Laois V Cavan

I have put up posts that were not published so i'll try and be diplomatic with this one ... I agree with the other posters regarding position No 1 ... Mistake against fermanagh in mckenna cup, 2 u21 semi finals, monaghan in ulster semi and that's just what i can think off at the min ... it will cost us dear in a big game this summer mark my words ... Other than that great start to the league and as other posters have stated, we should not be afraid of the likes of westmeath or down whom we have beaten in the last few months - staying in div 2 is the aim ... if we get our 6 points then start looking at promotion ... take it game by game.

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 09/02/2015 12:26:53    1691604

wishfulthinkin

s goldrick

Well done Cavan on a great display in Portlaoise.When is the last time we were beaten the league and by whom ?
3 games ago by Roscommon

I meant in the league proper . not a "league" final, which is a misnomer.

I mean , did you really think that that was what I was asking ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/02/2015 13:11:20    1691629

Mowbar
I am not being negative at all BreffniGuide to be honest I am delighted the way things are going 3 from 4 is fantastic. I am asking the question where we will pick up more points and you accuse me of being negative. I am hoping it continues as it's going but I honestly am worried about where we will pick up the points required to make sure we are safe first the rest can follow once safe. Kildare will not want to drop any points against us and Down plus Meath the same. Westmeath are not doing bad so another hard match. The easy ones are now over so I am asking the question as a genuine question not as a negative one far from it.

But why ask the question and state we will struggle for points? You seem to think it normal to assume we'll struggle against Westmeath, whom we beat missing 7/8 starters last year, Down, who we have already beaten in the McKenna Cup already this year, and Meath, who we hammered in their own ground two years ago. As for Kildare, I don't see any reason to be afraid of them following their losses to Down and Meath. Yes, we owe them a hammering after 3 years ago but the two teams are totally different in terms of personnel and tactics since then. You say Kildare, Meath and Down won't want to drop points against us - what type of theory is that. The aim is to get as many points as possible, no team will want to drop points against us! Do ya think the Rossy lads and Laois just handed us over the three points!? As others have said, we'll take it one game at a time and I see no reason we can't beat Down in our next game at home. I certainly wouldn't be posting negative opinions about us having our easy games over and that we'll struggle for more points. We have nothing to fear.
Others have said they wouldn't like to go up to Division 1 yet. Why not? We'd learn more from going up to Division 1 and playing better teams, even if we are relegated again, then we will sitting in Division 2 for a few years.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 09/02/2015 13:18:15    1691633

Impressive score tally for Cavan in opening LEague games compared to what was happening in the MCKenna Cup Obviously works been done to correct things!

Good win in Laois even if Laois are in root and very poor at the minute, Few weeks break now and a very winable home game to push on.
Should beat westmeath at home also and Kildare are no world beaters We should have enough to keep are status in Division 2 for next season anyway and to turn our attention to and build for Monaghan in Champo Opener...

Dr.Phil (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 09/02/2015 13:27:37    1691638

SGoldrick , I'd imagine it was Roscommon in Breffni 2 years ago - last game of the campaign , think we were missing a few key players but it was a lack lustre performance if I remember correctly in front of an expectant crowd .
I'd agree with posters that there's no reason to say our easy games are over . Everyone is capable of beating everyone . All our remaining games are winnable just as they are loseable . 4 more points is a realistic target .
Would be my preference not to go into Division 1 . Teams that go in there when they're not ready can sometimes unravel spectacularly - Westmeath a few years ago being an extreme example where they free fell to Division 3 , not winning a game in two years . Not saying that would happen us but there is plenty for us to learn in Division 2 with something to fight for in every game . It's a good place to build for the long term .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 09/02/2015 14:35:48    1691668

I agree with the posters about the goalkeeper who has almost cost us a goal a game.
Time to try Galligan again as he can also take frees as well as deal with the high ball.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 09/02/2015 14:45:46    1691677

Had a great weekend in laois was delighted with the win and the more attacking style of play was happy with the changes was glad to see jack brady play well and fight for the ball the lad has had a lot of slack on here mcenroe was a great asset when brought on i am happy with the keeper and dont agree he costs us a goal a game i dont remember him letting too many in last year i also think him and rory have a great understanding i dont know who called wrong sat nite i wasnt close enough to hear when a keeper makes a mistake they are destoyed on sites like this my brother s son was a county keeper not for cavan and felt he couldnt take the critizm which can at times be constant so he left stangely the lad they were all shouting about to replace him made mistakes too not many are perfect i suppose he has kept us in manys a game and sometimes feel the players dont give him a lot of options for short kick outs personally felt the backs were not up to full speed sat but i didnt mind as they are trying new things and i loved it gilsenan made great saves in ros and held on well sat evening even when fouled out field players can make lots of mistakes in a game dont get near as much grief i know some people have agendas maybe someone from their own club available i just believe that their are 14 players before a goalie on another point is young hesson un 21 this year

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 09/02/2015 17:04:03    1691751

have we learned nothing on this forum.
Not so long ago Alan O'Meara was brave enough to come out in public and admit he was suffering from depression. He admitted there were very dark periods in his young life.
Now I'm not saying any of the current squad are suffering from this problem, but its like this lads, if they were , this constant begrudging and knocking would not help them.
These are young men doing their best. They don't set out to make mistakes.Nobody is perfect !They sacrifice and train hard and get nothing but abuse.
These are elite AMATEUR athletes and we would do well to bear that in mind as we judge them

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 09/02/2015 17:40:56    1691780

Stirring it

Totally agree great start to league ,great to see the lads trying new things looking forward to down game

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 09/02/2015 17:48:26    1691788

To criticise amateur players is low. Fair enough if we the fans were paying their wages we'd have every right to air our views, but they're doing it for nothing. Cop on and leave it off.

