Galway Forum

Popular Posts from Galway9801

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 13 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "I for one am absolutely disgusted at the scenes at half time in the all ireland final today. I actually feel physically sick just thinking about the behaviour of both Dublin and Mayo players involved. Something has to be done about this and the gas needs to throw the book needs at both counties. I don't think it is taking it too far to say that both counties should be expelled from next years championship. I hope that all hoganstand posters will row in behind me in an act of solidarity and consistency on these issues."
The most important thing is that no one's hair got ruffled.

Galway9801 (National) - 19/12/2020 21:01:13

In Gaa Its Your Parish Team For Male And Female Players , What Transfers Caused Most Hollybaugh. - 11 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here In the Gaa its ano no to transfer to a neighboring Club in conversation with the great Mrs T last night she posed the question, what transfer within Clubs caused the most controversy ........ Would it be No 1 Cavan Gaels allowing Mc Kieran into the Club No 2 Would it be the two Kildae Larry Thomson and someone else transferring to Cork No 3 Would it be Shane Walsh No 4 Did one take place between a player fom Currin and Scotstown recently Probably others were also controversial"
Tomsmith Why don't you transfer yourself to another forum...

Galway9801 (National) - 23/05/2023 14:59:36

Have We All Gone Mad? - 10 Like(s)

Replying To carlowman:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "Not good, but definitely not illegal."
I think the fella on the radio today who spoke about publicans taking advice from the doctors hit the nail on the head. Who should we take advice from.... the publican or the doctor ? People need to wake up. The reality is that NPHET painted a very dim picture if we allow pubs etc to open. Advice has been given and is being followed. Think back to Christmas and January and Feb... leave us have a Christmas people said and look what happened... disaster almost with all of us having family or friends dying. Enough said. I think we can spend a little.more.time outside of the pitch for county matches and it will be worth ut if we can lead a.more normal.life later. And by the way, the pub can wait as well. Times are changing and the pub as we know it is changing.... we won't be visiting it as often as in the past even when they do reopen."]Almost all of us have family or friends dying? Irelands mortality rate for 2020 was 1% higher than 2019, yet in that year apparently almost all of us have watched family or friends die? I don't know anyone who even got ill from it, and I don't know anyone who knows anyone who died from it, so stop talking rubbish.

Galway9801 (National) - 29/06/2021 19:09:21

Donal Ogs Punditry - 10 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Donal Og predicts that: Cork will beat Kilkenny this weekend. Waterford will beat Wexford. Antrim will beat Offaly. I predict the opposite in all 3 games. Watch this space!"
So let's say you're right. Who cares?

Galway9801 (National) - 25/03/2022 14:08:54

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 9 Like(s)
While the likes of meath kildare galway were despairing at kerry and Dublins supposed invincibility these are two counties who along with donegal never let their heads drop and kept plugging away. Good luck to both of them.

Galway9801 (National) - 28/08/2021 18:11:38

RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many" - 9 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni40:  "Darragh Maloney is the main anchor for the soccer coverage. I know this doesn't suit your bitter agenda but that's the fact of it. Joanne Cantwell, regardless of her gender, is very good at what she does. Of course you're entitled to your opinion, but why beat about the bush? Just say you're a misogynist and you don't value women's opinions as much as men's."
If you don't mind my saying you come across as a bit patronising. She's "very good"? Why not put a gold star on the her forehead eh? Fact of the matter is she's not very good at what she does, regardless of her gender and regardless of whether or not it suits your particular agenda. Personally I think she's brutal to be honest. I can't stand the way she persistently interrupts the guests, and whereas Lyster used to work the pundits well, I always feel Joanne's trying to catch them out, trying to be part of the argument. Mind you she got them to sack Brolly so she's not all bad lol.

