Next Dublin Manager

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In the 00s there was 2 great teams and 8 great teams in the 90s."
Think if Tyrone were more consistent while defending their titles it would have only been one team

Kerry prospered when Tyrone were deflated and just nowhere near their top level

Kerry have not been capable of beating the very best teams in 00's and 10's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/12/2019 17:14:39    2255386

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's all the league should be about

Hopefully see the makings of 2-3 new players and give plenty of opportunity to anyone that deserves the chance

For me that's all Dessie will be looking at for 2020

He won't be making looking to reinvent the wheel.. no need for that yet

Exciting times and IMO Gavins last master stroke as manager is deciding to walk away."
Absolutely. Gavin is leaving knowing that a few of the top players still have a couple of years to give making the transition easier for the new manager. Good move all round.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 17:15:44    2255387

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think if Tyrone were more consistent while defending their titles it would have only been one team

Kerry have not been capable of beating the very best teams in 00's and 10's"
Hang on yer all saying Mayo and Donegal and Tyrone were great teams in this decade we beat all those teams in championship and we beat ye many times in the league.

We played Tyrone 3 times in the championship in 00s and they beat us 3 times fair play to them they were the team of the decade but we did beat them in the league .

So what are you trying to say?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 17:33:08    2255388

Replying To baire:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=GeniusGerry:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

Because Kerry were regularly winning."
Kerry were really poor for most of the 90's, the reason it was such a good time to follow football was because a different team won every year. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Galway, Cork and Kerry all won titles. Kildare, Mayo and a few others got very close"
You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side."]You wouldn't be biased now Joxer! lol You wouldn't be seeing Dublin as the one and only true apostolic church when it comes to gaelic football, considering the amount of culchie surnames on that beloved Dublin team of yours, beyond the Pale names, driven east by inequality and Tory type governance!
Have a happy Christmas, I'm out of here for now, enjoy the celebrations!"]Godspeed :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/12/2019 17:39:51    2255390

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think if Tyrone were more consistent while defending their titles it would have only been one team

Kerry have not been capable of beating the very best teams in 00's and 10's"
And yet the shell of that team that was left over in 2011 was a great team when it suits you in order to big up Dublin's All Ireland win.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 17:41:23    2255391

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=GeniusGerry:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

Because Kerry were regularly winning."
Kerry were really poor for most of the 90's, the reason it was such a good time to follow football was because a different team won every year. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Galway, Cork and Kerry all won titles. Kildare, Mayo and a few others got very close"
You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side."]Down, Meath and Galway were great teams and the pick of the bunch imo but nobody could sustain success because there were so many good sides around and it was knockout football.

The kind of utter domination we are seeing now is very unusual, and much of the core of Dublin's team is still in their mid twenties, we are in uncharted waters. If Dublin do not drop off a bit soon it'll be interesting to see how the GAA handle it."]Handle it?

Kerry missed out on 5 by a kick of a ball

Then went onto win another 3 in a row...

Dubs still have plenty to accomplish

This sort of domination has been seen and Dublin have a bit to go to mirror what Kerry did

You may have just narrowly lost out on 5 but again win 3 on the bounce after it"]We were beat in Munster in 83 jim so it was a couple of years after our attempt at 5 that we started the 3.

Dublin with yer population money and home advantage should be winning the next 5 as well and I don't take a new manager as an excuse for ye not to win it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 17:42:56    2255392

Be jayz i remember when Kerry referred to croker as their home ground mind you they were winning regularly then

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/12/2019 17:55:06    2255396

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "And yet the shell of that team that was left over in 2011 was a great team when it suits you in order to big up Dublin's All Ireland win."
So you as a Kerry man don't believe that the team below is a great team Gerry? Many of these top players were in their prime, including the Gooch. Paul Galvin didn't even make the starting 15. Your opinion on this team wouldn't go down well in the Kingdom Gerry.

B Kealy;
M O Se,
T O'Sullivan,
K Young;
T O Se,
E Brosnan,
A O'Mahony;
A Maher,
B Sheehan;
D Walsh,
Darran O'Sullivan;
K Donaghy,
C Cooper,
Declan O'Sullivan,
K O'Leary.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 18:15:48    2255397

Replying To Joxer:  "So you as a Kerry man don't believe that the team below is a great team Gerry? Many of these top players were in their prime, including the Gooch. Paul Galvin didn't even make the starting 15. Your opinion on this team wouldn't go down well in the Kingdom Gerry.

B Kealy;
M O Se,
T O'Sullivan,
K Young;
T O Se,
E Brosnan,
A O'Mahony;
A Maher,
B Sheehan;
D Walsh,
Darran O'Sullivan;
K Donaghy,
C Cooper,
Declan O'Sullivan,
K O'Leary."
My post was more aimed at the hypocrisy of knocking Kerry's achievements throughout the last decade and then in the same breath lauding the Dublin team of 2011 for beating and retiring that 'great' Kerry team.

And yes that is a strong lineup I never disputed that and they showed well that day. That Kerry team peaked around 04-06/07 though imo when the won three in four years and you had a lot of the lads above and Darragh O'Se, Seamus Moynihan, Mike McCarthy, Diarmuid Murphy and then later Tommy Walsh and Tadhg Kennelly. I genuinely don't think they were as strong by 2011.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 19:08:21    2255402

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "My post was more aimed at the hypocrisy of knocking Kerry's achievements throughout the last decade and then in the same breath lauding the Dublin team of 2011 for beating and retiring that 'great' Kerry team.

