USA Forum

Popular Posts from foreveryoung

Meath V Offaly - 9 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "I for one would be extremely happy for an outside manager. I wanted Eamonn fitz this time but for whatever reason that didn't happen despite him been interviewed. Internally I suppose obric deserves to be looked at. I would actually like to see Gillespie been talked to . Young enthusiastic, and doing a good job with summerhill. Our fb line has been terrible all year. It brings up the question as to why McGill ls not there. That's down to management and not the top table."
You have to give Colm O'Rourke at least 2 years at the job, and preferably 3 if ye want a shot to turn things around. No manager can work a magic wand in just one year. How many years did Andy McEntee get: 5-6? Give Colm more time. It's the only way forward for Meath!

foreveryoung (Meath) - 24/04/2023 04:32:01

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's great to hear."
And football is still probably popular in Meath as well, even though it's yonks since they won anything at senior level. It's well over a decade now since their last Leinster and well over two decades since their last AI success. Would Meath even be in the top 10 in Ireland at the moment?

foreveryoung (National) - 03/09/2021 12:34:31

NFL Predictions Competition - Week 6 - 6 Like(s)
Division 1
 Armagh v Galway - Armagh by 4
 Kerry v Roscommon - Kerry by 5
 Monaghan v Tyrone - Tyrone by 2
 Donegal v Mayo - Draw

Division 2
 Meath v Dublin - Dublin by 5
0 Derry v Clare - Derry by 10
 Louth v Cork - Louth by 1
 Limerick v Kildare - Limerick by 2

Division 3
 Antrim v Cavan - Cavan by 8
 Fermanagh v Westmeath - Draw
 Tipperary v Offaly - Offaly by 6
 Down v Longford - Down by 10

Division 4
 Carlow v Sligo - Sligo by 8
 Waterford v London - Waterford by 2
 Wexford v Wicklow - Wexford by 3
 Leitrim v Laois - Draw

foreveryoung (National) - 16/03/2023 13:40:41

NFL Predictions Competition 2024 - Week 2 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "24 points to me by my calculations :O"
Good man you are yourself! Whenever I associate 24 points with Leitrim, it is usually a 24 point defeat. But in fairness, they're motoring well so far in 2024, as are Leitrim hurlers. But the big guns like NY are waiting in the long grass...!

foreveryoung (National) - 05/02/2024 19:54:48

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide. Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
Well, those "beaten men" are in the final now, to be "beaten" again, or perhaps even not to be beaten. Ironically, the men who 'beat' them are not in the final. But they can at least, turn their attention now for the rest of the year to your claimed 'great club championship in Galway'. Taddle along now like a good girleen, with your tail between your legs. I can see why the 'kat' is so appropriate in your name.

foreveryoung (National) - 04/07/2022 16:32:38

Championship Ball 2021, Munster And All Ireland Series. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "Question for you Mick. Why do you keep trying to justify what Foreveryoung writes on the Kerry forum. You always seem to agree with him which surprises me."
Mick and I don't always agree on everything, certainly not. I'm definitely not anti-Kerry. I've a very high and healthy respect for the county, and not just as regards football. I just dislike small minded, bitter people, and you know yourself who they are. Supporting Mayo, doesn't mean I'm anti-Kerry. I was there in '97. I wanted Mayo to win then, too. But I was as happy as any man leaving CP that day, becoz the great MF had secured his AI medal; Moynihan also. Fitz's display, that of Moynihan, Flaherty and Breen on the day would warm the soul of any genuine GAA person. Being interested in Gaelic football isn't simply a black n white matter, or a case that if you don't want a particular team to win on a particular day, that it rules out the possibility that you might want them to win on another day. Many's the day that I'd have preferred Kerry to win rather than lose. And quickly getting back to Mick. Trust me, no Kerry poster defends the county as vehemently as that man on the main forum. However, he does it objectively and fairly, with knowledge, facts and good analysis. And that is probably why he takes exception to a couple of idiots who tar all Kerry people with their bile and bitterness. And it is why my contacts in Kerry dislike HS. "That's not the Kerry way", they defend, when I show them posts from Hermit and KingdomBoy. As one of them, quite a shrewd man, explained in trying to make allowances for the idiots, "They must be children of the '87 to '96 period" when their first experience of Kerry football was defeat after defeat at the hands of Cork. That has instilled into them an inferiority complex about Kerry as a footballing county. Instead of resting assured, like fellas like you and I, that Kerry football will surmount the blips, and come again, they fear that it won't, and that's why they're blaming all and sundry for Kerry's lack of success." Is that Kerry man right? I strongly suspect that he is! Best of luck to Kerry in the semi-final. The county has acted well and sportingly as regards the Covid situ in Tyrone, and earns respect for that!

