Tyrone v Cavan - Ulster Semi-Final

Best of Luck today lads. Believe enough and you will achieve.

mystic meg (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/06/2016 05:35:33    1868668

Fired flint..... Tyrone are too well aware of our often sterile tactics so Hyland will fool no one but himself by naming a dummy team... It just seems silly to most people... I hope he doesn't use the same tactics as in Croke Park or its curtains... Any slow build up from the likes of Mackey will play right into Tyrones hands but surely Hyland at this stage knows that.... Go for it lads all guns blazing....

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 19/06/2016 09:29:26    1868702

Well a rotten morning in Cavan I hope it's not going to be like this for the match in Clones. I have a seated ticket so I hope I will be dry and be able to enjoy it and a wetting I really don't need.
Yes all the hard work is done now so let's see how this work shows on the pitch today.
The best of luck to the Players Mr Hyland and all the backroom staff and a special good luck to Ollie and Brian the unsung hero's behind the scene.
Just looking at the results yesterday and looks like Armagh are in big trouble?? Looking at the Armagh Cavan match McGeeney looked in better condition than most of his players ??
Very hard to judge Cavan's performance now when you see this result.

No matter let's hope Cavan will be playing the winners of Donegal/Monaghan.
Monaghan were in the park yesterday and they look in some shape.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/06/2016 09:32:21    1868706

Replying To seanorinn:  "Well a rotten morning in Cavan I hope it's not going to be like this for the match in Clones. I have a seated ticket so I hope I will be dry and be able to enjoy it and a wetting I really don't need.
Yes all the hard work is done now so let's see how this work shows on the pitch today.
The best of luck to the Players Mr Hyland and all the backroom staff and a special good luck to Ollie and Brian the unsung hero's behind the scene.
Just looking at the results yesterday and looks like Armagh are in big trouble?? Looking at the Armagh Cavan match McGeeney looked in better condition than most of his players ??
Very hard to judge Cavan's performance now when you see this result.

No matter let's hope Cavan will be playing the winners of Donegal/Monaghan.
Monaghan were in the park yesterday and they look in some shape."
Sean o Rinn if your afraid of getting wet maybe you should stay at home? I think Cork ladies are on TG4..,

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 19/06/2016 10:46:16    1868747

Good luck to the Cavan men today. A huge game in prospect for Ulster football.
The outcome is very tricky to call, but it really rests on what Cavan decide to do. Tyrone are quite predictable, which doesnt make them any easier to beat-we should know.
But Cavan have the range in their panel now to throw something new at them. The league final, and to be fair the Armagh game, were marked by long periods of slow sterile play by Cavan-this will not do today.
I would have some questions about the work rate of the cavan forward line as selected.Also Mossy Corrs temperament will be tested from the start. But Cavan can trouble Tyrones full back line IF they mix it up and kick long ball early. Mackey and Moynagh have to move the ball, Tyrone looked happy to have them in possession but not Martin reilly or mckiernan. Johnston and Givney will have to meet fire with fire in the physical stuff, its not their style but it needs to happen.

Tear into Tyrone and you will either win it or lose by 10. Play safe and you will lose by 4. Time to take a gamble lads.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 19/06/2016 11:40:17    1868777

Best of luck to the lads today, go for it and you can win.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 19/06/2016 12:01:04    1868792

Tyrone will be a different animal in the replay they were no where near their best were as we where there abouts are best and we still couldnt get that win , if goals where taking out 0-07 point is poor tyrone will work on that high ball in to givney ,

Dantheman_95 (Cavan) - Posts: 6 - 19/06/2016 16:29:38    1868913

A spirited Cavan performance in very difficult conditions - more than deserved a replay.

over the course of the next few days doubtless we will have to listen to a number of supposed experts announce that Cavan have missed their chance, rather than saved the day. Nonsense, Cavan showed no fear, and never thought Tyrone unbeatable.

A dry day for the replay will help yous, and Tyrone's defence have a week of sleepless night's haunted by high balls in.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 19/06/2016 16:56:43    1868926

Deserved the draw in the end ,, a few outstanding performances by a few players ,, I taught a few lads didn't perform and changes should have been made earlier , we seem to be too slow and leave it late on to make changes ,, but delighted to get a draw

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 19/06/2016 17:18:35    1868948

Good to get away with the draw today. We played with 14 men really. Can anyone tell me have we a shortage of forwards?? Amazing to see Gunner and K Clarke as forwards. We missed too many easy scores, wrong men at the end of the moves. Mc veety Mackey were the pick.
Johnston too far away from the goals, Mc enroe had a good second half, Corrvhad great spells too and Galligan did well too.
Can't understand why subs weren't brought on earlier as some players were unable to run . Where was Jack Brady? In serious good form, proving himself with club too. Surely he could have been put in to pick up the breaks from Givney seeing as Johnston made to play out far .

Next day will hardly be as wet !

