Galway Forum

Popular Posts from anotheralias

Galway Football thread - 9 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If Mr. Silke was working as a bricklayer, banker, teacher, taxi driver, gravedigger, male stripper etc, I think it highly unlikely that you'd be providing superfluous information regarding his occupation or activities down under."
Its not Mr Silke....its Dr Silke to you !

anotheralias (National) - 23/02/2023 12:15:22

Ulster Senior Club Championship - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Ulster Senior Club Championship? Don't you play hurling in Ulster?"
Of course , as you are aware, there is. But given the relative strength , participation levels and overall interest between football and hurling in Ulster, I do think our Ulster colleagues are entitled to refer to the football championship as "THE Ulster championship" with the hurling being referred to as "The Ulster hurling championship". Just like "THE World Cup" is soccer and other codes need to specify e.g. "The rugby World Cup".

anotheralias (National) - 25/10/2022 12:33:32

Galway Hurling thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "That may be a step too far katser given we could be without Daithí and Whelo along with our problems winning primary possession and lack of pace in the backs."
Been waiting 41 years to say this.Galway beat Dublin comfortably with 12 men..

anotheralias (National) - 10/03/2024 22:16:54

Galway Football thread - 6 Like(s)
I think some posters need to stop and think before posting .. A few guidelines that we should all try to adhere too. At an individual level, praise is good, but we need to be a bit more careful about criticism. At a team level criticism is fine , but at an individual level we all have an onus to be more careful . I'm not saying that we cannot say anything negative about an individual but this should be done in a more sensitive manner. I'm sure that I've been guilty myself in the past of this , but i try to be more careful now. Comments like " I will get sick" if A, B or C is playing for Galway., quoting individuals time trial performance results or looking for details of where somebody lives, all cross the line as far as I am concerned.

anotheralias (National) - 07/11/2023 15:57:35

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 6 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "I couldnt give a toss who wins this all ireland (or any garlic football game for that matter) but my major concern is what ever happens will set a precedent that may be used in hurling in the future re the 16th man. Therefore I think it has to be replayed."
If u dont give a toss, please refrain from commenting. More bigotry from the hurling community

anotheralias (National) - 24/01/2023 15:44:24

Donal O'Gs Comments On Football In General And The TC In Particular - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "This thread has been absolutely jam packed full of elitist comments from football people against hurling, a sport that over the weekend just gone provided us with some extraordinary contests and brilliant drama. Anyone who watched those hurling games over the weekend and failed/refused to appreciate what a wonderful sport it is would do well to check their own "bigotry" before lecturing others."
Absolutely no question that this weekend was a super weekend for the GAA. There is no question that the hurling was excellent entertainment. But the football was enjoyable this weekend too , although the absence of knock out element did detract a little from the excitement. But 4 x Sam Maguire games with a combined points difference of 3 ( 2 draws , 1 x 1 point, 1 x 2 points) . Also 2 x cracking minor games on TG4, particularly the Ulster final. The bottom line is that there is room in the GAA community for both codes , and they are great products. Different people have different personal preferences , and that's fine too. But we should try not to push our personal preferences on others. I much prefer football to watch, but I also enjoy hurling and I can see why many people prefer hurling. But you can praise the hurling without knocking football , and vice verse.

anotheralias (National) - 29/05/2023 14:16:35

Galway Football thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Even though Barry McHugh was awful in the FBD ?"
I'm slightly annoyed by these type of comments in relation to any player and I think its particularly unfair in this instance. I'm not sure how much Barry could offer us , and maybe Padraic Joyce saw something in training to back up up his decision . But a little bit of context . Barry McHugh played 2 half hours of football in a synthetic (i.e. not real) environment. He didn't play well. But did he play "awful"? Against Mayo he scored 0-2 ( 1 free + 1 play) out of a 1st half total of 0-5. Our entire full forward line that started v Donegal scored 0-0. Were they "awful" . No. They just had a poor day and, correctly so, will be given other chances.

anotheralias (National) - 06/03/2023 12:22:16

This time next week there will be discussions of teams of the year and All Stars. As usual it will be dominated by finalists and semi finalists with Kerry / Dublin sharing 10/12 and the other 3/5 will go to Monaghan/Derry. Its a flawed process and it wont change . But equally so, nothing will convince me that Sean Kelly wouldn't deserve one. I know I'm putting the maroon hat on but I would say he is in the top 5 players in the country this year. Ignoring his endeavours with club and college he got Galway to a Division 1 league final , won Connacht , and only for his injury and a bizarre combination of events , he would have got us to a QF at least and possibly further. It also has to be said that he was so unlucky last year as although we got 5 All Stars and Sean Kelly was definitely in our top 5, he missed out. . Probably paid the price or having to mark the unmarkable in the AI. Look, I'm not trying to start a petition or anything because there is as much chance of SK getting an All Star as there is of getting an objective report of a Mayo game from a Mayo man. But if they were selected on merit/performances over the year he would be a shoe in.

