Players To Improve The County Panel in 2016?

ONDFORTY..... I take it you don't go to the SFC in Cavan. Best player by a long shot the last two years....

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 17/12/2015 08:35:03    1813237

I have to say that not having Dunne and Keating in your squad is a sin....... Keating especially. I always enjoyed watching him play, Honestly think that ye have the players to win an Ulster, but I don't know how ye reinstated your management again this year. Banty and Eamon McEneaney did a huge amount for Monaghan, but ultimately fell short. Sometimes a fresh outlook can change things.

Bar a miracle, I can't see anything changing this year for ye. And I'm not saying that out of spite or anything. I feel its a shame for Cavan that ye haven't achieved more given the great underage structures ye have.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 17/12/2015 11:56:46    1813293

Ah no dunne and keating ..? both know where the posts are so they will be a miss.

I just don't understand it with Cavan - we cannot seem to get all of our players to commit whereas in other counties their players won't retire when they are past it ..!

I know there is a hell of a lot of commitment needed but an inter county is a short career - just hope the lads don't regret their decisions in later years ...

Hopefully we stand up and be counted this year - competing for promotion and a decent run in the championship and none of this rubbish of "building a team" and "young players"

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 17/12/2015 12:11:46    1813300

Very dissapointing Keating cant commit. Also Damian Reilly and Martin Dunne in their prime and leaving panel. Cant understand it. Maybe it is work or possibly travel. As our Monaghan friend rightly said , Cavan need all our best players especially as we are not overflowing with class forwards.
As a Cavan fan who sat broken hearted and angry in Breffni that day when Seanie turned out for Kildare in the qualifiers , I will still welcome him back. I think he was badly advised back then but lets give the lad a chance and hopefully he can turn on the style of former days. He will be an experinced head among the young forwards which will be welcome. Good to have Givney back and he will give us options around the middle
Looking at the new players , I dont see lads like Kevin Tierney and Declan Mc Kiernan . Just wonder what is the position? Also is Enda Hessin back in the squad. What about Conor Madden and Gerry Smith? Very good u21's !!
I agree with most of the posters I think it is time for this team to stand up. No more "ah sure they are only young lads"
I expect to see Barry Reilly get more game time and lads like Conor Moynagh, Darragh Mc Veety , Michael Argue , the Hayes brothers and Ciaran Brady stand up to be counted.
So lads lets make 2016 the breakthrough year. No more excuses !!!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 17/12/2015 13:03:03    1813319

Things might change after the McKenna Cup, maybe Dunne and Keating could have a change of heart. There a big commitment there especially with lads working and living away. I'd say no door is closed to anyone yet. As a previous poster said it would be great if everyone made themselves available even if it was just for one year just to see what level we really are at now that we have Div 2 football. If all the best players are playing giving 100% well regardless of results us as supporters can't ask for anything more. When some deflect then it's a case of if so and so was there things would be different. It becomes about ifs and buts. Seanie I still think can do a job. He's worth 3/4 points a game . His experience alone in the full forward line can bring younger lads on. They will learn from his movement if nothing else. I'd like to see Givney played in the Donaghy roll. Target man in full forward but could be used a centre field if needed but I'd persevere primary with playing him at full forward and give him 6/7 games to settle in there. There's a tendancy in Cavan to switch players too quickly with giving them time to settle into a position. 1/2 bad games doesn't always mean the switch won't work. It takes time especially playing full forward.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 17/12/2015 14:41:02    1813344

Sammaguire no way was Johnstone best player last two years. Barely played this year and got a joke of a motm award last year. Agree with ontheforty that it's pure desperation calling in a lad well past his prime.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 17/12/2015 19:29:36    1813395

There is something seriously wrong with Cavan football! The fact that the manager is not able to call on several key players has got to be shown that these players have no confidence in the teams, and his ability to manage. Terry has been involved for 7 years in a row, and whatever previous with the Senior team, and the players look to be stale to me. A fresh change is needed! The poor defensive tactics has only brought lack of creditability, passion and lack of confidence. The great players from the U-21 team's have been turned into nervous, defence first thinking first players, and the players are so lacking in belief, that their ability falls first at the slightest problem ie. Monaghan. It is terrible to see players like A. Clarke, Keating, Dunne n more to decide not to play. Terry has stuck with the same players, and this has not developed the younger players. Philly Tinnelly, for example. One has to wonder aloud what is going on that Terry's job has not being called into question? One wonders what the County Board is thinking? One looks at other counties, and wonder where is the team going? I hope I'm wrong and that players will develop, come through and show themselves in the year! Surely the Terry plan has seen its day though!

soraghallaigh (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 18/12/2015 12:06:57    1813444

