Hats Off To Antrim County Board And Footballers

Great and true sportslike gesture and action by Antrim to offer an neutral venue to Waterford this weekend
Parricularly as the guaranteed 2 points would have put them in a strong position for promotion.
Well done and i personally would like to see them bounce back from the hammering last week
Well done

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 23/10/2020 13:05:47    2300482

Lenny must really want that game time. Giving up 2 points and making the journey to Louth over a paranoid statement from the Waterford County board looks like desperate stuff!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 23/10/2020 13:32:26    2300498

Great to see it and a lesson to everyone in sportsmanship.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 23/10/2020 13:58:12    2300513

Fair play to Antrim, great sportsmanship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/10/2020 14:26:13    2300523

wish I could say the same for their hurlers whom I have always had a soft spot for... are not doing the right thing playing their game with a positive covid case in their squad I think...the GAA HQ are devolving authority to ensure the coffers stay turning in money...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/10/2020 15:16:15    2300547

You can say well done Antrim but it doesn't sit right with me. Both our Footballers and Camogs have had to give up home advantage and travel down South to play their games this weekend after the Camogs were informed by Ardchomhairle they had to play their Championship match in Monaghan. Without knowing the figures for each of the places I would hazard a guess that Portglenone and Whitehill (outside Randalstown) have no higher (and likely lower) infection rates than the two new venues.

If there are the same Garda checks as the border as has been yesterday/today and our teams are travelling on the day they may make sure and allow an extra couple of hours journey time!

32 County Organisation my ****!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/10/2020 15:57:25    2300564

And it would be remiss of me not to say well done to Westmeath hurlers who are travelling up to fulfil the fixture as it was set.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/10/2020 16:00:39    2300567

There's me thinking that the GAA was a 32 county organisation. The free state mentality is as strong as ever. Shame on Waterford.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 23/10/2020 17:18:33    2300580

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "There's me thinking that the GAA was a 32 county organisation. The free state mentality is as strong as ever. Shame on Waterford."
Fair play to Antrim for not letting this situation fall into "another walkover" statistic. Waterford obviously would have preferred this situation to become another walkover story and leave it there. Antrim have been smart by ensuring this situation got maximum national press. Dundalk is about 20 minutes drive from the "border" which makes their stance laughable. I'm also sure I read Meath has the highest number of cases per person in the 26 counties? Waterford must believe the virus can't travel 20 minutes up the road from the likes of Newry and cannot cross the county border from Meath. I find the whole situation bizarre; it's right not to make players compete if they don't feel comfortable but I'm not sure what the real motivation was here if they're happy to play in Dundalk. Personally I believe the GAA should step in and acknowledge Antrim's kind offer but rule the game is played within Antrim or it's not played as an offical fixture with Antrim getting the league points.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 23/10/2020 19:02:25    2300595

Kudos to Antrim for this sporting gesture. I for one will not begrudge them a win to stay in the promotion hunt. However what the f--k is going on here with this anti Waterford rhetoric. Some players were told they could not go to their work if they travelled to Antrim. Others decided not to go for family safety reasons as was always supposed to be an option for any player with no repercussions or judgemental attitude. It would have been nice if this had been resolved before some of the clowns on here got some fodder to flap their jaws about something they know nothing about. Certainly the total circumstances facing the Waterford county board.
Waterford would be regarded my most as the 31st ranked football county in Ireland and despite that put a reasonable amount of resources into the sport. In the last half century have won two junior All-Ireland's and a Munster under 21 championship. It is a struggle to keep it going and the county board does its best. The last thing needed is getting dumped on for something outside their control.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 23/10/2020 19:18:29    2300600

In true Antrim fashion we'll lose the game now.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 23/10/2020 19:28:59    2300602

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "There's me thinking that the GAA was a 32 county organisation. The free state mentality is as strong as ever. Shame on Waterford."
Waterford have nothing to be ashamed of. Waterford coaches and players have gone to Northern Ireland probably more than any others to help and promote hurling in the so called weaker counties. Not sure if that has been replicated with in our efforts to improve as the 31st ranked football county. Making such a statement about us and a free state mentality is shameful. I can tell you there are head stones in the gravel of family who died to prevent that. I can also tell you the same is true of the families of members of the county board.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 23/10/2020 19:30:38    2300603