foreveryoung (Kerry) - 16/08/2021 19:01:04

Kerry V Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To superdub:  "Big difference in both teams yesterday especially for a division 1 game. Galway obviously stuck by the lockdown rules and Kerry obviously trained and were one of the fortunate teams not to get caught. Championship will level off a lot of these different fitness levels though and I'd expect Kerry to be there or there abouts and Galway will be a lot better than what we saw last night"
Ridiculous post.

foreveryoung (National) - 17/05/2021 11:24:06

Football Championship 2021 - 5 Like(s)
Another wasted weekend of "championship" football. Teams like Limk and Tipp should be punching at their own weight, which is intermediate grade. Cavan should be in the junior grade. These counties, even though they try hard, have no where near the resources of the likes of Kerry or Dublin. And never have had them...not in the last 10, 20, 30 or 100 years. Resources in Limk and Tipp go into hurling. It's high time for a proper senior, intermediate and junior championship. Cork isn't even a real senior side. It's a high intermediate level football team. Kerry have Munster to itself and always have had. Just like Dublin now own Leinster. What's the point in having a championship in these counties? None at all. There should never have been any Munster or Leinster football championship.

foreveryoung (National) - 10/07/2021 20:52:12

Kerry V Derry - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Freethinker:  "Derry best all over except on the scoreboard. A few silly mistakes and a few poor calls from management. What about that "arse to chest" charge by the Kerry keeper?. I'd say that is a new one, not covered by the rule book. Having said all that, Kerry are through and after that test I fancy them to hang onto Sam for another year."
As a matter of interest, can the GAA authorities take a look at that incident with the Kerry, Ryan? That was a really nasty piece of work. When watched in slow motion, it seems that he deliberately went for the head of his opponent and took him out. Didn't they retrospectively suspend Kyle Hayes of Limerick for a game after looking at an incident for which he didn't receive a red card nor a yellow card during the game? Is the rule the same in football as for hurling? If so, Ryan might be in line to miss the AIF, and he'd be a huge loss for Kerry.

foreveryoung (National) - 16/07/2023 18:18:34

Empires Collapse From Within - 5 Like(s)
Where are all the little minds now? Those who proclaimed vociferously from the rooftops that football was dead. That the big, bad, blue machine had killed it! Oh, where are they, indeed? I hope they feel as silly today as they have sounded over the past 3-4 years. It's a good job that most others didn't adopt that attitude, or the Dubs would do 10-in-a-row, as these doomsdayers predicted. It's healthy for the game that Dublin have been beaten, and a nice positive side-effect is that it might shut up these whinge-merchants once and for all. Suddenly, there'll be nothing at all wrong now with football in places like An Riocht and An Mhi from this day out. It is suddenly Lazarus-like after coming back to life. The Dubs didn't kill Gaelic football you fools. They made it. See the level of intensity at which Mayo played at, and won, yesterday. Well, they had to get up to that level to down Dublin. Hopefully Mayo complete the job now. It'd be a shame after killing the monster that neither Kerry or Tyrone could ever get near over the last decade, if Mayo now left it after them for either of these two counties to pick up. Over the past 6-7 years, Gaelic football has reached an unprecedented level of skill, athleticism, and intelligence. This fine Dublin team has played a huge part in that. And when they fell on the sword, it was most fitting that the sword was in the hand of their greatest challenger during their reign of supremacy. Long live the King. The King is dead!

foreveryoung (National) - 15/08/2021 14:44:19

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "It is a complete joke I've been a gaa man all my life but our game is now a one county game and that includes my own county of kerry. It is a ptofessional team dublin versus an amateur team in meath anthe other 30 amateur counties as well I will say again it is a complete joke. Hats off to the guys in croker who made the dubs what they are the best team of any era"
Croke Park will do exactly the same as when Kerry were steamrolling the weaker counties in Munster for most of the last century-remember the Milltown Massacre, Kerry 9-21, Clare 1-9, 1981-nothing. It was left up the Clare's, Limerick's, Waterford's etc to get their own house in order. Clare did. They brought in outside coaches, one of whom, John Maugham led Clare to victory over Kerry in the Munster Final of 1992; just about a decade after the Milltown joke. Others have started football academies and are now in a better place. See, it can be done. Sure, if everyone throws the baby out with the bath water, nothing will ever be done. It's especially rich coming from counties where there is plenty of money and sponsorship, no lack of pitches with even new centers of excellence being opened. I'd entertain such a lament from counties like Leitrim or Carlow where the playing population and resources are really limited. But not from the counties who have either beaten Dublin, drawn with them or just failed by a kick of a ball over the past 4-5 years. That stenches of self-pity, the basest of all emotions.

