GAA Ground Hopping

Would be cool to build a county ground database here like a sort of tourist guide with tips on parking or transport and some good spots for food and drink after

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 06/02/2020 17:59:35    2265740

Replying To Breezy:  "Would be cool to build a county ground database here like a sort of tourist guide with tips on parking or transport and some good spots for food and drink after"
Pearse Stadium must be up there having richest neighbours ;)

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 06/02/2020 18:53:32    2265752

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Jesus if you think McHale is bad you have not been to Salthill lately. McHale is a god send in comparison."
New dual carraigway around castlebar and on to Westport will help traffic escape misch quicker on match days. I find castlebar very handy but then again I know all the rat runs and short cuts....prob the same for many with their home county grounds.

I actually have a secret parking spot 5 min run from Salthill and if I leave just before the end I am out the gap and over the bridge before everyone else....I'm not telling ye though where it is ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/02/2020 19:17:48    2265762

Replying To yew_tree:  "New dual carraigway around castlebar and on to Westport will help traffic escape misch quicker on match days. I find castlebar very handy but then again I know all the rat runs and short cuts....prob the same for many with their home county grounds.

I actually have a secret parking spot 5 min run from Salthill and if I leave just before the end I am out the gap and over the bridge before everyone else....I'm not telling ye though where it is ;)"
So that's you parking on my lawn? :)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 06/02/2020 19:27:50    2265763

Ulster Connacht
Breffni. Castlebar
Bruster Pairc Sean
Clones Markievicz park
Athletic grounds Hyde park
Park Esler
Casement park. Munster
Omagh Semple stadium
Ballybofey
Celtic park

Leinster
Drogheda
Parnell park
Navan
O'Connor park Tullamore
Wexford park
Mullingar
Longford
Croke park
Nolan park Kilkenny

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 06/02/2020 19:42:31    2265768

The Dublin response:

'Eh, 2. Croker (Hill 16 is Dublin only) and eh Killarney, via a jollier

Tried to get to some other place in Limerick or Tipperary or some sheep filled culchie place like that when wez were playin Kerry in 01, but we got lost after the M50 and only made it back to Dublin in time for the last round in the local, you know yourself whaa...'

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/02/2020 19:42:41    2265769

Munster:
Thurles, Cusack Park, Gaelic Grounds, old and new PUC

Leinster:
Croker, Parnell, Newbridge, Tullamore, Pairc Tailteann, Cusack Park, Portlaoise

Ulster:
Clones, Omagh, Páirc Esler, Celtic Park, Breffni

Connacht:
D Hyde, McHale Park

Suppose outside of the Munster Championship circuit, it's been largely dictated by whose been in Division 1 these last 15 odd years.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/02/2020 19:49:18    2265770

Replying To TheHermit:  "Munster:
Thurles, Cusack Park, Gaelic Grounds, old and new PUC

Leinster:
Croker, Parnell, Newbridge, Tullamore, Pairc Tailteann, Cusack Park, Portlaoise

Ulster:
Clones, Omagh, Páirc Esler, Celtic Park, Breffni

Connacht:
D Hyde, McHale Park

Suppose outside of the Munster Championship circuit, it's been largely dictated by whose been in Division 1 these last 15 odd years."
That's a decent amount. It's mad how you haven't been to Fitzgerald Stadium though. ;)
You should give it a try. The home team are decent.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 06/02/2020 21:32:27    2265793

Replying To Breezy:  "Would be cool to build a county ground database here like a sort of tourist guide with tips on parking or transport and some good spots for food and drink after"
Database
1. Netwatch Cullen park. Carlow

Situated - just off main Dublin road on approach to town from North
Parking - ample parking in Carlow Hurling Club, Carlow tennis Club and O'hanrahans ground
Ground - good view from Stand - my spot is beside press box on terrace side. Different Clubs have different places they go to in Ground - MlR in Stand, St Mullins on Terrace half way line, Eire og terrace near dress rooms, Rathvilly terrace beside stand and so on
Pros - easy access and exits, great views from terrace and stand, great playing surface, very clean and tidy
Cons - not big enough to compete with Portlaoise for bigger games

Food and Drink - The Tavern; Carpenters and Teach Dolmen ( best for food)

Future development - needs terrace at Dublin road end to increase capacity and get bigger games.