I've heard some amount of garbage levelled at players from the stands over the years, and let me tell you this, the players DO hear it, and are fully conscious of it. So come on, no need. Now I know you need to be mentally tough to be an inter-county player and what's written on forums shouldn't be any concern to you, but we're not all equipped with an immunity from criticism.

If players are not performing it's an issue between player and manager.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/02/2015 18:33:48    1691810

StirringIt.... Where do you think these players are playing ...? In a war zone...? Supporters are also allowed to make an odd mistake in their excitement or dissappointment after paying good money to travel to and enter these games to vent their fury at what they are seeing..its only natural Shouting out at players and officials has gone on in all sports since time began and always will...

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 09/02/2015 19:11:07    1691830

It was a pleasant change to see Cavan team driving forward and creating scores. I thought Dara mc Veety and the two Killians did well . I didn't think mc Kiernan had a good game. Martin Dunne is not able to win his own ball and we should try other options. I don't know why they put on a sub with a half a minute of extra time to go. Can't do much for a player to be put on at that time.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 09/02/2015 19:42:14    1691851

The sub come on in injury time to bring us back up to 15 players.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 09/02/2015 20:25:07    1691871

Bit late in posting but great night in Portlaoise. The support the players got from the fans was great and the cheers Gunnar got near the end was just brilliant. While the scoreboard showed what we can do (9 points in first half, 8 in second) I think that Laois were very poor. They did play a sweeper but I don't think they knew how to use him. In saying that we hit a few nice scores under pressure (McEnroe's 2 points for example). The most satisfying aspect of the game was our calmness when we conceded the goals. No panic, stick to the game plan, and keep working hard. Even when things seem to be going against us when Dara was blown for traveling and Jason too (which were dodgy calls especially Jason's), we kept at it. There is maturity building in these players. They don't panic, they know how to play football, and they don't give up. It two points, that is all, job done. Congrats on the great start to the league lads. Congrats to the supporters who appeared to outnumber the home crowd. Hopefully we will give the same support in Breffni for round 3 and 4.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 10/02/2015 09:06:48    1691924

Worst Laois performance I've seen since 2002 and I've watched a lot of them living next door to the pitch for the last so many years I'm living here.

I kinda knew that would be the case players not believing in the manager 3 more dropped off the panel during the week leading up to the game...

Cavan looked decent in spells but took along time to put away a very poor team .

Some nice football played in spells and Cavan tackling was very good.

3 points sets ye up nicely for a shot at promotion

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 10/02/2015 09:21:06    1691932

Sean66

StirringIt.... Where do you think these players are playing ...? In a war zone...? Supporters are also allowed to make an odd mistake in their excitement or dissappointment after paying good money to travel to and enter these games to vent their fury at what they are seeing..its only natural Shouting out at players and officials has gone on in all sports since time began and always will...

And what does it achieve.? I don't know what kind of supporter you are. I go to club matches - local lads doing their best. Sometimes its not good enough but I don't shout abuse. I shout encouragement.
Shouting abuse has a negative effect on confidence and performance. How would you feel if it was you, your brother, father, son ....

Shouting abuse should not be tolerated. It's for the ignorant which I'm sure you don't belong .. Encouragement is more positive

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 10/02/2015 10:54:09    1691960

i think shouting at players during the game is not as bad as singling out players for critisism on a forum such as this.
I mean we all get over-excited during games but when the dust settles and we go home we do realise that they are all great lads and far better than we could ever hope to be. however it apparently is not OK to make a jokey remark against a wummer poster.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 10/02/2015 11:56:48    1692009

StirringIt.... Nobody here is shouting abuse at players and as for them hearing it while playing I would think not..not if they are focused and their mind totally on the game... A bigger problem for the Gaa is the standard of refeering and they wonder why refs are getting loads of abuse..? It just beggars belief !!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 10/02/2015 12:13:56    1692029

i agree that refereeing is terrible - most of the time they do not apply the rules. Even when they do they will get abused for it. Who in there right mind would be one? Its time to up ther standard, maybe add a second referee as most are middle aged men trying to keep up with elite athletes - they can't do it. Its different in Rugby because its a slow game - however in fast games such as basketball and it has a short court, about 30m they have 2 referees, and in the nba 3 !!

We have a fourth official being paid to hold up a sign and record subs. Anyone could do this - there are enough officials at games to do this job and use the current fourth official as an extra ref. I'm not saying its the answer but its a suggestions.

As for players not hearing comments if they are concentrating - believe me they hear them !! But in the heat of the moment they are roared out but to come on to forums and publically critise they - a little understanding as no one knows whats going on in their.

Its a simple to encourage as it is to criticise - we need to change our habits. Take a club game - if the corner forward misses - you don't abuse him - you should c'mon ***** next time !!!

We need an attitude change - we need to remember the sarcrifices the players make on a voluntary basis and we need to remember they are only human like us all and subject to making mistakes.
The person who never made a mistake made nothing. Experience is another word for ' mistakes were made " !!!!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 10/02/2015 12:37:24    1692040

Sean 66
I would so loved to have have you in my team at work i dont always agree with you but your a master at turning attention to some thing else on refreering i do agree with you i am not sure how the issue can be addressed but some very blatened bad decisions in last two games

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 10/02/2015 12:53:41    1692050