are they adding new fire to a distraction? They were unbelievable today but the bigger tests lie ahead. A huge win early in the championship has been the undoing of many a team too.. Personally i don't expect this to be the case with Dublin, they are simply too good and mentally grounded."
Couldn't have said it better myself. There was over 27 hours between the game and The SGs analysis, and the incident was all over social and conventional media, so not sure why Dublin are choosing to pick on Spillane here (and I am no fan of his). I feel this is more of something for the future, Dublin trying to censure The SG so if anything controversial happens in the future, they hope that they might go easier on them.

And a further things, wasn't there issue taken with The SG reading out the section on the rules. This is what I want from my analysis. I wasn't sure what the incident meant, and didn't want to have to pull out a rulebook instead. They highlighted the section and said what it meant after looking at the incident. If they didn't cover this in detail, I would have been very disappointed and would talk of a cover up.

Move on Dublin, It seems that DC has accepted the punishment, and I hope he learns from it. Maybe the supporters and management can move on now also.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 26/06/2017 10:19:14    2005472

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "If every bit of handbags was punished there'd be a lot of cards. Nature of sport. Confederations Cup game other night and row at end. Video ref analysed it. Result one yellow. Seriously do you not think Connolly's reaction was a bit over the top for a game versus Carlow. And what he said to linesman if you watch after push is "that was a Dublin ball". So he pushed linesman over a lineball holy feck."
And to think that some people are making that out to be verbal abuse. The point is you cannot cherrypick the rules that you want to enforce. 3 fellas swinging out of Connolly could easily have escalated. Officials shouldn't have intervened they didn't, officials should have correctly awarded the line ball to Dublin, they didn't, officials should have dealt with the Connolly incident on the pitch, they didn't. A pattern emerges.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2017 10:30:23    2005482

Replying To westkerry:  "Look this happens all the time, The Sunday Game crucified Galvin and played a part in bans he received I've no doubt.
Ex Dublin players likewise put Keegan in the spotlight last year when he had Connolly's number.
Cavanagh/ Sheridan etc loads of examples.
The poor Dublin lads on here sure it's only Dublin that receives this treatment."
So you're ok with the SG panel crucifying Kerry players, Cavanagh, Connolly etc? Grand so.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2017 10:32:52    2005484

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "He did push him. He put his hands on him and moved him backwards. The very definition of a push.

Kerrigan put his hand on referee but was just laying it on him. Did not interfere as rule states. It's all about context.

Connolly was aggressive and then wagged his finger in his face. Context."
O.M.G! He wagged his finger in his face?!?! The daredevil!

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 26/06/2017 10:34:26    2005487

yep come to wexford,we would never have a pundit behave like that on the sunday game.spend those hard earned quids in the sunny south east

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/06/2017 10:35:45    2005490

What a load of rubbish on here. All based on where your from it seems as nobody on here wanted to condem Brendan Murphy for verbally abusing the same linesman in that game and he then had the ability to get his red card overturned and no case to answer over his verbal abuse again nobody on here choose to comment on that just Connolly.
then Murphy gets sent off again yesterday for second game running the horror of it all no calling out on his character on here, no suggesting the chc got it wrong and yesterday proved that no no no he's a Carlow man remember not a dub i hear haha seems Dublins win yesterday has gotten under the skin of a lot on here

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2017 10:35:47    2005491

Replying To WildPundit:  "Maybe RTE should stop showing Dublin games until All Ireland semi final as they cake walk Leinster and breeze through a quarter final.
RTE pundits should refuse to make analysis of the game as what's there to analyze anyway since the margin of victory is always 10 points plus.
Absolute rubbish today got more enjoyment from the 90 seconds of Carlow Laois hurling match than 78 minutes of Dublin Westmeath."
No problem. We'll just watch them on Sky Sports instead.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 26/06/2017 10:38:09    2005494

Replying To WW9:  "Absolute joke, what Connolly done was wrong, it might have bring fairly harmless but it was wrong and the rules are the rules.
yes he might be the best player in the country but he was still wrong and this thing of him having no protection is stupid, the best player on a team whether it be Dublin or a club team is targeted so Connolly is no special case

I'm all for managers sticking up for and supporting the players but Dublin need to admit he was wrong.

As Pundits it is their job to discuss matches and incidents that occurred during a match.

Think the dubs have a case of sour grapes"
they have said he was wrong, he himself has said he was wrong. they have accepted the ban. However they want to encourage a siege mentality within the camp so they have concocted this scenario to benefit themselves in the all-Ireland series as they fear a few teams. It takes away the pressure from the boys . It's an old Alex Ferguson trick.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2017 10:45:41    2005500

I'll put it this way, if Connolly had been playing for a division 4 county and did what he did, nobody would bat an eyelid. It's a lot to do with the county he plays for, the perceived advantages they have and who he is.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/06/2017 10:47:13    2005504

Replying To Joxer:  "So you're ok with the SG panel crucifying Kerry players, Cavanagh, Connolly etc? Grand so."
It's been happening for years Joxer.
Its only because it's a Dub that there is this reaction.
Not talking to the media? Get a grip.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/06/2017 10:51:34    2005512

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What a load of rubbish on here. All based on where your from it seems as nobody on here wanted to condem Brendan Murphy for verbally abusing the same linesman in that game and he then had the ability to get his red card overturned and no case to answer over his verbal abuse again nobody on here choose to comment on that just Connolly.
then Murphy gets sent off again yesterday for second game running the horror of it all no calling out on his character on here, no suggesting the chc got it wrong and yesterday proved that no no no he's a Carlow man remember not a dub i hear haha seems Dublins win yesterday has gotten under the skin of a lot on here"
You nailed it there Hill.

No a peep about it.
High profile players and counties are very easy targets just ask Tyrone also.

But the rules are still Not being enforced equally. And no one can deny that fact.

But sure as some Westmeath fans said to me yesterday - the GAA have done Dublin a huge favour this year as he has never seen the Dublin team so determined and relentless. And expects them to get stronger and even more ruthless as season goes on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/06/2017 10:54:06    2005517

Replying To slayer:  "I'll put it this way, if Connolly had been playing for a division 4 county and did what he did, nobody would bat an eyelid. It's a lot to do with the county he plays for, the perceived advantages they have and who he is."
Exactly - spot on.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/06/2017 10:55:22    2005518

Replying To JayP:  "The same way Spillane threw Connolly under the bus?"
The way spillane said Connolly broke the rules and that he has a history of losing his temper. This is all true. I think it's awful that 2 of his colleagues could not defend him and were in complete agreement with Jim Gavin. Gavin has a loyalty to his player but Dolan and Brolly have absolutely no excuse to behave that way last night

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 26/06/2017 11:06:52    2005531

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What a load of rubbish on here. All based on where your from it seems as nobody on here wanted to condem Brendan Murphy for verbally abusing the same linesman in that game and he then had the ability to get his red card overturned and no case to answer over his verbal abuse again nobody on here choose to comment on that just Connolly.
then Murphy gets sent off again yesterday for second game running the horror of it all no calling out on his character on here, no suggesting the chc got it wrong and yesterday proved that no no no he's a Carlow man remember not a dub i hear haha seems Dublins win yesterday has gotten under the skin of a lot on here"
Very well said Hill

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 11:07:55    2005532