All-Ireland SFC: Connacht champions finish the year on a winning note

August 04, 2019

Roscommon's Brian Stack celebrates after scoring a goal. ©INPHO/Oisin Keniry.

Roscommon secured their first win in the Super 8s at the sixth attempt in Pairc Ui Rinn today.

The Connacht champions inflicted a 4-9 to 3-9 defeat on Cork in today’s dead rubber.

Second-half goals from Brian Stack, Enda Smith and Shane Killoran were key ingredients in the primrose and blues’ winning formula.

Stack also found the back of the Rebel County net in the opening period but the visitors trailed by 1-7 to 2-5 at the change of ends.

Tempers flare between both sides. INPHO/Oisin Keniry.

Ronan McCarthy’s team enjoyed a dream star when Mark Collins raised a green flag in the second-minute.

Luke Connolly gathered possession from a stray Darren O’Malley kick-out and set up the Castlehaven clubman while Connolly added a second shortly after Stack’s opening goal which arrived in the 28th minute.

Entering the home straight, captain Smith’s 60th minute goal put the Rossies in pole position (3-8 to 2-7) but that was cancelled out by James Loughrey shortly after.

Killoran’s 69th minute three-pointer ultimately decided the contest in Roscommon’s favour.

The visitors finished the game with 14 men after Tadhg O’Rourke was shown a black card late on after they had used their full allocation of substitutes.

Roscommon - D O’Malley; D Murray, C Daly, G Patterson; N Daly, R Daly, C Hussey; T O’Rourke, S Killoran (1-1); B Stack (2-0), C Cregg, N Kilroy; A Glennon (0-1f), C Cox (0-5f), E Smith (1-1). Subs: C Compton for N Daly (BC), A Lyons for C Hussey, F Cregg for C Cregg, D Smith (0-1) for N Kilroy, D Murtagh for A Glennon, H Darcy for C Compton (BC).

Cork - M Martin; Thomas Clancy, J Loughrey (1-0), K Flahive; S Cronin, S White, M Taylor; I Maguire, K O'Hanlon; K O’Driscoll (0-1), R Deane (0-1), E McSweeney; P Kerrigan, M Collins (1-2, 0-2f), L Connolly (1-3, 0-3f). Subs: J O’Rourke (0-1) for P Kerrigan (BC), M Hurley for E McSweeney, B Hurley for M Collins, C Kiely for S Cronin, R O’Toole for Thomas Clancy, S Sherlock (0-1) for L Connolly.

Referee - N Mooney.

Most Read Stories