Ulster Club SFC: Scotstown finish strongly to defeat Derrygonnelly

October 21, 2018

Scotstown captain Darren Hughes gives the thumbs up after the Monaghan SFC final victory over Ballybay at St Tiernach's Park, Clones. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Late goals from Ross McKenna and Damien McArdle helped Scotstown finish with nine points to spare over Derrygonnelly Harps in today’s Ulster Club SFC first round clash at Clones.

The scoreboard read 2-17 to 1-11 in the home side’s favour after McKenna and McArdle pounced in the 56th and 59th minutes respectively and they now advance to a last eight clash with Burren which is scheduled for November 4th.

Two points on the spin from Shane Carey and Orin Heaphey moved the Darren Hughes captained Monaghan outfit into a 0-4 to 0-2 lead by the end of the opening quarter.

They added another five points before the half-time whistle was sounded but a converted Conall Jones penalty meant the sides went in level at the break – 0-9 to 1-6.

The Farney County representatives – who were defeated finalists back in 2015 - were quickest out of the blocks for the second-half and sent over four unanswered points.

To their credit, the four-in-a-row Fermanagh champions refused to throw in the towel.

With six minutes of normal time remaining they trailed by just two points (0-13 to 0-15) but the two late Scotstown goals put the issue beyond any doubt.

Scotstown - R Beggan (0-2f); B Boylan, R O'Toole (0-1), D McArdle (1-1); J McDevitt (0-1), D Morgan, E Caulfield; F Caulfield, K Hughes (0-2); F Maguire, C McCarthy (0-5, 3f), J McCarey; S Carey (0-3, 1f), D Hughes, O Heaphey (0-2). Subs: R McKenna (1-0) for O Heaphey, M McCarville for F Maguire, F McPhillips for J McDevitt, D McCrudden for J McCarey, J Turley for B Boylan.

Derrygonnelly - J Kelly; M Jones, T Daly, E McHugh; D Greene, D Cassidy, G McGinley; Stephen McGullion (0-1), R Jones (0-2); L Jones (0-1), G Jones (0-4), Shane McGullion; P Ward (0-1), C Jones (1-2), G McKenna. Subs: N Gallagher for Shane McGullion, O Smith for D Greene, K Cassidy for G McKenna, A McKenna for L Jones, S Gilroy for C Jones (BC).

Referee - P Hughes.

Most Read Stories