UK Forum

Popular Posts from PressureKick

Galway Football thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "He wouldn't be seen as a favourable choice in Mayo either"
Mayo folk could get Pierre Luigi Collina in to ref a charity game and still think he had an agenda against them

PressureKick (National) - 21/06/2023 22:36:10

Mayo Request To Play League Final On Saturday - 5 Like(s)
The arrogant request got about as much consideration as it deserved supposedly, i.e absolutely zero. Nice to see such selfish nonsense dismissed out of hand. Well done to the GAA for once

PressureKick (National) - 27/03/2023 19:03:40

Galway GAA Convention - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "this is thread is hard reading for any Galway hurling fans. I suspect the same for football fans. I really think the two sports need to be split at an admin level. I, as a hurling fan and club member (of a hurling club) have zero interest in the running or performance of Galway football. On the issue of sponsorship I somewhat resent that Galway football should benefit as a result of the Hurlers success of the last decade, which is why I would be much happier for a split again. Obviously there are some synergies which would benefit such as training gyms and facilities but administration and finances should be totally separated I feel."
The Galway footballers have been royally screwed by the boards joining back up. The debt is hurling debt, coming from mountain south. The footballers have had to share their facilities at Loughgeorge with the hurlers. All the legacy board problems have come form the hurlers side. Lest we forget which team has brought the county 9 All Irelands in a 32 team competition and which got a bye to the semi finals most years and still only have 5

PressureKick (Galway) - 02/01/2020 12:24:28

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)
If you don't like a show, or in particular, podcast, you're not obliged to listen. Anyone who wants to create Galway football content free of charge is ok in my book. The guests on the podcast can be insightful also, and its a decent place to hear about the latest injury news etc

PressureKick (National) - 26/10/2023 09:39:18

New Galway Football Manager - 4 Like(s)

Replying To crafty:  "Looks like an inside job with the lads looking after each other. Joyce, Scan and Divilly all old friends but have achieved very little. Kerins would have been a much better choice of manager as he would come with no baggage. Cant see this crew giving Corofin players much of a chance but maybe they are better off staying with their club as they might win something there."
How on earth has Divilly achieved very little? Sigerson cup is the second highest grade in football after senior intercounty. He's managed a team to win Sigerson twice

PressureKick (Galway) - 13/10/2019 10:32:25

Laochra Gael - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just very sensitive to everything and he didnt get much criticism. He regularly brings up "the worst thing Idid was score a hatful against the Rock" but offers no real reason for it and seems he just likes to remind people about it. Always seems overly paranoid about things. Compare that to Tommy Walsh, Shefflin, Eoin Kelly and the likes who can have the craic with anyone. Should be a good show but hopefully he doesnt go down the poor me route like his other interviews and just talks about his amazing exploits as a player."
This is some load of nonsense for a Monday morning. Did it take you all night to throw this together? He's given a reason for the 2-12 Vs Cork comments, it gave people (especially Galway fans) unreal expectation that he'd do that in every game when it wasn't possible. It's fairly basic stuff to comprehend buddy

PressureKick (National) - 23/01/2023 10:16:58

Mayo V Galway - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tommy132:  "I think you will find Mayo people have bought property in Galway and now renting back to galway people.."
Bought it with what? The tarmac industry dried up there during the crash. Is there good money now in sweeping sheds and cutting grass or whatever other jobs Galway people give to the Mayo influx?

PressureKick (National) - 01/07/2019 12:11:11

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To GDL:  "I see Colm Boyle has thrown his toys out of his pram in relation to Mayo management seeking expert coaching advice from Galway. Perhaps PJ should intervene now and get Joe Canny to join the Galway set up rather than heading to Castlebar a few evenings a week."
God forbid Mayo, serial all Ireland losers, might get on board someone from Corofin, serial all Ireland winners. Not the first time Colm has embarrassed himself

