The Qualifiers

Replying To s goldrick:  "Kildare refusing to play in Croke Park I hear and good for them. They have home advantage, why would you want to hand it to Mayo(croke park being their second home)."
I say what goes around comes around. Has everyone forgotten what Kildare got up to in terms of abusing GAA rules a few years ago, sticking 2 fingers up to the organisation's ethos. Hard to feel any pity for them.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 25/06/2018 23:07:27    2115080

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Absolutely 100% agree."
Don't agree......wouldn't be any advantage or Cavan to play there against Tyrone ........any chance you get to play in Croke Park...take it...will benefit your team in the future !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 25/06/2018 23:17:24    2115087

Replying To s goldrick:  "Kildare refusing to play in Croke Park I hear and good for them. They have home advantage, why would you want to hand it to Mayo(croke park being their second home)."
I totally agree Croke Park CCCC bullying their way again. What would they have done if Breifni was playable?? I would say they would play it in Kildare. I hope Kildare stick their heels in on this one

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 25/06/2018 23:30:09    2115101

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Jim Gavin could take over Cavan next year and there wouldn't be an improvement. You cant teach players to be intelligent, or to do intelligent things on pitch, a player either has intelligence or he hasn't, sadly, the majority of footballers in Cavan lack any sort of footballing intelligence. A manager can only pick the team, he cant play the match for them. Go to any club game in Cavan, the football is absolutely terrible, but it has been for a long time. The issue is not with management, the issue is with the County Board and their continuing ignorance towards grass roots and development. The underage structure in Cavan is in massive, massive trouble, yet they continue to ignore it year after year. All they're interested in is each club sending in 2/3 players to development squads with the remaining players left behind to fend for themselves. And its clear that these development squads do not work. They introduced a new U17 grade, yet multiple clubs were unable to field teams, so many games were conceded. Two of these clubs are senior (Gaels and Killygarry) conceded 3/4 games each, so surely when two of your bigger senior clubs are unable to field teams, it must fire off some sort of warning shot ! There were no rules for how clubs amalgamate at all, some clubs amalgamated, yet were able to put two teams in some underage competitions and they then let the County U17 manager dictate fixtures and tell young lads not to play with their clubs. Then you have multiple players in every club over the age of 17 who have played no football this year. They now have to wait for a Mickey Mouse u21 competition that nobody cares about to commence in November. The County Board decided there was no need for an u19 competition because those players would have enough football playing reserve and senior football - they are so far detached from reality, they cant see the massive drop out rate with kids turning to other sports."
I agree with the u17 grade amalgamations comment. I think what has happened with the u17 league starting before the u15 league earlier this year, many parents of last year's u14's saw the u17 league as too much of a step up for 13/14 year olds, especially if you are playing strong amalgamated outfits with up to 3 teams to pick from, and held them back where they wouldn't have had a problem if it was the normal u16 league as in previous years. Hopefully, this will change with the u17 championship but now lads will be on holiday so it will be the same I reckon. Anyway, if you look at Drumloman Gaels, they had enough for 2 teams if you look at last year's u16 final, it was fairly evident and the point was made at the presentation of the cup. I believe there were at least 30 lads togged for that final although I've heard it may have been closer to 40. Something wrong there ! Definitely, one of those teams could have competed on their own and let the other team amalgamate with some other team.

From a development point of view, if you can't test yourself and play, you won't develop. If Killygarry or the Gaels were to amalgamate with each other or other teams, like other amalgamations, many good players won't get much game time, and may quit or at least will not be too happy,

Whatever the amalgamation rules are, they should be reviewed.

I've seen u13 girl's teams play the full 3g pitch, why not u17 boys ? It's not all about winning the cup ! There will only ever be one winner ! Everyone wants to play for their club first and foremost ! Maybe if there was a 13 a side competition for teams that were struggling for a squad, would that be a bad thing ? Run a competition for amalgamations in between the league and championship and Bob's your uncle ! The amalgamated competition based on parishes or some other divider may help produce a higher quality game and player and possibly act as a conveyor for development squads. There's a game for everyone with their club ! Every kid plays and everyone's a winner !

