Cavan V Roscommon

Madge king
Dont think we would have beat fermanagh but felt that brewster is a favourite of this group of lads and who knows what could happen on any given day me i just wanted to be there think rossies and fermanagh might be a game worth going to see

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 06/07/2015 16:54:36    1748703

On Saturday's showing we would not have beaten Fermanagh next weekend. It's not going to be easy for the management to sign off on such a limp performance if that's what ultimately transpires.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 06/07/2015 17:57:49    1748766

This management team simply has to go, and I'm saying that as someone with no agendas, I don't live in, work in, or play football in Cavan, so I have few connections with the football setup back there, but I can count on one hand the amount of games I've missed in league and championship this past 2 seasons, even went abroad to watch them a few weeks ago.

But the game is up for the management, it's blatantly obvious that Terry has run out of ideas. In fairness he did say himself a new voice was required in and around the setup, hence the reason he brought in McHale, which to me sounded like an admission that he didn't know what direction to bring the team after a disastrous 2014 championship.

But the crucial point, that one wise poster already mentioned, is that we have learned nothing from last year. Same fixture, same result. Yes, we are scoring more, but we're also very poor defensively, despite a common misconception that we are a defensive team, we're not. We don't know what we are, we've lost all direction and our future is not blue, it's uncertain.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/07/2015 19:06:11    1748804

As someone outside Cavan ye definitely need change. AbsolutEly no improvement from your forward play and missing three of your best doesn't help.Roscommon are no great shakes at all and we will be found out soon enough.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 06/07/2015 19:54:02    1748836

Cant figure out how the panelists on The Sunday Game thought the ref. had a good match - I thought he was terrible
1. How would anyone with an ounce of cop-on disallow a perfectly good point (from the sideline kick from Barry Reilly ) it was that high over the bar it was completely irrelevant if someone from the attacking team was in the square before the ball.
2.How far back in a game can you go to retrospectively send off a player. There was ample time for linesmaen or umpires to consult with the ref. before half-time and take action then ( in the Mossy Corr incident )Its quite obvious they hadnt a clue until they saw the incident on telly at half time. Talk about hypocrisy in the GAA . They wont hear tell of a Television Match Official or anything that would be helpful to the referees to make decisions but they ll gladly turn a blind eye to a sneaky look at the telly in the refs room
because thats exactly what happened.

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 06/07/2015 20:59:25    1748878

Tenyearplan...... Check out the rule on square balls from sideline kick. Then check out the rule for striking an opponent . Then check out the rule for substitutions? See if a player can be substituted with the refs ok. read the rule book and tell me the ref had a bad game . Now if I was from Cork then I'd be aggrieved because that was no penalty and very little in the game at the time. That ref had a bad game

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 06/07/2015 21:14:49    1748886

I m well aware of the rule on square balls - what i m saying is that common sense has to come in to it too - what was happening in the square was never going to affect the play ie the ball going thirty feet over their heads. And in case you didnt get my point about the other incident it was clearly a sending off offence but at the proper time - not fifteen minutes later . Also what would have happened if the player involved had to stay in the dressing room along with the doctor getting his "injury " treated refusing to come out on medical advice - would the ref go in and red- card him there - i think not . Mossy Corr saved his bacon by running on to the field to meet him.
The officials should have acted before half- time or not at all

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 06/07/2015 21:56:35    1748915

Awwwwnow,

why don't you check the rules and tell us if Enda Smith's goal should have stood after he hopped the ball twice.

The referee (and his officiating team) had a mare.

People are saying that Cavan were blunt up front - and we were - but Argue was being moved to midfield for the 2nd half. This was done because Cavan were led to believe they were starting the 2nd half with 15 men. They didn't account for the referee taking the laws of the game into his own hands with the retrospective decision re Mossy Corr. He had the chance to send Corr off TWICE before half time and he didn't. He was not within his rights to do so after half time.

We dominated midfield on Saturday, and even tho we were wasteful with posession, we kicked as many legal scores as Roscommon apart from the last goal which was only scored as we were chasing the game.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/07/2015 08:07:58    1748930

We were 2nd best all over the pitch. Our up the middle was non existent .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 07/07/2015 09:48:57    1748978

AWWWNOW

Good to see you been gracious in defeat. Anyone questioning the ref for the sending off is mad you obviously were watching the game on tv listening to tommy carr and this 50/50 incident. Everyone at the game seen the umpires talking to each other and then trying get refs attention. If the rules as some here try claim that ref had no right to send him off why doesn't ever player hit a lad smack just as half time whistle is going and run into dressing room. Ref was 100% right. The line ball was a harsh call but as far as I am aware the rules clearly state nobody can be inside the square although harsh again the correct call. Smiths goal myself I taught was a double hop but as stated on sunday game maybe ref felt player had lost possession and then regathered it.
Anyway you cant blame the ref, Corr was stupid in what he did was never going to get away with it. McHale seems to have brought very little to the set up. Ye have very passionate fans and I really had good craic at the game with some cavan lads. Hopefully next year ye can kick on and bring through some more of the successful u21 players. Ye need get back the likes of givney and keating and maybe even seanie as I don't see a forward in Cavan that has the potential of Harney, Smith or Murtagh

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 07/07/2015 11:02:29    1749051

Pingcity
County: Longford

The ref was wrong to disallow the point. Rule 4.9 below exception (ii)

