Cavan v Tyrone

Best of luck to the team and management tomorrow. Would be great to get our hands on some silverware but mostly I hope we perform well in Croker.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 23/04/2016 16:25:50    1848497

Best of luck to the lads tomorrow big test. Performance is key, recent performances in Croke park have being poor. Hopefully we can win enough in midfield. I don't think we can argue that Tyrone are much stronger in this sector.

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 23/04/2016 17:09:37    1848508

Good luck to the lads today. I see Dean is already sharpening the knives for Terry on his little page. Let's not give the bitter little twerp a reason to print it.

Key is to break even around the middle where Tyrone are strong. I think we may also need to be more patient on attack. Others will have to step up as I'm sure Garte has a plan to nullify Gearoid. All that said I truly believe we have players every bit as good as Tyrone and better.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/04/2016 10:21:56    1848611

Good luck to Terry his management team and all the players on this wonderful day. Thanks to everyone for bringing pride back to my county and proud to wear the Cavan jersey in Dublin and everywhere else.
I really think we can do it and if they play with the style and cohesion of the previous games then victory is ours.
Breffni Abu .....

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 24/04/2016 10:31:02    1848612

tomsmith here

Best of luck to the Cavan Senior football team you done us proud in 2016
win loose or draw we are behind you today

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 24/04/2016 12:05:44    1848638

Hard luck to the lads today- better team won. Plenty of work to do before Championship opener- hopefully this will refocus the minds and we get a good run. Been a great year so far for our seniors.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 24/04/2016 19:33:53    1848802

It was a poor enough game to watch and the ref destroyed the game from the start by blowing every little touch and tackle, We need to learn to play against ulster and defensive teams a bit better ,we still run into crowded areas and get turned over time after time ,I thought we were smarter than that . due to recent form I was expecting a better game from Cavan to be honest ,I think we failed tactically and weren't cute enough for Tyrone on the day ,no point putting big men in full forward and not kicking the ball in ,Mc Kiernan was taking out of the game he should of been moved and try put Tyrone off a bit ,Johnston is our best at finding smart passes and should of been brought out and not subbed sure we might as well subbed mc Kiernan too cause Tyrone kept them both at bay made no sense to me ,overall yea I think were better than that but id like to see us being better tactically ,fair play to Cavan supporters ,it was like being at home there today !

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 24/04/2016 21:02:12    1848841

I thought it might have been closer but still expected Tyrone to win
I think Cavan needs another year , whatever about this year's championship they definitely need a good Div one next spring. But then that will be tough as you have three more Ulster teams there
How do all you Cavan people rate your chances in Ulster , the draw is tricky enough
Still if ye all go back to half time v Meath I don't think ye can be too disappointed as it was a great day for your county to be playing in C P what with the 1916 celebrations and I think the experience will stand to the team Could still be a danger to all in Ulster.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 24/04/2016 21:40:45    1848865

Tyrone game plan was to nullify Givney and Johnston inside . We counteracted that by taking Johnston off. Mickey Harte had his homework done on McKiernan too. We seemed just glad to be enjoying the day out . We were cut open up the middle. Tyrone looked on half throttle . We couldn't handle the 2 veteran Cavanaghs. Throw on the usual subs seems to be the answer all the time . We are so inexperienced defending and going forward . It's so important not to get relegated next year as we need serious experience of playing against top class opposition . There a lot better teams in Div 1 than Tyrone .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 24/04/2016 21:50:48    1848868

Well I would be lying if I said that I was a little disappointed driving into work this morning. However, I think that it was a great occasion and this will have been a very good piece of experience for a young team. Some aspects of this performance were disappointing. Our full forward line was non existent mostly because they had no service whatsoever. I thought they marshaled McKiernan well and apart from his 2 lovely points, he was kept quiet which can happen at this level. The team functioned in zones I felt - full back line good, half back line struggled a little although Moynagh was excellent, midfield out-fielded, half forward line good and full forward line starved of supply. I actually felt sorry for Givney and Johnston as they had no supply. Tyrone did however have a lot of men back but we were lethargic in our build up. Overall, I thought we did pretty good and dont have any major complaints apart from slow changes from the line.

Overall, we would have to be a little disappointed as there was an optimism that we would step up and were on the back of 5 consecutive wins with momentum. But it was a less and Tyrone will be a formidable challenge for anyone this year. Another point I would make is that I didn't see a massive gulf in class in the 2nd game. Some individuals showed well and there was some real classy finishing but overall the game was no better standard. I had a dub on one side and a Tyrone man the other and they both had optimism for Cavan and that with some more experience, they think we can be challenging.

At the end of the day we have achieved promotion and can look forward to the championship with some optimism after a good showing yesterday.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 25/04/2016 08:13:35    1848875

While yesterday was by no means a disaster it was disappointing. I honestly think the team can play better than what they showed over the 70 minutes. One limitation which i thought was shown up yesterday was a lack of pace in the full forward line. i still hold out hope that Tom Hayes can do a job for us in this regard.

I am comfortable that with Dunne, McEnroe, McDermott still to return and the possible inclusion of David Brady and Tom Hayes from the under 21 ranks that we can do damage during the course of the summer. Enjoy the warm weather training boys!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 25/04/2016 09:27:59    1848893

I had a dub on one side and a Tyrone man the other and they both had optimism for Cavan and that with some more experience, they think we can be challenging.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts:143 - 25/04/2016 08:13:35 1848875

With respect Reformation there was no comparison between the first match and the second match, what destroyed this match as a contest was the sending off, two points between them and it was a joy to watch good hard football. Be safe to say once again Dublin and Kerry will be there at the business end of things again this season.