PressureKick (National) - 13/10/2023 23:51:34

Galway V Mayo - 3 Like(s)
I actually think I feel stupider having read some of African Gaels posts over the last few pages. My word. 1) There was a group of mayo fans behind the cameraman who constantly jeered Galway misses and frees in the u20 game. This was obviously a small number of people and has been condemned by mayo people on a number of sites. Nobody anywhere has suggested or heard galway people jeering. There didn't sound like there was a Galway fan at the game 2) If a game is truly actually 50/50, then backing the 7/4 shot in that scenario will make you money over time. This is a really basic concept to understand. Plenty of people make money and beat the bookmakers. Google the term "bookmaker account restrictions" and see why the bookmakers use them against winning punters. 3) Flutter (paddy powers owner) would've had a liability of several million on tiger roll for his grand national wins. The max liability they'd have on a Connacht final would be about 10k. They do not give one toss about the liability in a GAA game. The odds are made in the opinion of the compilers, not weight of money

PressureKick (National) - 22/07/2021 16:13:56

Replying To mayomanic:  "That statement makes me want to get sick. Everything that's wrong within the gaa is summed up in that statement. A city club with vast amount of resources gets a player to help them win a All-ireland and a player selling his soul to help them achieve there objective. Shane walsh 's statement at the end of the game was just grouse....'its days like this growing up that you dream of'...enough said."
What was your opinion on Chris Barrett moving to Clontarf a few years ago? Or better still, what did you think of Donal Vaughan moving 20 mins up the road to a rival club once his own got relegated from senior?

PressureKick (National) - 23/01/2023 10:13:17

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes someone said here Yondu is really a Roscommon man pretending to be a Galway man and it looks like that is true."
Apparently Galway fans need to be constantly reminded not to be getting ahead of itself and using injuries to its best players as an excuse. This is despite Galway having the most downbeat fanbase in the country that usually does the opposite of get ahead of itself

PressureKick (National) - 18/02/2023 21:54:06

Replying To smallfrank:  "I heard it, deluded is the word that came into my head. Called a 22 year old rookie corner back average and couldn't get his club right. Wants Keegan unleashed out the field even though the he couldn't get a hand near Comer for the goal, couldn't catch Molloy when he was through on goal and couldn't get out in front of Patrick Kelly at any stage second half. Also stated Galway have 3 players even though Sean Kelly has been our best player for 2 years"
I had the same thoughts. Just incredible ignorance and idiocy all round It's amazing how little knowledge some of the Mayo fans have. Majority struggle to name any Galway players past Comer, Walsh and Conroy. This is despite them styling themselves as superfans who go to every Mayo game (and yet cusriously no club games). Big difference between being a football fan and an event junkie bandwagoner

PressureKick (National) - 26/04/2022 15:58:41

Mayo V Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "Who are Galway missing? Certainly for Mayo, the problem is not alone the amount of injuries but the amount of them that are occurring around the middle of the field, Parsons, SOS, Keegan, Ruane, Diarmuid O' Connor and possibly Jason Doc and AOS. Take all of those players out and you're missing a huge amount of regulars/ experienced options in the engine room. I know D Vaughan came back for the Armagh game but he's only just back and is unlikely to be up to full sharpness just yet."
Galway have no midfielders fit at all. They have Peter Cooke who's coming back off a longterm injury. Conroy, Duggan, Flynn, O'Currain are all hobbled. Comer very unlikely to play and now rumours a starting defender is out

PressureKick (National) - 02/07/2019 12:01:21

Three Billboards Outside Breaffy. - 3 Like(s)
Absolutely nothing wrong with it. Mayo fans had signs in Salthill last year, had the cheek to try and bring one of those big cover over flags into Galways stadium on more than one occasion. Remember that Mayo voted against Galway during the Tony Keady affair in 89 and gave away All Ireland tickets to Kildare over Galway in 98. Watch the way they acted to the ref and and unconscious Conroy after the clear sending off Sunday. Booed McHughs frees. If there's any animosity in the rivalry it's all from one side

