Ulster SFC 2015. Cavan v Monaghan

As far as match ups are concerned I would go with Killian Clarke on McManus, Dunne on Kieran Hughes if he plays inside, Mc Enroe on Finlay, Ciaran Brady on Gollogly and fergal Flanagan on Mone

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 06/05/2015 15:57:46    1720926

Mone will be picking up Mackey I would say.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 06/05/2015 17:09:49    1720969

I was going by the fact he started half forward in some league game, you are probably right though. Overall i feel we match them up fairly evenly from a defensive point of view, I do feel their defence will be on top though

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 06/05/2015 17:22:13    1720974

I agree Gollogly is very influential and has to be taken out of the game by a good marker.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 06/05/2015 18:29:29    1720989

Kilian Clarke I think is needed further up the field instead of marking McManus, good ball player. With Gearoid, Kilian and possibly Argue around the middle, we should clean Monaghan out of it there. D Hughes is a good baller but he won't win anything over Gearoid, I think we'll see the 2 Hughes lads midfield.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/05/2015 19:17:34    1720997

Can I assume there will be tickets on the gate for the terrace ?
There's a clatter of us travelling over from England on the day.

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 06/05/2015 21:09:45    1721022

Gollogly probably wont even start so don't worry about him.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 06/05/2015 21:41:58    1721033

Knoxboyo
County: Monaghan

There has always been in Breffni in the past so no reason to believe this year should be any different - apart from the fact that this is the Ulster Council who seem to make it their business to make things as awkward as possible for the supporters.

Supervalu in Virginia or Cavan should be able to hold them for you if you want to be on the safe side. Shouldn't be necessary but you never know.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/05/2015 09:16:32    1721054

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 07/05/2015 11:04:25    1721108

Yes Knoxboyo.
Usually to the Right of the main turnstiles

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 07/05/2015 11:19:00    1721120

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 07/05/2015 13:06:42    1721189

while the rest of us are looking forward to the big match the irish star is trying to stir sh!t
http://hoganstand.com/Cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=236900
I'm not making little of the incident but why concentrate on the negatives - typical tabloid !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 08/05/2015 18:31:52    1721639

Knoxboyo, if you wish, you can book your tickets online at www.tickets.ie
To save time however, you might wish to give a local Irish postal address for collection (rather than a UK address)

Monagael (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 10/05/2015 10:56:01    1721931

What do ye make of this, a Monaghan player just failed a drug test. hasn't named the player. Is this the first Footballer to fail a drugs test? Don't think I've hear of it before.

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=236934

smokinaces (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 10/05/2015 11:01:54    1721932

Smokinaces

Aidan O'Mahoney failed one a few years ago - think he had taken medication or something which contained a banned substance.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/05/2015 11:42:04    1721951

First off apologies for the triple posting of my previous message - obviously an error there.

Thanks to all responses, most helpful.

...and Jaysus this latest story on the drugs test (if right) is the last thing we need.

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 10/05/2015 13:12:01    1721984

Apparently, its a former fringe player. Not to "jump the gun", there is a fair chance that it could be medically related.

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 10/05/2015 13:40:09    1721998

Lads,

Where do yous reckon Martin Reilly will play? He's one of the few players we have who can get scores from range, and yet last year he was played in the full back line which is entirely counter-productive in my view as he is better offensively.

The reason I ask is because he is an industrious player and the manager might be tempted to play him in front of McManus.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 12/05/2015 18:50:35    1722937

Anyone know who is refereeing the match? It's high time we got a good one.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 12/05/2015 19:27:46    1722955

Intrigued to see R Flanagan line out at full forward against Meath.? Do ye think they will play him there against Monaghan.? Hard to judge from Meath game, thought Meath very weak , no intensity at all, looked like the didn't want to know. One or two good Cavan performances,

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 12/05/2015 21:34:58    1723011