Ulster SFC 2015. Cavan v Monaghan

great post ondforty.

not sure about about cavancop's post though, every team we beat were poor according to you, div2 was somehow poorer than div 3.
of course there is progress.

also do you see any other team chopping and changing players every year. all the successfully teams keep the same core players year-on-year, what would be the point of getting rid of all the players who have gained experience over the last 4 or 5 years only to replace them with similar or worse standard players that have no experience whatsoever at county level. Of course it's right to blood a few new players every year and that is what Terry is doing, We have a very large panel with 2 players at least for every position. we are not relying heavily on any one player so if we have an injury,suspension etc it can be absorbed painlessly, that is what the tersiary competition and the league is all about (building a strong panel).don't go back to the bad old days please.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/05/2015 17:57:07    1726733

Some very good points ondforty

I agree particularly about the seein what needs to be fixed and fix it. Please don't leave us watchin changes needin to be made and no changes till 5 mins to go, and also when the management do start to make a change why does it take on average 6- 10 mins to get a Cavan sub on? Sometimes the apparent lack of urgency in the Cavan bench/ management is sickenin to watch. I have put my money on Cavan, I know we can win my biggest fear is that the management will stand lookin at thd game driftin away from us and do nothin till it's too late. Take the brave decisive actions that need takin. The time for work in progress talk is past, it's time to deliver performances in Ulster championship, do that and then yes this management have done very good work, but it is time now.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 21/05/2015 19:08:52    1726771

Looking at the monaghan team and subs.. It is a formiddable squad.

Monaghan (SFC v Cavan) - Rory Beggan; Dessie Mone, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Fintan Kelly, Vinny Corey, Karl O'Connell; Neil McAdam, Dick Clerkin; Owen Duffy, Paul Finlay, Darren Hughes; Dermot Malone, Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus.

Subs: Enda Duffy, Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle, Colin Walshe, Paudie McKenna, Owen Lennon, Stephen Gollogly, Shane Carey, Ryan McAnespie, Paul Meegan, Christopher McGuinness.

where do you think our strengths lie . where do you think we might have the upperhand. I certainly think Monaghan's full back line is going to be on top whether it's Mone or Walshe in there. We won't get much change out of that line. Fintan Kelly is a player that I greatly admire and him and Corey are a major threat going forward, (Don't know a great deal about O'Connell). I think we might have the upperhand at midfield but I'm sure O'Rourke will make changes in that dept throughout the game, the 2 starters will certainly not play the full game and Lennon would be a great option from the bench.also Darren Hughes could well take up a position in the middle of the park. Apart from McManus I think we can handle their forwards (Although Killian Clarke is a loss). I thought Killian Brady might get a start in his place. We will definitely needs goals in this match , I can't see us winning on points alone.

Monaghan definitely favourites but I hope we put upa good show .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/05/2015 13:20:59    1727044

Monaghan are.i agree very strong at the back.From midfield upwards they are not as strong other than McManus however Monaghan
are very interchangeable and our management need to completely think out all scenarios.Kieran Hughes in full forward line but will play a lot of ball around midfield and will be there for our kick outs to wings to Ml Argue,Hughes is a great fielder.When Kieran Hughes moves out he will bring Rory with him.This will leave McManus and Malone inside,Malone is very dangerous too,also Darren Hughes will move inside for a few minutes at a time and will be given a roaming job.Karl O'Connell is a seriously quick half back and tears upfield and will take watching.I am predicting that midfield will get to play no ball and that will be Monaghan's tactic,spoil,spoil,spoil around the middle.Dessie Mone,V Corey,O Connell give them a very good platform,i would concentrate on stopping their forward forays at all costs.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 22/05/2015 15:44:50    1727146

celt2018

I am predicting that midfield will get to play no ball and that will be Monaghan's tactic,spoil,spoil,spoil around the middle.Dessie Mone,V Corey,O Connell give them a very good platform,i would concentrate on stopping their forward forays at all costs.

