McKenna Cup

Decent first half yesterday, second half was weaker but when Monaghan put the pressure on Cavan still managed to hang on, thought defended fairly well.. Both teams are missing regulars and come championship that'll make things a lot closer.. Few lads done themselves no harm yesterday thought mark mckeever had a good game and think that he is a good option to start for Cavan in championship, think Ronan Flanagan was solid but I think he's wasted at center back and given our choice in the forwards he be better utilized starting in the corner and maybe roaming a bit as he seems to suit a free role. Thought Martin Reilly put in another good performance. What about the goalkeeper are people happy with gilsenean or is Farrelly a better option.. All in all McKenna cup hasn't been too bad a campaign so far ..be good to beat Fermanagh wen night give lads another chance to look at more players and set Cavan up nicely for the start of the league having another couple of games under belt..

thecavanman (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 19/01/2015 11:45:39    1684453

yes the uuj students are available again on wed night

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 19/01/2015 12:06:20    1684464

Yesterday panned out as expected, given the teams that were sent out. Would not mind the score too much either at half or full-time. One thing that was learned is Monagahn are in deep trouble around the middle of the field. Lads will be on here talking about all the players to come back for them, but in reality its only Owen Lennon that will add anything in midfield compared to what we saw yesterday. With Argue McEnroe and Mackey still to come in, we can build a dominant middle third for the championship.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/01/2015 13:27:17    1684497

Lennon, Darren Hughes can both make a massive difference as with Clerkin the cavan dominance in the middle of field happen when clerkin lined out at full forward. Beggan's kickouts will be landing 25 metres further than Duffy's yesterday which will relieve the pressure on midfield.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 19/01/2015 14:44:10    1684540

If T Corr (Denn) is available Wednesday night I would start him and B Sankey midfield put Damien OReilly back to CHBack and play Ronan Flanagan in the forwards instead of Jack Brady. Thoughts?

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 19/01/2015 14:47:42    1684541

I don't know why Monaghan people are coming on here trying to make something out of nothing re McKiernan. He was sent off for trying to strike a Monaghan player, nothing else. I didn't see it myself but from the minute the scuffle happened, the Monaghan man beside me said McKiernan was in trouble as he had seen it. The referee also consulted with his umpires who told him to send McKiernan off. They must have supersonic hearing to be able to hear what is said 40 yards away over.

Yesterday didn't tell us much about either team except that both need to improve their discipline. Stupid and needless sendings off for both. Cavan were very good in the first half but the worry for us would be that we were so far ahead yet allowed Monaghan back in and needed a great save from Gilsenen to rescue the win. Monaghan improved greatly in the second half and Clerkin was a huge addition at midfield. Cavan could do with a few players having the bite that he offered.

One thing Cavan do need to look at is our full forward line. I heard one man in the terrace roaring at McKiernan at one stage to let the ball into the square. To what? Two Cavan players less than 6 foot against three Monaghan backs. Brady and Dunne got very little out of the Monaghan back line and that'd be my worry. A strong physical presence is going to be needed in there and I can't see who is going to fulfill the role. For me, you either go with Brady or Dunne. Not both. They don't offer enough to the team.

Fantastic to see the long range point scoring by Cavan but we need to work on taking our shots like that and not running into trouble as we have a tendency to do. Our players tend to overcarry the ball into the tackle when a better option is available from a pass.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 19/01/2015 15:16:35    1684558

People can say what they like, but the truth is unless there's a complete overall of the club system in Cavan, we'll be playing Division 2/3 football for the forseeable future. There needs to be regular club football in Cavan, and the County players should be allowed to play with their clubs on a regular basis, 1. to keep interest in Club football & 2. to encourage the younger members of the team.
The master fixtures for 2015 are out and already, there are a number of concerns with them, notably, the gap between fixtures, Breffni League kicks off the the 22nd February, there's a gap until the 8th March, and then another gap til the ACFL on the 22nd March.
Anyone recall the good old days in the 90s when Cavan football was going strong? Regular league games every Sunday, Championship kicked off on time, no 6 to 7 week gaps until your next match, regular football improves players.
The GAA as an association has turned professional, fat cats in Croker on 100k salaries, whilst the players on the pitch get absolutely nothing.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 19/01/2015 15:28:07    1684564

Dean Martin, what has this got to do with McKenna Cup?
Also to the 90's, Did Gowna not play Crosserlough in a league final in March from the previous year around 98?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 19/01/2015 15:46:17    1684574

Unreal how negative we are. The truth is, some of ye would be delighted if Cavan lost every game for the rest of the year. I was delighted with 1st half display yesterday. And for all the stick the full forward line get, they won almost every ball, and some of them they had no right to win! The 2 man half forward line of Brady and Conroy cut the Monaghan backs open with their runs and kicking in the 1st half,and linked up nicely with the 2 inside, was a joy to watch. McVeety and Mckeever were operating deeper, leaving space and it worked well. The tackling by the forwards was excellent for the majority of the game. McDermott and Dunne need games so was good to get 40/50 minutes in their legs. The wind appeared to be very strong in the second half and going down to 14 made it very difficult as Monaghan left their spare men in their half back line, starving our forwards. But they stopped kicking the ball totally in the second half and this put us under a lot of pressure. Backs were always on top, Rory was excellent and Jason was very good. The runners at the end coming through had us in a little panic but Gilsenan produced a super save.
Few things to work on, but lots of positives, and lots of progression. Keep it up lads, and if any of ye read this board, please stop as 99% of it is pure nonsense.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 19/01/2015 16:04:44    1684576