anotheralias (National) - 25/07/2023 16:42:59

Connacht Club Football Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Agree shouldn't happen no matter what. That said the player involved has just been part of one of the biggest games in recent history for his club and the game was decided by a terrible ref performance. Delighted to see Pearses win but Mountbellew were robbed. Ref decided game in the end"
Like anything there is 2 ways of looking at it. Unfortunately there is no room for physical interaction with a ref and the GAA will have to issue heavy suspension(s), which I support. But the frustrating thing is that the refs poor performance cost mtbellew the game AND likely loss of players for some of 2022 due to suspension. I think there is a fundamental flaw in selecting a ref from a county involved in the final I.e. I think it's to knockmores benefit that Pearses won. Should have been a Sligo or Leitrim ref.

anotheralias (National) - 11/12/2021 18:03:59

Replying To caltra04:  "That's a contradiction, if they were beaten all over the pitch you can judge they're not good enough. Hence a judgement. You haven't a clue anotheralias"
I think if I havent a clue then I'm not the only one. Such a stupid statement. If you ever played any ball ( which I doubt) you would know that no matter how good a player is, it is very difficult to impress on a team that are being beaten everywhere e.g. if you are an excellent corner back but you are marking an excellent corner forward who is getting loads and loads of quality ball delivered to him with overlapping runners supporting him, then you are going to get roasted , no matter how good you are, similarly if you are an excellent corner forward who is marking a tight corner back and getting very little and poor quality ball , then you are very unlikely to impress.

anotheralias (National) - 16/01/2024 12:25:49

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Ah here what in the name of Jesus game we're you at? The ref nearly cost us the game. Couldn't buy a free. Comer dived into one of our players and got a free. Harney was dragged back while through on goal early no free. Smith same in second half should have been a peno or a free in. Taught he was very poor but find it hilarious you think Galway were hard done by."
Calm down lads Debatable decisions both ways and balanced out and in general a reasonable performance from officials. And ultimately any borderine decisions didn't influence result as better team won

anotheralias (National) - 03/04/2022 20:23:35

Tie Break Rules - 4 Like(s)
Any one know what the rules are now for when 3 or more teams are level on points? It was changed last year to effectively be a mini league between the tied teams discounting results against teams not involved in the tie. However this caused huge confusion as some competitions retained old rule. I think that it was announced that the nfl for 2024 would retain old rules but I can't find any clarity on other competitions. The Connacht u20 championship this year is fascinating with many permutations going in to the final round. Some of these permutations will have different outcomes depending on which rule is applied.

anotheralias (National) - 11/04/2024 18:27:06

Connacht Club Football Championship - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "Mchugh does do stupid things and plays on the edge all the time, i am just stating my personal opinion that refs should be from different provinces when you get out of your county, a lot of people would also say the same about county finals that refs should be from different county's, i wasn't at todays game watched it on tv but the better team won by a mile and thought there should have been a bigger margin at the end, but im sure the Roscommon boys don't care less, different challenge in the semi final but there won't be much in it,"
Lets move on from the mountbellew thing. Going forward all good connacht GAA people should back Padraig Pearses in the quest for AI glory. I for one will. But before we close the chapter on mountbellew i think i have to have a final word on Barry McHugh. Barry is a super footballer and is a massive servant to mountbellew moylough. In 2021 he had a massive year and really was the biggest single contributor to bridging the 35 year gap. He has a habit of doing impetuous acts but he has always paid the price for this. These acts , whilst he has to take blame, have all been relatively harmless. For example when he shrugged off the Pearses keeper in the black card incident , there was no real risk of harm to the keeper. He didnt do a padraig o hora on it and drive him into the ground. Similarly he was wrong to push the ref after the connacht semi and will pay the price for that, but there was never a danger that jerome henry was going to have to visit roscommon general as a result of his actions. Unfortunately and deservedly he will serve a suspension, but i am looking forward to seeing his brilliance on the pitch again in the future.

anotheralias (National) - 09/01/2022 21:21:05

Eoghan O'Donnell Joins Dublin Football Panel - 4 Like(s)