With regard to the senior team, negativity will get you nowhere ! Down normally score goals, we didn't concede any, I think that's a very positive statistic, we won the god damned game, that's a positive statistic ! Just because it's Tyrone, you can't go out thinking you're beaten ! Tyrone would want us to think that ! The crowd getting behind your team could be worth 3 or 4 points on any given day ! Anything can happen, the referee has a huge bearing on the outcome of the game, Sean Cavanaugh or Peter Canavan is not playing no more. Names mean nothing anyway, look at how Down performed after their big names were blackcarded or injured or sent off, they still performed well ! It's all on the day and were unlucky to lose ! the scoreboard doesn't lie. It could be your son or grandson or relation in there someday ! Give them a chance ! Breffni abu !

Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 26/06/2018 02:38:27    2115144

Why is Breffni unavailable lads?

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 26/06/2018 08:41:38    2115168

I was at the game on Saturday evening and would have to say the first half was'nt bad. The second half however was not good with both teams very defensive. What was most annoying was the actual quality of defending when Cavan players had to put in a tackle. They either gave away a free by bad tackling or allowed players to waltz by them. It was woefull.
On the offensive side it was perfectly obvious that when we pushed up on their kick out we had them in trouble , however inexplicably even when Down went down to 14 men we on 50% of their kickouts kept two sweepers back. Additionally when we had the ball and when there was space open to attack we turned and with fed the ball back or laterally. There was one occasion underneath the stand when we had gone a point up and had the opportunity to get that all important second insurance point Mackey was passed a crossfield ball that left me in space. Instead of using his pace and what he is naturally good at, he turned and kicked the ball back up the field. It was obvious he was doing what he was told from the side line.
On a separate note there was approx 5000 at the game and it was horrendious trying to get out of Enniakillen afterwards. Sat in traffic for an hour with no traffic control in site. Say what you want about the Garda Sicochana but if that game was in Breifne they would have ensured good traffic flow afterwards.
The county board itself needs a bit of a shake up and has to take some responsibility. Additonally why in their wisdom did they decide to lay a new pitch in the middle of the qualifiers.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 26/06/2018 09:27:05    2115184

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Jim Gavin could take over Cavan next year and there wouldn't be an improvement. You cant teach players to be intelligent, or to do intelligent things on pitch, a player either has intelligence or he hasn't, sadly, the majority of footballers in Cavan lack any sort of footballing intelligence. A manager can only pick the team, he cant play the match for them. Go to any club game in Cavan, the football is absolutely terrible, but it has been for a long time. The issue is not with management, the issue is with the County Board and their continuing ignorance towards grass roots and development. The underage structure in Cavan is in massive, massive trouble, yet they continue to ignore it year after year. All they're interested in is each club sending in 2/3 players to development squads with the remaining players left behind to fend for themselves. And its clear that these development squads do not work. They introduced a new U17 grade, yet multiple clubs were unable to field teams, so many games were conceded. Two of these clubs are senior (Gaels and Killygarry) conceded 3/4 games each, so surely when two of your bigger senior clubs are unable to field teams, it must fire off some sort of warning shot ! There were no rules for how clubs amalgamate at all, some clubs amalgamated, yet were able to put two teams in some underage competitions and they then let the County U17 manager dictate fixtures and tell young lads not to play with their clubs. Then you have multiple players in every club over the age of 17 who have played no football this year. They now have to wait for a Mickey Mouse u21 competition that nobody cares about to commence in November. The County Board decided there was no need for an u19 competition because those players would have enough football playing reserve and senior football - they are so far detached from reality, they cant see the massive drop out rate with kids turning to other sports."
This is the truest statement I've read in a long time

FALCON (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 26/06/2018 10:01:28    2115200