Galway9801 (National) - 31/05/2021 19:40:37

Dublin Senior Football Team - 8 Like(s)

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Well said and of course just time time last year Italian nurses were literally choosing who to save and who to let die. A horrendous unimaginable situation, I'm not sure how they could ever be right again. I hate when people compare the dublin lads to young lads kicking a ball with friends on a green or park. It was an organised county session on a gaa pitch. Men and women all over the country have worked tirelessly to keep their club grounds safe and prevent gatherings. Fenton and co have just made their jobs a hell of a lot harder"
It's actually quite common for hospitals to choose who lives and who dies, believe it or not, or are you one of these people believe that everyone gets exactly the same attention in hospital, whatever their prognosis. Reminds me of this time last year, when people were aghast at the sight of body bags in morgues, because, well, of course there were no body bags in morgues before covid. Thankfully over the past year people have begun to see covid for what it is, an overhyped scare tactic, inflated by dodgy death diagnosis practices, and a grim focus on case numbers, the vast, vast, majority of which cause no harm. Like I said, I hope the galway lads are training too, don't wanna be left behind guys.

Galway9801 (National) - 05/04/2021 13:02:22

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I was listening on the Monaghan/Cavan radio station Northern sound. The fact that they call their radio station that shows the partitionist mindset of the people."
Oh for the love of God

Galway9801 (National) - 01/07/2023 22:09:55

Disgraceful Scenes At Half Time - 8 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Social media gives all manner of low life the opportunity to air their filth and bile. People are like flies to the flame though and keep swarming to the drivel and adding to it. It's not likely to change anytime soon either as it's like a drug to these poor misguided sheep."
Would comparing one of the finest footballers of this generation,, who despite losing 5 finals never gives up or feels sorry for himself,, to an inbred mountain hick from the 1970's not coubt as "filth and bile" though?You seemed to get a good laugh outta that particular one.

Galway9801 (National) - 20/12/2020 21:37:38

Anti GAA Agenda - 8 Like(s)

Replying To mickcunningham:  "Fair play to the government for finally realising that the backward gaa is not elite. How can it compare to a professional game like rugby. Its been put in its place"
I'm watching the rugby right now and the Irish penalty taker, whatever his name is, missed an attempt in the first half that I think I would have put over.

Galway9801 (National) - 14/02/2021 16:37:21

Where Have The Characters Gone - 8 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Catch22, Dubh_linn and now you can add superbluedub to that list. Could this fella have up to six accounts ?"
I'd bet good money that you and killing fields are one and the same.

Galway9801 (National) - 22/06/2021 15:08:26

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 7 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Galway9801:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "They may as well name it the All-Dublin. But sure who could begrudge Dublin, wouldn't Tyrone, Kerry, Mayo etc all have bought the same colanders had they been given the money as well, I'm praying Dublin win at least 10 in a row and more hopefully, and they'd be expected to as well, hopefully by that time there will be a united Ireland, and the GAA will be put in their rightful place in a new modern forward looking country, a mere parochial sporting organisation."
The GAA was a massively successful, well attended sport with high participation levels here long before you were born and it'll still be a massively successful, well attended sport with high participation levels long after you've gone to troll heaven."]Lesson 1 : The GAA is not a sport , it's an organisation. "]Lesson 2: If unable to counter an opponents argument due to lack of a counter argument, or due to simply being too thick to figure out one, try instead to focus on semantics.

Galway9801 (National) - 24/04/2021 00:33:49

Time To Allow Crowds In - 6 Like(s)

Replying To AfricanGael:  "With the attitudes and I'll be honest plain ignorance demonstrated on here by many of you in relation to Covid all I'll say is that it's no wonder the country is fast becoming a mollycoddled laughing stock. Some fella mentioned smart comments, while ironically making one himself and contributing f all apart from dismissing facts. If you can't understand how to analyze data or use common sense that's fine, but don't try and put down factual information that's there to help everyone by being out and out ignorant, have the courtesy to at least listen and debate if you wish, instead of popping in with one line grunts. Have a bit of manners instead of reinforcing the typical sleeveen gah man stereotype, smarten up lads. "
On the one hand you're chastising us for being ignorant and immature, while in the last sentence you effectively admit that you buy into stereotypes. Great move. I don't know anyone who died from covid. I know a fair few people who tested positive, and not one of them had any trouble recovering from it, most barely noticed anything, death rates were inflated, deliberately, anyone with even a passing knowledge of Dr Holohans career wouldn't trust him as far as they could throw him. What kind of an idiot would not be even a wee bit sceptical?

