USA Forum

Popular Posts from stonemadbeany

Championship Team - 3 Like(s)
Hopefully the lads will be allowed play some attacking football for the remainder of the championship, we were never gonna win Leinster and we're not going to win an All Ireland so why not respect the fans who pay hard earned money to go and watch the games. Longford scored 1-8 into the same first half goals that Westmeath shot a miserable 2 points into....why...because Longford played football...not basketball.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 28/05/2019 13:28:15

Westmeath Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)
A great effort by all involved again today, plenty of chances to win it or get closer before Wexford got the 3rd goal. No blaming the ref but there were a few decisions I felt didn't go our way, Wexford seemed to be able to score easier, they were just a little bit sharper up front. D.McCormack would've made some difference, I doubt there's an u-20 defender in the country that would handle him. Andy Dermody & co have done a great job, Dermody's passion is absolutely mighty. Wexford also looked better conditioned, this needs to be addressed in the county, there's thousands and thousands being spent on our senior squads, some money needs to be ringfenced to physically develop our young hurlers & footballers, to give us every chance to complete. Offaly beat Galway today, and our lads only hurled for 10 minutes against Offaly. Anyways, fair play to this squad, you've done yourselves proud.

stonemadbeany (National) - 29/04/2023 15:41:45

Westmeath Hurlers 2021 - 2 Like(s)
All mind games...trying to throw Galway off.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 07/05/2021 14:29:45

Westmeath Hurling 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Best of luck to the U-21s this evening, a decent looking team named with plenty of experience, should give Dublin a good rattle, Killian Doyle named to start also, did he go to the USA yet?

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 13/06/2018 13:30:53

Intermediate Football Championship - 1 Like(s)

Replying To JohnyDuncan:  "Shandonagh's too loose!"
you were right, Shandonagh were too loose! The marking was terrible.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 25/10/2017 11:05:16

Westmeath Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Westmeathk:  "Can I ask how exactly that's a shock? Plunketts have been working hugely bringing young lads through in the last few years? Just this morning I seen the u16 Westmeath team was backboned by 7/8 plunketts lads. If I'm not mistaking plunketts relegated the wood lastyear from this competition aswell?"
If Plunketts relegated the wood then how are the wood still in the competition? This forum is like the Westmeath GAA podcast...riddled with inaccuracies

stonemadbeany (National) - 02/07/2023 18:44:27

Westmeath Hurling 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dheen:  "The Westmeath media is terrible, cant even name a team online the evening before the match and the likes of Galway playing on Sunday naming their team a couple of days in advance."
Do you know if the manager released the team for the game yet? If he has it should be online, if not then it's not the PRO's fault. I believe the PRO is stepping down this year, the job should be split in two, a hurling PRO and a football one, ease the workload.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 28/11/2020 10:35:05

Westmeath Hurling 2019 - 1 Like(s)
The club secretary just told me that the football league finals have been put back a week to "give the teams involved the best opportunity of having all players available to them". But the hurling Division 1 and 2 league finals have been fixed for 28th June, two days before the Joe McDonagh final, is this to make sure county hurlers can't play in these finals? Add to this that Clonkill are in the D1 final and are in a strong position to make the D2 final, as far as I know there is a overlap of 7 or 8 players on their teams. The Division 3A and 3B finals are on Sunday 23rd in Cusack Park, Brigid's are in the 3A final and could make the 3B final. Were these fixtures sent up from Craggy Island.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 17/06/2019 11:13:19

Replying To Dheen:  "Any idea of how many players Brownstown and Pollard have on that team? What's the split"
Mostly Pollard, there is a Raleigh lad from Brownstown playing number 12 and he was the difference between the sides, as it has been said Pollard have the numbers but need the few Brownstown lads to win.

stonemadbeany (National) - 30/10/2023 16:50:58

Replying To gedupoutofit:  "How are fixed for the Offaly game? Any word on injuries or lads returning to the panel?"
Owen Price is back as far as I know. Tough game ahead, Offaly need to win, we can't start with a loss, we have to travel to Laois and Antrim I think so home wins are vital

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 17/05/2019 09:23:07

Intermediate hurling - 1 Like(s)
Best of luck to Daltons in the Leinster semi-final today. Any reason why it's not in Cusack instead of Lakepoint? CTG playing in Tullamore tomorrow, Multy n The Bridge playing away today and Lomans playing away in Longford next Sunday. What are they minding Cusack Park for now?

