Kildare Forum

Popular Posts from cuttothebone

NFL Division 1 - 11 Like(s)

Replying To moc.dna:  "Pathetic self indulgent post."
I fear this boy might not be that well. The nature of these forums you don't know what's going on in peoples heads. I think its best we err on the side of caution if replying. Mental as well as physical health is our wealth.

cuttothebone (National) - 13/03/2020 11:40:36

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 7 Like(s)
I really fear what is going to happen Meath on Sunday. If they go out with a quality defensive plan and damage limitation with 9 players nearly always in their own half i think, along with a wet day, they could beat the 12 point spread. However i've a bad feeling pride along with believing their own hype they might go man to man. If they do it will be a massacre im afraid. This is Meath's 1st game against a top 10 side in championship in 5 years outside Navan, they also lost the 2 they did play in Navan. Most of this team have never experienced the intensity of what awaits them come Sunday. If they go pretty much man for man i think they will need 3+ goals and maybe they can get in or around 15/16 points in total (which would still be 12 pts too few) because i cant see who is going to kick the 8/9 long range (outside the 45) along with the usual 9/10 close range points/frees you need to compete with Dublin . Conlon wont get a sniff against Dublin, just too small yet for Div one sides. Newman couldn't score from play against Laois what hope has he against Dublin? Kildare have a couple of quality accurate lads who can kick outside the 45 put still could only manage 11pts. I don't think this Dublin team will concede 3 goals either. So i hope for Meath they play a defensive plan otherwise a similar result to 2014 or maybe worse i believe is on the cards. Silver lining on a right hammering is more pressure and embarrassment on the likes of JIm Bolger and his ilk who by the way will be sure as usual to blame Kildare fans for the result, the poor crowd, expensive tickets and probably the weather come Sunday evening!

cuttothebone (National) - 20/06/2019 00:55:38

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To LobinstownMan:  "Worse than expected, was that a record low score from us today? Hard to regroup now for the last of the qualifiers and a kind draw is the best we can hope for. As ridiculous as this might sound, I don't think the Dubs are quite the team they were and I think Donegal might do a number on them in September. I like conversing and reading the opinions of fellow Gaels on this forum. However, my enjoyment is perpetually tempered by the inane ramblings of Royaldunne on these pages. He is an embarrassment to himself and, more importantly, to my county. He proved himself not to be a man of his word when he reneged on his promise to delete his account after Tyrone knocked Meath out in 2013 (it was my one consoling thought walking out of Croker that day). I'm being serious now, I can't read anything on this forum which I used to enjoy without being plagued by his poorly written nonsense and the inevitable replies which follow them. Is there any way I can block him so I don't have to read any of his postings or the replies thereon? Mods, is there anything that can be done? This had ruined the site for me and it's becoming unusable and I know I'm not the only one of this opinion."
Best post I've read on this forum ever.. Hat's off to you and my genuine commiserations... Mind you I guarantee you Royalredtumbs will put a positive spin of some sort on this result..

cuttothebone (National) - 23/06/2019 18:24:20

Joe Brolly Finished With RTE - 6 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Reading Brolly's latest article today was great. He is going to become the most honest, outspoken GAA writer in the country. I have a feeling the GAA and RTE will live to regret trying to silence him, he won't hold back and newspapers are going to enjoy the sales whilst other media outlet try sticking to the robotic agenda the GAA want to promote."
Once you admit even reading anything that idiot says your opinion loses all credibility.. There are any amount of genuine, top class pundits out there without an agenda. Thankfully this one is all but finished.

cuttothebone (National) - 03/11/2019 21:45:27

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "And what kind of money do you need? 1 million, 2 million? I bet no one in Meath or Kildare has even a plan never mind a notion of what to do. If the GAA declares Dublin is self-financing it just means Dublin can (and will have to) go out and earn more money - for itself. And the Dublin sum used to support GDO's say 1.5 million gets divided up by 31 counties you should have enough to just about afford the diesel to cut the grass. The issue is way way bigger than any of that. Unfortunately most counties are going to have to self-finance just like most Dublin clubs without any kind of financial support. Kildare for example should have renovated their county ground or better still invested in their GDO schools system, but no, instead they spent it on a stupid costly centre of Excellence which practically bankrupted them. A plan, a budget, financial support and some targets of their money that is what is needed, begging bowls need to be kicked right off the table."
What are you talking about lad? Kildare has one of the best GDO schools and underage systems in the country. Hence why we are one of the strongest counties at underage and best u20 team in the country. This is despite funding our own facilities. Something Dublin, with Leinster council bent over a barrel, never have to worry about. A little research will save you regularly making a fool of yourself.

