McKenna Cup

A full half without scoring, it's incredible stuff, I mean McHale must be wondering to himself what sort of a setup he has walked into. It's just unheard of in other counties, you simply wouldn't get this ideology anywhere.

There isn't a scoring forward in the county of Cavan, it's a crisis! We're talking about making huge strides and progress and Ulster u21's, look if we can't score a point in 35 minutes of football then what chance do we have against a team thats any way half decent?

Our team is too light also. What a loss Keating and Givney are, two players who would have made a huge difference to us last night in terms of physicality.

Gonna be a very tough task to stay in division 2.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 25/01/2015 11:31:56    1686168

Starting to really wonder if this idea of cavans strength-in-depth is all its cracked up to be. we have 15-20 decent, honest squad players who are so similar in quality as to be indistinguishable from each other. These lads can run all day, tackle in packs and cover ground, perfect for numbers 3,4,5,7,10,12, and 13.
But we still only have 3-4 operators of real quality for the key positions- mckiernan, Clarke, Mackey and maybe Rory dunne. Maybe it's the same for other counties, but the outcome of cavans u21 success is that we now have enough players to field 2 reasonable div3 teams but not enough real quality to put 1 serious team together.
Could be why terry hyland does not know his best 15

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 25/01/2015 11:56:58    1686173

So predictable, the MOANFEST.
When you reflect on the game after the dust has settled, I think that's as good a performance from Cavan in the first half that I can remember !
Second point - that was Tyrone at pretty much full strength, no ?
Third point - the substitutions that Tyrone made, Paidi McNulty, McCurry, Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte seriously strengthened Tyrone,we didnt even have the luxury of countering those subs with Michael Argue, Gearoid McKiernan, Cian Mackey ? do you not think they would have made a difference ?
There were serious positives in the first half, the second half was just not good enough from us, but I would put that down more to Tyrone's waft of class subs, something we didnt have the luxury of ?
But no its easier for the "experts" to point and moan and whinge, no perspective at all, never had, never will.

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 25/01/2015 12:11:42    1686177

5allirelands
So predictable, the MOANFEST.

There were serious positives in the first half, the second half was just not good enough from us, but I would put that down more to Tyrone's waft of class subs, something we didnt have the luxury of ?
But no its easier for the "experts" to point and moan and whinge, no perspective at all, never had, never will.

Sorry, I'm not having that. No team should go a complete half without scoring and if my memory serves me right probably no kicks that went wide either. I mean what other county or club team would go a complete 37 or 38 mins with one feeble attempt. you can't put it all down to the brilliance of Tyrone. because they were not brilliant by any stretch of the imagination. There is something seriously wrong with the coaching/tactics that would allow decent players to go through a half with so few attempts on goal. I am not going back to the 40s or 50s here or even the 60s or 70s. but I never witnessed anything like that in the 80s, 90s or 00s.. explain that.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/01/2015 12:54:19    1686186

Folks, in assessing what happened last night you have to take the following into consideration:

1. It was a final, no team good enough to get to a final should then proceed not to score in 35 minutes of play.
2. Cavan scored 10 points in the first half, no team who scores 10 times in the opening half should then be unable to score in the second half!
3. Cavan not only scored 10 points in the first half but went in 4 points up. How many teams play in a final, lead by 4 at half time and don't win, never mind not score?

No, the second half last night showed up a fault line that needs to be fixed! I don't buy in to the Tyrone changes, they are not a patch on their teams of the mid 2000's.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 25/01/2015 13:30:15    1686195

I thought the worst thing about the second half was the refusal of individuals to take responsibility for themselves. Fear is the other thing - any player who thinks himself up to county standard should be able to kick a ball from 30-40 yards. All this strength and conditioning and they can't drive a ball even wide and at least get a restart on equal terms. We saw poor halves against both Monaghan and Fermanagh but we just weren't punished. I can't think of a single club in Cavan that plays this kind of football so where is it coming from? Like everyone else who followed Cavan through the worst years, we seldom played without heart and courage but that seems to be off limits now. Liam McHale is only a few wet weeks in the camp. He must be baffled at what he is seeing and wondering if he has made a bad mistake. As regards physicality, our team is not that small. Tyrone have some average sized men but they play like bigger men. I'm not looking forward to next weekend but I'll still go to the match in the hope that the team will make a statement about itself. In fairness they did that for most of the first half last night.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 25/01/2015 13:33:11    1686196

Eh Lads..........it's the McKenna Cup....a good workout, naught more

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 25/01/2015 13:45:46    1686199

Look I don't think Cavan are as bad as the second half suggested, it seem the wind increased in the second half. Hyland in my opinion has to get the best players in Cavan onto the field. If Cavan had Mackey,Givney,McKiernan,Keating and Johnston on the field it would make a huge difference. Arguably them players are in the top 7 players in Cavan adding Rory Dunne and Killian Clarke into that 7. Hyland has to realise that the style of football cavan play will only get you so far. Donegal evolved their play so far it seems the same with as day dot with Hyland. Cavan move the ball far too slow and its seems players take the easy option instead of taking risks. Its lies with the management not the players for last nights show.

Newguy22 (Louth) - Posts: 8 - 25/01/2015 14:10:49    1686202

I DID say in my piece that not scoring in the 2nd half is totally unacceptable, I know that.
They will have to have something up their sleeves for the Rossies, see where they are routing Galway in the FBD League Final right now !
I was never confident about this particular fixture, now Im dreading it.
Where is Argue ? Is he injured ? Could he not do a job at full forward for 20 mins seeing that we're crying out for a ball winner.
Would you agree "S Goldrick" that our only hope of points are the Laois, Westmeath, Down and Galway games ?
Can's see us beating the Rossies, Galway or Kildare.

