Fermanagh V Cavan

I think it's time to forget the past and try and move forward. In the heath of the moment things are said and one lives to regret them later on. Not everyone likes Mr Hyland but he is the manager and he seems to be getting it together. Long may it continue. It will be nice to secure division 2 and if we get promotion brilliant then and only then can we talk about how well we have progressed when we play the likes of kerry, Cork, Dublin, Mayo Tyrone ect and be able to beat them regularly.
They are now doing the business Galway and Laois at home two wins and who knows what may be the end result.
Happy day's so lets hope Mr Lynch can do the business next Wednesday night with the U21 team.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/03/2016 15:06:34    1834080

Ha ha no i'm not Ned's mammy or any relation Are you Terry's?

The purpose of these forums are for giving opinions. Everyone has their own. We like some and dislike others.

AND to the other poster - I do see a change in tactics this year. We don't have as many behind the ball and have an "out-ball" much of the time now. I think we are kicking the ball a lot more too. I also go to as many games as possible but I am a long way from Cavan at the moment and not getting to all of them.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/03/2016 16:01:54    1834101

Well after the draw with Derry and Laois, promotion is in our hands. But after scoring 1-22 we can see that Laois won't be an easy task. Neither will Galway. But crucially, it's in our own hands!

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 13/03/2016 16:08:17    1834105

Slasher. He's entitled to his opinion and I'm entitled to question it and show the error in it.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 13/03/2016 16:34:01    1834126

P W D L For Against +/- Points

Tyrone 5 5 0 0 5-67 2-54 22 10
Cavan 5 3 0 2 6-69 2-54 27 6
Galway 5 2 2 1 6-69 6-60 9 6
Derry 5 2 1 2 11-59 6-75 -1 5
Fermanagh 5 2 0 3 2-57 5-51 -3 4
Meath 5 1 1 3 4-52 2-70 -12 3
Laois 5 1 1 3 3-69 10-68 -20 3
Armagh 5 1 1 3 2-58 6-68 -22 3

In Cavan hands now. Donie Kingston, Colm Begley, John O Loughlin, Brendan Quigley, Conor Meredith,. Laois have plenty of talented players, probaly should be doing better then they are.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 13/03/2016 16:57:07    1834154

Galway drawing and Derry drawing leaves us all on 6 points. We have a better scoring difference too.
All in our own hands now with two home games. Keep the heads and the momentum going and we could be in Div 1.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/03/2016 16:57:30    1834155

Derry are on 5 points

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 13/03/2016 17:04:39    1834168

Yes indeed. Miscalculation. Cheers.
Two home wins away from Div 1 and renewing our rivalry with the Rossies. Would be great.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/03/2016 17:23:24    1834188

P W D L For Against +/- Points

Tyrone 5 5 0 0 5-67 2-54 22 10
Cavan 5 3 0 2 6-69 2-54 27 6
Galway 5 2 2 1 6-69 6-60 9 6
Derry 5 2 1 2 11-59 6-75 -1 5
Fermanagh 5 2 0 3 2-57 5-51 -3 4
Meath 5 1 1 3 4-52 2-70 -12 3
Laois 5 1 1 3 3-69 10-68 -20 3
Armagh 5 1 1 3 2-58 6-68 -22 3

In Cavan hands now. Donie Kingston, Colm Begley, John O Loughlin, Brendan Quigley, Conor Meredith,. Laois have plenty of talented players, probaly should be doing better then they are.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts:1291 - 13/03/2016 16:57:07 1834154
Well yes it's in our own hands and Galway will not roll over easy should we beat Laois and Galway beat Fermanagh we can expect 10000 plus in Breffni park. If we both have 8 points going into the last match which I expect possible we will have the situation that if Derry win their last two matches and Cavan Galway Draw Cavan will get promoted by their superior score difference so all we have to do is win our last two matches should other results go as expected.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/03/2016 19:32:06    1834293

