Munster MHC: Limerick inflict first defeat on Banner

June 09, 2019

Clare's Jarlath Collins and Cian Galvin chase Cathal O'Neill of Limerick. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Limerick 0-16

Clare 0-13

Cathal O'Neill posted 0-7 (0-5 from frees) as Limerick secured their first win in this year's Munster MHC at Clare's expense at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

This win, coupled with two draws from their previous two outings against Cork and Waterford, means the Treaty County can qualify for the Munster final if they beat Tipperary in their final round-robin game at Semple Stadium next Sunday, while a previously unbeaten Clare side must beat Cork in their last fixture if they're to reach the decider.

The Banner got to within a point of Limerick when they reeled off four unanswered points in the closing stages, but injury-time efforts from O'Neill (free) and Adam English sealed victory for the hosts. 

The winners established an early 0-3 to 0-0 lead thanks to points from Patrick Reale, Aidan O'Connor and Adam English before Cormac Murphy opened the visitors' account in the 11th minute. O'Neill immediately replied before adding two further points to leave Limerick perched on a 0-6 to 0-2 lead after 18 minutes.

However, Clare finished the half strongly with scores from Kevin Smyth (free), Shane Meehan and Cormac Murphy to trail by the minimum, 0-6 to 0-7, at the break.

Meehan's third point had the sides level within a minute of the restart before a Smyth free nudged them ahead for the first time. But Limerick then took control with scores from Adam Murrihy, Meehan, Liam Lynch and Patrick Kirby to open up a 0-14 to 0-9 lead.

Clare rallied with four points on the trot per Smyth, Dylan Downes and Galvin, but they couldn't regain parity as Diarmuid Mullins' charges had the final say.

Limerick - J Franklin; R Lyons, M Keane, F O'Connor; J Quilty, E Hurley, A Murrihy (0-3); P Kirby (0-1), C Casey; P Reale (0-1), D Hegarty, C O’Neill (0-7, 5f); A O'Connor (0-1), A English (0-2), L Lynch (0-1). Subs: E Stokes for D Hegarty, P O'Donovan for P Reale, C Hanley Clarke for L Lynch.

Clare - A Shanahan; S Devanney, A Hogan, C McGroary; J Collins, C O’Meara, T Butler; O Clune, C Murphy (0-2); S Meehan (0-4), C Galvin (0-1), O O’Donnell; C Hegarty (0-1), D Cahill, K Smyth (0-4f). Subs: S Ronan for D Cahill, D Downes (0-1) for O O'Donnell, K O'Connor for C Murphy, S Punch for K Smyth.

Referee - M Maher.


Most Read Stories