JP McManus donates 100,000 to every county board

Replying To Oldtourman:  "He answered this himself by saying he always paid tax on every bob he ever earned in this country. There are several multi millionaires domiciled abroad for tax purposes who gave a bob to any Irish organisation."
Last line should have read 'NEVER gave a bob'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4325 - 26/09/2018 16:03:22    2143964

Replying To Oldtourman:  "He answered this himself by saying he always paid tax on every bob he ever earned in this country. There are several multi millionaires domiciled abroad for tax purposes who gave a bob to any Irish organisation."
Last line should have read 'NEVER gave a bob'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4325 - 26/09/2018 16:06:28    2143965

Replying To yew_tree:  "If you were that successful you would probably do the same thing."
I'm not casting aspersions upon him for legally avoiding tax.

It's the system that's broken.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 26/09/2018 16:14:24    2143968

Replying To Past hurler:  "JP has always helped out the Limerick GAA but supposedly he now wants to take Limerick hurling to a super elite level with a 15 year plan in place with Limerick hurling getting colossal financial backing from JP.

At this rate Limerick hurlers will do 5 in a row in years to come!

His Adare manor is going to be on the front of Limerick Jessie's for foreseeable future too.

There is a financial Hurling monster coming in Limerick that is going to be hard to stop!"
The only piece of that post that's correct is the Adare Manor logo on the jersey's. JP's sponsorship would be in line with other counties neighbouring Limerick and we thank him for that.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 26/09/2018 16:36:51    2143975

Replying To yew_tree:  "Didn't take long for a moan brigade to harp on about where JP pays his taxes. The man has done more and donated more than any taxes he would have paid if based here and that's well known.

Anyway he lives most of the year abroad. His taxes would probably have been wasted on a tribunal or a bailout for the bank."
If you are referring to me there I was actually praising him to be the proud member of the Barbados brethen fair play to the lad. Sure if I was in the same position I would be planting my money down there with their pyramid schemes

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 26/09/2018 19:04:41    2144000

Wonderful gesture by JP mc Manus.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 26/09/2018 20:32:34    2144014

Replying To valley84:  "There aren't 215 clubs in Dublin"
It depends how you count them, anywhere from 91 (that is duel clubs), then count Football only clubs, hurling only clubs, affliated GAA clubs i.e. Camogie only, Ladies football only and then handball, finally rounders all come to approx 215 clubs. But exclusively GAA clubs? around 150, since we are only talking here about males and generally its usually only gaelic football, ironic given JP is more of a hurling man.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 27/09/2018 11:06:50    2144073

Replying To arock:  "It depends how you count them, anywhere from 91 (that is duel clubs), then count Football only clubs, hurling only clubs, affliated GAA clubs i.e. Camogie only, Ladies football only and then handball, finally rounders all come to approx 215 clubs. But exclusively GAA clubs? around 150, since we are only talking here about males and generally its usually only gaelic football, ironic given JP is more of a hurling man."
Camogie only, Ladies football will not be included in this total as Ladies football and Camogie is not run by the Gaa

Allaboutclub (Fermanagh) - Posts: 76 - 27/09/2018 11:28:42    2144082

Replying To ROS1:  "If everyone took the same attitude there would be no money for schools/health/transport/poor people etc the vast majority of taxes go into public services. A small fraction goes into tds pensions."
Was it not the government who gave the German and French banks most of our tax over the last 8/9 years. We sold billions worth of property at an 80% discount, to vulture funds who now pay little tax selling it back at a multiple of what it was bought at and you wonder why resources are scarce resulting in families being put out of their homes. Now I expect that JP would do a much better job with the resources he has accumulated abroad and is now giving to good causes.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/09/2018 17:42:22    2144263

Why can't people just accept the offer of generosity for what it is, an offer of generosity?

Why is this country so rife with begrudgery with comments of "we'll sure he can well afford it" or "what about the tax he doesn't pay" or what about us, we got nothing and they got more than us etc etc etc.

Is it any wonder successful wealthy people decide to to live here?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 28/09/2018 18:55:10    2144272

Replying To Allaboutclub:  "Camogie only, Ladies football will not be included in this total as Ladies football and Camogie is not run by the Gaa"
I think that most clubs will put the money into maintaining their pitches which are open to all GAA games, including Ladies football, Camogie etc. and in doing so no single group within a club can complain about their fair share.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/09/2018 22:27:50    2144292

Replying To Allaboutclub:  "Camogie only, Ladies football will not be included in this total as Ladies football and Camogie is not run by the Gaa"
That is what I said I was referring to the amount of GAA clubs in Dublin. BTW they will get it, a camogie or ladies footballer by in large in Dublin are members of GAA clubs. GAA clubs who play all codes and genders do not discriminate against women a female member of Na Fianna is a member of the GAA if Na Fianna get a donation it goes to all. Maybe when the rest of the country catches up with Dublin they might progress more.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 29/09/2018 10:48:28    2144313