cuttothebone (National) - 25/06/2019 16:17:27

Leinster Football Championship - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I don't think anyone in Kildare considers us sleeping giants.. you might have that mixed up with the fact that we acknowledge we have underachieved on the county scene and that perception largely comes down to the fact that we do have a big population and passionate fan base. In terms of resources, I'm not sure we're as strong as you make us out. The pitches in our center of excellence are God awful and the first full sized all weather in the entire county was built this year (fair play Leixlip). Dublin I understand have the leisure's of one of the countries top facilities in DCU? Now this hasn't always been the case and Dublin haven't always been the money (and talent) driven machine they are today yet Kildare's record is not good. This said, neither is Meath's, and any time I get into an argument with a Meath friend of mine on the topic, we end up with a ceasefire and conclusion that neither of us have been better than the other in our lifetimes, none of us have tasted success and bragging about the 70's or 80's or 1998 won't help bridge the gap to Dublin."
Yet despite all our poor resources we still have the best u20 team in the country.. and an All Ireland to prove it. How many All Irelands have Meath this century? If the bandwagon Meath fans that travel only to senior games supported their underage teams instead of coming on forums to slag Kildare off every chance they get ye might actually win something at some level..

cuttothebone (National) - 11/05/2019 11:13:18

Championship Open Draw - 5 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "I'm not talking about competing with and challenging for all Ireland titles over the past 20 years. A county like Kildare with their resources really should be doing better...I was not taking a pop. Mayo have won minor, two u-21, club and multiple provincial titles and played in many all Ireland finals if you want to compare to Kildare. Yes Kildare deserved their win in Newbridge and the u21 result and nobody from Mayo complained. We were happy to travel to Newbridge."
"Doing better" how? Kildare are the one team that can regularly beat Dublin underage, at senior no team in the country could win a Leinster so you're hardly going to give us stick for that. It's very easy to win a connacht when every other year your nearest rival must play you at home. 1982 was the last time Dublin played Kildare in Newbridge. Imagine Mayo playing Galway every year, final, semi final, 1st rd, doesn't matter,in Tuam for 40 odd years? How many connachts would Mayo have now if they did? Would the likes of Boyle and Moran hang around for as long as they have done in that instance? Not likely. That is why there is absolutely zero comparisons between teams inside the joke that is the Leinster championship and teams outside. Before you go and ask why not do better in the league? Well Kildare in fairness are regular visitors to div1 and strong div 2 team but unlike teams outside Leinster our players have zero chance of championship silverware and so, again, player turnover is big problem, (that and UN deployment!) All of which inevitably leads to a lack of consistency. I think that should explain it for you.

cuttothebone (National) - 21/06/2020 20:42:37

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 5 Like(s)
Of course its tarnished.. Utter nonsense to suggest counties on 1/16th of the budget Dublin GAA receive can somehow just catch up by training/committing more. Funding from HQ has to be handed out with the amount of sponsorship a county receives kept in mind. Eg. Leitrim with little money from sponsorship should receive (per capita) more (much much more) than Dublin to help keep it somewhat fair. This is before we talk about all Dublins other advantages, eg playing at home, no neutral game in super 8 ect. Every supporter, even Dubs should be coming out and supporting Mckenna, he seems to be the one voice sticking it to the GAA who seem hell bent on ruining our game having created a financially doped power house.

cuttothebone (National) - 05/09/2018 12:13:49

Andy Mcentee And The Referee - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!! Im fine with Meath being rubbish. Long may it continue."
Defo just my opinion, i know many other Dubs think the same way you do. For me its hard going not having a competitive game until the end of July if even Wayno, Leinster has turned into a dirge, something to be endured rather then enjoyed. Im at the stage that id relish a different challenge. Ha maybe im misty eyed, but some of those games the crowds and games in Leinster are better then the fare we are seeing in the quarters and Semis. Whatever about Meath, both Leinster and Munster need a shake up. Id make a super province Div 1 & 2 teams in Munster and Leinster in one provincial draw and 2&3 in provincial, the numbers probably arent evenly split but something along those lines."]I know you're a bit of a wum mate so i'll take that view of Leinster football as wind up.. However if you really wanted Leinster to be competitive again all you need to do is canvas your club Pro and other influentials, or better still become club pro and insist (with many others i'd imagine) Dublin play in the LFC on the same terms as the other teams. Very simple. Are ye prepared to share the pot? Do ye still fear Meath in Navan, Laois in Portlaoise, Kildare in Newbridge? Or cry behind the usual "bu bu bu but our season ticket holders" excuse. How long is it now since you played any of these in their home?? Heading for 30 yrs now mate.. Very easy to slag Meath and their management trying to compete with a fraction of Dublin's budget and zero hope of championship silverware of any kind, just like the rest of Leinster, when you get everything and every advantage served on a plate. Level the field and Dublin will be back in the pack in 3/4 yrs..