Has anyone seen Mowbar, Sean66 and Deanmartin. I've a slice of cake for them. Some may wonder why I bring this up including shining a light on Ned and his hypocrisy. The reason is these guys have waged a smear campaign against Terry Hyland, yet when Terry as manager gets things going in the right direction what do we hear from these fellas? Very little. Remember that the next time we lose and these characters return.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 13/03/2016 19:44:05    1834309

Congratulations Cavan on a great win. Seems Galligan is improving well in goals which is good to hear. I for one was not a fan of Galligan in goal and thought Farrelly got a rough deal but fair play to him he seems to be improving by all accounts here and Twitter. 6 points now and Division 2 status nearly bagged. Well done Cavan

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/03/2016 20:21:38    1834334

dont get carried away fredflint - we ve won nothing yet . The lads were entitled to their opinion - we were playing puke football at the time - it was terrible stuff. I dont know what happened since half time in Navan but they re like a different team . I could be very cynical and say that they ignored the manager and just took the shackles off themselves and went for it. Sometimes you can over-manage - its a simple game really if you have the players to do it. The big difference is definitely the greater physical presence ie Givney , Argue and Buchanan along with Mc Kiernan (and Keating to come back in ) plus the fact that Seanie is back playing better than ever .We have to give the manager credit for bringing back those lads. Hopefully we can push on now and get the two home wins to put us up to Div. 1. By the way its ironic that Liam Mc Hale was brought in last year as a forwards coach - i dont know what he done or didnt do but since he left we cant stop scoring - see what i mean about over-coaching. !

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 13/03/2016 20:27:09    1834340

Congratulations again on another win and two points on the board. Great rally by the lads after the first 2 games but it was evident in those defeats that the team was well capable of competing in this division and more. Nice little break now before Laois and hopefully the extra week might help a few of the lads on the treatment table. It would be nice to see the likes of Keating and McDermott get some meaningful game time before Championship- a couple of games have certainly done no harm at all to Johnson and Givney. Roll on Laois- if we manage to beat them we can expect a championship atmosphere in Breffni for the arrival of Galway.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 13/03/2016 20:36:13    1834348

Tenyearplan- I'm not getting carried away. When we were losing I wasn't claiming we'd be relegated and now I'm not predicting an ulster titled. But we are going in the right direction and credit to Terry for that

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 13/03/2016 20:43:53    1834352

Terry Hyland said after the game yesterday that Keating will be back in full training this coming week and that McDerrmott is unlikely to be back before end of the league.
It certainly is a welcome change to see Cavan with a big powerful forward line, having Giveny, Keating, Argue and McKiernan all in the forward line, and able to win their own ball, is a big change from when we had Martin Dunne and Jack Brady as our targets.

eduardo66 (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 13/03/2016 21:09:32    1834374

What has become of Dunne?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/03/2016 21:31:57    1834394

I think Martin Dunne scored 2-4 for the Gaels last week in the Spring league game v Cootehill.

eduardo66 (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 13/03/2016 21:48:15    1834409

Lads

With McHale gone who actually trains the Cavan team now, i have seen a huge improvement this year in a lot of the players and the way they play.

chancey (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 14/03/2016 08:14:52    1834418

Kevin Downes I think

Paddy O Rourke plays his Club football outfield Skyrne. and was a forward when he was first brought into the Meath Panel before switching to goals. Niall Morgan plays outfield for his club in Tyrone . Ray Galligan having outfield experience is probaly a help in that he is comfortable on the ball, and not kicking the ball anywhere for the sake of it,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/03/2016 09:12:59    1834429

Well done Terry and the lads on a hard fought victory, feck the begrudgers I'll take slow steady progress any day. Its noticeable that some posters have gone down their burrows alright, back to the premiership I guess until the next time we lose. To Terry and the boys keep up the good work, we will support you good days and bad, all we ask in return is pride in that blue jersey.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 14/03/2016 09:50:21    1834453