Replying To arock:  "That is what I said I was referring to the amount of GAA clubs in Dublin. BTW they will get it, a camogie or ladies footballer by in large in Dublin are members of GAA clubs. GAA clubs who play all codes and genders do not discriminate against women a female member of Na Fianna is a member of the GAA if Na Fianna get a donation it goes to all. Maybe when the rest of the country catches up with Dublin they might progress more."
Eh? Discrimination? "rest of country catch up with Dublin?" If I'm not mistaken aren't camogie (or is it ladies football or both?) BY THEIR OWN VOLITION separate from the GAA? Fair play if Dublin are going to share the donation with the ladies organisations too (ye have plenty of it to spare anyway) but really there ought to be no obligation on other counties to share the loot with organisations separately from the GAA. No obligation ....but I expect in the majority of cases it will be shared with them anyway.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 29/09/2018 14:10:41    2144328

mayo county board refusing to share money out to Ballyvary and caiseal Gaels...what kind of people are running the county board?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 29/09/2018 14:21:32    2144329

JP discovering that an act of generosity, selflessness, a good deed is wasted in GAA, he must be regretting he didn't stick to sponsoring Limerick. It didn't take long for the greedy nasty side of the GAA to rear its head with everyone bitching & wanting a slice & when they didn't get it, demonise him. He must have specified clearly his wishes as I am surprised Provincial or County Boards didn't try to divert the money to something as they have done previously. When Croke Park opened to rugby & soccer, clubs were promised that the funds would find their way back to them, remember that claim made by a leading figure now a politician of course. Well in the West no clubs saw any money as the funds were all diverted to a project for Provincial Council, which wasn't a problem but that wasn't the commitment made. The Provincial Councils would have loved to get their hands on this as would certain County Boards who have demonstrated to all on how good they are at flittering money. The PUC overrun by millions a recent example or a County Board with a €3 Million deficit from a development that never took place & who are awaiting a report on financial irregularities or waiting for it to be buried. JP should have kept his hand in his pocket & distributed it discreetly as he has done over the years to various charities rather than dip in & feed the Vultures who have no respect for it, if he left the hand out long enough, hand & all would be gone.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 29/09/2018 15:11:01    2144332

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "mayo county board refusing to share money out to Ballyvary and caiseal Gaels...what kind of people are running the county board?"
See what we are dealing with...A bunch of cowboys....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 29/09/2018 15:20:35    2144334

will it really make much of a difference ?. 40 clubs in Cavan that's £2,500 each. There's not a lot you can do with that.
I mean it's a great gesture but when you divide it up it doesn't amount to much.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5077 - 24/09/2018 21:59:28 2143618

What an utterly mean spirited thing to say.

Tell you what, you donate more if you think clubs can do with it.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 29/09/2018 16:21:04    2144337

Replying To yew_tree:  "See what we are dealing with...A bunch of cowboys...."
Who are the cowboys, the county board or the two small clubs?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4325 - 29/09/2018 17:49:23    2144342

Replying To browncows:  "Was it not the government who gave the German and French banks most of our tax over the last 8/9 years. We sold billions worth of property at an 80% discount, to vulture funds who now pay little tax selling it back at a multiple of what it was bought at and you wonder why resources are scarce resulting in families being put out of their homes. Now I expect that JP would do a much better job with the resources he has accumulated abroad and is now giving to good causes."
It wasn't most of our taxes it was a fraction. Not saying that was right what was done. But If a player breaks his leg tomorrow in one of the many matches around the country the ambulance will be paid for by the ordinary taxpayers as will the hospital he will go into. Many clubs have received multiple times this donation from the capital sports funding paid by the ordinary taxpayers, which will be of hugh benefit to the clubs.
If someone told me that if I wrote a cheque for a couple of grand for the local club and I didn't have to pay any income tax as a result I would be delighted saving myself money and been hailed as a great man. But I and the other hundred of thousands of taxpayers pay tax as it provides essential services to the country as a whole even if I don't agree with the way every penny is spend by the government of the day.
Off course if Mr mcmanus was a resident taxpayer the clubs would have been able to claim a extra 40% from the revenue if he was agreeable so for example roscommon clubs are getting slightly less then 3k the would have come out with 4,200.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 30/09/2018 00:49:34    2144376

Replying To yew_tree:  "Didn't take long for a moan brigade to harp on about where JP pays his taxes. The man has done more and donated more than any taxes he would have paid if based here and that's well known.

Anyway he lives most of the year abroad. His taxes would probably have been wasted on a tribunal or a bailout for the bank."
You say he has donated more then any taxes he would paid but what evidence have you of that seems like something of the top of your head.
We all could be more generous if were paying a fraction of the taxes we are.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 30/09/2018 00:54:54    2144377