I am surprised at the level of disappointment on here looking in from across the border. I thought Cavan had a very good league campaign and despite a lot of very good teams in Division Two this year Cavan did extremely well to bounce back up to Division One. Division One playing against the Dubs, Kerry's, Mayos, Galway's and Tyrone's is where you need to be given the gulf between the top 6/8 and the rest of the country. I saw the league final and Cavan played exciting attacking football when they got to Croke Park and I thought they were unlucky to loose against your bogey team Roscommon. I feel Cavan supporters have a lot to look forward to next year with lots of games against the big teams ahead and surely this will help bring Cavan football on and encourage more kids to play GAA as opposed to other sports. You also have a stadium up there with the best of them so the future is bright - look at the likes of Kildare with all their resources and size and they have nothing like Breffni Park which are great grounds, very accessible and has great traffic management compared to places like Omagh, Enniskillen, Casement.... It must have a capacity of close to 30k now.

The championship is the real deal and although you lost to Donegal, Donegal are a good side, it was a tough draw and you lost your captain and best player before the game. I would not be too disappointed with that one and you have got a couple of good results since then. I did not see the Down game but I was impressed with the result. Yes, it sounds like Down lost a lot of their better players during the game which probably made a difference but from the scenes I saw, those players definitely deserved to get the line. From what I have seen of Down against Monaghan last year they have a real discipline problem, play on the edge and they tried to bully Cavan and used dirty tactics. I have a lot of sympathy for Cavan (very unusal) loosing two of their better players - particularly now that you got a hard draw against Tyrone. What are players supposed to do if someone throws a punch at them after a game, stand there and take it? The GAA need to be consistent and players and teams have to defend themselves. I am not suggesting Cavan are angels but there would be uproar in Monaghan if we lost Mc Manus as a result of something that happened after the game. I hope they overturn those decisions and if they do, I think you have a 50:50 chance of beating Tyrone. I think the panel on the Sunday Game also were unfair suggesting that you should loose more players. I don't think O Se or Whelan would have suggested same had it happened in a Dublin or Kerry game - we need someone on that panel to represent Monaghan and Cavan as even the Ulster panelists are not on the side of Cavan or Monaghan. I sense a lot of frustration on here at Mattie Mc Gleenon but he is an astute manager that has delivered in the past and he appears to have unearthed a new team in Cavan in a short space of time. He is also getting results. Don't be too hard on him and remember a lot of your good players walked when he arrived so they were clearly not prepared to put in the work required to win silver wear and to progress. I think if Cavan stick by Mc Gleenon they will do well and if you get over Tyrone you could make the Super 8's which would be enormous for Cavan football. It may not be pretty at the moment but it is effective and the style will improve once you get a few more players coming through. Cavan would give anyone a game of it in Breffni Park when you have your full team ,as Monaghan well know, and you have an astute manager. On a separate note it is very puzzling why your county board decided to work on Breffni over the summer months and disadvantage your team - maybe they are the problem? That was just daft and could you note play in Kingscourt or on some other grounds, even Blayney or Clones?

Jesus, I am defending Cavan.... I now run the risk of been accused of being a Cavan man when I return to the Monaghan forum. Hope we both make the Super 8's - now that WOULD be a game not to miss!

OrielPower (Monaghan) - Posts: 107 - 26/06/2018 11:15:00    2115250

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Don't agree......wouldn't be any advantage or Cavan to play there against Tyrone ........any chance you get to play in Croke Park...take it...will benefit your team in the future !"
I wasn't thinking about the county team (Tyrone will beat us on any pitch) I was mindful of the supporters having to fork out for the journey to croker, versus a much cheaper trip to Clones or Enniskillen.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 26/06/2018 11:18:30    2115253

Replying To OrielPower:  "I am surprised at the level of disappointment on here looking in from across the border. I thought Cavan had a very good league campaign and despite a lot of very good teams in Division Two this year Cavan did extremely well to bounce back up to Division One. Division One playing against the Dubs, Kerry's, Mayos, Galway's and Tyrone's is where you need to be given the gulf between the top 6/8 and the rest of the country. I saw the league final and Cavan played exciting attacking football when they got to Croke Park and I thought they were unlucky to loose against your bogey team Roscommon. I feel Cavan supporters have a lot to look forward to next year with lots of games against the big teams ahead and surely this will help bring Cavan football on and encourage more kids to play GAA as opposed to other sports. You also have a stadium up there with the best of them so the future is bright - look at the likes of Kildare with all their resources and size and they have nothing like Breffni Park which are great grounds, very accessible and has great traffic management compared to places like Omagh, Enniskillen, Casement.... It must have a capacity of close to 30k now.