Good point. We need to push up on the Monaghan kick outs and make them go long and then get our half forward and back line in for the breaks, we have more ferocious men around that area than Monaghan and we need to have Mackey and Reilly out for these kick outs.
In order to stop the Monaghan half backs attacking we need to stop them in their tracks at their own 45 yard line. By hook or by crook we need to stop them there and do whatever it takes to stop them.
There is a few of the Monaghan boys who lose the head from time to time and we need to needle in on these lads early.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 22/05/2015 16:15:51    1727166

Clarke hamstring gone again unfortunate loss but will have to make the most of what we have would expect an odd change on both teams and have heard rumours of one or two niggles on both sides i hope for a good competitive game on sunday best of luck to terry and the lads lets get behind the team nowinstead of picking fault confidence is a big factor so lets support our lads cabhan abu

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 22/05/2015 16:30:35    1727174

No real surprise with the Cavan set up for Sunday. Clarke a big loss.
I feel we won't be strong enough.
Hope I'm proved wrong.
Monaghan played Roscommon in a challenge recently and the local spectators were very impressed and they beat the Rossies well. It was a full blooded affair as far as challenge matches go.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 22/05/2015 17:12:05    1727200

If yous lose on Sunday that would make 1 Ulster championship game win in 5 years. A bleak thought for yourselves...

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 22/05/2015 18:16:15    1727218

get your facts right there kupa before you post

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 22/05/2015 18:44:22    1727228

Go On Cavan.. it would be some crack if ye won.. Monaghan similar to my own county have become quite arrogant for not really achieving anything over the past year or two.. Cavan's under age success is far more significant in my opinion... I am hoping form afar that ye can pull this off. things need to go 100% for ye and monaghan below 70% for ye to pull this off in my opinion.

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 22/05/2015 19:27:39    1727243

Very tight game to call. Monaghan might shade it for one reason only. Cavan's scoring average in division 2 is just over 12 points a game, while Monaghan's in a division higher is over 14 points a game. In a tight game Monaghan's better scoring forwards just might pull them through. Any thoughts lads

room2 (Monaghan) - Posts: 96 - 23/05/2015 08:09:49    1727297

Who's the real pressure on this Sunday? Ourselves or Monaghan?

The unfortunate reality is all the pressure is on Cavan. Why? Because we've threatened to become a force once again at senior football after dominating under 21 football in the province over the last number of years. Monaghan have USFC medals in their pockets, they have proven they are a top 6 side by surviving in division 1 comfortably.

Terry has his pick of four u21 winning teams to choose from, add in a damn good team from 2010 which lost the Ulster final and that's what he has at his disposal. No more talk about building for the future. No more talk about progress this and progress that. Now is the time to step up and make our mark of intent. And what better way to do it than knock Monaghan off their perch.

The manager will no longer have the excuse of "youth and inexperience" to fall back on. It's time to deliver the goods. 2014 was a huge setback, thrashed at home by Roscommon. Not Kerry, not Dublin, Roscommon.

Yes we've lost key players, I'd feel a lot more confident if we had Clarke, Givney and Keating, but we have to make do with what's there. This manager has brought a one-dimensional rigid football philosophy which other teams are now well capable of dealing with. So far we haven't seen a plan B. The league taught us very little. We, as fans will know all we need to know by tomorrow evening.

Best of luck to the management and players. An Cabhán Abú.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/05/2015 10:01:28    1727311

The problem for Cavan is that our forwards are far too light and easily bullied and dispossessed. Even Argue for all his size is easy to contain because he has no bulk. We just don't score enough ........ unless Terry & Co. have some plan up their sleeve that they haven't used to date.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/05/2015 10:10:54    1727312

That's a problem (light forwards) but unfortunately there isn't much Terry can do with that other than put them on steroids which a proud county like Cavan, at least, would not stoop to.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/05/2015 10:39:45    1727316

Fred I told you Clarke was out last Sunday but you knew better.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/05/2015 13:16:09    1727358

We'll see

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/05/2015 13:46:31    1727364

An absolutley brilliant article in today's Irish Times, by Malachy Clerkin, on the history of the Cavan V Monaghan derbies. . . A MUST read, even for neutrals!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 23/05/2015 18:09:29    1727451

Good luck to the seniors and minors today. We are all behind you.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/05/2015 09:21:15    1727534

Match day!

Can't wait for this one. The magic if the championship! I hope that we play with a bit of freedom today. I think we will see a more direct approach and if we can get our hands on the ball inside then we will put up a good score. This is a very strong Monaghan team who deserve respect but its breffni park in the first round of the Ulster championship. I can see us taking this one.

COME ON!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 24/05/2015 09:43:18    1727538

Hard luck lads like i said in pervious post mcmanus would be difference he got crucial scores, we had no plan upfront was terrible to watch and bringing keeper up to take a free and miss then bring him up to take a 45 and nearly went out for a line ball to monaghan,like allways we dont have the fire power to push on when we have a lead

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 24/05/2015 16:01:36    1727670