cuttothebone (National) - 03/03/2020 19:51:57

NFL Div 2 - 5 Like(s)
Kildare subs outscored Meaths starting forwards. Strength in depth is vital..

cuttothebone (National) - 13/06/2021 20:02:14

Dublin v Kildare - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Is this some comments from Gavin? This Kildare team have made a lot of progress over the last 18 months. They waltzed through Division 3 last year, got promoted to division 1 this year and destroyed Laois and Meath. Dublin won as expected and did what all good teams do, went for the jugular earlier. This defeat will stand to Kildare on the long run if they keep the faith."
Proud of that performance today, great fight and kept going for the full 70+, Dubs are a class apart but they know now that this young Kildare team are only getting started and there will be some epic battles in the near future for Leinster honours when this team begin to mature.. As for the bitter posts from some of our pathetic neighbours? Maybe concentrate that energy sorting out your failure and shambolic state of affairs in your own county..

cuttothebone (National) - 16/07/2017 20:07:22

Future Of Leinster Championship - 5 Like(s)

Replying To bubba83:  "Dublin got their act together 20 years ago and developed the blueprint and secured the funding for the development of our games in Dublin. This was at a time when Leinster rugby was on the rise and a potential serious challenge for the future growth of the GAA in Dublin. At the time the Senior team were a bit of a laughing stock, remember how everyone laughed at the Blue Book, the linking arms and marching to the Hill, the 'startled earwigs' against Kerry in 2009, the hammering from Tyrone in 2008, Dublin not being able to beat anyone outside of Leinster. All this time the Dublin County Board were laying the foundations to turn around Dublin's fortunes. They were going into schools and getting the underage structures in place that are paying dividends now. They had the foresight back then to recognise there was a problem and put a long term plan in place to secure the future of Dublin GAA, which is stronger than ever. All this talk of throwing in the towel is ridiculous and short-sighted. The only way forward is for a national plan to implement similar underage structures which some counties are now starting to do, Tipperary being a good example of what can be achieved here. As for the championship, there has always been an imbalance be it population sizes or number of counties in provinces, some teams having to play more matches than others to win a title. That will always be the case as long as we continue with the county structure. Are we willing to split Dublin and amalgamate other counties together to level out population mismatches? Finally on the point of Dublin playing all their matches in Croke Park. I agree Dublin should get to travel more and as supporters we love a day on the road and would welcome the opportunity. Let's not forget however that when Meath last won in 99, they played all their championship matches in Croke Park, likewise Kildare on their runs in 98 & 00. If you're a strong Leinster side, chances are you will play all your matches in Croke Park and it's up the Leinster Council to change that. I've been around long enough to see enough dark days to know that nothing lasts forever. I just consider it a privilege to witness this team and all they have achieved."
Jesus wept.. I don't know if you are genuine or having a laugh.. if genuine its incredibly how out of touch you are with the reality of the situation.. I only hope you are unique in that view.. Tipp got their house in order that's how they're having success and Leinster counties aren't! Just to educate you a small bit because I haven't the time to unveil to you the totality of what's really going on with Leinster champ, Kildare are recent all Ireland under 20 champions numerous Leinster minor/u21 titles and one of the most successful underage counties in the country because of structures put in place 20 years ago.. but simply don't have the money Dublin have to prepare a senior team like they can..

cuttothebone (National) - 23/11/2020 17:10:31

NFL Div 2 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To dunboynelad:  "You won't find a Meath supporter (nor Andy) dispute how bad that performance was yesterday, it was dreadful and the fact we could have brought it to ET would lead me to think Kildare are better than that also as it doesn't say much about the quality of the game. Regarding the incident, there is some absolute nonsense being spouted here. The last thing in Andys interest is to create a story from yesterday when it needs to be forgotten quickly to recoup for an already bleak looking campaign, and give his critics ammunition to jump on to this deflection narrative, but he also has a duty to speak up for his player from a despicable act. Anyone who knows Meath football will tell you that isn't in Conors game, never mind unprovoked. He was 100% spat at and it is easily verifiable (which always leaves me dubious of these forums) as to think no one from Kildare or Meath here will know someone involved yesterday I find odd. If the roles were reversed I'd equally call it out, some posters here embarrassing themselves; if you spit in someones face (never mind during a pandemic) a few light digs is much less than you deserve and the lad who we won't name will know that."
Utter nonsense.. How are people giving any credence to anything Mcentee says? He is the moaner almighty. He can never accept defeat. Spoke to lads at the match who saw no spitting. What they did see was ever increasing frustration by McGill through out the game because he got roasted. Nobody deliberately spat at anyone. But when red mist decends any slight can be multiplied to justify actions. Mcentee accomplished his goal though. Meaths brutal performance has been diluted by the accusations.