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Marking Conor Whelan for a match would do this to a lad. Some have even looked up opportunities abroad after such afternoons. Few months with the footballers watching his opponents run in circles doing sweet **** all and his love for the small ball will soon return."
I dont know where to start .The post was short but more or less everything you put it in it makes me embarassed that you are from Galway. Apologies on behalf of my countyman.

anotheralias (National) - 02/06/2022 08:37:52

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "A lot must be said for the smaller clubs still competing at the top table, kilanin milltown spiddal annaghdown clubs with small populations, I feel amalgamation will only hurt these smaller clubs more"
You are getting a bit hoodwinked into thinking that if there is one name in the club and that name is a relatively small village that then it is a small club. I would agree with Milltown who really do over achieve versus resources. But all of the others you mentioned are very much within the city catchment and hence have burgeoning populations. Annaghdown for certain has a larger population than Mountbellew Moylough , which in turn has probably twice the population of Kilkerrin Clonbern.

anotheralias (National) - 22/10/2022 13:36:15

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Jack L:  "I hope that Croke Park are not reading this forum. We are all going round in circles stating the same thing. Everyone has their opinion on the topic but a different angle. This saga should stop and lets get on with the season which is very condensed as it is without adding an additional fixture. Why did the CCCC not propose a fine on KC and leave it at that. If Glen are not happy, then give them the cup and move on with the season."
I actually do hope that Croke Park are reading this forum. They might get a sense of what genuine supporters feel. Apart from Dublin and Derry posters who are , as you would expect partisan, if there was an analysis of posts from neutral posters the vast vast majority are in favour of a replay. I think that says it all. The talk of a fine and move on is just ridiculous. As is the talk of giving cups to anyone. This one will be won on the field and if Crokes are good enough (which I think they are ) they will win it .

anotheralias (National) - 02/02/2023 15:13:05

Galway V Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To brisbane:  "Galway look great. M Daly was poor enough and silke wasnt great but positive signs overall"
Cant understand why u single out 2 players in that manner when the performance all round was so good. For sure they were not our better players today but silke did very litttle wrong and its first day playing in the new strucure. Mike Daly wasnt as good as previous performances but scored 2 points ( the first one excellent when the game was close) and did a good bit of link play. Maybe k.donaghgy is right.

anotheralias (Galway) - 23/02/2020 20:33:59

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To munsterchamps:  "ya in the camogie........and it's limerick not limrik id say you were in the corridor for a lot of your english classes kathy."
You, yourself, might have missed the classes involving punctuation.

anotheralias (National) - 13/03/2023 15:48:22

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)
2023 Post mortem: I guess we will have varying opinions on 2023 and what we should for 2024. But one thing every county manager needs to consider is the training/player usage plan. The demands on inter county players are huge and its a savage balancing act. I see that there are 7 blocks of time 1. August - October ( +/- depending on progress) Club Championships 2. November- December - S & C work 3. January - Pre season competitions e.g. FBD 4. Feb-April - National League 5. April - May - Provincial Championship 6. May- June - Qualifier Groups 7. June-July - AI Knock Outs I recall years ago reading about the US 100m sprint trials which were held months prior to Olympic qualification and the challenge was for athletes to optimise the training plan to peak for the Olympics , whilst still being at a level to get in to the USA top 3 in order to qualify. How do you balance the above 7 blocks of time 1. Club Championship is a must . I dont want any player playing for Galway that gives anything less than 100% for his club. This is just not negotiable, in my opinion. 2. S & C work may be targetted i.e. some lads need it , others may need different levels. 3. Pre season comps - Suggestion is to rest key players. But many others will have to be going full tilt to establish themselves. We all know that some lads were dropped for a bad 60 minutes in the FBD. 4, League . Priority is to stay in Div 1, but after that we need to be using a mix of players... I think we went full strength ( or as strong as possible ) this year and I think we paid the price for this later. 5 & 6 . These are interesting ones. We saw this year that direct qualification to QF is important...and by winning Province you get potentially an easier draw in the qualification groups. Its a difficult balancing act. Kerry got lucky this year i.e. they knew they would get through Munster under cooked, were still under cooked v Mayo and then got lucky with Mayo collapse v Cork 7. AI Knock outs - This is where we need to peak, but how to do it based on 1-6??

anotheralias (National) - 06/07/2023 14:58:21

Galway Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "Two thirds of the starting team are from the city or west of it. What has happened the the powerhouse of North Galway that once ruled ?"
Demographics... and the fact that PJ picks the best players, regardless of address.

anotheralias (National) - 01/04/2023 12:57:33