Popular Posts from wishfulthinkin

Election 2020 GAA Style: Should Red Thumbs Come Back? - 6 Like(s)
GREEN THUMB to have the RED THUMB. more snowflake pandering..lets just give likes and ignore the stupid comments. If you have to say a comment is stupid instead of using red thumb, then you should have to say a comment is good instead of having a green thumb. Hoganstand's worry wall must be overcrowded

wishfulthinkin (National) - 06/07/2020 09:36:27

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To dahayeser:  "I know this sounds harsh but if he goes I have to hope it doesn't work out. If bring over a seasoned 24 year old star works out than it could be come open season on GAA stars. For me the good of the game I love is bigger than any one player. I'd wish the lad every success in life, just not in some thing that may open the a new dimension of talent cherry picking by the AFL and damage our game. I hear the argument that it is only a handful of players annually but the counter argument is these are the blue chip players that decide the destination of the All Ireland. Mark O'Connor's absence may have cost Kerry and All Ireland this season. Tommy Walsh in 2011? Pearse Hanley may have got Mayo over the line once when they were so close. Setanta's loss could have cost Cork an All Ireland although with the strikes probably not. These are huge impacts. Aside from the elite counties it is even tougher on a county trying to make the break through. Derry got hammered with 3 of the best young talents they had produced in years being swiped in Conor Glass, Anton Tohill and Callum Brown. These guys are huge losses to the promotion of the games too. If they play a bit of soccer or rugby and chose one of those sports fine but there is something rotten about how the AFL let our volunteers do all the hard work and then swoop for the almost finished product."
What begrudgery. Wouldn't it be great if we could all use our hobbies to get full time employment. I'm sure if there was aussie rules in this country, he would have played it..just like all the lads who played soccer and rugby and then went to play those sports professionally. As for the volunteers..is it not the case that volunteers volunteer for the betterment of people, animals and/or places/communities. If any of them begrudge any player for going onto full time employment due to the work the volunteers contributed, then they prob shouldn't be volunteers as they must be doing it for personal glory. If i had been involved in the coaching,transport, managing of any player in GAA that went on to become a professional sportsperson, i'd be proud as punch that my volunteering made such a great contribution to the betterment of that person

wishfulthinkin (National) - 02/01/2020 22:52:23

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 4 Like(s)
what has sportsmanship got to do with trying to win the most important match off the year for your team and your county? Quit whinging over nothing. If anything..doing something like that shows incredible sportsmanship, putting everything on the line to try and achieve for your county. If joe canning did it, there wouldn't be half the moaning out off you.

wishfulthinkin (National) - 17/09/2017 23:23:45

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 4 Like(s)
how did MaCarthy not get 2 yellows..how many fouls and off the ball blocks was he allowed?

wishfulthinkin (National) - 30/07/2023 17:10:40

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)
for stupidity alone, the players and fitness coach that took parts should all get 12 week bans. By having it at 6 in the morning, they were obviously trying to get away with breaking the rules. Very sneaky by the dublin CB giving the ban to ensure he is back for championship. Are the GAA going to leave that ban and set a precedent that CB's decide their own punishments when they break national laws and rules. Some crack if they take away home advantage in the league...they'll probably play the games in croker then instead of parnell park!!!!!!!!!!

wishfulthinkin (National) - 01/04/2021 20:50:57

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)
I haven't heard anything about player safety in all of the talk about club and county football. All the GAA seem worried about is how many patrons they can get to pay at the gate. Where are the guidelines for player safety? If fans have to stay 1 or 2 meters apart, how can players tackle each other while sweating and breathing heavily? No mention of testing every player in the run up to contact training or games. No guidlines about where subs and management will be on the sidelines (distance apart, face masks). No guidelines about water bottle use - do clubs need seperate water bottles for each member of the squad, all stored apart from each other and the water carriers wiping each bottle and their hands after each use. Professional sports have increased the number of subs allowed to help with player welfare but no mention of this for amateur players. All the talk about fixtures and player welfare but now they expect players to play full club and county fixtures right up to the end of the year and then continue on playing the whole of 2021 starting in January again..