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 25/01/2015 15:25:25    1686218

I DID say that going the second half without scoring is totally unacceptable, we all know that.
Would you agree, S Goldrick, that we should target the Laois Westmeath, Down and Meath games for points ?
I can't see us getting anything of Kildare, Galway or Roscommon !
On another point, where is Michael Argue ? Is he injured ? Could do with him maybe at full forward against Roscommon as a ball winner.

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 25/01/2015 15:49:14    1686221

Jesus lads your very downcast. It's only the mc kenna cup. Tyrone take it very seriously due to its connection with the late cormac mc anellan. Ye Have a great chance in division two. I was at a lot of monaghan's games last year and they were ordinary enough. The one difference between us is that we have Conor mc manus while Ye have no one. Apart from that both teams are equal enough and it will be a toss of a coin who wins in the championship

room2 (Monaghan) - Posts: 96 - 25/01/2015 16:56:26    1686235

Cavan did start out very well with good performances in a lot of ways, positives were speed of the attack, good scores taken from out the field fast ball to Martin Dunne, good tackles and turnovers. We went in in the lead at half time, I thought moving mc veety into fullback line was a mistake, Hayes had a shaky start and was on yellow but had settled and does attack well, but mc veety was very good in half forward line was crucial to our attack and I think that's where the rot set in when he was gone out of it, he had an excellent first half there and was excellent against Fermanagh till injured. Hyland seems to have great faith in Flanagan but he is a big part of the pass sideways pass back problem. Kicking frees backwards is the road to nowhere, do we have a kicking coach for the forwards someone like Larry Reilly Jason reilly???. Killian Clarke and Mark mc keever had very good games. The management need to question ther own decisions as in not responding to the Tyrone substitutions at all. It's not all doom we played some very nice football in first half can't understand why the team didn't just come out and build on that in second half. As for the inside forwards they are makin runs and calls for ball and must despair seeing the half back line and a sweeper turn around and go back ways, let them take a chance and get the ball forward its not fair to blame Dunne and Mc Dermott would love to see their possession stats as opposed to say Flannagans or DJ reillys, the latter two must have 5 for every 1 the forwards have.???. Good luck to the team next week in The league, don't be disheartened there was a lot of good last night and we owe Roscommon one, go on lads we can do it.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 25/01/2015 17:00:19    1686237

Shannon. 414.... I think you are right about Flannagan...he slows the game down too much going crossways and back...sur didnt he famously kick a sideline ball in the attacking half back to the goalkeeper against the mighty London in Croke Park....the forwards must dread seeing him get the ball... Then again the chap is only doing what management are telling him...! No wonder we despair....'!!!!!!!!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 25/01/2015 18:20:19    1686259

Very different Cavan team to the one who were scoring great points from all angles against us , Dunne did well Clarke went quiet in the second half, thought McKeever was good , what age is he ? I'm expecting a good div 2 from Cavan ,

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 25/01/2015 19:33:10    1686292

Also where is Mackey this year?

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 25/01/2015 19:44:13    1686296

Looking at Cavan's fixtures for the league I can see them back in Division 3 next year Away to Roscommon,Laois,Galway and Meath
Kildare,Down and Westmeath at home the only banker I can see is a win against Westmeath. Could be a long year for Cavan if they don't bring back the big names. Away wins are not easily picked up.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 25/01/2015 19:58:56    1686307

A County Team not scoring in an entire half is shambolic - I've seen a lot of drivel written this week about how far we progressed under Hyland - if not scoring in a entire half is progression, they need to re-write the meaning of progression in the Collins dictionary. Poor management is the root cause of it all - no plan b...Fantastic 1st half, no shackles on, we attacked and ran through Tyrone and scored at leisure, the players actually seemed to be enjoying themselves for one, Lyng was the playmaker and was picking out good runs by the full forward line, 2nd half, they take off Lyng, we stop attacking, and start playing the ball left, right and backwards - Tyrone make a few subs, they get a few scores on the board, and Terry has no answer.
In essence, we got beat by students, scraped through Monaghan (raised the white flag once in the 2nd half), and scrapped through Fermanagh.
And some people would describe this as improvement!!!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 25/01/2015 20:38:58    1686332

No shame in losing to Tyrone; still maybe the most talented team in Ulster.
It's not really about the McKenna cup at all, it's about the crazy football that's being played this year again.
No one wants to watch it and the attendances will show that if it continues.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 25/01/2015 21:02:20    1686344

No shame in losing to Tyrone at all BUT there is something wrong with lads who think that not scoring in an entire second half is fine. It's not.
There is something wrong with the psyche of the team. It needs to be addressed.
Scoring 10 points in one half and zilch in the second is not acceptable and need addressing. No worthwhile changes from the management in the second half is poor management in my book. Putting on a small lad for a small lad when a big target man is required is also poor. This needs addressing too. We need a plan B.

Going nowhere unless we have a back-up plan for when things are not working well (like Tyrone had).

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/01/2015 12:50:26    1686474

5allirelands

I DID say that going the second half without scoring is totally unacceptable, we all know that.
Would you agree, S Goldrick, that we should target the Laois Westmeath, Down and Meath games for points ?
I can't see us getting anything of Kildare, Galway or Roscommon !
On another point, where is Michael Argue ? Is he injured ? Could do with him maybe at full forward against Roscommon as a ball winner.

yes 5allirelands, I believe Argue is injured (but not long term). to be honest I can't see us beating Meath or Laois. Possibly Down and Westmeath. It's very worrying what is happenning in the second half of games. perhaps Terry should try and have his best 15 on the pitch at the end rather than the beginning.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/01/2015 13:00:03    1686479