Unfortunately our lad's did not make it on the day but we Cavan will be playing Division 1 football next season and it's the only way to learn and to reach the standards required.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 25/04/2016 10:01:46    1848910

Good honest effort but came up short. Some lovely moves. Great learning experience, we must deliver ball faster, no point in passing back and forth across the field allowing opposition to compact defence in which Tyrone are masters. I think there is a good future ahead for Cavan!!!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 25/04/2016 10:03:08    1848912

Truth is we came up against a truly oiled machine with more experience at this level. Tyrone played the game the way they wanted to really and we found it hard to break it down. We took some great scores, some decent moves but we lacked the penetration to break their line and the few times we did the player lacked support.

This is what division 1 football will teach us and it will be the ability to lean and adjust on a team per team basis which is something we don't have in the locker at the moment.

Strangely enough after yesterday i think our players are good enough, its some guile, experience and more know-how that is required.

btw, Mattie Donnelly is some athlete. For the size of a man that he is i don't how on earth he gets up and down the field like he does.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 25/04/2016 10:06:45    1848914

Yesterday was bad but we can learn from it.i thought taking Killian off was a strange decision.maybe he was injured ? No doubt about it Tyrone had their homework done.they were miles ahead of Cavan in every area both and and off the field.they knew what they had to do and done it.Tiernan McCann had a free license to do whatever he wanted.why didn't we put a man maker on him and follow him everywhere he went ? I feel that we need to move on from this game now.We have a huge game against Armagh in the end of next month.we nee to have our homework done and done properly.we cant be just happy "to be there" anymore..we are better than that.i was listening to a few interview's Terry done in the build up to the game.he never once said we are there to win the game.he just seemed happy to be there.not good enough.we need to build confidence into the team and make them believe.lets hope the overseas training camp helps !!!!!!

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 25/04/2016 10:13:34    1848923

good
- some nice scores
- full back line did ok considering unpressed supply
- kept playing to the end
not good
- leaving too much space in format of the half back line
- half back line badly exposed and dive in instead of going with the runner ...all 3 taken off
- any ball carrier 40-50 out has to be pressured .... some one with him testing his ball control... what a ball carrier wants is defenders that jump in
- were unable to deal with the blanket and went sideways/ got caught in procession
- passing was loose in parts
- direct kick outs ...all lost

in summary looking like beating Armagh is the full extent of the "front door" .....then avoid a hammering against Tyrone so we can not have stuffing knocked out of us for the back door again...then hope for a reasonable draw

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 25/04/2016 10:14:37    1848925

not sure how much we learned from yesterdays performance. although this was a typical Tyrone perfoemance i suspect we had underestimated them a little and it looks like they are further on withtheir rebuilding than i thought. our usually dominant half back line were found wanting yesterday and although they gave us a platform going forward they left a gaping big hole down the middle. if you review the game most of Tyrones scores came by carrying the ball straight through the middle and then delivering the diagonal ball.(we cant handle peter harte) when we attempted the same approach there was no way through. we must learn from that. given Tyrone defense was no surprise if we could shre up the middle the scores we got yesterday may have been enough to get a result.
the work rate was admirable and even though we were beaten we kept going till the end. we lacked a bit of punch upfront as other poster have already mentioned and maybe we need alternative ideas of utilising the likes of Jelly and Givney.
Do we have a problem with big pitches?

toolbox (None) - Posts: 68 - 25/04/2016 10:20:42    1848931

Hard luck fellas in coming up short but congrats on a hard fought and committed performance.
The main difference between the teams was composure. Cavan had more intensity in their play than Tyrone and higher energy levels but just lacked composure to finish off their attack play. There was a lot of jersey tugging and fouling by Cavan in crucial areas allowing Tyrone to get easy scores from the free. But overall I think you have a very fit and eager team of players with the right guidance will do well next year in division one.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/04/2016 11:36:55    1849015

Disappointed with the result and thought it was a bit like the Cavan of old - we need to be a bit cuter and hopefully that will come. It seemed that Tyrone had another gear and if their other goal chance went in instead of over the bar then it could have been a bit embarrassing. We gave away possession too easily with either a bad pass or running into traffic and they punished us each time for that - we must cut this out or we will be gobbled up in div one next year - anyway next up, Armagh and these guys will be no pushover.

On a lighter note, I wonder would the GAA consider some sort of scrappage scheme for the old '97 cavan jersey ..? Always one of them knocking about ..! When the jersey your wearing is nearly as old as some of the players then it must go!

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 25/04/2016 12:55:31    1849096

Think we were outfoxed on the line not for the first time in croker. We were too slow moving the ball forward. Givney might as well have been sitting out in the stand with us . We carried every ball into contact and got turned over. We had no half forward line . They were all back marking space then solo out into contact, loose it and get hit on the counter attack . We needed pacy forward with quick ball before Tyrone got back into position. Bringing on mackey was just repeating what was going on already . Not one high ball went in on square to test out a suspect Tyrone full back line . Jack Brady only coming on for last four mins didn't make any scene. Looking at the second game both sides kept at least 4 forwards up front . We played 90% with only 2 . Why did we change what we were doing in the last 5 league games. We're not clued in . Changes were needed in midfield where we completely ran out of steam . Thought Killian Gunner should not have been taken off . Think we got it badly wrong. Another missed opportunity to win in croker.

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 25/04/2016 13:30:03    1849141