cuttothebone (National) - 14/06/2021 23:41:31

Leinster Football Championship - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Kerry havnt beaten dublin in championship football this decade but meath have, based on Kerry's championship form last year I would say your not much better then we are."
Kerry are "not much better than we are"?? Jesus wept.. Anytime a team get promoted to div 1 for the 1st time in years you get a few gems from that county who think they have "arrived" at the top table.. the naivety is unreal. A Meath team who, since the last time they were in a Leinster final (2014, 5 years), have beaten 3 teams in the championship, the mighty Wicklow, louth, and Sligo, and it will be soon be 2 years since their last championship win of any kind.. and now their apparently not far off Kerry and next year will be a match for Dublin?! Embarrassing.. I understand full well there are plenty of knowledgeable Meath posters who have a much tighter grasp of reality.

cuttothebone (National) - 11/04/2019 22:27:34

Upcoming Special Congress - 4 Like(s)
A very dark day for gaelic football but with no football championship worth looking at next summer it has been some day for the promotion of hurling! It's an ill wind..

cuttothebone (National) - 23/10/2021 13:59:15

NFL Division 2 - 4 Like(s)
Kildare making progress??? Are you serious? Maybe have have a look at our results this year and compare them to the last time we were in div 2 before posting utter nonsense.. We are missing Paul Cribben only, all the others have left the panel, in D. Flynn case probably for good. And yet another hammering from dubs in a championship fixed for them to win should see another 1 or 2 lose interest and leave.. Meath deserve their chance but its an inevitable conclusion that your young lads will get fed up and leave to have a life when they realise how futile competing in Leinster or All Ireland is.. Thats why i hope if not Kildare then meath win the Div 2 title because its the only comp we can win that is not fixed for Dublin to win.. At least not yet, although God knows Gaa HQ will probably find a way..

cuttothebone (National) - 18/03/2019 19:53:21

Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To the_creeler:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "As Tyson famously said "Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the mouth". The facts are the Leinster Championship has been murdered and this notion of attributing blame to other Leinster counties is akin to blaming the victim while letting the perpetrator and their backers off the hook. It shows how farcical the situation is when someone is advising Meath to make a plan on getting beaten by 5 to 10 points ! Wake up people and smell the coffee."
It is other Leinster counties fault. They allowed this imbalance to happen, they've let Dublin have home advantage in Croke Park for years, Dublin rarely have to travel. That is down to the other county boards big time. They've said nothing while Dublin get all the funding."]Unfortunately you can insist on home advantage but don't ever expect any assistance or funding for several years after.. Leinster football is all about Dublin, the rest of us exist to raise funds for them, and any suggestions of a fair or level playing field in Leinster and you'll be outside feeling very, very cold in no time. Kildare are unbeaten at home to Dublin in league and championship in nigh on 50 years now.. Not many counties can claim that.

cuttothebone (National) - 05/05/2021 18:49:41

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Mobot:  "I don't disagree with most of what you're saying there to be honest. Dublin play where they're told and I'm not having a go at Dublin at all. Rather than tell you what games I'd move Dublin out of Croke Park, I'll tell you what games they should play there. Dublin and any team in Leinster for that matter should only be allowed to play in Croke Park for League finals, Leinster finals, 1 game of the super 8's (while in place), an all ireland semi final and all ireland final. The experience of going to Croke park for a big game should be something to look forward to. Truth is Dublin play so often there now that even their supporters see it as a normal home game. The GAA, Leinster Council and other Leinster teams are to blame for this. Teams gave up home advantage to play Dublin in Croke park in the Leinster championship in years gone by. Say Dublin played in Ulster, could you see any of the counties giving up home advantage? As for accommodating the fans, what would create a better atmosphere during a home league game, a packed out Parnell Park and buzz that goes with it trying to get your ticket or somewhere between 14-25k in Croke park when you can hear players calling for the ball? Same goes for the super 8's. I think Croke Park has lost it's mystic anyways as things are. It's used too often. I don't even think that any team should be allowed to use it for the super 8's."
Leinster counties did not just "give up home advantage" that's just a stupid myth, Leinster council (dublin gaa) gave them no option ultimatums.

