Cavan v Derry

6 points will be enough to stay in division 2 even 5 may well be enough, there is still 12 points to be played for. Going will be very heavy so hard to see quality football this evening, forecast bad for this afternoon to add to an all ready very soft pitch.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/02/2016 13:05:51    1822803

Agree with Sean 66
Disagree with Reformation. Way too defensive and no good link man. Outrageous the amount of bad passes. Too many players not picking up men. Same style as last year. God help the Cavan forwards , and isn't it well for the midfield and backs when they have all that support from the forwards.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 06/02/2016 13:14:53    1822807

Followed on Twitter. Great coverage. Hard luck Cavan. Seemed to be nip and tuck all the way

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 06/02/2016 20:41:30    1822914

unlucky boys... seriously brave effort... better days coming up

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 06/02/2016 21:11:19    1822932

Well well, two games, two losses, what did I say lads, this setup is bringing us back to division 3. Beaten on home ground again. Look lads, your support for the status quo is misplaced. Time for cavan to think long and hard about where exactly were going. Future is blue though right ????

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/02/2016 21:12:42    1822934

Exciting finish, pity we didn't pull it off.
Heard a lot giving out about referee, I thought he was generous to us. We beat ourselves . Shocked by some of management decisions and lack of courage. Still too slow releasing the ball forward. Too many too fond of loose play.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 06/02/2016 21:35:12    1822947

I thought it was a brave effort tonight ,a lot of wides in first half but so had Derry in second half,the shorts dropping short didnt help.The kick outs were better and we got the majority of our own kick outs which is hugh improvement to last week. Martin Reilly was immence again covering the lenght of the pitch. I do feel they need to pass more to Mackey as althought he is marked tight he can handle himself well and would gain free s from the constant fouling. Big G had a good game felt he was hard done by with the black card, which brings me to the Ref not his finest moment he let himself down tonight BRUTAL . We missed a lot of frees we short shot but i felt at least they tried i think there was improvement from last week and if nothing else we deserved a draw

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 06/02/2016 21:40:08    1822949

Haven't been this disappointed with cavan in a long time. That scramble for a goal with equalising point on. What were they thinking? Seriously need clarke outfield but no point rushing dunne back now as I think promotion which we were in with a shout is now gone. Very frustrating to lose two games in row that should have been won.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 06/02/2016 21:56:38    1822957

Can't understand that Cavan fans blamed the ref. We couldn't get scores. Too many easy misses in the first half and then we couldn't get the ball over the bar in the last five minutes despite being camped in front of their goals.
Don't understand how Givney wasn't substituted. He just wasn't at the races tonight.
Also Conor Moynagh had a poor game.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 06/02/2016 21:58:20    1822959

Agree with Marita.
Martin Reilly did get on a lot of ball but he's too slow releasing it. Mackey had made several runs, and the last day v Tyrone he kicked it away 10 times to opposition. Gearoid needs to up the work rate. Whats the story with the frees? Mc Dermott a big loss. Is Jack Brady injured,? He scored 9 out of 9 frees taken in Mc Kenna Cup.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 07/02/2016 08:48:39    1822961

I am not for one minute blaming the ref for the loss , the lads done that by themselves they should have taken a point instead of going for goal. we had serveral opurtunities to go ahead . Negativity is easy to find, what i looked for was positivity last night, and there was some, sure we made some silly mistakes, some tired legs , some stupid decisions but i felt the lads wanted to win they kept trying maybe a little to hard at the end. On the subject of the ref he was poor for both sides he was not consistant in my own opinion. I came away disappointed we didnt win but happy there was improvement lets hope we improve more

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 07/02/2016 09:15:39    1822964

Ref made some strange decisions. Taking the ball of Cavan to give Derry the sideline. A lot og time wasted in added on time so should have being more than 30 seconds. However this is not the reason we lost. Going for goal three times at the end was madness when a point would have equalised. Martin Reilly was excellent. Conor Moynagh played well apart from dropping some short. Givney and Keating are miles of match pace with Givney constantly turned over. Galligans kickouts excellent. Able to land it in a players chest 50 60 yards away. Mackey done some good things but played far too much at corner back. Looked much better attacking. Our tactics for the first 20 minutes were bizarre. Way too deep with a huge wind in our favour. Only when we pushed up on Derry and kickouts did we look competitive. Also Givney should not have lasted a whole game.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 07/02/2016 09:52:44    1822970

This is a match Cavan through away last night there is no question about it, point the finger at anyone you like the referee the side line it does not matter. Simple frees missed with the wind 5 minuets of constant attack in the last five minuets and all anyone wanted to do was score a goal. Cavan were a point down and the first objective was to get the equaliser yet they kept banging in for goal. I tell you this Cavan team have improved no ends just a few tweets here and there and they will do very well in Ulster. Now Armagh lost against Laois this was a surprise to me but a great result for Cavan will beat Laois, Armagh Fermanagh and who knows take a point from Galway. I am confident from what I saw last night there is a lot of positives. As groundsman of the park I can tell you this lad's and lassies the pitch was not easy to play on and there was a strong wind out there and not easy for taking frees ect. Remember Derry missed a few frees as well. But overall this is a match that Cavan through away there is no question about it and as I have said Cavan will be fine in Division 2.
Are the Cavan supporters asking to much and putting too much pressure on their team also I say to you now in the cold light of day and your hatred for the management and the referee has wained look in the mirror or talk amongst yourself s and ask did Cavan deserve to loose this game and if you come up with the answer yes you were not at the match or you are too blinkered to see the wider overall game. Was this match lost in the first half yes ?? was this match lost in the second half without a shadow of a doubt. Cavan don't have to depend on other results it's all in their own hands and I firmly believe Cavan have no worries about staying in Division 2. I know you are saying bottom of the pile no points stop worrying they will stay in Division 2 for sure, 10 more points to play for and other teams will drop points as well for both Derry and Tyrone have to play Galway Meath ect.
I got to leave the park last night at 2300hrs for it takes a long time to lock up and get the dressing rooms ect ready for today and while I was there I had plenty of time to reflect. I walked the pitch at half time on my own trying to repair some of the damage and it was like a field of 9" divots and pure muck.
So as a Cork man that likes to see cavan doing well I ask you the true Cavan honest to god supporters rally around this present team and stop moaning. Negativity creates lack of confidence so stop whinging and let's talk positive for a change.
I know you will name players that should have been on or taken off thats the glory of sitting on the ditch you can say what you like and not knowing if players are injured or not. Niall McDermott and Niall Murray I have to say were a huge loss to us last night.
I am hoping that the management will forget last night and think of the next game and instill that bit of extra confidence that we need and it will fall into place.
Sorry for going on. Good day's ahead.
Is mise Sean O'Rinn