foreveryoung (National) - 22/11/2020 06:06:16

2021 Hurling Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Noone going to mention that disgraceful grounding/spear tackle of the cork player by Cian Lynch ? Or is it grand cause it's a mans game bla bla"
You did. Move on...

foreveryoung (National) - 22/08/2021 18:38:05

Off Season Discussions Thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads eir sport 2 are showing the kerry Galway allireland finals from 2000 on sunday night the draw and replay."
They're also showing the 2001 semi-final versus Meath. Enjoy!

foreveryoung (Kerry) - 25/03/2021 17:24:44

Limerick Hurling thread 2023 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "It's a tribute to how good the Limerick starting line-up has been since 2018 in that Kiely & Co. have by my reckoning probably not gone over, or much over anyway, the same 20 names. Those fellas perform consistently to the highest level, and it is nigh impossible for newcomers to break into the team: David Reidy is certainly no newcomer but he has managed it, as has Cathal O'Neill at times. With Graeme Mulcahy it is a bit different, and Richie English used to be a first 15 starter before injury hit. Outside of them, it's basically the same 15 names that are penned down, important game after important game. It is the panels of players that Kiely & Co. have utilised since 2018 that make for interesting reading. When I said to a Bouncer (Garryspillane follower and a mad hurling follower who'd never miss a match at either club or county level) after last year's AI final that the bones of 70 players must have AI medals now under Kiely, he asked me if I was raving. It might not be 70, but the 37-man panel has changed immensely, almost every year, over the 5-6 year period. Does anyone actually have the names of all the players who have won AI medals with Limerick since 2018? And more interestingly, how many clubs have been involved? You'll find that the number is misleadingly disguised, as I had to explain to that Bouncer fella, because the starting 15-20 players hasn't changed. And you'll also find that Kiely & Co have put AI medals into so many Limerick parishes where they had never been before; building a hurling legacy, but also safeguarding that legacy by inspiring almost every schoolchild in these parishes to try to replicate their local hero!"
I was chatting to another Limerick man two days ago who said I was crazy to think that almost 70 players have won medals under Kiely's management. So here goes! Let's start with the 2018 panel of 36 obviously! 1. Declan Hannon (Adare) 2. Dan Morrissey 3. Tom Morrissey (Ahane) 4. William O'Meara (Askeaton) 5. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock) 6. Paul Browne 7. Sean Finn (Bruff) 8. Richie English 9. Barry Murphy 10. Darragh O'Donovan 11. Pat Ryan (Doon) 12. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca) 13. Nicky Quaid (Effin) 14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh) 15. Kyle Hayes 16. Barry O'Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) 17. Barry Hennessy 18. Graeme Mulcahy 19. Paddy O'Loughlin 20. Oisin O'Reilly (Kilmallock) 21. Tom Condon (Knockaderry) 22. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave 23. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen) 24. Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher) 25. Mike Casey 26. Peter Casey 27. David Dempsey 28. Shane Dowling 29. Kevin Downes 30. William O'Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh) 31. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen) 32. Diarmaid Byrnes 33. Aaron Gillane 34. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) 35. Barry Nash (South Liberties) 36. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick's) In 2020, Conor Boylan, Jerome Boylan, Adrian Breen, Robbie Hanley, Jason Gillane, Josh Considine, Darren O'Connell, Ronan Connolly, Brian Ryan, Mark Quinlan, and Brian O'Grady were all involved and won medals, bringing the count to 47. In 2021, Colin Coughlan, Cathal O'Neill, and Tom Hayes (Doon) were added to the panel. We are now at 50. Since then, Jamie Power, Ciaran Barry, Michael Houlihan, Adam English, Dave McCarthy, Rory Duff, Jimmy Quilty, Fergal O'Connor, Alan O'Connor, Shane O'Brien, and Donnacha O'Dalaigh have added medals, bringing our tally to 61. Now, I may have missed a player or included a player who didn't win a medal. Michael O'Brien of Doon was involved at one stage, but I think that was 2019. Okay, it is not about 70, but rather 60. However, my point stands that when you factor in that the same 20 players have more or less constantly started since 2018, it can go almost unnoticed that another 40 or so players in the county have also won All-Ireland medals during that period.

