Walsh Cup: Dublin down Laois to set-up Galway semi-final date

January 09, 2020

James Ryan of Laois and Dublin's Fergal Whitely

Dublin are through to the semi-finals of the Walsh Cup after seeing off Laois by 1-28 to 0-17 at Parnell Park tonight.

Mattie Kenny’s men maintained their perfect start to the new season with a third win in as many outings having hit the ground running against their O’Moore counterparts here.

Points from Eamonn Dillon (2), Cian Boland, Fergal Whitely (2), Oisin O'Rorke and Tom Connolly helped cruise the capital men towards a commanding 0-10 to 0-4 lead 20 minutes in and they’d maintain that six-point difference come the interval.

The hosts introduced Marc Howard, Lorcan McMullan and Chris Crummey - all of whom got on the score-sheet - for the start of the second-half and they’d help to stretch the lead out to nine (0-17 to 0-8) before Laois hit some much needed rhythm.

Aaron Dunphy, James Ryan and Ross King (2) sailed over the next four points but that was as good as it got for Eddie Brennan's charges.

Howard and David Keogh got the Dubs motoring again before John Hetheron hammered in a goal on the hour mark that propelled them towards a 14-point victory in the end and a semi-final date against Galway this Sunday.

Dublin - A Nolan; A Dunphy, P Smyth, J Madden; C Boland (0-1), D Gray, J Malone; R McBride, T Connolly (0-5); F Whitely (0-3), J Hetherton (1-3), R Hayes (0-1); C O’Callaghan, O O’Rorke (0-7, 4f), E Dillon (0-2). Subs: M Howard (0-2) for O O’Rorke, C Crummey (0-1) for D Gray, K Burke for P Smyth, L McMullan (0-1) for F Whitely, D Burke for C Boland, D Keogh (0-1) for R Hayes, P Crummey for C O’Callaghan, O O’Rorke for E Dillon, A O’Neill (0-1) for R McBride, L Corcoran for J Malone, E O’Donnell for T Connolly, T Connolly for J Madden.

Laois - E Rowland (0-2f); L Senior, F Flanagan, D Hartnett; J Kelly (0-1), R Mullaney, D Comerford; F C Fennell, C Comerford; A Bergin (0-2), A Dunphy, J Ryan (0-1); P Keating (0-1), R King (0-8, 4f), J Keyes. Subs: P Purcell for J Keyes, P Delaney for L Senior, C Stapleton (0-1) for R Mullaney, S Bergin (0-1) for P Keating, E Gaughan for C Comerford, M Hennessy for J Ryan. 

Referee - B Redmond.

Most Read Stories