I have stayed off this forum because of the negativity. Checking in today , yep, still the same .......lads, some of the players mentioned above didn't even stand out at club level this year!
I say good luck to Terry and Co this year, let's hope they change tactics and utilise the players in the right positions. Jimmy Higgins is a very welcome addition.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 19/12/2015 15:07:50    1813591

If Shane Gray was considered to be best player in Cavan this year why was he not called to the panel. Joe Dillon is on the panel and I think he only played one game in the championship. Kingscourt players don't seem to have a great relationship with Hyland. Alan Clarke Barry Reilly and Tinnelly have all said thanks but no thanks to Him in the last year or two. In other counties players would give their back teeth to play for their county. One can only wonder what the problem is in Cavan???

hammy8 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 19/12/2015 19:08:13    1813610

"Good luck to Seanie, he's a good footballer, but he's not an All-Star," Terry Hyland, 2012.

So the manager takes a parting swipe at Johnston when he made his switch to Kildare, but now he's only too happy to have him involved. This is really farcical stuff, for a county that loves to boast about a wealth of underage talent we've just shown how desperate we really are by asking Seanie to come back into the fold.

On a different note, Happy Christmas lads, here's to 2016!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 20/12/2015 17:13:39    1813683

Ned- can you give me a link to where hyland said that? I seriously doubt he did. I do agree with you Johnston should have been left where he is and the manager must be awful desperate to invite him back.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/12/2015 20:18:03    1813705

Cluichepeil - excuse my ignorance but who is Jimmy Higgins? A new trainer or selector?

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 21/12/2015 08:39:49    1813726

now fred flint
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=173578

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 21/12/2015 08:55:02    1813728

Fair enough, I stand corrected. That said it was in the heat of the Kildare result and Johnston going out of his way to score a point. I think every Cavan mans blood was boiling that day.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 21/12/2015 16:51:17    1813810

I had a five minuet confrontation with McGeeney after that match in front of the media for he picked up on a comment I made to Michael Tynan when I said he McGeeney put him Johnson on the pitch to make a statement. I duly replied after his comment was he was not fit my reply said if he was not fit to start he was not fit to come on as a sub. You did it just to rub salt into the good Cavan supporters and I will never forgive you as long as Iive . As I am a Cork man I can take it but for the genuine Cavan person it was a sad sight to see. But in Johnson defense he did his job he put the ball over the bar and he has to live with it. One question I must ask is he 32 years old now.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/12/2015 18:56:12    1813822

I appreciate you expressing that sentiment on behalf of the real Cavan supporters Sean. Most people felt the same that day.

Yes, he's definitely in his 30's.

The "future is blue" eh? You simply couldn't make it up.

With the poor championship results these past two years, key players showing no interest in playing for us and now this act of desperation, Cavan GAA needs to take a long hard look at itself.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/12/2015 20:08:17    1813828

Fair play to you Sean.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 850 - 21/12/2015 20:53:36    1813835

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0715/329250-johnston-debuts-as-kildare-crush-cavan/

Kildare were beating Cavan 3,19 to 1,09 & Johnson took the last free against the Town side where I might add the Gaels lads stand from the wrong side for a left footer. I can t rem if he fist pumped or celebrated. But I was there to see it. Now you want me to pay into Breffni & support this travesty?

Martin Dunne was the Countries Top Scorer 2013? Now you can t get him to play or utilise him when there?

Keating roasted every FB I ever seen him play against & you can t get him on the panel?

Toasty Showed why he has nt been replaced along with the Unused Barry Reilly. League & Champ double against a fixture list from Hell!

TERRY & HIS MERRY MEN INCLUDING CO Board HAS TO COME OUT AND ANSWER FOR THESE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS

Will Johnson up the gates? We ll im not going back for one!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 22/12/2015 11:56:19    1813862

I'm afraid lads that Johnston coming back onto the panel is the least of our worries when it comes to Cavan Football.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 22/12/2015 12:36:41    1813876

Kildare were beating Cavan 3,19 to 1,09 & Johnson took the last free against the Town side where I might add the Gaels lads stand from the wrong side for a left footer. I can t rem if he fist pumped or celebrated. But I was there to see it. Now you want me to pay into Breffni & support this travesty?

Martin Dunne was the Countries Top Scorer 2013? Now you can t get him to play or utilise him when there?

Keating roasted every FB I ever seen him play against & you can t get him on the panel?

Toasty Showed why he has nt been replaced along with the Unused Barry Reilly. League & Champ double against a fixture list from Hell!

TERRY & HIS MERRY MEN INCLUDING CO Board HAS TO COME OUT AND ANSWER FOR THESE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS

Will Johnson up the gates? We ll im not going back for one!

Johnston was to the right of the posts, which is the natural position for a left footer.

Martin Dunne wasn't the top scorer in 2013, Cillian O'Connor was.

Keating roasted every full back!? You must have a missed a lot of games.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 23/12/2015 12:37:53    1814038