Replying To Canuck:  "Waterford have nothing to be ashamed of. Waterford coaches and players have gone to Northern Ireland probably more than any others to help and promote hurling in the so called weaker counties. Not sure if that has been replicated with in our efforts to improve as the 31st ranked football county. Making such a statement about us and a free state mentality is shameful. I can tell you there are head stones in the gravel of family who died to prevent that. I can also tell you the same is true of the families of members of the county board."
Are you serious the County Board statement was shocking - if you don't want to play don't play, but complaining about going to Portglenone where probably the Covid cases are lower than waterford
By refering to the 6 counties as NI , just how out-of touch you are....
As regards the south ( 26 counties) many of my friends who work in the HSC would say the system is a mess and is under-reported
We should be in this together - but waterford have politicalised it - shame on you .....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 23/10/2020 21:58:31    2300634

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Are you serious the County Board statement was shocking - if you don't want to play don't play, but complaining about going to Portglenone where probably the Covid cases are lower than waterford
As regards the south ( 26 counties) many of my friends who work in the HSC would say the system is a mess and is under-reported
We should be in this together - but waterford have politicalised it - shame on you ....."
They don't work in the HSC.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 23/10/2020 22:07:59    2300636

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "You can say well done Antrim but it doesn't sit right with me. Both our Footballers and Camogs have had to give up home advantage and travel down South to play their games this weekend after the Camogs were informed by Ardchomhairle they had to play their Championship match in Monaghan. Without knowing the figures for each of the places I would hazard a guess that Portglenone and Whitehill (outside Randalstown) have no higher (and likely lower) infection rates than the two new venues.

If there are the same Garda checks as the border as has been yesterday/today and our teams are travelling on the day they may make sure and allow an extra couple of hours journey time!

32 County Organisation my ****!"
I hope ye win both games and trust me everyone in the country will be the same given what ye have done to play this game. Bull excuses that dont up. We travelled to Armagh last week and I would say our players had more chance catching covid stopping at the shop than in the ground. Where no one is.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 23/10/2020 22:10:48    2300638

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And it would be remiss of me not to say well done to Westmeath hurlers who are travelling up to fulfil the fixture as it was set."
We are looking forward to meeting our old friends from the Glens and Belfast only pity is only the team and mentors can go. Hope we have a great match as usual.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 23/10/2020 23:02:02    2300645

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And it would be remiss of me not to say well done to Westmeath hurlers who are travelling up to fulfil the fixture as it was set."
We are looking forward to meeting our old friends from the Glens and Belfast only pity is only the team and mentors can go. Hope we have a great match as usual.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 23/10/2020 23:02:13    2300646

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Are you serious the County Board statement was shocking - if you don't want to play don't play, but complaining about going to Portglenone where probably the Covid cases are lower than waterford
We should be in this together - but waterford have politicalised it - shame on you ....."
What's the HSC?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/10/2020 00:28:49    2300663

Waterford have befriend Antrim for ever and I am sure that will continue. You choose to ignore the facts. Waterford players were told they could not return to work if they went to Portglenone and would have to go into isolation. Now you turn it on me saying I should be ashamed for politicalizing it. I have never politicized any topic on this forum and did not on this subject either. That was done by others who stated Waterford were partitionists. I refereed to the 6 counties as N.I. because of this accusation. Grow up. It is only a football match and I am sure many of the people shouting off here could not give a sh-t about the status of football in lowly 4th division 31st ranked Waterford or Antrim either. We will probably be out of the championship by next week, forgotten about and you will have moved on to some hobby horse.
I will not indulge in calling names and making derogatory statements about any person or county on the whole island of Ireland.
Thank you again Antrim and I wish you all the best with both your football and hurling. You are a gem in the crown of the GAA. The same to all the Ulster teams.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 24/10/2020 04:21:01    2300668

Replying To Canuck:  "Waterford have befriend Antrim for ever and I am sure that will continue. You choose to ignore the facts. Waterford players were told they could not return to work if they went to Portglenone and would have to go into isolation. Now you turn it on me saying I should be ashamed for politicalizing it. I have never politicized any topic on this forum and did not on this subject either. That was done by others who stated Waterford were partitionists. I refereed to the 6 counties as N.I. because of this accusation. Grow up. It is only a football match and I am sure many of the people shouting off here could not give a sh-t about the status of football in lowly 4th division 31st ranked Waterford or Antrim either. We will probably be out of the championship by next week, forgotten about and you will have moved on to some hobby horse.
I will not indulge in calling names and making derogatory statements about any person or county on the whole island of Ireland.
Thank you again Antrim and I wish you all the best with both your football and hurling. You are a gem in the crown of the GAA. The same to all the Ulster teams."
Much of what you say is true Canuck but what you are ignoring is that Letrim,Longford and Waterfords actions have consequences for the rest of us.Do you think none of the Westmeath hurlers dont have work problems?The reality is we are all in this together or we should give it up.I grant you the Letrim county councillor looking for notice started this.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 24/10/2020 10:46:44    2300689