Ulster Championship

Replying To kildare blue:  "We were well beaten yesterday and we just can't limit the damage during our bad patches. It was the same against Roscommon in the League Final. Donegal will play the Ulster Final and may well play in an All Ireland Semi Final."
We let Donegal score at will yesterday never putting any pressure on their forwards.
On top of that the smallest lightest player on the field @ 5-6 got his fist to a ball and buried it.
Yes they are Amateur players giving their best but they must shoulder some of the blame for the lack of intensity in the performance.
Management don't seemed to have learned from the defensive errors against Roscommon either. Add that to the amount of players who can't or won't commit for one reason or another and it makes the future very bleak.
We will struggle regardless who we meet on yesterday's performance.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 14/05/2018 13:27:08    2100543

I personally feel there's more in this Cavan team even though we we're totally outclassed.
Missed three crucial scoring chances in the second half and some stupid yellow cards especially the gunner.
Interesting to see if we can keep the team together for the qualifiers

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 14/05/2018 13:28:57    2100544

Replying To marita:  "We were very flat yesterday. Can't understand the management at all. If Mc aveety was fit to come on then he must have been fit to start.
Why was Caoimhin taken off, he looked like out most dangerous forward. Also Niall Murray was he taken off because he was injured?
We didn't seem to have a plan at all.
Donegal have some nice players coming on and I think they will be there or thereabouts in Ulster Final."
"If Mc aveety was fit to come on then he must have been fit to start."..... eh I don't think so. I was actually surprised to see him come on at all especially as we were not going to win the game at that stage. We have 4 weeks till our next game so why not give the lad (and Martin Reilly time to recover instead of risking them aggravating the injuries in a game that was already lost. Did anyone ask Matty why he took Caoimhin off. I would like to know the reasoning. Perhaps The idea is to play the qualifiers rather than Ulster. After all it's the same amount of games to get to round 4 of the qualifiers if you presumed that we would have beaten Derry and Down and then lost to either Monaghan or Tyrone.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/05/2018 13:44:45    2100550

Replying To s goldrick:  ""If Mc aveety was fit to come on then he must have been fit to start."..... eh I don't think so. I was actually surprised to see him come on at all especially as we were not going to win the game at that stage. We have 4 weeks till our next game so why not give the lad (and Martin Reilly time to recover instead of risking them aggravating the injuries in a game that was already lost. Did anyone ask Matty why he took Caoimhin off. I would like to know the reasoning. Perhaps The idea is to play the qualifiers rather than Ulster. After all it's the same amount of games to get to round 4 of the qualifiers if you presumed that we would have beaten Derry and Down and then lost to either Monaghan or Tyrone."
Your first aim is to win the Ulster Championship. Show some passion and fight and if you come up short so be it.
Did you see any of that yesterday?
Qualifiers are a minefield as Mayo will so find out .
Playing and beating teams like Louth, London or Leitrim will do absolutely nothing for us in the long or short term.
We suppose to be a Div 1 side
I'd hope and expect big positional changes for the qualifier. Changes that should have been experimented in the league.
And when we do eventually get beaten in the qualifiers I hope we go down showing some fight, passion, even effort because on yesterday's performance all that was sadly lacking.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 14/05/2018 14:27:48    2100573

Disappointed with the performance yesterday, genuinely thought that we woulds at least compete with Donegal, but alas, it goes to show that a good league performance has no bearing on Championship. You wouldn't think that Donegal are a Division 2 side. At the end of the day, the players inter-county footballers, therefore, regardless of what tactics the manager employs, you'd expect players to perform. For me personally, it was like watching a junior team vs a senior team.

I think we all need to accept that we simply do not have the players to compete at top level, they are simply not good enough and many of them lack any game intelligence. You'd expect kids to solo a ball into a tackle and get turned over, but Senior Inter-county footballers.

I hate saying it, but unless the club scene in Cavan is fixed and becomes more competitive, then Cavan Football will actually get worse. These development squads at u16 & u17 are a total waste of time. Forget about them and concentrate on developing club footballers at club level.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 14/05/2018 14:56:37    2100593

Yesterday's performance was partly due to a lack of leaders on the field to rally the troops and get the lads going. For example, we were 8 points down at one stage in the first half and did well to haul ourselves back into the game by being just 4 down at half time. Therefore the first 5 minutes of the second half were vital to ensure this game remained a contest, but we were completely flat, and the game was effectively over 5 minutes into the second half.

It's 8 years since we contested out first Ulster u21 final. Yesterday, experienced heads like Rory Dunne, James McEnroe, David Givney and Eugene Keating should have been on that field taking the game to Donegal. It's a very lamentable issue, the good footballers we produce that aren't there.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 14/05/2018 15:06:33    2100599

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Yesterday's performance was partly due to a lack of leaders on the field to rally the troops and get the lads going. For example, we were 8 points down at one stage in the first half and did well to haul ourselves back into the game by being just 4 down at half time. Therefore the first 5 minutes of the second half were vital to ensure this game remained a contest, but we were completely flat, and the game was effectively over 5 minutes into the second half.

