Have we a new record for red cards in Cavan?

Tomsmith here

Is it a notion to or did we appear to have a lot of Red cards delivered to Cavan players in 2015?
If I rightly remember we seemed to have got a lot many more than previous years
Is a sign of new style of play or is it indiscipline that has crept into the Cavan team?
Perhaps some one close to the setup could answer

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/08/2015 11:40:42    1764936

Red cards at vital stages in vital games has always been the case with Cavan going back 40 years. I remember we had Dublin almost beaten in a league semi final when a high profile player got himself sent off for doing something stupid like retaliation. And it's been the case since in important games. We had Armagh beaten another year when another stupid sending off cost us. There been countless. We don't learn.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 06/08/2015 13:51:39    1765058

Aaaaaaw

Tomsmith here

Red cards can be given for indiscipline or retaliation .
I feel that we were picked upon this last few years and so naïve that we are we were caught retaliating
So you have it from the expert All our red cards may not have been indiscipline.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 11/08/2015 11:26:39    1767897

The problem Tom Smith is players are not able to keep up with the pace and end up jersey pulling not once off course but several times. You will have noticed over the last couple of years it's the sad fact of the way we are fitness wise in Cavan.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 11/08/2015 16:06:20    1768193

Fitness issues? Mowbar name 2 county players who have shown a lack of fitness this year. Your self serving bitterness is becoming pathetic.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 11/08/2015 16:31:29    1768218

Sceptical and Mowbar

Tomsmith
Unfortunately Sceptical I have to agree with Mowbar on this one we were away of the pace in several games.
Particularly our last game it was pathetic to see forwards not following backs out the field.
While I feel that mowbar in the past has posted a lot of (I will be kind to hin/her)inaccurate stuff I feel that he is 100% correct this time

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 12/08/2015 18:03:12    1769036

I dont believe fitness is an issue with the county team

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 12/08/2015 21:47:20    1769185

Fitness shouldn't be an issue, however, the team have been together since last Sept/Oct, so you'd wonder whether burnout rather fitness is an issue.
Another thing is mobility, we seem to a have a few players who aren't mobile enough, if you look at most of the top midfielders, they can run box to box throughout the game, whilst our midfielders seem to make a couple of bursts forward and then disappear for a while, they don't seem to defend either.
Big Argue at full forward, a target man, but lacks mobility and seems to stay in the same spot.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 13/08/2015 09:28:31    1769227

Dearmartin

Tomsmith here
I fully agree with you that some of our players are very immobile ie static.
If you look at the modern game it is all running and we need a fully fit young team.
Where do we get them from
Divisional trials may be the answer

And please Dearmartin do not name any names on my posts as I feel it would be very unfair to the lads that are training since winter time and anyway youse all hide behind names of convenience's yourselves when posting

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 13/08/2015 11:25:07    1769318

asitis

I dont believe fitness is an issue with the county team
13/08/2015 09:28:31
deanmartin

Fitness shouldn't be an issue, however, the team have been together since last Sept/Oct, so you'd wonder whether burnout rather fitness is an issue.
Another thing is mobility, we seem to a have a few players who aren't mobile enough, if you look at most of the top midfielders, they can run box to box throughout the game, whilst our midfielders seem to make a couple of bursts forward and then disappear for a while, they don't seem to defend either.
Big Argue at full forward, a target man, but lacks mobility and seems to stay in the same spot.

To you both and to anyone else that cares to read it. Fitness is a major factor and will alway's be. How often do you see a training session without a ball Just think before you reply. I agree there should be ball time I will ask this question of the current panel how many could run 50 laps of the running track at a comfortable pace I would say more than likely none. It's not all about ball time. Speak with the older brigade and ask them how Martin McHugh used the banks of the old park before the development and they will tell you how hard it was.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 13/08/2015 13:02:30    1769404

MOWBAR - As with any team, the hard training (mostly without the ball) happens over the long winter months, and as championship approaches, ball work and speed work is concentrated on.
Again, there maybe one or two players who are not up to scratch, but most are, but I say again, mobility is a problem for some of the players like Argue and McKiernan, and both are playing in important positions on the park.
If you look at Dublin or Mayo, there midfielders are everywhere on the park, defending & attacking, whist McKiernan doesn't have the mobility to do that.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 13/08/2015 15:51:42    1769532