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/02/2016 10:25:32    1822974

This is a match Cavan through away last night there is no question about it, point the finger at anyone you like the referee the side line it does not matter. Simple frees missed with the wind 5 minuets of constant attack in the last five minuets and all anyone wanted to do was score a goal. Cavan were a point down and the first objective was to get the equaliser yet they kept banging in for goal. I tell you this Cavan team have improved no ends just a few tweets here and there and they will do very well in Ulster. Now Armagh lost against Laois this was a surprise to me but a great result for Cavan will beat Laois, Armagh Fermanagh and who knows take a point from Galway. I am confident from what I saw last night there is a lot of positives. As groundsman of the park I can tell you this lad's and lassies the pitch was not easy to play on and there was a strong wind out there and not easy for taking frees ect. Remember Derry missed a few frees as well. But overall this is a match that Cavan through away there is no question about it and as I have said Cavan will be fine in Division 2.
Are the Cavan supporters asking to much and putting too much pressure on their team also I say to you now in the cold light of day and your hatred for the management and the referee has wained look in the mirror or talk amongst yourself s and ask did Cavan deserve to loose this game and if you come up with the answer yes you were not at the match or you are too blinkered to see the wider overall game. Was this match lost in the first half yes ?? was this match lost in the second half without a shadow of a doubt. Cavan don't have to depend on other results it's all in their own hands and I firmly believe Cavan have no worries about staying in Division 2. I know you are saying bottom of the pile no points stop worrying they will stay in Division 2 for sure, 10 more points to play for and other teams will drop points as well for both Derry and Tyrone have to play Galway Meath ect.
I got to leave the park last night at 2300hrs for it takes a long time to lock up and get the dressing rooms ect ready for today and while I was there I had plenty of time to reflect. I walked the pitch at half time on my own trying to repair some of the damage and it was like a field of 9" divots and pure muck.
So as a Cork man that likes to see cavan doing well I ask you the true Cavan honest to god supporters rally around this present team and stop moaning. Negativity creates lack of confidence so stop whinging and let's talk positive for a change.
I know you will name players that should have been on or taken off thats the glory of sitting on the ditch you can say what you like and not knowing if players are injured or not. Niall McDermott and Niall Murray I have to say were a huge loss to us last night.
I am hoping that the management will forget last night and think of the next game and instill that bit of extra confidence that we need and it will fall into place.
Sorry for going on. Good day's ahead.
Is mise Sean O'Rinn

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/02/2016 10:47:58    1822978

I was up at your game last night and a big problem with cavan is they try play a blanket defence but it just doesn't work. You get loads of men behind the ball but its so ineffective. Derry walked through the defence on a number of occasions with ease. They all seem to get back but just dont follow the runners going through. And trying to goal for goal at the end was something you would see in an under 14 game.

MonMan97 (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 07/02/2016 10:57:49    1822982

Sure we only lost by a point, surely that's another moral victory?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 07/02/2016 11:07:02    1822984

Just wondering how the Terry brigade are feeling this morning, no word from SGoldrick, Skelling, Fred, Cavan 97...you still think he's the right man for the job?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 07/02/2016 11:10:12    1822986

Very good performance from the lads last night and they certainly deserved some sort of result from the game. The desire and workmate and will to win from Cavan last night showed that Hyland is undoubtedly still the man for the job despite what the shortsighted keyboard warriors on here might say. People here revelling in the defeat as it gives them a stick to beat Hyland with is frankly pathetic. Cavan football is more important than your bitterness towards the manager, get over it lads and get behind the team.

Hanging on to Division 2 status will be tough but I still believe the lads can do it. We need to make more of our attacks and at least kill the ball when shooting. We could really do with one of our inside men hitting a good vein of form. I've been critical of Martin Dunne in the past but he still has lots to offer based on last night's display.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 07/02/2016 11:38:16    1822990

Congratulations deanmartin on cavans defeat. I'm sure you are delighted today. It's good to see all your moaning paying off.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/02/2016 11:42:34    1822991

The Cavan team is getting more frustrating to watch each game, .It's as though the only instruction the players are given is that when the opposition has the ball all run into defence and when your in possession of the ball try and walk it up to there 13 yard line and score. This isn't good enough from the management after so long given to perfect a style of play. Its a waste of time having two inside full forwards ,by the time the ball actually gets up that far the oppositions defence has regrouped . this thing of going trying to solo running the ball up the field is too slow . there was numerous times last night were it was two on two with no sweeper in the Derry defence were a direct ball in front of our two forwards would have had opened there defence, but instead Cavan just slowed everything down trying to walk the ball up the field until they got swallowed up by the Derry Defences. Our style of play is actually cancelling out some of our players abilities.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 07/02/2016 11:46:49    1822992