Joe McDonagh Promotion/Relegation

Well done to Antrim, better team for the majority of the game, have some very good players. Will be interesting to see how they get on next year.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 13/12/2020 15:22:05    2321906

Congratulations to the lads. It was close enough and fair play to Kerry for staying in there and making it a competitive game. We need to up our stamina and fitness levels for next season because the top counties are in a different level altogether. This win will give the squad a massive boost and hopefully ingrain some belief. Silverware will also be fantastic to take around the clubs and schools.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 13/12/2020 15:27:37    2321909

Congratulations Antrim , deserved winners and thankfully the right team gets to be playing in the Liam McCarthy cup next year.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/12/2020 15:32:16    2321910

Replying To thegadfly:  "Well done Antrim. Rte are a disgrace. Cutting to advertising just as Antrim captain started his speech as Gaeilge. They won't cut off Cluxton when he inevitably starts one of his borefests." I'd like to thank AIG and bla bla bla""
Here here, awful stuff considering there was an hour to kill before the next match.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/12/2020 15:37:42    2321912

Replying To catch22:  "Congratulations Antrim , deserved winners and thankfully the right team gets to be playing in the Liam McCarthy cup next year."
Jesus boy but you're a wretch. What did they Kerry girl ever do to you, one too many home truths was it :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/12/2020 16:00:56    2321924

Delighted to get the job done. Hopefully we can take this momentum forward. Players stay focused and together for the step up next year. Kerry put up a good battle today. Definitely some talented players in their ranks. Again, the officials adding 5 minutes of injury time and playing over 6 minutes in an injury free match is beyond me how they come up with these numbers. The amount of close games that must be won, lost or drawn due to these rash decisions is hugely frustrating and needs clarity. RTE getting our captains name wrong and cutting off the speech after 2 words was typical of them. Sky sports for the AI final after that!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/12/2020 16:01:07    2321925

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Delighted to get the job done. Hopefully we can take this momentum forward. Players stay focused and together for the step up next year. Kerry put up a good battle today. Definitely some talented players in their ranks. Again, the officials adding 5 minutes of injury time and playing over 6 minutes in an injury free match is beyond me how they come up with these numbers. The amount of close games that must be won, lost or drawn due to these rash decisions is hugely frustrating and needs clarity. RTE getting our captains name wrong and cutting off the speech after 2 words was typical of them. Sky sports for the AI final after that!"
We need to stay unified as a county, that's been our downfall. Galway, Clare, Limerick, Kilkenny etc all have savage club championships but they put aside their differences for the greater good. It's a cliche but we are a sleeping giant that can bring a lot to the GAA.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 13/12/2020 16:21:38    2321931

Congrats to Antrim today. Better team and well deserved.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 13/12/2020 16:24:56    2321937

Anyone else have their enjoyment of this match spoiled by the woeful co-commentator? Regardless of her being female (I'm sure there are camogie pundits that could easily do a better job), she was beyond hapless, was constantly just saying the most obvious, safe and cliche phrases and felt like a primary school kid doing commentary for the first time. It was unbearable watching knowing she'd chip in with some bland comment after time play went dead.

By all means give female former GAA players a few chances to co-commentate, but if they show no potential whatsoever when given those chances, show them the door (same goes for male co-comms if their out of depth after 2 or 3 chances)

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 13/12/2020 16:35:47    2321943

Well done Antrim, hard luck Kerry, very tight, great game, entertaining.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 13/12/2020 16:54:15    2321945

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Anyone else have their enjoyment of this match spoiled by the woeful co-commentator? Regardless of her being female (I'm sure there are camogie pundits that could easily do a better job), she was beyond hapless, was constantly just saying the most obvious, safe and cliche phrases and felt like a primary school kid doing commentary for the first time. It was unbearable watching knowing she'd chip in with some bland comment after time play went dead.

By all means give female former GAA players a few chances to co-commentate, but if they show no potential whatsoever when given those chances, show them the door (same goes for male co-comms if their out of depth after 2 or 3 chances)"
In fairness most male co comes are even worse.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/12/2020 17:39:29    2321985

Hurling could do with Antrim and Carlow and Laois etc pushing on now but what are the GAA authorities doing to promote them and help them?
I wonder how many full time coaches there are in any of these 3 counties compared to any of the top counties, or if the sum of the 3 even compare?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/12/2020 17:59:32    2322008

2021 is going to be a whole different for Antrim hurling. In the Laim McCarthy Cup, Being in Division 1, but most important Being on the Sunday Game. This is what every county wants, please rte show more counties next year you owe it to the guys that belong to weaker counties that train their as5es off week in week out.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 13/12/2020 18:51:14    2322045

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "2021 is going to be a whole different for Antrim hurling. In the Laim McCarthy Cup, Being in Division 1, but most important Being on the Sunday Game. This is what every county wants, please rte show more counties next year you owe it to the guys that belong to weaker counties that train their as5es off week in week out."
Congratulations to Antrim well done and hopefully we will meet you again next year after our woeful effort this year. It looks like your championship really brought ye on this year

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 13/12/2020 20:19:44    2322098

Congratulations to everyone who won! Hopefully, we can meet up next season and have another great showdown. I know that there were a lot of problems when it came to our own performance. Hopefully, there are no issues on our side next season because I would like them to put up a fight rather than having a lot of problems in the past.

KaitlynnDuff (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 17/12/2020 13:38:10    2323137