foreveryoung (National) - 14/09/2023 13:56:49

Football Championship 2021 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "The negativity around football is quite irritating. You have good teams and bad teams in every competition. There are structural problems in the game for sure, some of the rules are bizarre, take a free scoring chance for a catch! . But every sport has these problems. If Liverpool stuff someone 7-0 no one bats an eyelid, so what?"
True. There have always good teams and bad teams, since the very beginning.1979 was a particularly fruitful year for the hammering of the minnow: Meath 6-19, Kilkenny 0-3; Dublin 4-16, Louth 0-4; Kerry 9-31, Clare 1-09 in the Milltown Massacre; and even in the AI semi-final, Kerry 5-14, Monaghan 0-7. I didn't hear anyone cry mile murder back then. It is only since Dublin took over and done the 5-in-a-row (then 6) that all the lamentation has started. It's high time, and has been for a long time to scrap the provincial championships. Everyone says Leinster is dead. Munster is worse and has always been worse. For all the talk of Dublin's dominance, the county has only 59 Leinster titles, which pales in comparison to Kerry's 82 titles in Munster. For about 70 of those titles the Kerry county board could have just as easily have sent a self stamped-addressed box to the Munster council for return delivery of the cup, which no one seems to even know the name of, such was the totally lop-sided nature and imbalance involved. What value can a player put on a medal, the winning of which is as easy as taking candy off a baby? The GAA needs to level the playing field. Pit teams against teams of similar worth and ability, and let them have at it. And don't mention this bridging-the-gap BS. The likes of Leitrim, Carlow, Waterford, Kilkenny, Louth, Antrim, etc. (and a lot more) will never bridge the gap on counties like Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry, and Dublin (and a couple more). They have all had 137 years since the foundation of the association to bridge-the-gap. They haven't done it. In the next 137 years, they won't do it, either. Let a bit of common sense and cop-on prevail in the GAA for a change.

foreveryoung (National) - 25/07/2021 18:48:45

Match Of The Year (Football & Hurling) - 4 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Limerick vs Tipp in Munster Championship (I didn't see the club games)."
And in the football, Cork vs Kerry. In the modern game, it is hard to believe that such a Darbyesque goal could happen, with the players so well versed in playing keep ball. But indeed, it did happen: such excitement, dream-like wonder and glory in the game. It's good for young lads to still believe that they can grow up to be a Seamus Darby.

foreveryoung (National) - 08/01/2021 14:11:55

NFL Prediction Competition Final Standings - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Happy enough with my 9th place finish, probably would have finished higher if i didn't take a gamble on a few predictions that didn't pay of. Thanks to Lockjaw for running this, made the league a lot more interesting and well done to the winner Thebronze spent those winnings wisely"
Good man, Gaa_lover. It just goes to show that us Americans are up there with the best of them; you in 9th place and myself in 8th. And you'd have fellas on here trying to tell us that we know nothing about Gaelic games, and for us to stick to the baseball. Actually, one fella even had the audacity to ask me a few weeks ago if I were Russian. Russian??? Well, I'll tell you that you have to go down a long way through the list of names to find that fella's name on this prediction list; well near the bottom. It's a good indicator, and even with his having over 18,000 posts on here, what that fella knows about football.

foreveryoung (National) - 04/04/2022 16:29:51

Cluxton Back! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I see Pat Spillane has labelled Cluxtons return "a joke" Interesting that the most negative and ill thought mutterings are coming from a Mayo man and a Kerry man in a very open manner in the national media Hmmm.. wonder why?"
Pat is hoping that no player wins 9 AI medals, to surpass his 8. Mick Fitz, Jimmy Mac, and now Cluxo may have a sweet riposte to Spillane in a few short months. I could feel the fear in his writing.

foreveryoung (National) - 04/04/2023 12:14:55

Best Of This Generation - 4 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "Folks think it's obvious at this stage just don't engage kingdom boy. Hermit had the decency to actually have a bit of a viewpoint earlier today. Replying to KB is just giving him oxygen and stroking his ego. He has nothing worthwhile other than insults and bad school boy jokes to provide. Don't respond and he'll eventually flameout."
I totally agree, Brian; the most peevish poster I've ever ever seen on any forum!

foreveryoung (National) - 07/10/2020 11:24:18

Money Grabbing Gareth Brooks - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "I would have thought 28 teams get a wack at the qualifiers. I didn't spend that much time at school so I could be wrong."
Your first sentence is wrong. Your second one is accurate, clearly transparent, and correct.

foreveryoung (National) - 27/11/2021 14:08:22