wishfulthinkin (National) - 10/06/2020 06:35:45

All Ireland 2020 - 3 Like(s)
only a matter of time..gaa is only a hobby, all be it a wide ranging popular one but is very unessential in the grand scheme of things so can see it being canned pretty soon

wishfulthinkin (National) - 08/08/2020 20:19:36

Ladies Finals Day - 3 Like(s)
And then there was your sucker punch "she was no good then (30 yrs ago) or now". Ah come on I must have done something that makes you follow my career so closely? I don't know how you can say I'm no good now when the ball never came near me in the 5 mins I was on and I got SO many compliments on the speed I ran onto the pitch at and the way I moved off the ball, and they wouldn't lie, would they? Seriously I don't know how I'm going to struggle on after your damning analysis of my career, maybe polishing my championship medal might help me so I'll try that. I got to play in a final on Breffni Park alongside some of my best friends, my nieces, my daughter, my other daughter as Maor Uisce and my 3 other little superfans watching me (you should join them Mr Taboo and start a fanzine or something). Life doesn't get much better. Four St Finbarrs mammies played that day with 14 children between us and thats not counting all the mammies on our joke of a subs bench. This is an achievement to be celebrated, not sneered at.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to our two managers, although I don't know if they'll still be over us after their crappy performance in the last months, only winning the league, the 9aside and now a championship, really its just not good enough!
Anyway Mr Taboo keep following my progress (or lack of!) and wish your wife (sorry I don't know who either of you are) good luck from me, she's going to need it if this is your attitude to aging and women in sport.
Yours sincerely
Denise Fitzpatrick Age 45 (oops!!)
St Finbarrs (Interrmediate County Champions)

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - 05/09/2016 18:50:27

Garvaghy Road Flag At Roscommon V Ardmagh Game At Athletic Grounds - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here Looking at the Television on Saturday evening I saw a large banner behind the goals to the right of the Commentary box which read Garvaghy Road Orangemen on Tour or something similar, Anyone that would be familiar with the words on this flag would and should feel that it would be offensive to a vast number of people living in Portadown ( Non Gaa suporters) because of history. I feel that the Ulster Council should take a stand on this type of material which in my opinion has no place in the GAA"
the round ball is also very similar to that of the soccer ball so I think it should be banned from Gaelic pitches also..

wishfulthinkin (National) - 19/10/2020 03:18:05

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This 100% the correct decision. Like others I fear for the championship season never mind the league. Is there a possibilty that inter-county games could be played behind closed doors?"
its a game of football...who cares. I'd rather a ball wasn't kicked again for 12 months than someone die due to it. Its a pass time, why other playing them behind closed doors or at all, no-ones wages depends on it as it's an amateur sport. If people want to kick ball that much, let them do it against the gable of the house.

wishfulthinkin (National) - 13/03/2020 09:55:40

How do you get the 42000 into croker? Do they queue 1 meter apart outside and wait their turn as each turn style is wiped every time someone goes through. If someone is sitting in the middle of a row, how do they get out to go to the shop/toilet, does everyone in the row have to move out of the row so they won't have to brush past them? Will the urinal troughs have perspex shielding and splash guards set up so that people will be 1 meter apart. I assume all the shops/food courts inside the grounds will be closed. I realise these matches are months away and situations could have changed, but surely the GAA should have released their plan for keeping patrons safe instead of just being concerned about how many people they can fit into their pay days.. Also no word on how the water boys are going to carry 15 separate water bottles with them, all labelled with the players names/numbers, how they will manage to keep the water bottles segregated from each other, wipe each one down after each use and avoid any droplets straying from one bottle to another. And if patrons have to stay 1 meter apart, why is it safe for players to be tackling each other and sweating on each other? There is no outline of any testing that will be done on club or county players pre training/games to ensure their safety.

wishfulthinkin (National) - 09/06/2020 03:58:34

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)
man of the match between paudie and mannion? everyone mentioning fitzsimons..clifford beat him to every ball and put him on his arse a few times, clifford just couldn't find his kicking boots.

wishfulthinkin (National) - 30/07/2023 17:54:25

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Why come on and spread lies. Jesus you have little to be at. NO GUIDELINES WERE BROKE IN ROSCOMMON. Elite teams are allowed eat under the Government guidelines for Elite sports teams. Do you think the Wales Soccer team ate in Wales and then flew to Ireland for the game and flew straight back without eating??? Give your head a wobble. Their is specific guidelines for Elite sports teams and if you had a brain cell you would have looked into this before coming on stating a team are "doing the gaa much favours with their disregard for social distancing" Your own county isn't doing much for the Country with it been the highest out of control county in the Republic but i wouldnt be as petty as to come on here saying that to you. Also they were not sat together they were all socially distanced in a town hall big enough to fit a couple of 100 under normal circumstances. The Restaurant you accuse of not helping does not exist either but sure if you weren't so keen to come on here spreading fake news you would know that. As i said it was a massive town hall and catering service used with all in attendance socially distanced. And no guidelines were broke sorry to disappoint you."
You'd wonder why the guards felt tge need to move them on if no regulations were breached...maybe it was more to do with roscommon classifying themselves as elite ;)

