Joe Brolly Finished With RTE

Replying To sam1884:  "Reading Brolly's latest article today was great. He is going to become the most honest, outspoken GAA writer in the country. I have a feeling the GAA and RTE will live to regret trying to silence him, he won't hold back and newspapers are going to enjoy the sales whilst other media outlet try sticking to the robotic agenda the GAA want to promote."
Thanks Joe..sorry I mean Sam. Thanks Sam.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 03/11/2019 20:26:17    2247505

Replying To sam1884:  "Reading Brolly's latest article today was great. He is going to become the most honest, outspoken GAA writer in the country. I have a feeling the GAA and RTE will live to regret trying to silence him, he won't hold back and newspapers are going to enjoy the sales whilst other media outlet try sticking to the robotic agenda the GAA want to promote."
His article today was a load of rubbish. They will get worse now that he is not on TV, as he will write more attention seeking stuff to try and keep his media profile up.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/11/2019 20:40:20    2247511

Replying To whiterbannnas:  "David Brady be good yeah. Or conor mortimer"
Lol, were you on the tear last night.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 03/11/2019 21:17:09    2247521

Huge contradiction in his article(s) for me. He's constantly having a go at the GPA and the commercialisation of the gaa which is fair enough. Yet he never mentions anything about the commercialization of Dublin.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 03/11/2019 21:39:59    2247527

Once you admit even reading anything that idiot says your opinion loses all credibility..
There are any amount of genuine, top class pundits out there without an agenda.
Thankfully this one is all but finished.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 03/11/2019 21:45:27    2247532

Replying To witnof:  "His article today was a load of rubbish. They will get worse now that he is not on TV, as he will write more attention seeking stuff to try and keep his media profile up."
He will speak more of whats needs to be said but can't be by people with a self interest. The GAA top brass and it's happy to play along media have a very vocal critic who has a genuine love for the GAA, if grassroots have concerns Brolly will have the platform to say it; uncomfortable times ahead for RTE and Croke Park.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/11/2019 22:17:29    2247534

Eamonn Sweeneys article in today's Sunday Independent enough to send Kerry forum apoplectic how dare he call this Dublin team the greatest of all time Did he ever see Galway of the 60s ,Down of Doherty O Neill Mc Cartan or Mickey Harte's Tyrone and Maybe one or two Kerry teams could challenge for the spurious title Greatest of All Time aka GOAT

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 03/11/2019 23:22:04    2247551

Commercialization and corruption in the GAA with the pursuit of money is the Elephant in the Room. Weekly now we have new revelations about financial woes in clubs and counties yet when we call people to account we get 'An beal Bocht' whimpers and promise to change !
Pathetic excuses and communities being mugged !
Once again nice article from Joe Brolly.

IssacBall (Derry) - Posts: 51 - 03/11/2019 23:47:16    2247556

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Once you admit even reading anything that idiot says your opinion loses all credibility..
Thankfully this one is all but finished."
Your credibility is pretty low so, as you must read his articles judging by your dismissive attitude to anyone who wants to have an opinion .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 04/11/2019 00:34:34    2247557

Replying To sam1884:  "He will speak more of whats needs to be said but can't be by people with a self interest. The GAA top brass and it's happy to play along media have a very vocal critic who has a genuine love for the GAA, if grassroots have concerns Brolly will have the platform to say it; uncomfortable times ahead for RTE and Croke Park."
Agree totally, the Association is full of sheep & the Tier 2 vote at Congress epitomised that, not one dissenting voice despite all the concerns. Joe is far from perfect but he is grassroots based rather than Inter County elitism.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 04/11/2019 00:51:07    2247559

Replying To gahfan:  "Huge contradiction in his article(s) for me. He's constantly having a go at the GPA and the commercialisation of the gaa which is fair enough. Yet he never mentions anything about the commercialization of Dublin."
This is the thing, its like hypocrisy of the highest order.

Not a thing about the huge commercial giant that is Dublin GAA, i mean this is a county GAA team with its own official Airline partner ffs along with their own official car partner.

This is why Brolly simply cannot be taken seriously and anyone looking for wisdom from him in regards to the future of the GAA is on a fools errand.