Breff81 i don't think they are available to Cavan for Wed night. I was under the impression that once you played for a side in the Mckenna cup you ruled yourself out of any other games with a different team.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/01/2015 16:08:04    1684577

Will McKiernans red card rule him out of our opening league fixture v Roscommon on Feb 1st... If so he would be a huge loss as he is comming right back into form..!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 19/01/2015 16:36:54    1684590

ean66

Will McKiernans red card rule him out of our opening league fixture v Roscommon on Feb 1st... If so he would be a huge loss as he is comming right back into form..!!!

It will depend how long he gets. He will probably get two games. he miss Wednesdays game and also the final if we get there so that will leave him clear for the league.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 19/01/2015 16:58:57    1684596

Ulster council going to open an investigation in a verbal altercation... No smoke without fire

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 20/01/2015 09:53:12    1684689

Cavan 97...It's got everything to do with the McKenna Cup, year after year, we've heard the same sill comments from people - the future is blue, blah, blah...the future is far from blue and unless there is a massive overall in the structure of Cavan Football, things will remain as is. Only 2 years ago, we got to a Q/Final of the All Ireland against Kerry - men against boys is an understatement and all because of the silly negative football that the management want to prevail with. That year was meant to signal a change in Cavan Football, apparently, we were back to where we belonged, and then low and behold, we go to Croker last year and again, we lost out to a vastly superior Roscommon side in the league final and again in the qualifiers on our home patch.
The fact is, we have a number of forwards who would test any team in the Country, some of these forwards arent even on the County panel, and the ones that are, remain on the bench and all because, Terry Hyland wants to stick with this negative, possession football. In addition, we have lads on the County Panel who may not make the 26 man match squad, yet theyre not allowed to play with their clubs - have a look at any successfull football County - their County players play week in, week out with their clubs - theres not long delays, lads are playing regular football. Unless, the ACFL is taken seriously and theres a complete overall of the club scene, the future is bleak, not blue...Cavan/Mongaghan on Sunday, local derby - 1000 people, Armagh/Tyrone a few weeks back, almost 20,000, Dublin/Kildare next week, expected crowd of 20,000 - by the way Cavan 97, the reason that match was delayed until March 98 was because of Cavan's success in 97, remember, when we actually played good, attacking, positive football, and player were playing week in week out for their clubs??

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 20/01/2015 10:00:34    1684690

DeanMartin it seems you have a gripe with

1. County Board club fixtures
2. Terry Hylands selection policy
3. Terry Hylands tactics

There has been not club football played as of yet, so you cant complain about McKenna cup fixture congestion. Selection policy is always up for debate but with students being torn between colleges, U21 and senior there is not a lot you Terry can do there, and tactics well that's always up debatable. This is the 20th January, and by your first post your main gripe was fixture congestion, so again how is this a McKenna Cup issue?

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 20/01/2015 10:44:54    1684707

Deanmartin..... One of the better posts!

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 20/01/2015 11:13:37    1684713

great post deanmartin

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 20/01/2015 12:54:46    1684753

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

1684577 Breff81 i don't think they are available to Cavan for Wed night. I was under the impression that once you played for a side in the Mckenna cup you ruled yourself out of any other games with a different team.

Terry Hyland in his interview after the game said that the college lads will be available for the semi final and that they have had to make do without them until now.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 20/01/2015 13:04:53    1684760

Thanks Cavan 97...I wouldnt call it a gripe, merely fed up hearing that Cavan Football is on the up, when in reality, its far from it. It needs fixing. I played senior football from a young age of 16, represented the County up to U-21. In those days, you trained twice weekly,with a game at the weekend, there was regular league games every weekend, and the championship was played over the course of a few weeks, not like now, when teams could wait 3/4 weeks for their next game. I also travelled the length & breadth of Ulster watching good Cavan Teams play good, entertaining football - the same guys togging out week in/week out for their club teams.
Now we have a meaningless Breffni league, starting in January and going on until June/July, the actual leauge starts in March, probably wont finish until September - the intermediate championship final is scheduled for the 4th October 2015 - give it a thought Cavan 97, a number of intermediate players on the Cavan Panel - they started training with Cavan last October 2014, and they could still be playing a club competition next October - 12 months - is it any wonder why football is so bad and 28 to 30yr olds are retiring?

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 20/01/2015 13:22:49    1684769

You are spot on 'deanmartin' with your post... People on here got carried away with us getting to An-Ireland QF but failed to see that London reaching their 1st Connaught Final was probably the reason we got there... We need a good show in the league to show if we are really makeing any progress...as I said before the standard in Div 3 last season was deplorable...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 20/01/2015 13:42:56    1684778