The championship is the real deal and although you lost to Donegal, Donegal are a good side, it was a tough draw and you lost your captain and best player before the game. I would not be too disappointed with that one and you have got a couple of good results since then. I did not see the Down game but I was impressed with the result. Yes, it sounds like Down lost a lot of their better players during the game which probably made a difference but from the scenes I saw, those players definitely deserved to get the line. From what I have seen of Down against Monaghan last year they have a real discipline problem, play on the edge and they tried to bully Cavan and used dirty tactics. I have a lot of sympathy for Cavan (very unusal) loosing two of their better players - particularly now that you got a hard draw against Tyrone. What are players supposed to do if someone throws a punch at them after a game, stand there and take it? The GAA need to be consistent and players and teams have to defend themselves. I am not suggesting Cavan are angels but there would be uproar in Monaghan if we lost Mc Manus as a result of something that happened after the game. I hope they overturn those decisions and if they do, I think you have a 50:50 chance of beating Tyrone. I think the panel on the Sunday Game also were unfair suggesting that you should loose more players. I don't think O Se or Whelan would have suggested same had it happened in a Dublin or Kerry game - we need someone on that panel to represent Monaghan and Cavan as even the Ulster panelists are not on the side of Cavan or Monaghan. I sense a lot of frustration on here at Mattie Mc Gleenon but he is an astute manager that has delivered in the past and he appears to have unearthed a new team in Cavan in a short space of time. He is also getting results. Don't be too hard on him and remember a lot of your good players walked when he arrived so they were clearly not prepared to put in the work required to win silver wear and to progress. I think if Cavan stick by Mc Gleenon they will do well and if you get over Tyrone you could make the Super 8's which would be enormous for Cavan football. It may not be pretty at the moment but it is effective and the style will improve once you get a few more players coming through. Cavan would give anyone a game of it in Breffni Park when you have your full team ,as Monaghan well know, and you have an astute manager. On a separate note it is very puzzling why your county board decided to work on Breffni over the summer months and disadvantage your team - maybe they are the problem? That was just daft and could you note play in Kingscourt or on some other grounds, even Blayney or Clones?

Jesus, I am defending Cavan.... I now run the risk of been accused of being a Cavan man when I return to the Monaghan forum. Hope we both make the Super 8's - now that WOULD be a game not to miss!"
Good post (a rare post from a Farney man LOL) You know what?...... F**K it, lets go to Croker and give it a rattle............

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 26/06/2018 11:28:52    2115259

Replying To Joebe:  "I was at the game on Saturday evening and would have to say the first half was'nt bad. The second half however was not good with both teams very defensive. What was most annoying was the actual quality of defending when Cavan players had to put in a tackle. They either gave away a free by bad tackling or allowed players to waltz by them. It was woefull.
On the offensive side it was perfectly obvious that when we pushed up on their kick out we had them in trouble , however inexplicably even when Down went down to 14 men we on 50% of their kickouts kept two sweepers back. Additionally when we had the ball and when there was space open to attack we turned and with fed the ball back or laterally. There was one occasion underneath the stand when we had gone a point up and had the opportunity to get that all important second insurance point Mackey was passed a crossfield ball that left me in space. Instead of using his pace and what he is naturally good at, he turned and kicked the ball back up the field. It was obvious he was doing what he was told from the side line.
On a separate note there was approx 5000 at the game and it was horrendious trying to get out of Enniakillen afterwards. Sat in traffic for an hour with no traffic control in site. Say what you want about the Garda Sicochana but if that game was in Breifne they would have ensured good traffic flow afterwards.
The county board itself needs a bit of a shake up and has to take some responsibility. Additonally why in their wisdom did they decide to lay a new pitch in the middle of the qualifiers."
Joebe the pitch had to be done this year or lose the grant they got nearly two years ago €150000. It has been on the cards since then. Maybe if the pitch was not used for training purposes at all levels the pitch might not have had to be done at all.
A Prunty pitch has to be doe every ten years it's twenty one years since it was done.

