Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Not wanting to be negative but some of those lads, excepting the lads who are now only 21/22, will be hitting their prime years aged 24/25 next year. Most didnt really kick on in their second or 3rd season this year. Next year we need them to make a big step forward, or otherwise we will have to draw the conclusion that they arent Senior intercounty standard and likely wont ever be. Hopefully we have some lads in their mid/late 20s return to the panel to offer some leadership, and hopefully the lads who are that age in the current panel stick around, the Recks, Donohue etc.
And hopefully lads like Eoin Whelan and David Codd who didn't get a real shot at this year come back fully fit and firing next year.
Also hopefully some of our decent u20 team from this year can step up also. Apart from the up to the age lads with potential, Lads like Quigley, Carley, O'Brien, Nolan, and Donohue who will still be u20 next year might be worth bringing in also.
As regards the u20s other lads who played this year but will still be u20 next year include Fanning, Kennedy, Moore, Reilly, Dunne, Ryan, Hyland and O'Connell Byrne. So thats 13 lads who played this year who will still be u20 next year. Add in some of this years better minors, and some of the better lads off our u19s, and we should have a decent u20 team next year."
We'll have to see, I'd say the lack of S&C work done a few years ago has come back to haunt us, a lot of those lads from the U20 teams in 2022 and 2023 were behind on their S&C work so it was always going to take time for them to get to the level needed (If at all)

Hopefully, Patsy gets a full pre-season and league into him next year, I'd say not having him for most of the year was a big enough loss, Cian Byrne another one who needs a full pre-season and league, just never got going at any stage during the year, had a very stop-start year and it showed on the pitch

Thought Richie Lawlor was ok for the most part, Conor Foley needs to up it alright, hasn't kicked on from 2024, fairer to judge Darragh Carley when he consistently plays in a position that suits him, Jack Redmond had a tough enough Championship, needs to up his speed and the speed of his hurling

Tbh, we had too many older players, too many younger players, and not enough players in their prime, was just a mess from the start of the season and we were probably asking too much of the younger players tbh, hard on a player when they're thrown into a situation like that, see a team like Cork who have a lot of good players coming through but because they were so strong in the first place, the younger players had to earn their way into the team, a lot easier to blood young players into a team when you have an established team like that and can thrown in a few young players alongside a solid core of experienced players in their prime, we were very far removed from that situation

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1304 - 24/05/2026 19:11:30    2675120

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Again, Offaly are driven by one underage team and one underage team alone, I wouldn't say they really fixed anything, just happened upon a very good team out of nowhere"
They have fixed plenty but u obviously dont want to see that. 2 U 20 Leinster championships 1 U 20 All Ireland. 1 Minor Leinster Championship and thats just Hurling. In Football 2 Leinster Minor titles and 1 U 20 Leinster title and 1 U20 All Ireland title but they have fixed nothing. We are in complete denial how bad we are down here and i dont like saying that.

Bryson (Wexford) - Posts: 52 - 24/05/2026 19:14:03    2675121

Replying To Formertownie:  "Are the dev squads detrimental to underage hurling .
Squads of say 45 for hurling and 45 for football . Who are nt permitted to play in development leagues u16 or 18 . Leaving clubs without big numbers at a stretch across 2 ages to to fill teams fo dev leagues .
If u cant field teams how can you keep players playing.
I see a couple of walkoves or concedings in football dev finals . Not necessarily related could be exams school trips etc .
But if 90 players are taken out of equation for dev leagues cant be good for clubs and intensity in those games .
Club players go backwards . Dev squad players get better . Come back to clubs and play championship and can dominate as club players standards dropped .
Which has the knock on of dev squad players get complacent as they don't have to try as hard their standard drop. It's all related . Go back to dev squads and year on year they drop their standards of skill/intensity level as they dont get challenged enough at club level . It's a recurring cycle .
Our drop in underage age intercounty competiveness is related to the expansion of the intercounty underage championship competition . Which affects club championship which then affects stands of dev squads .
Theres Too much emphasis on intercountyy at underage.
Should not take away from club"
I am beginning to think they are. Or the very least it ain't working for Wexford. Last 10 years of players going onto play Senior intercounty, numbers or quality is not there. To all the Club players left behind, they don't get any quality hurling sessions unless you get Minors and Juveniles to train with the Adults? Good and Bad there too. It ain't easy picking a road to go down, the one thing I am nearly sure of is that we should try something different for 3 years and see where that brings us, we gotta be patient kids there is no magic wand. The County is crying for something to cheer about, it's not easy where we at. What about an Inter District competition for u14s, u15s and u16s. We get people from the district to take over a team and get some money behind to hire good coaching, S&C ,set it up as you were setting up a county side. We would have 3 years of raising the standard of coaching, implementing S&C, working with chaps that may not as gifted as others but the type of player that would really blossom if he's a part of these teams. All players play at their own age group. 4 District teams would pull in 80-90 players for each year. Run it Professionally, no half arsed approach, County Board role in behind you for funding etc. Everyone play one another and then semi 1 V 4, 2 V 3. ..Issue 1 is working around Schools and Clubs depending on what's in place already for them. Pick the right time of year, layer it with past intercounty or Current Intercounty players. Get them the proper introduction for Adult hurling??? We need schools, Clubs, District Officials and County Board to buy in?? What ye think?? You are getting 3/4 chaps from most clubs or more depending on their numbers. What you think FormerTownie??