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 04/11/2017 11:14:06

Westmeath V Laois - 1 Like(s)
Loughlin was the only forward we had against Meath....all county players should be playing all year with their clubs, we're not going to win anything and the money wasted should be pumped into schools and underage, Kelly should've concentrated on winning the O'Byrne cup, a full egg cup is better than an empty soup bowl.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 21/05/2018 13:02:32

Westmeath Hurling 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To preddan:  "Match off now...will that buy clonkill some time to get a few players back and try and make a game of it now"
Hard to know what to answer that comment with...you're as insensitive as the Leinster council.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 05/11/2018 21:25:27

Westmeath Football thread - 1 Like(s)
I guarantee you the fixtures are already made for the 1st round of the championship, they will be released on the Sunday night if we don't beat Tyrone. The hurling championship could start 1st, one perceived problem is there is only 7 match days in hurling and 8 in football, so you'll end up with a gap in hurling and a glut of football games in a row, guarantee you the football clubs wouldn't be happy because of recovery times for injuries, most hurling clubs have dual players so they're used to playing every weekend. Shane Curran would hit the roof if Caulry had to play 3 or 4 games in a row, especially if any of their star players got injured, is there any hurlers in Caulry? As for the league finals, if you were Dessie would you let the lads play a club game, knowing that outside the starting 15, the bench isn't that strong? Last year there were only a few lads involved in league finals, and Cooney's club was in the D1 final, bit of a difference. If I was a club player on the co panel with a league final this weekend I'd make myself available for the league final without asking Dessie, if I ended up playin I'd face the music at county training. On the other side of it, P.Dowdall might be happy to play with the lads that played all through the league, imagine the dilemma with having to drop 4 or 5 lads that got you to a league final, what are you saying to them. A problem in Westmeath is that the second 16-30 on the football or hurling squads are not allowed play club games, and when they go back to their clubs they are like a sack of onions.

stonemadbeany (National) - 09/06/2023 13:11:15

Replying To midfield9:  "There's no pleasing some people. The leagues are A secondary completion to be played without cvounty players. So Yes, I assume the fixtures are to ensure the County players dont play. What about it. The championship is another league based competition and the club year starts in earnest when it starts."
So why are the football league finals postponed? That's my point...

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 17/06/2019 23:06:41

Replying To Left Full:  "Too many excuses on here. We had it in our own hands today, win and we're safe but it was a terrible performance especially in the second half. Massive win last weekend but looks like the players thought they were above Antrim & got caught badly today. Joe Fortune was a legend last week & now we have lads looking for him to go??? Players need to man up, we have an excellent coach in J Greville & if Joe steps away I think he should take it on. We're Div 1 gain in the league & while the Joe McD Cup will be tough we should be well able to bounce back."
I have the height of respect for Joe Fortune, won division 2 and kept us there this year. Kept us in the Leinster championship last year, wouldn't be surprised if he moves on to his native Wexford for 2024. Antrim were always going to beat us, we'd struggle to beat Dunloy, especially without Killian & Aonghus. As for this year we finished on -80, that's an average beating of 19.5 points in the 4 games we lost. Carlow & Offaly look ahead of us too, a playoff against Carlow would be interesting. Would a round robin Leinster championship and then go into a knockout Joe McDonagh be the answer to playing good teams every year?

stonemadbeany (National) - 29/05/2023 13:40:18

Westmeath Football thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "When is the Draw for the Club championship this year"
At the April county board meeting, two weeks time I'd guess.

stonemadbeany (National) - 04/04/2023 11:23:17

Replying To Greenandgoldie:  "Clonkill man Kevin O'Brien set to be ratified as westmeath Under-20 hurling manager on Wednesday. John Shaw of Raharney and Brendan Murtagh are his selectors."
There was a good management team in place this year, I hear Andy Dermody is training the Westmeath senior ladies football team next year, wonder was he approached to do the under 20's next year.

stonemadbeany (National) - 17/10/2023 19:47:15

Westmeath Hurling 2020 - 1 Like(s)
It was mentioned in a post that the forwards played more as a unit yesterday,I think that when a particular forward is missing the rest play better and pass the ball to each other, where the "top" forward likes to do it all himself, I've seen it in club games too. Are we really at home for the relegation play-off?

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 02/03/2020 12:53:48

Westmeath Hurlers 2021 - 1 Like(s)
CTG were narrowly beaten by Mt Leinster and they went all the way to the final. Cushendall are the last Antrim team to win Ulster in 2018, Slaughneil won in 2019, 2017, 2016, so the Derry champions have won three of the last four, it wasn't played last year. We were missing a good few when we went to Belfast last year and got trimmed, but not so long ago we gave Antrim a serious beating in Cusack, I don't think they're that far ahead of us and I wouldn't be looking to avoid them. We will improve as the league goes on, but don't forget that if Clare don't start producing we could be playing them in relegation. I don't like talking about relegation but it will be very hard for us to get a win in our remaining games.

stonemadbeany (Westmeath) - 19/05/2021 12:21:50