Grass seed might be sowed this week. It will be all the better for this resurfacing as all the drainage has been repaired.
Maybe they might look after it now and stop abusing it.
Would have been nice to be able to play our home games in Breifni but next season is another season and all the games and qualifiers can be played on it along with extra games that Cavan get from Croke Park.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/06/2018 11:40:21    2115269

We still should not have agreed to Croke Park. It's our home game and we entitled to have it more local the Croker.
But we were probably promised a wad to go there. Really hope Kildare stick to their guns.
It's vital that they do.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/06/2018 12:01:47    2115290

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "We still should not have agreed to Croke Park. It's our home game and we entitled to have it more local the Croker.
But we were probably promised a wad to go there. Really hope Kildare stick to their guns.
It's vital that they do."
I would say if Kildare get what they want Cavan's game will be in Clones or Brewster and not in Croke Park.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/06/2018 12:14:57    2115299

All the pitch talk is detracting from the bigger issues at hand. I wonder if Cavan have appealed the 2 red cards? I think it is definitely a risk worth taking and if we are unsuccessful and they extend the bans then so be it! Whatever small chance we have of getting something out of the Tyrone game, we will have none without those 2 men.

Its hard to look at Tyrone and find anything to target. Meath had them more or less beaten which gives some hope but that was a really off day for Tyrone and I cannot see them being that poor again. I have never seen them so wasteful with the ball. Meath played reasonably direct and had a lot of runners coming through and Tyrone werent able to handle them. Cian O'Sullivan put in a big shift and is the talisman that Gearoid is for us so we would need something similar. They key for us is to concentrate on scoring and make sure we are in the game at half time. In recent years, we have been trailing teams by 3-4 points going into the second half and we cannot offer Tyrone a lead.

I made the point about the amount of subs he is making and the fact that we are ending games with our reserves on the pitch. I understand that there needs to be rotation and to allow for form but we have seen that he has made strange changes when players are going well. What we need is a good performance from the team and to have that, we need to leave things as they are when they are going well. The desire to tweak things all the time is killing us in many cases.

If I look back to the Ulster Final in 97 (yes I'm going there), I don't remember more than 3 subs that day. In fact, that was the norm. What has changes so dramatically?

We actually can win this. The league shows that we have a level which is a top division 2 team. So on our day we can match Tyrone. But we need to stop treating the team as an experiment, find the best 15 to start on Sunday and get them prepared to play for 70 minutes each. There will be changes but I worry that lads who make an error early on are already looking at the line waiting to go off. We need to play with a bit more trust and freedom.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 26/06/2018 13:14:36    2115353

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "I would say if Kildare get what they want Cavan's game will be in Clones or Brewster and not in Croke Park."
I actually don't think the GAA or Kildare will back down and I can see a forfeit happening here.
We in Cavan don't really need to be seen to get a hiding on National TV . Which we will get.
Clones is the ideal venue for Cavan V Tyrone and within easy access for both sets of supporters.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/06/2018 13:35:40    2115371

Replying To Reformation:  "All the pitch talk is detracting from the bigger issues at hand. I wonder if Cavan have appealed the 2 red cards? I think it is definitely a risk worth taking and if we are unsuccessful and they extend the bans then so be it! Whatever small chance we have of getting something out of the Tyrone game, we will have none without those 2 men.

Its hard to look at Tyrone and find anything to target. Meath had them more or less beaten which gives some hope but that was a really off day for Tyrone and I cannot see them being that poor again. I have never seen them so wasteful with the ball. Meath played reasonably direct and had a lot of runners coming through and Tyrone werent able to handle them. Cian O'Sullivan put in a big shift and is the talisman that Gearoid is for us so we would need something similar. They key for us is to concentrate on scoring and make sure we are in the game at half time. In recent years, we have been trailing teams by 3-4 points going into the second half and we cannot offer Tyrone a lead.

