Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from Knoxboya

Dubs V Mayo - 6 Like(s)
Dublin have set standards, won All Irelands and established records. They deserve the plaudits and history will mark these achievements. I doubt six in a row will repeated in my lifetime. Mayo have turned in a performance that few would have predicted during the first half. Congratulations Mayo Gaels. You have underlined what our sport is about. Enjoy. My brother and I had the privilege of a couple of pints in Mick Byrne's pub in Castlebar after a 2019 national league game. He made us Farney folk most welcome, and was starting a list for a bus the following week to the National League final. I can only imagine what the craic is like in there now. Am raising a pint to yous.

Knoxboya (National) - 14/08/2021 21:46:52

Monaghan V Tyrone - 5 Like(s)
If we beat Tyrone three times in the one year, then surely we get to keep them ? ...and we owe them. Big time. We are not short of incentives here. Hon.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - 05/08/2018 21:36:48

Cavan V Donegal - 5 Like(s)
Congratulations Cavan. I recall walking up Fermangh Street in 1997 and the sheer joy on the Cavan faces was a sight to behold. Raising a glass to yous all. Enjoy

Knoxboya (Cavan) - 22/11/2020 19:30:17

Monaghan Vs Tyrone - 5 Like(s)
If we beat Tyrone three times in one year we get to keep them.

Knoxboya (National) - 05/08/2018 21:56:35

That Macauley Tackle - 4 Like(s)
MDMA should have got a red. End of.

Knoxboya (National) - 20/09/2016 18:41:54

Tyrone Withdrawl From AI Semi Final. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Let Monaghan take their place"
I see the logic, but it still isn't right. COVID presents exceptional circumstances, so Tyrone should be given time to have a full panel available. Anything else means the integrity of the All Ireland series is fundamentally compromised.

Knoxboya (National) - 14/08/2021 15:06:30

Monaghan V Armagh - 4 Like(s)

Replying To cockneyrebel:  "Is this being shown on Sky, they are supposed to be showing one of the qualifiers on Saturday but no news yet which game it is."
Am abroad so was also looking with interest at Sky's possible coverage of QR2. I may be wrong but at this stage it appears as though they have chosen not to televise any game Saturday. The timing of both our game v Armagh and Mayo v Down means two high-ish profile qualifiers happen to clash with Cork v Kerry in Munster's final. I also wonder whether our Clones game being the day before the Ulster final could have logistical issues. Whilst it wouldn't be impossible for Sky to broadcast a game the evening before RTE/BBCNI, it is also easy to imagine plenty of "politics" at work. It's the holy trinity of Northern Sound, Twitter and novenas. (And Hop House).

Knoxboya (National) - 19/06/2019 20:11:44

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Am abroad, in a pub. And in tears. Hon

Knoxboya (National) - 01/07/2023 20:54:56

Another handy provincial draw for Kerry - 3 Like(s)
..have lost count now. Munster never learns.

Knoxboya (National) - 13/10/2016 22:14:01

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Flights booked. See yous there

Knoxboya (National) - 03/07/2023 11:07:29

Championship 2017 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Bernardo:  "I'm back. I rest my case about about our new star forward. Mccarthy must be starting next day."
This from a poster who on Wednesday said he'd wouldn't comment until the quarter finals.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - 15/07/2017 21:10:19

Division 1 - 2019 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MalsBalls:  "A team with a sense of self entitlement is not a team at all. I'm sorry but malachy is a terrible manager when it comes to us being the favourite... Jim gavin wouldn't have lost today, he wouldn't have lost to fermanagh last year, he wouldn't have lost to down the year before and he wouldn't have lost to Longford the year before... Malachy is a decent manager blessed with exceptional players...why is nobody else discussing this?"
I am sorry but these kind of views are halfway to concluding that our league results to date would mean that the Rossies would beat the Dubs by 5 points. Two years ago we narrowly avoided a banana skin down there. New players, new systems and new rules mean many elements are still developing on how this year wil shape up. The result is a disappointment, not an abyss.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - 04/02/2019 08:14:40

Dublin V Kerry NFL Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "The smokey blue juggernaut look set for the 3 in-a-row in championship. It'll be another poor reflection of the state the game nationally."
More old cod chat from the usual suspect, simply positioning himself to be able to declare a Kerry win as the most supreme accomplishment by a poor rural county.

Knoxboya (National) - 09/04/2017 10:46:16

NFL Division 1 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Monaghan arent in the chasing pack."
To be fair, we tend to give you fellas a chasing in the League most years

Knoxboya (National) - 23/02/2020 20:04:28

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
An atrocious ref, A below par performance, But a key win. Hon

Knoxboya (National) - 24/06/2023 18:23:30

Division 1 - 2019 - 2 Like(s)
A phenomenal performance, and a brilliant result.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - 27/01/2019 15:51:40

Monaghan Vs Dublin - 2 Like(s)
It's the 28th January and there are already calls on Twitter for Monaghan to be split in two. 2019 everybody...

Knoxboya (National) - 28/01/2019 07:48:26

Monaghan To Represent Ulster - 2 Like(s)
I understand the logic of this line of thought, but we are opening pandora's box here. Tyrone, not Monaghan, are the Ulster Champions. That's the way forward here.

Knoxboya (National) - 14/08/2021 22:03:51

Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)
As much as it pains me to say, Congratulations to Cavan on a deserved victory. (Will yous keep the noise down later, some of us will be trying to sleep.) Enjoy. It's overdue.

Knoxboya (Cavan) - 18/05/2019 20:54:01

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Brilliant performance in second half Showed belief that will stand us well in coming weeks. A gane we could have lost, against a team who thought they had the beating of us - delicious. Hon

Knoxboya (National) - 16/04/2023 20:16:04