Sigerson Cup: St Mary's into final after holders draw first half blank

February 16, 2019

St. Mary's Liam Rafferty and Brian O'Seanachain of UCD during the Sigerson Cup semi-final in Mallow

St Mary’s 0-10

UCD 0-7

Stephen McConville shot 0-6 as St Mary's repeated their 2017 Sigerson Cup final victory over holders UCD in today's semi-final at Mallow.

The Belfast students will play the winners of tomorrow's second semi-final between UCC and NUIG as they bid for a second title in three years. In what was a cagey affair, the first score didn't arrive until the 10th minute when Down man McConville landed the first of his four first half points.

Remarkably, UCD failed to trouble the scoreboard operator in the opening half as points from Jarleth Og Burns, Liam Rafferty, Ryan Coleman and McConville left St Mary's perched on a 0-7 to 0-0 lead at the break.

The Belfield boys eventually opened their account in the 36th minute through substitute Barry Dan O'Sullivan. Evan O'Carroll and Peter Healy followed up with quick points as they made inroads into the deficit, but two more McConville scores kept them at bay.

UCD kept the pressure on, but left themselves with too much to do as late efforts from McConville and Ryan Coleman sealed St Mary's place in the decider.

St Mary's - M Reid; L Rafferty (0-1), C Dillon, M Rooney; C Byrne, R McSherry, A Duffy; J Og Burns (0-1), L Devlin; S McConville (0-6, 4f), S McGuigan, A Boyle; N Toner, R Coleman (0-2), C McKinney. Subs: C McAllister for A Boyle, R McGrath for S McConville.

UCD - T O'Brien; B Byrne, M Dempsey, P Healy (0-1); M Breen, C O'Shea, C O'Connor (0-1); D Gavin, S Coen; C Meyler, C McCarthy, L Fortune; C O'Callaghan, E O'Carroll (0-3f), B McGinn. Subs: B D O'Sullivan (0-1) for M Breen (BC), G Walsh for C Meyler (BC), B O'Seanachain for B McGinn, D Kennedy (0-1) for L Fortune.

Referee - J Bermingham.

Most Read Stories