Spuds&GAA (Wexford) - Posts: 36 - 24/05/2026 19:32:22    2675128

Replying To Bryson:  "They have fixed plenty but u obviously dont want to see that. 2 U 20 Leinster championships 1 U 20 All Ireland. 1 Minor Leinster Championship and thats just Hurling. In Football 2 Leinster Minor titles and 1 U 20 Leinster title and 1 U20 All Ireland title but they have fixed nothing. We are in complete denial how bad we are down here and i dont like saying that."
They haven't fixed plenty in hurling anyway, it's just one team, the same team basically won Leinster U20 two years in a row

Their Minors lost by 7 to Westmeath and by 6 to Antrim in the shield, their Minors last year got absolutely destroyed by Laois, their U20s got absolutely annihilated by both Dublin and Kilkenny, no Offaly school operating in their own right as an A side at either Junior or Senior level, and it wasn't as if they were that competitive at either Minor or U20 in the years before Screeney

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1304 - 24/05/2026 20:23:31    2675150

Replying To Spuds&GAA:  "I am beginning to think they are. Or the very least it ain't working for Wexford. Last 10 years of players going onto play Senior intercounty, numbers or quality is not there. To all the Club players left behind, they don't get any quality hurling sessions unless you get Minors and Juveniles to train with the Adults? Good and Bad there too. It ain't easy picking a road to go down, the one thing I am nearly sure of is that we should try something different for 3 years and see where that brings us, we gotta be patient kids there is no magic wand. The County is crying for something to cheer about, it's not easy where we at. What about an Inter District competition for u14s, u15s and u16s. We get people from the district to take over a team and get some money behind to hire good coaching, S&C ,set it up as you were setting up a county side. We would have 3 years of raising the standard of coaching, implementing S&C, working with chaps that may not as gifted as others but the type of player that would really blossom if he's a part of these teams. All players play at their own age group. 4 District teams would pull in 80-90 players for each year. Run it Professionally, no half arsed approach, County Board role in behind you for funding etc. Everyone play one another and then semi 1 V 4, 2 V 3. ..Issue 1 is working around Schools and Clubs depending on what's in place already for them. Pick the right time of year, layer it with past intercounty or Current Intercounty players. Get them the proper introduction for Adult hurling??? We need schools, Clubs, District Officials and County Board to buy in?? What ye think?? You are getting 3/4 chaps from most clubs or more depending on their numbers. What you think FormerTownie??"
Would be great if we fund it properly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19764 - 24/05/2026 20:43:17    2675157

Questions on both teams today. Another game were so poor in for a large chunk of the game in. Outside of the Kilkenny win on day 1 we have more questions than answers. Likewise for Wexford today, how did they not win that game?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 612 - 24/05/2026 21:01:07    2675160

Replying To Bryson:  "They have fixed plenty but u obviously dont want to see that. 2 U 20 Leinster championships 1 U 20 All Ireland. 1 Minor Leinster Championship and thats just Hurling. In Football 2 Leinster Minor titles and 1 U 20 Leinster title and 1 U20 All Ireland title but they have fixed nothing. We are in complete denial how bad we are down here and i dont like saying that."
Fair play to them, but all they've achieved is based on one team that were lucky to beat us. We're competitive most years.

Now that the Rossi era us over we need to take stock.

What has actually happened in the last couple of years?

Decent teams at 14, 15 and 16.

Minors were decent in 24, shocking in 25 and better in 26. Should have beaten cork but didn't. So what. There are good hurlers on that team.

Same story for the 20s. Could have had Galway in the 60 minutes who will most likely win the all Ireland.

Seniors were a dodgy penalty away from a Leinster final in 24. A dodgy penalty away from 3rd last year, and just poor on every level this year.

On the positive side, a lot of new players have gotten championship game time. Carley, Lawlor, Redmond, Byrne etc.

Whoever comes in now needs to get our best players playing. We need to be patient with them.

I can accept losing if you've done everything you can and are beaten by a better side. Sadly we've got everything wrong. S and C, set up, selections, tactics, everything.

I saw enough in Croke park in the league and the first half in tullamore and the park to know we're not as far off as we think we are.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4528 - 24/05/2026 21:10:14    2675164

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Fair play to them, but all they've achieved is based on one team that were lucky to beat us. We're competitive most years.

Now that the Rossi era us over we need to take stock.

What has actually happened in the last couple of years?

Decent teams at 14, 15 and 16.

Minors were decent in 24, shocking in 25 and better in 26. Should have beaten cork but didn't. So what. There are good hurlers on that team.

Same story for the 20s. Could have had Galway in the 60 minutes who will most likely win the all Ireland.

Seniors were a dodgy penalty away from a Leinster final in 24. A dodgy penalty away from 3rd last year, and just poor on every level this year.

On the positive side, a lot of new players have gotten championship game time. Carley, Lawlor, Redmond, Byrne etc.

Whoever comes in now needs to get our best players playing. We need to be patient with them.

I can accept losing if you've done everything you can and are beaten by a better side. Sadly we've got everything wrong. S and C, set up, selections, tactics, everything.

I saw enough in Croke park in the league and the first half in tullamore and the park to know we're not as far off as we think we are."
If Dublin are the standard bearers in Leinster right now, then we wouldn't be that far off if we had a full pick

Problem is getting anywhere close to a full pick, I don't know who comes back out of those who were unavailable this year and that's before we even mention how many of those who are currently in the panel will be unavailable next year

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1304 - 24/05/2026 21:30:39    2675173