I made the point about the amount of subs he is making and the fact that we are ending games with our reserves on the pitch. I understand that there needs to be rotation and to allow for form but we have seen that he has made strange changes when players are going well. What we need is a good performance from the team and to have that, we need to leave things as they are when they are going well. The desire to tweak things all the time is killing us in many cases.

If I look back to the Ulster Final in 97 (yes I'm going there), I don't remember more than 3 subs that day. In fact, that was the norm. What has changes so dramatically?

We actually can win this. The league shows that we have a level which is a top division 2 team. So on our day we can match Tyrone. But we need to stop treating the team as an experiment, find the best 15 to start on Sunday and get them prepared to play for 70 minutes each. There will be changes but I worry that lads who make an error early on are already looking at the line waiting to go off. We need to play with a bit more trust and freedom."
Peter Harte normally runs straight through us. He's done that so often and he will do it again.
That's the difference we don't or won't learn.
Now the whole country we see how bad we really are. We can't win this. We won't win this. Keep your money in your pocket. Stay at home have a few pints . They will ease the pain.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/06/2018 14:42:37    2115425

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Peter Harte normally runs straight through us. He's done that so often and he will do it again.
That's the difference we don't or won't learn.
Now the whole country we see how bad we really are. We can't win this. We won't win this. Keep your money in your pocket. Stay at home have a few pints . They will ease the pain."
With us agreeing to play our home match in Croke Park what is the possibility a deal will be done to allow Darragh/Conor play against Tyrone Fair is Fair !!!!!!

Western Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 26/06/2018 17:02:24    2115515

Replying To OrielPower:  "I am surprised at the level of disappointment on here looking in from across the border. I thought Cavan had a very good league campaign and despite a lot of very good teams in Division Two this year Cavan did extremely well to bounce back up to Division One. Division One playing against the Dubs, Kerry's, Mayos, Galway's and Tyrone's is where you need to be given the gulf between the top 6/8 and the rest of the country. I saw the league final and Cavan played exciting attacking football when they got to Croke Park and I thought they were unlucky to loose against your bogey team Roscommon. I feel Cavan supporters have a lot to look forward to next year with lots of games against the big teams ahead and surely this will help bring Cavan football on and encourage more kids to play GAA as opposed to other sports. You also have a stadium up there with the best of them so the future is bright - look at the likes of Kildare with all their resources and size and they have nothing like Breffni Park which are great grounds, very accessible and has great traffic management compared to places like Omagh, Enniskillen, Casement.... It must have a capacity of close to 30k now.

Jesus, I am defending Cavan.... I now run the risk of been accused of being a Cavan man when I return to the Monaghan forum. Hope we both make the Super 8's - now that WOULD be a game not to miss!"
I'd love to believe that but I am sorry I dont. However I will be there supporting the boys on the team, who are blamless in all this, and hopefully we just play a way better game and pull something out of the bag.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 26/06/2018 17:17:19    2115522

Knowledgeable Cavan supporters will not fall for all that patronising BS from Oriel (or is he really having a laugh) ........they know where their team stands at the minute ability wise and the dire football imposed on their players by management.......so discard this condescending commentary and be true to your footballing tradition....you will never find the solution until you identify the underlying problem !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/06/2018 18:27:30    2115552

I had a birds eye view of the melee at the end of the game and while it was not pretty to see at the end of the day it was harmless.
It was obvious Gearold and one of the Down players were mouthing to each other and at the end of the game it got out of hand when at least 3 other Down players got around home and were pulling and dragging him around. It's important to point out that no punches are kicks were throwe
Just a pile of pulling and dragging. Dara as captain of the team went in to stand up for his team mate and again apart from pulling and dragging no punches were thrown by anyone as a lot more joined the fracas.
A possible fine to both county boards should be all that happens with a slap on the wrist and a warning about their future behaviour.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 26/06/2018 19:05:30    2115561