Best game I saw in NCP was years ago when a brilliant Laois Hurling team gave Kilkenny a brilliant game. the ground was jammed to the rafters ans atmosphere was electric.

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 06/02/2020 21:51:42    2265797

Leinster 11/12: Never in Nolan Park, Kilkenny.
Ulster 8/9: Never in any of Donegal's GAA Grounds
Connacht 2 /5: Just in Sligo and Carrick-on-Shannon
Munster 2/6: Just in Semple stadium and Limerick
UK: Being to Ruislip.

24 in total.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/02/2020 22:05:58    2265803

Ulster 9
Connacht 4 - missing Markievicz
Munster-5 except Gaelic grounds. Will be put right this summer
Leinster- 11 all except Nowlan Park

Counted up the club grounds too- 62 in 9 counties
Best club grounds- Mallow GAA
Worst- probably Cootehill
Furthest from home- Adrigole I'd say, also the most picturesque
Impossible without a Satnav- Currin
Most vocal home support- Meath Hill or their neighbours in Magheracloone

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 06/02/2020 22:28:02    2265810

Replying To Blackbog:  "Database
1. Netwatch Cullen park. Carlow

Situated - just off main Dublin road on approach to town from North
Parking - ample parking in Carlow Hurling Club, Carlow tennis Club and O'hanrahans ground
Ground - good view from Stand - my spot is beside press box on terrace side. Different Clubs have different places they go to in Ground - MlR in Stand, St Mullins on Terrace half way line, Eire og terrace near dress rooms, Rathvilly terrace beside stand and so on
Pros - easy access and exits, great views from terrace and stand, great playing surface, very clean and tidy
Cons - not big enough to compete with Portlaoise for bigger games

Food and Drink - The Tavern; Carpenters and Teach Dolmen ( best for food)

Future development - needs terrace at Dublin road end to increase capacity and get bigger games.

Best game I saw in NCP was years ago when a brilliant Laois Hurling team gave Kilkenny a brilliant game. the ground was jammed to the rafters ans atmosphere was electric."
Pair na Gael.

Coming from the Clare side is easy with good roads in and parking in the nearby Dunnes but coming any other way it's best to take the toll tunnel to the Clare side or leave the car in town and walk or bus out ( Caherdavin bus from Henry st. Dunnes ) . Only 2 pubs near the stadium and both are similar and will be packed ( Also one of them the Ardhu is owned by a Kerry man and uncle of Johnny Sexton so that by be a plus or minus depending on your alliegences ) ..

For the game itself if it's a big championship game and a seat you require avoid the Mackey stand as the views are crap and head for the uncovered stand unless it's raining and if the terrace is your thing go to the Clare end if you are an away fan which is where most of your clan will be and the city end if you are a neutral as it's where the diehard Limerick fans and best craic will be. Facilities wise the toilets are great by GAA standards but it's still just a lad with mars bars everywhere except the Mackey where they have added sandwiches and coffee so get food before

After if it's drink you are after don't follow the Ennis road to town but detour over to Thomond Park and follow the rugby fans route to town which has a bit more life than the Ennis road and when you hit the river Bowlers and the Curraghower are 2 of the best pubs in the city. After that it's a nice walk to the rest of the centre which is full of great pubs and make sure to top it off with any meal from Chicken Hut which involves their gravy which is truly unique and amazing

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 06/02/2020 23:39:06    2265834

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's a decent amount. It's mad how you haven't been to Fitzgerald Stadium though. ;)
You should give it a try. The home team are decent."
So I hear ;D
Hoping to get to Salthill at some stage, suppose it's a combination of Galway being absent from D1 for much of the last 10-12 years and also the fact you seem to bring Kerry to Tuam

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/02/2020 00:34:52    2265839

Replying To TheHermit:  "So I hear ;D
Hoping to get to Salthill at some stage, suppose it's a combination of Galway being absent from D1 for much of the last 10-12 years and also the fact you seem to bring Kerry to Tuam"
Thank god Galway are away this weekend and not in salthill

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 08/02/2020 17:39:30    2266127