Lory Meagher Cup round-up: Leitrim and Lancashire to contest final

June 08, 2019

The Lory Meagher Cup

Leitrim advanced to this year’s Lory Meagher Cup final when bringing Fermanagh’s winning run to an end today while Lancashire experienced little difficulty in disposing of Cavan.

Fermanagh entered the round 3 fixture at Pairc Sean MacDiarmada with wins over Cavan and Lancashire under their belt but the home side proved too strong on a scoreline of 2-18 to 1-16.

It's a bitter pill to swallow for the Ernesiders who miss out on a Croke Park final appearance by the minimum score difference.

The Connacht county will face last year’s runners-up Lancashire at Croke Park on Saturday June 22nd.

The Exiles booked their final ticket courtesy of a 1-26 to 1-7 success over the Breffni County at Ballyconnell.

Leitrim - D Molloy; P Earley, D McGovern, N McLoughlin; F Earley, J Glancy, E Moreton (0-1); L Moreton, K McDermott (0-1); G O'Hagan (0-8, 2f), B Murray (1-5), C O'Donovan (0-1); A Byrne (0-1), C Cunniffe (1-1), C Moreton.

Fermanagh - M Curry; A McShea, R Porteous, A Breslin; C Rafferty, J P McGarry, D Bannon; F McBrien (0-1), C McShea (1-0); J Duffy (0-11, 9f), M Slevin (0-1), R Bogue; C Duffy (0-2), S Curran (0-1), B McPhillips.

Referee - J Connors.


Lancashire - R McAteer; O McMahon, C Larkin, S Moloney; D Power (0-1), G Jacob, T Lee; C Doherty (0-1), T Maher (0-2); D Crowley (0-2), D Maskey, JJ Dunphy (0-3); C Duggan (0-1), J Cleere, R Crowley (1-14, 0-8f). Subs: D O'Brien (0-1) for C Duggan, E Kelly for D Maskey, D Duffy for J Cleere, E Doyle (0-1) for C Doherty, J Hughes for JJ Dunphy.

Cavan - D Sheridan; N Neary, C Kelly (0-1), D Crudden; P Devine, M Hynes, M Moffett (0-1); D Brady, M Smith; J Carney, H Briody, C Carney (0-1); C McEntee, A Sheridan (1-4, 0-3f), A Hamilton. Subs: F Williams for C Carney, D Neary for C McEntee.

Referee - T Gleeson.

Most Read Stories