It's 8 years since we contested out first Ulster u21 final. Yesterday, experienced heads like Rory Dunne, James McEnroe, David Givney and Eugene Keating should have been on that field taking the game to Donegal. It's a very lamentable issue, the good footballers we produce that aren't there."
And how many games did Cavan win in the Ulster championship with those four playing. No point in making excuses. Listen your problem is the same as always ........you have no scoring threat up front.....and now your problems are compounded by being too open at the back.

So fix the defensive issue immediately, which is the easier of the 2 to solve, and try to bring in some new forward talent for the qualifiers and Division 1 next year.

All is not lost .......players and genuine supporters can enjoy the qualifiers !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 14/05/2018 15:36:48    2100613

The 5 mins after half time were the key moments in the game. We won the throw up, ball broke to Clerkin who was 70:30 to win it and just wasn't hard or hungry enough to get it and hold on, Donegal get a point from that. Next two kick outs, despite Donegal dropping a man back leaving us with a spare man to receive a short kick out, we banged it straight up the middle 3 times in a row, lost all 3 and conceded 3 points. 5 mins in we are 8 points down. Terrible

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 14/05/2018 15:55:50    2100629

Was at the game yday. A few years In division one should be the aim. Play top teama regularly and push on from there. Also Maybe the big push for league left the players drained.?

We have some vgood fballers coming through. You can add Odhran, Stephen Mc B, Niall O Donnell to that team easily to name a few.

Wouldn't judge yours on that game alone

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 14/05/2018 16:10:00    2100644

A bad day at the office. Last thing yez need is being patronized by us but just a few observations.

- ye had a lot of raw enough players yesterday who maybe need a year or two's more conditioning. Overall our lads looked a lot bigger physically.

- The substitutions made baffled me. They weakened yez if anything. I thought Caoimhín O'Reilly was playing very well. A tricky wee customer. Also, the lad that was picking up McBrearty was doing a sound job.

- Having McVeety and Martin Reilly out was a big loss to yez. Although we were also missing MacNíallais and McGrath so swings and roundabouts.

Ye're a proud footballing county with some good players. Hopefully yez can regroup now and get a run in the qualifiers.
All the best.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 14/05/2018 16:18:13    2100648

Replying To Shelbourne:  "And how many games did Cavan win in the Ulster championship with those four playing. No point in making excuses. Listen your problem is the same as always ........you have no scoring threat up front.....and now your problems are compounded by being too open at the back.

So fix the defensive issue immediately, which is the easier of the 2 to solve, and try to bring in some new forward talent for the qualifiers and Division 1 next year.

All is not lost .......players and genuine supporters can enjoy the qualifiers !"
Well we damn near beat you lads in 2013 and then 2015 (years you won Ulster I believe?) with them playing, literally one kick between the teams on both occasions. We are a far better team with those four lads playing than we are without them. Givney in particular is a massive loss, he's a scoring threat. Alongside Caoimhin yesterday we would have made more inroads. (Caoimhin btw looks a super young talent, natural finisher).

Nobody is making excuses, I'm not saying we're guaranteed a win if only certain personnel were involved, I'm saying we have trouble holding on to our best players.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 14/05/2018 16:23:22    2100651

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Well we damn near beat you lads in 2013 and then 2015 (years you won Ulster I believe?) with them playing, literally one kick between the teams on both occasions. We are a far better team with those four lads playing than we are without them. Givney in particular is a massive loss, he's a scoring threat. Alongside Caoimhin yesterday we would have made more inroads. (Caoimhin btw looks a super young talent, natural finisher).

Nobody is making excuses, I'm not saying we're guaranteed a win if only certain personnel were involved, I'm saying we have trouble holding on to our best players."
More excuses...every county can list off a number of players that aren't available either through injury or otherwise so Cavan are no different in that respect.

It's all about a squad of players and Cavan have the weakest of benches. Patronising comments from Donegal supporters on this forum are only increasing your delusions so please don't criticize honest informed commentary. ...informed Cavan supporters know the story...no scoring threat up front.....simple as.

Just give your county a chance & back them in the qualifiers.........you might just enjoy the experience !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 14/05/2018 16:54:04    2100668

The best thing that could happen in the Qualifier draw is that we would get Mayo. The worst thing that could happen is that we would get, no disrespect intended, a Louth or an Offaly or a Wexford. We need a lift after yesterday and other than Mayo, the only other game that might bring about some excitement is a clash against the losers of Monaghan / Tyrone.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 14/05/2018 17:22:35    2100689

Replying To Shelbourne:  "More excuses...every county can list off a number of players that aren't available either through injury or otherwise so Cavan are no different in that respect.