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 19/06/2016 17:34:00    1868966

Very slow to make changes. Can't for the life of me see why we need to wait until injury time to make some changes. All the systems in the world don't count for anything if we can't kick the ball over the bar. Woeful shooting AGAIN. If an inter county player can't kick a ball over the bar under no pressure from 21 metres well he shouldn't be there. Still carrying the ball into the tackle. Johnston poor, McKiernan poor. Don't see any advantage in playing Clarke out field. Overall lucky to get a draw after so many poor wides. We haven't learned a lot from the league final really as Tyrone were there for the taking today.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 19/06/2016 17:45:03    1868973

Half time good advertisement for Cavan as a team to watch in the future. I don't think the conditions were conductive to good football. I just could not make out what direction that wind was blowing. I think regarding a dry day I think Tyrone will take a dry day anytime for their game. Odd refereeing decisions I wonder did he leave his black and red card in the dressing room. Another day out in two weeks time one could not ask for anymore now could they. Nice to see my adopted county doing well long may they continue.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/06/2016 17:45:42    1868974

Good to get away with the draw today. We played with 14 men really. Can anyone tell me have we a shortage of forwards?? Amazing to see Gunner and K Clarke as forwards. We missed too many easy scores, wrong men at the end of the moves. Mc veety Mackey were the pick.
Johnston too far away from the goals, Mc enroe had a good second half, Corrvhad great spells too and Galligan did well too.
Can't understand why subs weren't brought on earlier as some players were unable to run . Where was Jack Brady? In serious good form, proving himself with club too. Surely he could have been put in to pick up the breaks from Givney seeing as Johnston made to play out far .

Next day will hardly be as wet !

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 19/06/2016 17:46:05    1868976

Usual predictable substitutions way too late. When we shoulda been makin changes to push on and win the game the management looked devoid of any ideas, and when subs came on it was too late. Jack Brady would b my choice ahead of Keating. Moynagh was obviously injured but left on, what have they a panel for. Dunne and Mc Enroe not fit enough for a full game and looked dead on the feet in last 15 mins. Harte on the other hand effective subs at a time and stage in the game when they could do something, Tyrone half backs and half forwards ruled the game all day. Today was our chance, this management needs to close big games out or move on and hand this panel of players to someone who can push on to the next level. And the pro TH brigade stop tellin us all thev done, in big decisive games on important days thev always come up short.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/06/2016 18:06:03    1868994

Not amazing to see Killian Clarke as a forward cluichepeil. Sure plays there for his club.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/06/2016 18:24:50    1869011

First and foremost, well done to the Cavan team. What an effort by every player, it's been a while since we've seen such a refusal to be put away from a Cavan team.
Very lucky to get the draw in the end. Cavan, while showing unbelievable heart and dedication, didn't play all that well. I thought management should have brought on some substitutes earlier, thought the players made a lot of poor unforced errors.

It seemed obvious to me after today that Tyrone are simply a better team than us. Individually their players are better on the ball, make better decisions under pressure and crucially can take their scores much better than we can. Effort and heart kept us in the game today as well as a slice of luck with the goals.

It's difficult to see us winning a replay, today was probably our chance when we got the few goals but we couldn't create enough decent scoring chances and couldn't take the few that we did get that would have got us over the line. I expect us to put in another huge effort but we don't have the players up front to unlock such a formidable Tyrone defence.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/06/2016 18:31:17    1869015

Lucky to get the draw.
Some poor kicking decisions by backs mostly.
Changes made too late.
TH not learning at all.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/06/2016 18:36:42    1869019

Tyrone hadn't conceded a goal in their last seven and a half matches. I think Cavan may have done something today to suggest their defence is not just that invincible.

delaad (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 19/06/2016 19:23:57    1869060

Sean o Rinn if your afraid of getting wet maybe you should stay at home? I think Cork ladies are on TG4..,
Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:412 - 19/06/2016 10:46:16 1868747

Awwwwnow (Cavan) I think fella if you knew my medical situation you would not have made that comment but your ignorance is excused.

I was in Clones however bet you were listening to it on the radio. I go to these matches to enjoy not vocally but to enjoy and to watch the lad's and opposition playing it's what it's all about, also to make a constructive unbiased opinion on the game.
Half time it's a draw and still all to play for.
I can watch the highlights of the Cork ladies match if I desire on TG4 all week. I am from Cork and proud of it and I am very proud of my adopted county as well like many that follow the Blue and White that are not native to Cavan.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/06/2016 19:34:09    1869071

Great to get out of a very wet Clones with a draw. We had good performances from Raymond Galligan givney Mackey and Martin Reilly. We had poor performances from Gearoid and Sean Johnston . We also had poor performance from our management team who didn't make changes when they were needed. What was the point of sending on a sub at 35 minutes in second half. What waste the time of those players on the panel is you are never going to use them in Matches.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 19/06/2016 20:02:14    1869097