Munster SHL final: Reidy leads Limerick rout of Rebels

January 11, 2020

Cork's Damien Cahalane and Limerick's Cian Lynch. ©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

Limerick 1-32
Cork 0-20

David Reidy continued his impressive scoring form with a haul of 0-11 as Limerick turned on the style in the second half to rout Cork in tonight's Munster SHL final at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Scorer of 1-12 against Clare last weekend, Reidy pointed the way once again, with 0-8 of his tally coming from placed balls. Graeme Mulcahy and David Dempsey also hit 0-5 from play and Aaron Gillane bagged 1-1 as the 2018 All-Ireland champions picked up some early season silverware before an attendance of 5,295. 

The home side's lead was just three points, 1-14 to 0-14, at the break after they racked up 10 first half wides, but they rattled off an eye-catching 0-18 in the second half, with 0-14 of that tally coming from play.

Limerick's Cian Lynch lifts the Munster SHL trophy. ©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

With Conor Lehane and Seamus Harnedy to the fore, Cork raced into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead in the opening five minutes before Gillane settled John Kiely's men with an 11th minute goal after he outfielded Eoin Cadogan from Darragh O'Donovan's long delivery.

A brace of Reidy frees had the winners ahead by the 20th minute, while Gillane and Dempsey were also on target as they led by three at half-time.

Kieran Kingston's charges could only add six points after the restart as Limerick streaked clear with a run of seven unanswered points.

Limerick - B Hennessy; T Condon, R English, A Costello; D Byrnes (0-2, 1f), D Morrissey, B Nash (0-3); R Hanley (0-1), C Lynch (0-1); D O’Donovan (0-1), T Morrissey, D Dempsey (0-5); G Mulcahy (0-6), D Reidy (0-10, 8f), A Gillane (1-2). Subs: S Finn for A Costello, G Hegarty (0-1) for T Morrissey, M Quinlan for A Gillane, B O’Grady for T Condon, J Boylan for R English.

Cork - P Collins; C Spillane, E Cadogan, S O’Donoghue; C O’Leary (0-3f), B Cooper, D Cahalane; R Walsh, A Walsh (0-2); C Lehane (0-5, 2f), L Meade, S Twomey (0-3); J O’Connor (0-1), S Harnedy (0-3), B Turnbull (0-2). Subs: P Horgan (0-1f) for R Walsh, S O’Regan for J O’Connor, R Downey for L Meade, T O’Connell for S Twomey, J Keating for C Spillane.

Referee - K Jordan.

Most Read Stories