And yes that is a strong lineup I never disputed that and they showed well that day. That Kerry team peaked around 04-06/07 though imo when the won three in four years and you had a lot of the lads above and Darragh O'Se, Seamus Moynihan, Mike McCarthy, Diarmuid Murphy and then later Tommy Walsh and Tadhg Kennelly. I genuinely don't think they were as strong by 2011."
On the contrary Gerry, it was others who were trying to knock Dublin's achievements claiming that Kerry were a spent force in 11, Kerry were "in transition" for the remainder of the decade and Mayo were not worth talking about because they had won nothing. This was coming from Kerry men. I was just merely pointing out that the Kerry 11 team was still an exceptional side, it was their 3rd final in 4 years but they were just beaten by a better Dublin team who were on the rise. By any measure it was still a great Kerry team. Not belittling Kerry's 2010s achievements at all.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 20:26:52    2255408

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "My post was more aimed at the hypocrisy of knocking Kerry's achievements throughout the last decade and then in the same breath lauding the Dublin team of 2011 for beating and retiring that 'great' Kerry team.

And yes that is a strong lineup I never disputed that and they showed well that day. That Kerry team peaked around 04-06/07 though imo when the won three in four years and you had a lot of the lads above and Darragh O'Se, Seamus Moynihan, Mike McCarthy, Diarmuid Murphy and then later Tommy Walsh and Tadhg Kennelly. I genuinely don't think they were as strong by 2011."
I think the big thing about our 2011 team above is that a lot of those lads were our super subs of the 00s team and our bench for 2011 was wake compared bench of the 00s team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 20:44:41    2255410

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think the big thing about our 2011 team above is that a lot of those lads were our super subs of the 00s team and our bench for 2011 was wake compared bench of the 00s team."
True, and Darragh and Seamus in particular were irreplaceable, they were the leaders of that 00's team and were among Kerry's best players ever. They were still a very good competitive side with some great players in 2011 but quite depleted overall vs the previous decade imo.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 21:14:10    2255415

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "True, and Darragh and Seamus in particular were irreplaceable, they were the leaders of that 00's team and were among Kerry's best players ever. They were still a very good competitive side with some great players in 2011 but quite depleted overall vs the previous decade imo."
Exactly, losing leaders of that quality hurt us Gerry. That Kerry team of the 00s were excellent.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 22:01:31    2255419

Supersubs < Gap Fillers.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/12/2019 22:10:42    2255422

Replying To Joxer:  "On the contrary Gerry, it was others who were trying to knock Dublin's achievements claiming that Kerry were a spent force in 11, Kerry were "in transition" for the remainder of the decade and Mayo were not worth talking about because they had won nothing. This was coming from Kerry men. I was just merely pointing out that the Kerry 11 team was still an exceptional side, it was their 3rd final in 4 years but they were just beaten by a better Dublin team who were on the rise. By any measure it was still a great Kerry team. Not belittling Kerry's 2010s achievements at all."
Funny, caught between trying to prove how great 00s team was Vs how bad the 11 team was.

Never change Kerry.

* This has been an official Christmas Appeal by Kerry GAA.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/12/2019 22:14:57    2255423

Replying To TheUsername:  "Funny, caught between trying to prove how great 00s team was Vs how bad the 11 team was.

Never change Kerry.

* This has been an official Christmas Appeal by Kerry GAA."
And you never change with your little digs at Kerry, bet you'll get lots of green thumbs for that one

I notice you dodged a very direct question earlier in the thread when called out on your usual nonsense. Surprised to see you of all people caught for words

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 22:57:44    2255427

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's all the league should be about

Hopefully see the makings of 2-3 new players and give plenty of opportunity to anyone that deserves the chance

For me that's all Dessie will be looking at for 2020

He won't be making looking to reinvent the wheel.. no need for that yet

Exciting times and IMO Gavins last master stroke as manager is deciding to walk away."
Your last point is an interesting one Jim. You know my thoughts.

But what has been a standout for me in recent Gavin interviews is the consistent message that it needs someone else and new to take it on further and grow to ultimately improve. I don't think that's a platitude, or Jim not being genuine it's not Jim's way, I think that is his genuine belief. Jim would always sacrifice the self for the collective and Dublin GAA, so I think he sees something maybe us mortals don't.

You could well be right on the final masterstroke, you wouldn't put it past him.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/12/2019 00:31:42    2255433

Dessie Farrell taking over from a 5-in-a-row winning manager. No pressure, then.

TheImmortal (USA) - Posts: 24 - 18/12/2019 22:34:33    2255550

Replying To TheUsername:  "Your last point is an interesting one Jim. You know my thoughts.

But what has been a standout for me in recent Gavin interviews is the consistent message that it needs someone else and new to take it on further and grow to ultimately improve. I don't think that's a platitude, or Jim not being genuine it's not Jim's way, I think that is his genuine belief. Jim would always sacrifice the self for the collective and Dublin GAA, so I think he sees something maybe us mortals don't.

You could well be right on the final masterstroke, you wouldn't put it past him."
And queue the final scene from tropic thunder sad music playing and jim on his knees with his arms outstretched being riddled by Ewan and pat and all the pundits while clux Jonny and Philly get in the chopper with Dessie.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/12/2019 07:45:56    2255554

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And queue the final scene from tropic thunder sad music playing and jim on his knees with his arms outstretched being riddled by Ewan and pat and all the pundits while clux Jonny and Philly get in the chopper with Dessie."
You alright Kid ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/12/2019 08:55:54    2255561