Mckiernan to me should be tried and centre half back. Position is ideal for him.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 13/08/2015 16:00:50    1769547

deanmartin

MOWBAR - As with any team, the hard training (mostly without the ball) happens over the long winter months, and as championship approaches, ball work and speed work is concentrated on.
Again, there maybe one or two players who are not up to scratch, but most are, but I say again, mobility is a problem for some of the players like Argue and McKiernan, and both are playing in important positions on the park.
If you look at Dublin or Mayo, there midfielders are everywhere on the park, defending & attacking, whist McKiernan doesn't have the mobility to do that.
13/08/2015 16:00:50

I am telling you all the team are totally unfit and are not able to keep p with the top teams it's that simple. For us to move up the ladder we need to sort the fitness issue first then work on their tactical and football skills. I love Cavan and to have us where we are is just disgusting.
Awwwwnow

Mckiernan to me should be tried and centre half back. Position is ideal for him.

Now that Forde is gone Maybe D. McKiernan will be brought back. He is oozing with potential and I would play him on the 40 quality quality quality and an honest player.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 13/08/2015 18:14:09    1769649

Awwwwnow

He gives us more of a scoring threat than most of our forwards and is our only natural midfielder on the current panel. Why move him back??

Centre back is a problem, but we have been without the best centre-back in the county for the last 7-8 years, and the 1 year we did have him we played him at full back where he is decidedly average.

John McCutcheon may be an option.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 13/08/2015 19:22:38    1769682

cavanman47

Awwwwnow

John McCutcheon may be an option.

Sorry I am not sure John can cut it he was average last week with Cootehill

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 13/08/2015 21:45:03    1769799

Killian Clarke is your centre back, brill in the air
has pace, can attack, can defend, will get stronger
We have a very good full back in rory dunne
I think g McKiernan should be tried centre forward
givney when hes back midfield along with t mooney maybe
Maybe build argue into the fullforward roll and maybe keating
and kevin Tierney with him .

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 14/08/2015 11:14:40    1769960

Mckiernan going forward yes does kick the odd super point but always seems to run up blind alleys while in possession . Tries to do too much himself. Centre half back would be idea for him . Accurate foot passer , good in the tackle. Can break at pace. Our centre half spot is our main problem. London cut us open up the middle numerous times only poor finishing and poor shot selection we would have been in trouble . Roscommon ran at us up the middle too. Mckiernan would hold his own in my opinion . Maloney Derhan is another who deserves another go either at midfield or half back. He has lots to offer. Flanagan though a wholehearted player who gives 100% lacks know how in the tackle. Tends to drift from his duties unless appointed to a man marking job . He's not a 70 min player in a vital position.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 14/08/2015 11:30:31    1769978

Mowbar, make no mistake about it John Mc Cutcheon is plenty good enough to make it with Cavan, you need to judge him on more than one Cootehill game. Ask anyone in Cootehill who is their best and most consistant club player, they will all say the same, John Mac. He would hold his own on any team at midfield or centre back.
Question is, after been so badly treated the last time he was in there (told he was a squad player only), would he go back?

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2015 13:26:28    1770120

There's no issue with fitness, mobility is an issue with a few players in important positions, namely midfield and full forward, but the main issue is quality, we simply don't have the calibre of players that the top teams have. Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, all quality players 1 to 15 and the same quality on the bench to replace them.

The big problem in Cavan is the supporters - From the start of the McKenna Cup up until the last Championship match, supporters expectations have been too high, if you go back to January, people were talking about winning Ulster, on the New York trip, you'd think that we had won some major competition.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 14/08/2015 17:08:52    1770361

bunnoe1

Mowbar, make no mistake about it John Mc Cutcheon is plenty good enough to make it with Cavan, you need to judge him on more than one Cootehill game. Ask anyone in Cootehill who is their best and most consistant club player, they will all say the same, John Mac. He would hold his own on any team at midfield or centre back.
Question is, after been so badly treated the last time he was in there (told he was a squad player only), would he go back?

I judge them on performance and from what I have seen so far he is not up to the grade. I will see him again as we are coming to the business end of the championship it's knock out stage. I know what John is capable off but as it is he is not up to it. By the way I am only giving my opinion on what I see and not what he has done in the past it's the only way.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 15/08/2015 10:39:15    1770524