cuttothebone (National) - 14/06/2019 11:08:27

Leinster Football Gate Receipts Down Nearly 30% - 4 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "When you look at what a county the size of Monaghan and Roscommon are doing then Leinster counties really need to go their game. Fundraising should be no issue and they have massive populations compared to counties in the west and from what I've seen far superior club grounds and facilities...they need to start developing their teams...maybe they are already? It will take time. Dublin's dominance on this current level won't last forever."
How can you be so naive to come out with a statement like that?? Does any GAA supporter outside of Leinster have any Knowledge of what being an intercounty player in Leinster champ is like at all?? Roscommon and Monaghan have every chance of winning at least 1 or 2 provincial champ medals in every 10 years or so, even more.. Practically the same can be said for vast amount of teams in Conn and Ulster. Even in Munster, Cork will turn things around shortly id say and even Tipp and Clare, with maybe home advantage, a wet day, an off day for Kerry and a bit of luck, have some hope at least. Some reward at least for their effort. Outside Dublin, NO intercounty footballer in Leinster, NONE, have ever a hope of winning a champ medal of any sort ever again (just let that sink in for a min) unless GAA HQ get their cheque book back from Dublin. How would Roscommon be doing now if they hadn't played either Mayo or Galway at home in the championship since 1989?? Or Monaghan against Tyrone/Donegal/Armagh?? Add to this their biggest rival playing 98% of their games at home? Add to this their biggest rival getting so much money from different sources (Multiples of what they get) they dont have to bother with any fundraising... And this is just the tip of the mountain to the advantages Dublin have over the rest of Leinster. Now how the hell do you keep players, even top quality all star potential players, interested in playing when the chances of winning even 1 provincial medal is so incredibly stacked in favour of another team?? we might be wealthier than some others but what good is that with no chance, zero, of success of any kind in champ? Do you think Meath, Offaly, Laois, and Kildare to a lesser extent would be losing so many top players if they even had just a hope, an outside chance of competing for a medal of some sort and reward for the ever increasing demands on them? Thank God for the league, a level playing field of sorts, and only competition open to Leinster teams that gives an equal chance of success.

cuttothebone (National) - 17/01/2019 21:35:13

Donegal V Meath - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I am talking about something different altogether. There is a nationwide player drain. I am talking about about players not returning to the inter county panels year after year. I am talking about players who r non returnees. Here r the stats I am referring to. Number of Players who failed to return for their counties league last year Derry 19 Cork 18 Wexford 17 Offaly 16 Meath 16 Wicklow 15 Antrim 14 London 14 Louth 14 Leitrim 13 Westmeath 13 Sligo 13 Longford 12 Down 12 Roscommon 12 limerick 12 Kerry 11 Laois 11 Clare 10 Cavan 10 Galway 10 Armagh 10 Kildare 9 Only 3 counties in div 2 3 or 4 had low number with 7 Carlow Fermanagh and Tipp Low numbers Dublin 6 Mayo 6 Donegal 6 Monaghan 5 Tyrone 4 Of 1040 players who played in 2017 , 366 did not return for the 2018 league. In last few weeks, John Maughan has talked about how shocked he is so many Offaly players turned down offer to join the Offaly panel or left Offaly panel. Wicklow manager said recently in 5 years in a row 15 players each year left the Wicklow senior panel. And last week the new Cavan manager Graham was talking about the massive turnover of players in Cavan again this year and every year and players leaving panel. Roscommon have had allot of non returnees this year. While Eddie Brennan in laois talked about last week how he was shocked at players turning his invitation to join the laois hurlibg panel or leaving Laois hurling panel. Its a problem in weaker hurling counties also. I can give u more facts and stats if u want , but I am referring to a national player drain. This is what ESRI ( a government study undertaken by academics) found out when they did a two year long study on nationwide player gaa welfare. They found there was a player drain. Thats what I am refeering. Thats my last word on the matter."
Again i say "so what"?? Do you think this is a new thing or what? Players have been joining and leaving panels since forever. Part and parcel of team management. Unless its a new thing in Meath or something i cant see your fascination or reason for going on and on about it.. Larry Tomkins, Shea Fahy, Niall Buckley, countless dozens of lads including Dermot Earley leaving for overseas duties, Cribben, Flynn, Brophy ect. to oz rules, Feeley x 2 to soccer.. And im only mentioning the cream of Kildare talent in my time.. And from a county with 1 of the highest employment rates in the country! I bet its nothing compared to what the likes of Leitrim have lost over that time.. Time to get over it and get on with it.

cuttothebone (National) - 30/01/2019 15:52:48