All-Ireland MHC: Tribesmen book semi-final date with Wexford

July 20, 2019

Galway's Sean McDonagh celebrates. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Three-in-a-row chasing Galway advanced to the last four of the All-Ireland MHC after overcoming Clare at O’Moore Park today.

The Tribesmen edged out the Banner County in an entertaining quarter-final round 3 tussle on a scoreline of 1-24 to 1-22.

Centre-forward Sean McDonagh was the main scorer-in-chief for the winners with a personal return of 1-9 while Clare’s Shane Meehan underlined his talent with an individual tally of 0-13.

McDonagh’s goal arrived via the penalty spot in the 29th minute and that was the difference between the two teams at the half-time whistle - 1-11 to 0-11.

Inspired by Meehan, Clare – who needed to win by six points or more to secure a semi-final ticket - played their part in what was a great advertisement for the minor grade despite losing the services of Storm Devanney to a red card in the 50th minute.

Right corner forward Meehan turned provider when creating the opening for captain and centre-back Cian Galvin to get the Munster side back on level terms with a goal in the first minute of stoppage time.

However, late points from substitutes Sean O’Hanlon and Paddy Cummins decided the contest in the Brian Hanley managed Galway’s favour and they now have a semi-final date with Leinster champions Wexford next Sunday to look forward to.

Galway - M Egan; A Nolan, E Lawless, E Davoren; E Collins (0-1), I McGlynn, C Brennan; L Leen (0-1), A Connaire (0-3); C Cunningham (0-1), S McDonagh (1-9, 1-0pen, 0-4f, 0-2'65), T Killeen (0-1); G Lee (0-1), S Morgan, G Thomas (0-2). Subs: L Prendergast for E Davoren, S O’Hanlon (0-4) for T Killeen, C Molloy for G Lee, P Cummins (0-1) for S Morgan, O Slevin for L Leen.

Clare - A Shanahan; A Hogan, S Devanney, T Butler (0-1); C O’Meara (0-1), C Galvin (1-1, 0-1f), J Collins; C Hegarty (0-1), O Clune; D Downes, D Cahill (0-1), C Murphy; S Meehan (0-13, 9f), O O’Donnell (0-2), C O’Connor. Subs: S Ronan (0-2) for C Murphy, S Punch for D Downes, K Smyth for D Cahill.

Referee - C McAllister.

Next weekend's All-Ireland MHC semi-final fixtures:

Saturday 27 July

All-Ireland MHC semi-final
Limerick v Kilkenny, 4pm


Sunday 28 July

Wexford v Galway, Croke Park, 1.30pm

Most Read Stories