Nothing against what Dublin GAA are doing from my point of view, fair play to em and best of luck to them but to complain all about the GPA and commercialism etc whilst ignoring the huge elephant in the room literally sitting on your face is laughable, truth be told.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 04/11/2019 09:44:12    2247583

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Once you admit even reading anything that idiot says your opinion loses all credibility..
Thankfully this one is all but finished."
There are genuine, top class pundits I agree. But these pundits have now their hand tied to some extent. Some media platforms policy is now very obvious , no way are they going to allow uncomfortable truths to be spoken so better to play along and continue to receive a nice earner and renewed contracts. Brolly splits opinion, you either love or hate his views but one thing for sure is everyone listens or reads what he has to say.

We'll actually hear and see more of Brolly in 2020 now he won't be in the RTE studios which is ironic. Even at this quiet time of year he is on radio stations and continuing to write articles. The man is box office and I can see him using platforms to critique the Sunday game shows in a honest, open way which will be uncomfortable for RTE.

Newspapers and commercial radio stations are about revenue and some of these will be only be to happy to encourage criticism of the GAA so they will allow Brolly a blank piece of paper to express views.

It's good news for the grassroots of the GAA as they'll have a genuine, powerful voice to call decisions out; not so good for elitism and I wonder as the summer gets closer will their be a compromise to get Brolly back on the Sunday game - I suspect there might be, the GAA would probably rather have him there for some form of control.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 04/11/2019 10:03:00    2247587

It feels like we never got a break from Brolly, he was there for the drawn Final and needs to be quarantined for at least 12 months.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 04/11/2019 10:31:46    2247598

He's way better as a columnist than as a tv pundit.

His articles don't really have a coherent point to get across either. The start and end where he got to stick the boot into England rugby's coaching and then revere Colm O'Rourke were tenuously linked. The whole body of the piece was just a completely disconnected rant on the GPA.

I will give him credit though. There are issues though that the association don't feel like they have a grip of fully and are taking it on an as it comes basis. He does look to address these head on. I wouldn't agree with him a whole lot but it is clear he's an honest, devoted GAA man.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 04/11/2019 17:46:49    2247718

Replying To sam1884:  "There are genuine, top class pundits I agree. But these pundits have now their hand tied to some extent. Some media platforms policy is now very obvious , no way are they going to allow uncomfortable truths to be spoken so better to play along and continue to receive a nice earner and renewed contracts. Brolly splits opinion, you either love or hate his views but one thing for sure is everyone listens or reads what he has to say.

We'll actually hear and see more of Brolly in 2020 now he won't be in the RTE studios which is ironic. Even at this quiet time of year he is on radio stations and continuing to write articles. The man is box office and I can see him using platforms to critique the Sunday game shows in a honest, open way which will be uncomfortable for RTE.

Newspapers and commercial radio stations are about revenue and some of these will be only be to happy to encourage criticism of the GAA so they will allow Brolly a blank piece of paper to express views.

It's good news for the grassroots of the GAA as they'll have a genuine, powerful voice to call decisions out; not so good for elitism and I wonder as the summer gets closer will their be a compromise to get Brolly back on the Sunday game - I suspect there might be, the GAA would probably rather have him there for some form of control."
He certainly doesn't critique the GAA's funding of Dublin. Indeed he constantly tells us in articles how Dublin players text him about things. He is not impartial towards them

prideofarigner (Roscommon) - Posts: 31 - 04/11/2019 23:20:33    2247806

Brolly back on tv with Eit sports for the NFL.....I thought he was against paid subscription for GAA games?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 11/01/2020 13:36:32    2258906

Why does almost every sports panel on Irish TV feel the need to have some nonsense talking Dunphy type

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 11/01/2020 14:29:57    2258915

Replying To yew_tree:  "Brolly back on tv with Eit sports for the NFL.....I thought he was against paid subscription for GAA games?"
It's ok. Because it's Irish, deep down people hate sky because it's English

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 11/01/2020 14:50:20    2258919

Let's face it whether you love Brolly or hate him he's more about being controversial and that gets viewers talking. That why you boys and girls are all on here giving out.
That's why he'll always get work. It's not rocket science.
Rochford, a lovely man I'm sure but by Jaysus, no way would you would be able to put up with 3 of him on the panel.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/01/2020 15:18:35    2258926

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "It's ok. Because it's Irish, deep down people hate sky because it's English"
Says you. Nonsense. Anyway, Sky is American - its owned by Comcast. Even before that, as a listed multinational company, its ownership was global.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 11/01/2020 15:57:12    2258934