How Long Should Same Coaches Be Over Juvenile Team

Just wondering what guidelunes clubs are using when it comes to coaches following a juvenile team year after year especially if there own childern are on team ......does it not lead to problems

Flurry (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 12/02/2020 10:29:06    2267234

Replying To Flurry:  "Just wondering what guidelunes clubs are using when it comes to coaches following a juvenile team year after year especially if there own childern are on team ......does it not lead to problems"
Great if clubs have guidelines with selecting coaches, maybe some do.
Hardest part is getting a coach/coaches in the first place to take a team, especially rural clubs with limited number of volunteers.
Re parents staying with teams year after year, again this would be down to numbers and people willing to take teams other than parents, great if it can be done.
Yes it can lead to problems re team selection, perceived bias so forth and peeved other parents, who would be a trainer eh?
Better if leads for teams is not a parent or associated with players to challenge/drive the process on, especially at older ages where stagnancy can occur if players keep seeing the same faces training them whether parent or not.
Recently retired senior players or those with free time/interest would make good coaches to step in to these roles as has been proved with my own club.

Convert2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 12/02/2020 11:21:46    2267249

Replying To Flurry:  "Just wondering what guidelunes clubs are using when it comes to coaches following a juvenile team year after year especially if there own childern are on team ......does it not lead to problems"
There isnt anything hard and fast to stick to from my experience. It can of course lead to problems but this is where your head of underage/underage committee comes in. It all depends on each and every situation.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 12/02/2020 11:23:14    2267253

From u13 up to minor we had the same guy coaching us all along. His son was captain all the way up, took all the frees up and down the pitch, all the line balls. He wasn't far off taking the puckouts either...

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 12/02/2020 13:35:47    2267290

Replying To Bon:  "From u13 up to minor we had the same guy coaching us all along. His son was captain all the way up, took all the frees up and down the pitch, all the line balls. He wasn't far off taking the puckouts either..."
hard to get coaches for underage lads

finnyfifs (Westmeath) - Posts: 34 - 12/02/2020 13:53:57    2267299

Replying To KillingFields:  "There isnt anything hard and fast to stick to from my experience. It can of course lead to problems but this is where your head of underage/underage committee comes in. It all depends on each and every situation."
Most coaches at underage are parents who stay with it as long as their kids are playing. Can be very hit and miss. If you have an interested former player with no connection its great but very rare in my experience.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 12/02/2020 14:08:58    2267307

3 years max in my experience as they stop listening to you after that. If you stay any longer you need to bring in different mentors on/off to take some training sessions to act as a different voice to them. I'm only going in my experience over the last few years

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 12/02/2020 14:30:22    2267315

Clubs should ensure they have people over teams who know what their doing as opposed to taking the first person that comes along would be a good start.
People who never played the game who happen to have a son playing have destroyed many teams.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 12/02/2020 15:07:36    2267328

Ye getting coaches can be hard at times we all know that .....but im talking about a mentor whose with a group since they started at 5 in nursery and there now 13 .....lets just say his spanish is appalling and aggression levels on sideline ....club have decided to move him this year now hes put out and cant understand what the issue is ....his own son is a different child when hes not there .....

Flurry (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 12/02/2020 19:52:48    2267392

Having good people is most important. Good coaches will allow better players to play and give most of his/her time developing the weaker ones. Making the training enjoyable and developing the basic skills are very important. Coaching badges means little as a badge does not improve coaching skills. Sometimes a bit of common sense helps along the way and it is about improving the players individually and as a team, making no one player more important than the next.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 12/02/2020 20:35:18    2267401

As mentioned above in other posts it's extremely difficult to get coaches at underage level. Have you put yourself forward? Does this coach have the following; Garda e-vetting, Child Welfare course & as a minimum foundation course in coaching. Preferably have level 1 coaching done. Would also be good if they have attended some of the many coaching workshops organised by the GAA

You will find there are few and far between willing to commit to doing these courses. Never mind attending training and matched 3-4 times a week. There there will be club meetings on top of that - as coaches have to attend certain club meetings.

Have you gone to you're clubs juvenile AGM as you can easily ask the questions there.

I have been involved in my sons teams since U6 and the eldest is now U14. We try to alternate head coaches and bring in outside coaches or local "celebrity" coaches to try and mix it up as much as possible.

If a coach is insisting on staying on as head coach when there are others willing to take up the gauntlet then questions need to be asked. The good coaches know not to stay on. Even the long term Co managers mix up their coaching team every few years.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 12/02/2020 20:57:32    2267406

Replying To browncows:  "Having good people is most important. Good coaches will allow better players to play and give most of his/her time developing the weaker ones. Making the training enjoyable and developing the basic skills are very important. Coaching badges means little as a badge does not improve coaching skills. Sometimes a bit of common sense helps along the way and it is about improving the players individually and as a team, making no one player more important than the next."
What coaching "badges" are you referring to? Assuming it's the GAA coaching courses and workshops then I totally disagree with you. I see parents getting involved that won't do the coaching courses and they are unorganised with drills, the drills they do are old and incorrect. Children's coaching methods (in hurling anyway) evolved a lot over the last 10 years so unless you are well up to date with modern drills or you have played yourself up to recently I would bet you are one of these coaches that wreck my head.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 12/02/2020 21:11:55    2267411

Replying To Flurry:  "Ye getting coaches can be hard at times we all know that .....but im talking about a mentor whose with a group since they started at 5 in nursery and there now 13 .....lets just say his spanish is appalling and aggression levels on sideline ....club have decided to move him this year now hes put out and cant understand what the issue is ....his own son is a different child when hes not there ....."
Sounds like it's good he has been removed. I known exactly they type you are talking about and it usually takes a strong person to confront them. So well done to whoever did that. You should think about getting involved yourself. U14 is where it normally starts to get a bit more serious. I'm not talking about bad language or aggression but you do start pushing the kids harder at this level. Training should be very enjoyable tho and as many kids as possible should be getting game time. The problem is if you are in the higher grades then it is very competitive.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 12/02/2020 21:21:35    2267415

I am involved i started coaching our u7 last year ....we tried to kick start juvenile club energy again ...but with that kinda of behavour with young kids it sucks energy out of things .....

Flurry (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 12/02/2020 22:09:20    2267424

2 years max in my opinion even adult teams.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 22/02/2020 22:30:20    2269141

Replying To arock:  "2 years max in my opinion even adult teams."
Wouldnt agree with that but coaches should be adapting things considerably within periods in charge. Have somencoaches the same is fine but change assistants or the approaches to training/matches over time.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 23/02/2020 16:56:04    2269325

Replying To KillingFields:  "Wouldnt agree with that but coaches should be adapting things considerably within periods in charge. Have somencoaches the same is fine but change assistants or the approaches to training/matches over time."
Two years prevents a manager having notions about players. Especially Juvenile teams the harm this does can be profound. On adult teams fair enough if guy is winning but in my experience some appointments are like jobs for life.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 23/02/2020 17:07:54    2269333

Replying To arock:  "Two years prevents a manager having notions about players. Especially Juvenile teams the harm this does can be profound. On adult teams fair enough if guy is winning but in my experience some appointments are like jobs for life."
Yes I see it all time when refereeing rugby and you see sides who were u13 coached all up to u18 by same guys. Some times it's fine as coaches evolve and theyve brought in new assistant coaches to add new voices but dont think2 years is too long as same time.
It's nothingto do with notions about players but to stop players feeling bored by having same voice saying things over and over.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 23/02/2020 17:42:09    2269350