Limerick. All Ireland Champions 2020

Replying To slayer:  "Ditto - every word."
Don't mind that nonsense. Yes money is an assist, actually a necessity anymore to preparing teams and in looking after players who are professionals in every way other than payed. After all that, the game is played and won between the lines. J.P. does not go out between those lines but contributes in the way he can to assist the team of his passion. It is actually sickening to have people trashing his contribution. I would ask some of these people did their county give back the money he donated to them. Limerick look out this is only the tip of the spear that you are going to endure. Ask Dublin or Kilkenny. Success breeds contempt.
Financing. It is however incumbent on the GAA in our so called amateur sport that some parity exist in preparation of teams. The funding sent to county to facilitate their operation based on population is a whole different story. One poster said that counties should try harder to get sponsors. Are you joking. I dealt and deal with sponsors and they want a return on their money. There is not a hope in God's creation that a sponsor will pay the same to advertise their product in Leitrim as in Dublin.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/12/2020 20:37:18    2323276

Come on Galway, we can and will beat Limerick in 2021.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 17/12/2020 21:21:09    2323284

Replying To skillet:  "We've just won our 2nd all Ireland in 3 years
(or 4th in 80 yrs if you want to be precise)

Reading a fair few of the comments on here.. The reason behind our success is as follows.

1, JP McManus money. (bought success, even though he's sponsored Limerick for about 20 yrs not just since 2018)

2. Limerick are too big.. Try telling that to Peter Casey, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy or Sean Finn.

3. Limerick are cynical ie: we don't let the opposition score against us..
Unlike Tipp or Kilkenny who won all Irelands through sheer brilliance and nothing else.

4. Our style of hurling is boring... We tried the whole, belt the ball up the pitch and watch it come back again just as quickly... Style of hurling. It didn't really work out too well for us.

5. The best yet.. Good coaching and strength and conditioning has taken average hurlers and made them all Ireland winners.. No response possible.

6. Limerick are unbeatable ( I feckin wish)

Fact remains, after a horrendous beating at the hands of Tipperary in the all Ireland semi finals 11 yrs ago, a players strike 10 yrs ago and years in the wasteland of division 1B (or division 2) we got our act together, set up an academy for young players , put resources into cultivating talent and we're fortunate to have an excellent management team gel it all together...

As Limerick hurling supporters we've seen enough misery to last a lifetime. These days won't last but we'll enjoy every minute of it while they do.

So Thanks to JP McManus, John Kiely, Paul Kinnerk (and the few 100 in their back room team:)
Thanks to the players who gave so much of themselves to give us an amazing Christmas present.
Hopefully we'll have an uninterrupted 2021 Championship, stay safe and Happy Christmas.
Luimneach Abu!!"
Who really cares what people think. I don't think KK ever did.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/12/2020 21:27:59    2323285

Replying To galwayford:  "Come on Galway, we can and will beat Limerick in 2021."
Ya Galway are a fine team but still way too reliant on one man. #lookafterJoe!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/12/2020 21:33:40    2323288

Replying To Shocs07:  "Who really cares what people think. I don't think KK ever did."
Sorry should have also said..have a few pints, relax and enjoy it for as long as it lasts. Luimneach abu!!!!!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/12/2020 21:36:14    2323289

Replying To galwayford:  "Come on Galway, we can and will beat Limerick in 2021."
In football... maybe

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 17/12/2020 21:50:02    2323294

Sorry we have first dibs on them. (joking)

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/12/2020 21:58:25    2323297

Replying To skillet:  "Thank you.. I really was afraid I'd never see us win a senior all Ireland, so to see 2 in 3 yrs is a dream come true.
I remember the envy I felt when you won the 2 all Irelands in the nineties and we lost 2, i was delighted for Clare especially in 95, even though ye beat us in the munster final but devastated by 94 especially.
I actually think it was only 2018 finally exorcised those memories.

Hurling needs new winners on a regular basis. That's why hopefully Clare, Wexford, Waterford etc will win again soon.

As a rule i don't really get too bothered by anonymous posters but I know a few lads involved in setting up the academy originally and the colossal hard work put in to make these days happen.. Just annoyed me the lazy reaction of ah without JPs money you'd win nothing."
Enjoy your win. I don't hear any begrudging. Not down here. I felt ye had been coming for a good few years. Thought ye would win in 13 semi final but Clare deservedly won. Ye played Kilkenny the year after in the lashing rain and outscored them but their goals allowed them to scrape through. The team is a while in the making, forming, evolving (very different to those 13/14 teams now). No surprise ye are winning. Ye will be there or thereabouts for a long while yet.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/12/2020 23:06:42    2323315

Replying To bennybunny:  "Enjoy your win. I don't hear any begrudging. Not down here. I felt ye had been coming for a good few years. Thought ye would win in 13 semi final but Clare deservedly won. Ye played Kilkenny the year after in the lashing rain and outscored them but their goals allowed them to scrape through. The team is a while in the making, forming, evolving (very different to those 13/14 teams now). No surprise ye are winning. Ye will be there or thereabouts for a long while yet."
Thanks benny. i think your attitude reflects that of most neutrals to Limerick. Happy Christmas to You and Yours.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 18/12/2020 11:35:46    2323383