4.9 For an attacking player to enter opponents'
small rectangle:
(a) During Play (excluding Set Play), before the
final play of the ball into the small rectangle.
(b) In Set Play, before the ball enters the small
rectangle.
Exceptions
(i) If an attacking player legally enters the
small rectangle, and the ball is played
from that area but is returned before the
attacking player has time to leave the
area, provided he does not play the ball
or interfere with the defence, a foul is not
committed.
(ii) When a point is scored from outside the
small rectangle and the ball is sufficiently
high to be out of reach of all players, the
score shall be allowed even though an
attacking player may have been otherwise
illegally within the small rectangle before
the ball - provided that the player in
question does not interfere with the
defence.
4.10 (a) To change the ball from one hand to the other,

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 07/07/2015 12:17:38    1749132

Cavanman 47 we had a penalty given away that was never a penalty and actually was a free out as comentators on sky and Sunday game agreed we also had a point from a free disallowed by a linesman 50 yards from goals cancelling umpires decisions yet we never moaned said a word
Why cause wevwere beat off the field by sligo and only shows ur grasping at straw's.
Moral of story get over it.
It's over

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 07/07/2015 15:44:00    1749339

We were beat fair and square we conceeded three goals best of luck to the rossies ref was good corr made the strike end of

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 07/07/2015 16:12:07    1749366

We were 5 - 10 points the better team than Monaghan and the Referee handed them easy frees and black carded our men. We should be getting ready for an Ulster final and now were getting ready for club matches instead.

I have never been so depressed walking out of Breffni. Not with Terry or the team but with the officials again sending off our men same as the Monaghan match

I believe there is an All-Ireland in this team, we are better than Monaghan, and maybe not as good as Donegal but were not far away.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 07/07/2015 16:44:14    1749391

foxes_denn

The below from Foxes_Denn merely proves my point about Cavan Supporters and their expectations!

1749391 We were 5 - 10 points the better team than Monaghan and the Referee handed them easy frees and black carded our men. We should be getting ready for an Ulster final and now were getting ready for club matches instead.

I have never been so depressed walking out of Breffni. Not with Terry or the team but with the officials again sending off our men same as the Monaghan match

I believe there is an All-Ireland in this team, we are better than Monaghan, and maybe not as good as Donegal but were not far away.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 07/07/2015 17:22:32    1749427

I agree. We need an ultra committed attitude get tierney and givney back in the forwards. Brady from minors a class act. We are a team with serious but untapped potential

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 07/07/2015 22:00:10    1749588

Lads, yous can laugh all you like but there is a mentality setting in that we should stay a Division 2 team and go no further than the semi's in Ulster.

This will seep through the young lads with U21 medals in their pockets and 10 years of medicorate will go by.

If you have a problem Dean Martin, well go start supporting some other team as you don't have anything good to say about Cavan.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 08/07/2015 08:23:45    1749597

foxes_denn

it's refreshing to see some real optimism here. As I said, the Cavan job should be one of the most attractive to any manager given our recent underage success and footballing culture and history.

I disagree with you when you say there is an all-ireland in THIS team. .we lack a top top forward IMO - but there is an Ulster title in the current team (including players who didnt line out this year).
And given our continued underage promise (I think we will win the Ulster minor title on the 19th), it can surely only be a matter of time before some top quality forwards come to the fore. By then, the current crop should be providing a base to build upon - ala Donegal when Murphy, McBrearty, etc broke thru - which is a far cry from the shambles of a set-up which the current crop joined 4 years ago.

I hope that doesn't look like a slight on our current forwards - they have the potential to be much better than they have shown if used in the right kind of system - remember, Martin Dunne was 2nd top scorer in the country 2 years ago! But we were not in the right place to play an advanced system like this in 2013 and Terry worked well with what he had - a very raw group of talented players.

If we do experience success of any kind over the next 4-5 years, the first man to be applauded should be Terry Hyland!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/07/2015 10:00:30    1749654

I am curious number one to 15 and then subs on a scale of 1 to 10 how would you rate performances interestested to see different perceptions of how players performed on sat against the rossies and be honest lads even if players from your own clubs were bad mark accordingly

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 08/07/2015 10:52:53    1749710

asitis, ill give it a go. .

galligan - not a keeper and not used by mgmt to take frees either. kickouts decent. 4
mcloughlin - not his best game but was far from our worst defender. 5
mcenroe - not a fullback. can take v little from that performance. 3
brady - not sure what his role was. 4
murray - got forward well, should be at half forward. 6
flanagan - poor, although harsh yellow prevented him tackling the rest of the game. 4
o'reilly - anomynous. again. not intercounty standard. 3
mckiernan - mixed good with bad but caught a lot that came his way. 6
corr - was playing ok until moment of madness. 4
mackey - also mixed good and bad but wanted to make things happen. 7
mcvitty - same. 7
reilly - shouldve kicked a couple of frees that he missed. 6
mcdermott - kicked one nice free, hope he recovers quickly. can't really rate his performance
argue - ball didnt stick but wasnt delivered with any real quality. 4
flanagan - usual effort but with little end result. 5

So overall, I've given our starting 15 pretty poor ratings - but ratings which i think many would agree with. For us to be on an even keel with Roscommon (until the sending off) while playing so badly shows that there is potential there.

As for the subs, Barry Reilly was the only one made any real impact. Dunne should've come in for McDermott or should've started!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/07/2015 11:50:23    1749753