Galway9801 (National) - 20/06/2021 16:45:13

Football Is Finished - 6 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Good point say nothing. Dublin do play safe and no kamakaze passing either. To do the simple things right."
It's boring though,, tactically sound, sensible, conservative, mature, calm,, but boring,, and that matters.

Galway9801 (National) - 10/12/2020 21:56:45

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "Men dont at all get more abuse than women. Ask any female politician about the messages and types of message they receive compared to men. The stuff they can get can be so much worse than what men get You do get ready and know its coming but public figures have to use twitter/facebook as so many other people use them"
You start your post with "ask any female politician", what're they gonna say? No, it's fine, it comes with the job? If course they won't 1-men don't talk as much about what's bothering them, 2-even if they did, it's unlikely they'd be given the same level of support and sympathy that women are Masochism is absolutely everywhere in modern society,80% of suicides are committed by men, but people like you would rather give your attention to a female politician who believes she should never be criticised. Shame on you.

Galway9801 (National) - 02/04/2021 19:16:14

RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many" - 6 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. The only one show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. Darragh Maloney should have got that slot in the first place, Tommy Martin is another reasonably good presenter. Equalisation is a non runner in RTE apparently. Fairplayalways (Offaly) was only giving his opinion on one issue and he put it across reasonably well, it gave me the opportunity to expand a little re Joanne Cantwell / Sunday Game."
To go off topic for a moment (very rare I know lol), here in Galway when I was growing up, suicide was so common in my area (ballybane), like it happened once a month, literally, I count about 20 people I know who've taken their own lives. Thing is, it was with very few exceptions young men who were doing it,and the lack of attention it received was a disgrace. I always felt that had it been the other way round, the issue would have been given far more publicity.

Galway9801 (National) - 31/05/2021 19:57:28

Earpieces - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Rebel2020:  "It's amazing how managers like Sean Boylan, Micko, and Brian Cody had such success without resorting to these silly contraptions. In professional sport the likes of Pep, Klopp etc don't see the need. Yet practically every Mickey Mouse GAA manager is wired up even at club level.They look ridiculous and its a silly attempt to look smart when often they can't get the basics right. Sorry for the rant but I'd love to send them to Room 101."
Haha, think you're right, it's almost as if they're there for show, like an accessory,

Galway9801 (National) - 23/07/2021 21:46:13

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "So Marc O Se comes out today in an interview and talks about Brian Dooher pinching him in the 2003 semi final. So why does he do this two days before the game in Saturday? It's quite simple and a standard Kerry ploy where ex players make a series of comments about the opposition designed to influence weak referees. Kerry now see an opportunity with a weak referee in place for Saturday to remind him of the alleged dark arts of the opposition. And they know it will be worth one or two big calls to them on the day."
Funny I only remember Dooher going to the ground clutching his face whenever anyone so much as laid a finger on him.

Galway9801 (National) - 26/08/2021 21:19:11

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Mayo will be massive favourites for this. Tyrone will have their backs to the wall, will be castigated by the Southern media and socdlked pundits. Mayo will also have the backing of everyone outside Ulster and Derry and Armagh will probably support Mayo too."
Sorry to disappoint you but everyone I know wanted tyrone to win today, and had kerry won today the whole country would have been against them in the final.

Galway9801 (National) - 28/08/2021 19:26:28

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)

Replying To FoolsGold:  "McConvilles comments hardly help things, though he has said some silly stuff throughout the covid situation."
His comments were perfectly logical. The world has gone mad, it really has. C. 25 000 people starved to death on Thursday yet our public were "outraged" and "gobsmacked" (avd various purged phoney virtue signalling superlatives) not by this, but by a harmless kickabout in a park. We are quite literally going insane,and we're so bloody stupid, we're mistaking it for becoming enlightened.

Galway9801 (National) - 04/04/2021 14:11:49