wishfulthinkin (National) - 13/10/2020 18:30:08

Replying To befair:  "Unlikely there will be any GAA games this year. Might be a good time for reflection that GAA sports are a hobby, that shouldn't require a spartan existence, with training regimes, even at club level, that make it v difficult for anyone married with children. But once one team does it, everyone has to do it; it's running to stand still, and takes much of the enjoyment away from our games."
I agree..i'm seriously considering not going back when it does start up, whether it be this year or next, now that i see the value of my time and the amount wasted over football. Now i can go running when the kids are in bed and none of this having to be there for 7.45 for training at 8 or else there's giving out, and not losing 4 hours on a sunday with games

wishfulthinkin (National) - 27/03/2020 13:57:33

Replying To galwayford:  "Hi you could say the same thing about the most physically contact sport of all Rugby. Is any one talking about that. Yet you slag the GAA."
This is a gaa forum. Why would I or anyone discuss rugby on it?? I've no interest in rugby or anything they do

wishfulthinkin (National) - 11/06/2020 23:59:55

National League 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BreffniBlue:  "If the league stops here for this season, will there be promotion and demotion in each league with current positions? If so that Clare result cost us promotion"
if the league stops now, all teams will start next year in the same divisions and tier 2 will be postponed till next year. There'd be too many complaints if there was promotion/demotion with rounds still to be played. The way things are going, you could be looking at no championship, never mind league being finished. The ROI have done the best thing to try curtail the virus but the North have slipped up badly so the 6 counties and their supporters can't be let near a stadium. Club leagues are finished for this year too..maybe a knockout championship in each county if it all clears up soon but your probably looking at minimum a couple of months before things can start getting back to normal, then everyone will need a pre-season again (clubs and counties) so the whole season might be wrote off and start afresh next year - Which would be the correct thing to do...it's only a pastime/hobby at the end of the day, its not even remotely important until people can start going back to work, schools can reopen and people can stand within 2 meters of each other

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - 19/03/2020 09:44:26

Live Streaming Of Club Games. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "TG4 made a very poor choice in showing Sarsfields vs Portumna in the Galway championship today. Portumna were so lucky not to get relegated to Senior B last year and they would be in the mix to get relegated to intermediate this year if they had done so. Sarsfields were always going to win that match easy. So many other good evenly contested games in the Galway championship this weekend they could have shown. The best ones were actually streamed on subscription tv."
Prob just picked the game with canning playing

wishfulthinkin (National) - 26/07/2020 18:04:28

Tattoos On Cavan Gaa Players - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here I just see a thing that I feel needs nipped in the bud and that is the obscene display of artwork on players arms on some the Cavan football Club teams. I feel that this sort of thing is more associated with a particular type of supporter(across Channel) who views going to games as an outlet for being loud and abusive to other fans. I always remember the first Man with a Tattoo that I saw was a man returning from being on the Boats. He was described as a mind boggling bore about al the big Cities he seen ( all be it from the water) and the rough seas he endured. He had all his arms covered in art work ,, Well I hope the Gaa clamp down on this obscene display ... I see Love across the fingers of players or on the arms art like ...Love Mary... or Breffni for Ever...or the old hammer and sickle or Harp seems to be a favourite"
ring liveline and have a chat to the other old fogies about it..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - 08/08/2021 15:08:27

Roscommon team had to have the guards called on them as 40-50 of them sat together having a meal after challenge game against Donegal at the weekend...not doing the gaa much favours with their disregard for social distancing. The restaurant isn't helping itself either!

wishfulthinkin (National) - 13/10/2020 00:08:44

Continuous Failure - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Reading wonderful stuff like this from ''supporters'' and we wonder why players won't commit. We've one of the smallest populations in the country and have consistently spent the last six years in either Division 1 or 2, playing at a decent level of football. I'll take that over what we had in the latter part of the noughties and the start of this decade. Whenever I think we've hit a low ebb, I cast my mind back to 2012 when we couldn't beat Offaly, the worst intercountry team I'd seen in a long time, at home and hung onto Division 3 status by a thread."
at the end of the day...the league is meaningless. Never see anyone commenting or lamenting that we haven't won a National League in 70 odd years. It's all about the championship so not much point using the fact that cavan have yo-yo'd from div 2 to div 1 a few times as a measure of success.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - 02/12/2019 09:51:32