PressureKick (Galway) - 16/05/2018 12:26:55

Galway V Mayo - The Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To kiloughter:  "Few heavy hits there guys. More of the same on Sunday. Pope is an educated contributor although I notice him being far more harsh on our footballers than our hurlers for instance. Unfairly imo at times. I don't often agree with him mind you but I guess it is opinions whether factual or otherwise. As for the Mayo poster they would have a larger proportion of those kind of fans than most. For example I was in a bank in Galway today and one of the employees who appeared to be a Mayo fan from his intro was speaking with a friend/customer. It was a case of how much they were going to win by. He threw a cover in at the end by noting that PJ will have Galway 'well tuned' mind you. I had a little laugh to myself. Even in our greatest hours 20 yrs ago I kept my counsel as many Galway fans I know did. Arrogance not really in our DNA."
Have a quick glance and Wilie Joe's blog and you'll see all that hilarity laid bare. Calling Galway a "Banana skin" multiple times. "we'll need to be up for it, if we are we'll win". So much unbelievable arrogance to assume theyve the better players even though Mayo have beaten Galway a total of twice in their last 22 games at all levels, and are obviously so much inferior historically. Mayo are slight favorites because Galway have key injuries and Galway have no prep. Thats the sole reasons

PressureKick (Galway) - 12/11/2020 22:07:21

Replying To mayomanic:  "maybe a few of his Kilmacud team mates could come down to Galway and help ye to win a all-ireland or maybe even help ye to retain a connaught title,"
Your county has fewer football all irelands than Wexford. This is probably not a route you want to be going down

PressureKick (National) - 23/01/2023 13:38:44

Galway Football 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mailman98:  "If Shane Walsh had 10% of the heart, bravery and work rate of Niall Skully we wouldn't be wondering where he was every time we play in Croke park. Skully keeps more effective players than Shane Walsh out of the Dublin team. Jim Gavin wouldn't take a second look at Walsh."
To my knowledge he's started 6 games there. Had a very good game against Kerry OF 2014 scoring 3 from play aged 20. A good game Vs Kildare in 2017 scoring 3 from play. A very poor game Vs Kerry 2017 QF. An ok game Vs Dublin 2018 league scoring 1 from play and 2 great frees. Sunday game Man of the match versus Kerry 2018 Super 8s. An ok game versus Dublin 2018 semi final, scoring 1-1 from play. So whatever narrative you want to spin, the facts don't back it up

PressureKick (Galway) - 11/01/2020 01:51:44

Galway GAA Letter To FIFA. - 3 Like(s)
I really fear for the future of humanity if people actually thought this was serious and not a joke. Certain posters can never be taken seriously again for starters

PressureKick (National) - 07/07/2018 18:24:41

Galway Club Football - 3 Like(s)
I've read some strange things on this site but few stranger than saying Galway club is shocking when its won the last 3 All Ireland's and the only teams thatve got anywhere close or beat that team are all within the county. Bizarre stuff

PressureKick (National) - 18/10/2021 19:12:13

Connacht FBD 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The motorway will get people as far as Tuam if they travel it south of Tuam. Most of Connacht still would have to travel Primary or Secondary roads to get to East Galway or South Roscommon. COE besides I hope they restore Tuam stadium to former glory as the spiritual home of Connacht football. The centre of excellence is about 10 minutes or less from the N17, links a lot of secondary roads in Connacht. I'd like to see what you think good facilities are if you think Bekan is a hovel."
The area is a hovel, not the facility which is a lovely facility. A church built in honour of a few farmers who lost their minds is the only thing in the area. You build to best serve the most amount of people, not a literal geographical center which ends up being a pain for most people to get to. The fastest growing games in the province player numbers wise are hurling and camogie, mostly in South and East Galway, which this facility is built way too far from. East Galway or south Roscommon would allow a huge amount of people quick access through a motorway and would be a similar distance down from Sligo town and Leitrim as Bekan. The main population base of the province is not anywhere near Bekan. It was built in Prentys back yard to suit his own ends and to basically serve as a center of excellence for Mayo teams, funded by the rest of the province. Thats not right. Mayo county teams, who've been all but living in the facility recently by all accounts, should have their access strictly monitored and limited for starters.

PressureKick (National) - 08/01/2022 18:49:14