It's all about a squad of players and Cavan have the weakest of benches. Patronising comments from Donegal supporters on this forum are only increasing your delusions so please don't criticize honest informed commentary. ...informed Cavan supporters know the story...no scoring threat up front.....simple as.

Just give your county a chance & back them in the qualifiers.........you might just enjoy the experience !"
Maybe you should worry about your own county meeting Tyrone.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 14/05/2018 17:34:37    2100695

Very disappointing performance but with the benefit of hindsight it was coming. Tipperary opened us up with only 14 men but we struggled over them and obviously the rossie performance showed holes in our back line. By all accounts it was a struggle against Longford in a friendly a few weeks back and when I think back, Down had chances against us in the league but couldn't convert - Donegal are a better team than those named. Then consider the injuries, dara is a big player for us and when he was not fit to start thats a big blow, as big for cavan as if donegal were missing murphy - Unfortunately he was there and had a big game yesterday. So where do we go from here ..? Really we as a Div 1 team should look to go far into the qualifiers but history doesn't make for great reading there, I just hope its not Monaghan as there is only so many times i can stomach a championship defeat to them! Next year in div 1 will be tough and with only 3 home games its worrying times ahead ... The positional changes some of the posters are mentioning here look obvious so why can't the management see that or even try it ...

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 14/05/2018 17:40:42    2100700

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Maybe you should worry about your own county meeting Tyrone."
Apprehensive yes but now worried and if we don't do it I will certainly follow my county in the qualifiers.......you should try it ! Certainly won't be making excuses...will leave that to those wearing the blinkers !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 14/05/2018 17:46:49    2100704

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Well we damn near beat you lads in 2013 and then 2015 (years you won Ulster I believe?) with them playing, literally one kick between the teams on both occasions. We are a far better team with those four lads playing than we are without them. Givney in particular is a massive loss, he's a scoring threat. Alongside Caoimhin yesterday we would have made more inroads. (Caoimhin btw looks a super young talent, natural finisher).

Nobody is making excuses, I'm not saying we're guaranteed a win if only certain personnel were involved, I'm saying we have trouble holding on to our best players."
So has Cavan improved since 2013. I don't think so. I would say if we were to meet it would be a win for Monaghan again by a bigger margin.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 14/05/2018 18:27:41    2100717

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Apprehensive yes but now worried and if we don't do it I will certainly follow my county in the qualifiers.......you should try it ! Certainly won't be making excuses...will leave that to those wearing the blinkers !"
Worry is reserved for a few years down the line when McManus retires. Then it's time to panic. Make hay whilst the sun shines, those dark days will return sooner rather than later.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 14/05/2018 18:34:14    2100718

Replying To sidelineview:  "Very disappointing performance but with the benefit of hindsight it was coming. Tipperary opened us up with only 14 men but we struggled over them and obviously the rossie performance showed holes in our back line. By all accounts it was a struggle against Longford in a friendly a few weeks back and when I think back, Down had chances against us in the league but couldn't convert - Donegal are a better team than those named. Then consider the injuries, dara is a big player for us and when he was not fit to start thats a big blow, as big for cavan as if donegal were missing murphy - Unfortunately he was there and had a big game yesterday. So where do we go from here ..? Really we as a Div 1 team should look to go far into the qualifiers but history doesn't make for great reading there, I just hope its not Monaghan as there is only so many times i can stomach a championship defeat to them! Next year in div 1 will be tough and with only 3 home games its worrying times ahead ... The positional changes some of the posters are mentioning here look obvious so why can't the management see that or even try it ..."
There's a problem in this team when it comes to pressing home an advantage. The league final for example, after 10 minutes we were 6 or 7 points up. And lost. Yesterday when we were 1-03 to 0-04 we missed an open goal. Perhaps its psychology these lads need, it's becoming very prevalent in modern sport.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 14/05/2018 18:39:15    2100721

The reality was that we hadn't enough grit about us yesterday and weren't good enough. We got bossed. I was looking at the stats before the game and all the Donegal lads were 13st,14st,15st etc.. our stats were the 12st and 13st. I not saying we go all out and bulk up, but it was obvious in the tackle and aggression. That said i'm not sure how Donegal are lasting the distance carrying that bulk

Couple of other things yesterday
- if you are going to push up on the kickout then all push up not 5 out of 6
- The Donegal niggle off the ball was pure blatant especially holding runners and dare i say sledging. I'm not sure there is a rule against it though.
- Poor Cavan support...jaysus where were you all
- A yellow card for no gumshield.. thats simple stuff
- We are short options at midfield.
- Since we changed from a blanket defense we almost need to learn again how to defend with 1 or 2 less back.
- Though we got some nice quick ball in at times, However our final ball looked nervy.
- Donegal have found a few more players

I would have a bit of optimism for the qualifier especially since McVeety and M Reilly got game time and hopefully half dont go off to America. Some of the others need to get cute and wise very quickly..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 14/05/2018 19:52:35    2100745